Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Steins;Gate


Alternative Titles

English: Steins;Gate
Japanese: STEINS;GATE

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2011 to Sep 14, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 02:05 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Thriller, Sci-Fi
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.121 (scored by 697,597 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #7
Members: 1,266,214
Favorites: 114,086

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 20, 2011
zorapup (All reviews)
Preliminary
Upon writing this review, I believe the series has delivered pretty well and is likely to change in a good way.

I had looked forward to this story simply because of the plot summary. Time travel was always mysterious and unproven so it allows the writers to roll with some imagination while at the same time adding logic and even modern events to the equation. Seeing a female and male lead I always hope for some sexual tension between the protagonists. I haven't played the visual novel and do not appreciate spoilers without warning so hopefully I can write this without giving away too much.

Story - read more
Feb 6, 2015
Brockemsockem (All reviews)
What Steins;Gate does can accurately be described as pandering. It panders with such gusto that the anime has been confused with a masterpiece by a fanbase that is spellbound by being spoon-fed memes and eccentricity. People have heaped so much praise for this show that the glaring blemishes of its characters and pacing are neglected from acknowledgement. Time to attempt to change that.

The story's protagonist has about as much trouble picking a name as this show has picking a genre. Okabe "Hououin Kyouma, Okarin" Rintarou is a supposed mad scientist who operates in a quaint apartment, which he so endearingly calls a lab. Mayuri Shiina, read more
May 14, 2011
Bird_Eater (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah~ Okarin! Tuturu!
Okay, first time I'm writing a review, even though this series is far from over.
As of writing this, I just finished the sixth episode.

Story: 10
Outstanding, this story is just awesome! Set in modern days, but also concerning time-travelling, something that might never be possible (as it would probably create a lot of paradoxes), explained in a very good way.

Art: 9
Not perfect, but certainly very good. It really suits the series well.

Sound: 8
The opening theme is catchy, but there're not a lot of other sounds to be found...

Character: 10
Rintarou; the world's hippest 'mad scientist' is very well portrayed throughout the episodes that I've read more
May 29, 2013
Dashiawia (All reviews)
Before I begin, I should make it clear that this review is not meant to promote an anime to those who haven't seen it, but rather, it is meant to evaluate a great title. Thus, be warned that there will be significant spoilers in this review, so do not read if you haven't already completed the show. With that out of the way, let's get started.

Who doesn't love the concept of time travel? Many scientists have been fascinated by the idea, yet there hasn't been any real progress on this field in today's world. Not only is our technology still lacking from accomplishing this feat, read more
Apr 23, 2013
WickedMind (All reviews)
Kill me if I do say that this anime was just what I had in mind of -- and so I guess I was hoping for a much better end.

Why an 8? I couldn't make up my mind at what kind of rating I was choosing for such an excellent played out anime. I have watched countless of science-fictional movies and TV documentaries that I think I may be a pro on just what I think is a very complicated plot, turns out to be an easy story line to catch.

I think I've doubted my predictions countless of times with this anime. After hitting off read more
Mar 18, 2018
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“He who wants to do good knocks at the gate; he who loves finds the gate open.”

Time is everyone’s enemy – an unsaid truth that all learn one way or another. Whether that be through a lost love, an important event or just something you wish to savour forever, they will all eventually fade away and leave only an empty hole in their place. A harsh reality that stings the soul, begging the question to what meaning is there to love or desire anything in life if it cannot stay with us? Even memories and echoes of the past cannot remain unchanged so long as read more
May 30, 2015
LaytonsHat (All reviews)
Time travel is an overwhelmingly, infamously difficult concept to build a work of fiction around, as many stories centered around the idea can't help but eventually succumb to a vicious cycle of increasingly-obvious plot holes. You rarely see a work of this sort that's not only able to logically explain its world, characters and conclusions, but also able to make the viewing of such a winding, complex narrative clear, concise and, most importantly, enjoyable. It's just so easy to either fall into the trap of creating a time paradox or to fill your story with so much scientific exposition that the characters and pacing suffer read more
Nov 21, 2013
bellellis (All reviews)
I almost feel bad not liking this anime as much as most people do, since everyone seems so passionate about it, but as an avid fan of science-fiction, I have to say this show's treatment of time-travel is a complete mess. There are so many contradictions, so many wild misunderstandings of real life ideas, and so many moments where I felt like saying, "But hold on a second, why can't you just ...," that I eventually gave up keeping track of the faults, and just pretended like the decisions the characters had to make, and the things they did made sense, and let the emotions read more
May 4, 2015
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
Every time that I go to the "recent reviews" section of MAL, there's two things that I'm guaranteed to find. The first is at least one review condemning one of the two seasons of SAO, and the other is at least one review explaining how Steins;Gate is a 10/10 masterpiece that reinvents the meaning of good anime. Funnily enough though, SAO and Steins;Gate have something in common: the reasons that both of them get such an enormous amount of attention is that they either fail or succeed on an extremely superficial level, making SAO a prime target for butchering and Steins;Gate into an object of read more
Aug 23, 2012
Kyoanilover11 (All reviews)
(Spoilers included)

Initiating Operation Ragnarok - putting Stein's Gate into perspective.

2011 AD: Stein's Gate (SG) had a huge fan base
2012 AD: The popularity of SG has not faded. We see the epilogue (that in itself does not contain much substance receiving extraordinary scores) getting very much undue popularity.
2014 AD: The hype dies down. The fanboys (and girls) from the FateZero campaign take over. Some die hard SG fans convert. SG is no longer #3 on MAL.

