Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gintama


Alternative Titles

English: Gintama
Synonyms: Gin Tama, Silver Soul, Yorinuki Gintama-san
Japanese: 銀魂

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 201
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2006 to Mar 25, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Thursdays at 18:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.051 (scored by 98,375 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #76
Members: 314,475
Favorites: 26,144

Reviews

Archaeon
Oct 18, 2009
Over the years there have been a multitude of comedy shows that have graced our TV screens, from the surreal stylings of Monty Python and sarcastic wit of Blackadder, to the sci-fi tomfoolery of Red Dwarf and the strange antics of The Fast Show. There are numerous notable series that have taken their rightful places in our DVD collections, and in an age where comedians are treated like rock stars, maybe it's fate that comedy anime would also come of age.

It's strange to say this, but humour has never been a strong department for the medium, partly because of the cultural differences between East and read more
I found this review Helpful
Hanimir
Jul 23, 2014
Gintama? Gintama. Hmmm, Gintama... Gintama or not Gintama, that is the question.

Now this is a show I've wrestled with for a long time. Many of my friends pledged almost fanatically this is the best anime in existence. I watched the first episode. So this is it? I was not impressed. As a person who found pleasure in the darkest and most gloomy kinds of settings, I would almost immediately say that this was not for me. Everything was just so weird and appeared to be arbitrarily glued together.

I was so naïve.

At some point I picked Gintama up again, I’m one of the people who are read more
I found this review Helpful
cubekid
Jul 31, 2007
This is my first review here, so please let me know what you guys think!

Gintama is about Sakata Gintoki, who is a samurai in an age where samurai\'s have been deemed unnecessary by the aliens who have taken over. As far as I can tell, that\'s about as deep of a story this anime has. But you probably won\'t care, because this anime is downright hilarious. The characters are funny, the situations they get in are completely ridiculous, and all the references to other anime/manga they have make it all the more enjoyable.

--Story--
As I mentioned earlier, there really isn\'t too much of a story line. read more
I found this review Helpful
ktulu007
May 20, 2015
Gintama is an ongoing manga by Sorachi Hideaki. From 2006 to 2010, Sunrise, the same studio behind the Gundam franchise, did an anime adaptation which lasted for just over 200 episodes. So, does the anime manage to stay entertaining for that long, or even be entertaining at all? Let’s take a peek and find out.

Story:

There isn’t a single cohesive narrative to Gintama. There are some loosely connected arcs, and a whole lot of episodes that have nothing to do with those arcs, but there is no single narrative. The basic setup is that the world has been conquered by aliens, referred to in Gintama as read more
I found this review Helpful
holdenn
Sep 13, 2008
Gintama takes place in Edo(a.k.a Tokyo nowadays). Aliens who call themselves, the Amanto, have invaded Japan. In order to prevent another resistance of samurai's, they prohibited the use of swords. Only a handful of samurai's are remaining, Sakata Gintoki, a laid-back samurai who carries a wooden sword, is among these few. Together with Kagura, an extra-terrestrial girl with a monstrous strength, and Shinpachi, your average troubled adolescent, they'll take any kind of job as long as it fills their stomach and keeps them from getting kick out by the landlord.

Gintama is an action, comedy samurai anime with a sci-fi twist. You dont get to see read more
I found this review Helpful
Touka
Feb 5, 2009
Gintama is a masterclass in comedy writing and variety; a series that grows in originality with each passing episode, so inventive and fresh, dynamic and interesting, it's no wonder it has become one of Sunrises' flagship series, not to mention a mainstay of Shounen Jump.

The plot - from the get-go - perfectly encapsulates what Gintama is about: it's absurd. The Gintama universe is limitless; anything can and will happen. This insane nature is perfectly explored through the episode structure. Chiefly, it's an episodic series, with multiple story arcs woven in-between. Each episode will see a new plot, exploring one (or multiple) aspects of this wide read more
I found this review Helpful
Nervin
Dec 2, 2015
Comedy is a genre which can be very difficult to appeal to the majority of people, as it is heavily dependent on ones preferences, as well as his own past experiences with the medium. Besides these limitations, there is an other factor that plays a role, which are the cultural differences that exist in current society, as a lot of comedy is dependent on the understanding of said cultural customs. This is done in the West through various types, such as satires, sitcoms, cringe comedies or slapstick comedies; in the East, particularly Japan, this done through the most known type of comedy, the Manzai, or read more
I found this review Helpful
Bentokey
Dec 3, 2015
Before I write this review which is very long overdue I would like to first establish that Gintama is my favourite series in both the manga and anime mediums and it is something that I will carry with me forever, it took me out of a very dark part in my life and set me on the right path. Gintama is something that becomes better as time moves on and you learn more about Japanese culture (of course, manga and anime) looking back at the series but it is also a very compelling story with slowly arching storyline with some really emotional moments and just read more
I found this review Helpful
Aikoh
Jan 3, 2008
Japan, a nation which was once known as "samurai country", has been invaded by aliens called the Amanto who now pull the strings of the government. The samurai have been forced to become ordinary citizens and sheath their swords forever. Gintoki Sakata, a former samurai who follows his own code of "bushido", was once a fierce warrior who can now barely scrape together the change to purchase this week's Shonen Jump. What's a samurai to do?