I had BIG expectations prior to viewing Stein's Gate. This was especially since it was able to top other strong contenders in 2011 such as Puella Magi and AnoHana. I was read more
Jul 1, 2015
Genjutsuhh (All reviews)
When dealing with time travel in story-writing, one has to look out for many things as such a topic is highly prone to having many plot holes due to being so vast and confusing but then also being so interesting. Steins;Gate takes on that very topic for itself, but does it manage to present itself in a way worthy of such a theme ?

Story:
The story of Steins;Gate starts off a bit slow at first but doesn't take long to take off with a fairly complex plot filled with many twists and also presents the tale of the famous internet legend of 'John Titor' into the read more
Nov 3, 2013
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Don't play games! I know you're reading! That's right, freak. It behooves you nothing to ignore me. Take a good look. Quaff deeply from the trough of future shock. Allow that wooly brain to be stricken with envy. You're reading a work from Critic Member 001, anime lover, evil genius, and mad reviewer extraordinaire. 'Tis I... well, I'll think of an alias later. But for now... Steins;Gate. Seriously. Read.

Adapted from a 5pb and Nitro+ visual novel of the same name, Steins;Gate was directed by Hiroshi Hamasaki and Takuya Satou, scripted by Toshizou Nemoto and Jukki Hanada, and produced by White Fox, responsible for other works read more
Nov 7, 2015
Eingya (All reviews)
I find it incredibly weird that among all the people that suggested me this anime and/or talked about it positively on the internet, there was no one who even mentioned that at its basis Steins Gate is... well, a Harem anime.

Now, I say it's an Harem anime yet you don't see a towering two as my overall rating for it. "How come?" You'll ask, "Isn't this an anime where all female characters exist only to be attracted to the protagonist? And don't all of those characters lack in any kind of agency?"

Well... yes... to both questions... but... hear me out...

Steins Gate is pretty much a read more
Nov 8, 2013
BallsOfShinji (All reviews)
Steins;Gate is an anime that was recommended to me by a friend telling me that it was a brilliant Sci-fi anime with a thrilling plot. So I decided to give it a try and see what happens. This was one experience that I feel I will never have again.

Story- 8.9

Steins;Gate initially centres around the idea of time travel and the effects of the time travel and the way in which the machine works. Within the inner workings of the machine and we see the “science” behind how it works. All of this is very believable as it all seems rather plausible due to its lack read more
Aug 26, 2018
yMorgoth (All reviews)
''The universe has a beginning, but no end. — Infinity. Stars, too, have their own beginnings, but their own power results in their destruction. — Finite. It is those who possess wisdom who are the greatest fools. History has shown us this. You could say that this is the final warning from God to those who resist.'' - Okabe Rintarou.

There is no other word to describe this anime: perfection. It is the masterpiece of Sci-Fi that tackles time travel simply and accurately. Even so, it also encompasses other genres such as suspense, romance, drama and comedy (very good by the way).

Initially, it is basically the read more
Feb 13, 2013
ChibiPotatoes (All reviews)
In recent years, I can't help but feel that the realm of anime has hit a point of utter stagnation. True, there have been well-produced shows, but many of these fall into the background, overcome by the flood of the extremely-overrated (not to bash any fans, but a great example would be the Pokemon series. C'mon people, just leave it as a game) and constantly recycled. From mecha-animes with repeating themes of justice and revenge to supernatural-themed shows attempting to make something new by making it look more flashy and impressive. Let's be honest with ourselves, in light of a lack of creativity, we've enjoyed read more
Oct 9, 2014
DolbyThX (All reviews)
What would you do if you had the chance to travel in time??
I'm pretty sure there's a lot of different answers to that, depending on the person. But there's always a particular thing that most people would do: "To fix a certain event of my life I'm regretting until now", or something like that. As life moves on and on, the decisions that we've made always have consequences that we may or may not have seen. Action-reaction patterns have always been a part of what makes reality to be possible. Time and Space are always built on our actions.

Before starting how about laying out the read more
Dec 4, 2011
OtakuTrey (All reviews)
*Virgin reviewer so be gentle*

People will always ask other people what to watch, recommend me something, im so bored what should i watch. People will also say is there ever going to be another masterpiece like Brotherhood or when is something going to become as popular as Death note. What will have the sheer guts to move me to the next episode, to make me want to watch and not go to sleep. WHAT anime is going to be the next big thing and blow my mind for days, weeks, months and even years. well its two simple words and for people to know that read more
Aug 19, 2012
Hyunckel (All reviews)
Tuturu !

I was skeptical about this anime. So much praise. This couldn't be true. This has to be overhyped somehow. Somehow...? Maybe this anime was not juste an anime after all ? This changed my vision of the world around me. Despite not wanting to watch this, especially because the synopsis and reviews seemed to be bland in my opinion, I opened the pandora box. Was it worth it ? OH BOY, it sure was! So rewarding. Now onto the review. I'm here to open your mind and incite you to do so by watching this wonder.

Oh dear, how can I start?

You have to know read more
Mar 20, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Well, it's time to write a huge and no one interesting feedback on this title If anything, then there are no spoilers. He definitely went into my top 10 anime and definitely went into my soul, but let's start in order.

Story 9/10- It is interesting, it captures and is a bit complicated at the beginning, only after watching a few episodes begin to understand what's what. At the same time everything begins with fun and adventure, and then you watch 12 episode.... for the whole title I had time to experience many emotions and tenderness, and joy, and happiness, and shock, and pain, but despite read more