Story
Gintama is not an anime that one should approach expecting a plot. It's an episodic action and adventure comedy that details the hilarious and ridiculous daily read more
I found this review Helpful
HaXXspetten
Feb 5, 2015
I've never really been a fan of long-running shounen anime. I had some bad run-ins with series like Naruto and Bleach when I was a kid and ever since then I've tried my best to stay away from them. For the same reason, I'm quite sure I would never have made myself watch Gintama either if it wasn't for its incredibly high ratings which made me feel somewhat obligated to. When I eventually started it though about 1,5 years ago, it was very quickly made evident that Gintama is... different. Not just different from other shounen anime, but different from almost every anime. In many read more
I found this review Helpful
missind33
Feb 6, 2008
I don't really know how to start this off, but here it goes...

I first began this series out of complete boredom during the summer, but after wacthing the first couple episodes I thought to myself "

Story: The story is fantastic! Even though most of the episodes consits of crazy occurences that occurs with Gintoki and his friends (and shinsengumi), all the episodes are exciting and funny. But this series is not all fillers. There is a secret past with Gintoki and how he is connected to the previous war with the amatos (aliens) and samurais, and he encounters villians who try to harm to read more
I found this review Helpful
animefreak338
Mar 6, 2012
This is one of the most pointless anime I have ever seen besides Lucky Star, Naruto, and Bleach. There is absolutely no plot at all which tells you something. The jokes are running gags from the manga industry that desperately try to please fan-boys; in reality, they are dry, crude and pathetic. It grows tiresome after seeing the same joke for the 4th time. Characters are one of the most annoying aspects of this show. Especially Shinpachi the "side-kick" of the show, who just seems to point out right and wrong and the obvious. Women are violent and short-tempered and the men are either lazy, read more
I found this review Helpful
MirrorBeing
Jul 2, 2010
Gintama is a peculiar type of anime. It's a mix of 90's shounens and comedy.

Story:
The story is not the main focus of Gintama. The sroty is divided into arcs. Evey Arc starts with disconnected episodes focusing on comedy and then, after some episodes, it starts to dive in plot. This cicle repeats.

The comedy section oscillates between "Amazing" and "Ok". You cannot predict when you're going to get a funny episode and a shitty episode. Besides that, haf of the comedy comes from references to japanese pop culture and other animes, which most people won't get.
Still, when Gintama is funny, it's really funny.

The Serious read more
I found this review Helpful
ColdMist
Jul 27, 2015
So I watched 71 eps of Gintama. Comedy pure. This anime really made me laugh, I used to watch it while I was eating dinner so sometimes it even ruined my appetite cause the characters puke very often or try to heal their hemorrhoids by showing their ass to the moon.
Gintama makes it really obvious that this is a made up story, an anime, it's absurd. The characters get hit by a bomb and don't even bleed. They get filthy and suddenly they're clean again. The main character keeps describing himself as the main character. But Gintama is worth watching for the comedy.

In the read more
I found this review Helpful
unbe
May 6, 2009
In just 25 minutes, this anime will show you that even a simple fight between friends over a sukiyaki pot can be more engaging than some epic battle between planets and solar systems (while there's plenty of that too).

I always thought there would never be an anime series that would keep me entertained beyond 50 episodes, and after watching over a 1000 episodes of anime in total, I'm convinced that this is in fact true... except for Gintama.

Watch this anime but be prepared to laugh your stomach out.
I found this review Helpful
Shiroyuki30
Dec 9, 2009
My first time writing a review so people,please be NICE :)

I started watching Gintama when my friend recommendate me too.She said it was a hilarious anime and people who did not laugh while watching Gintama,have no soul or sense of humor.I gave Gintama a chance and tried watching but i didn't expected myself to laugh non-stop at the jokes and i didn't expected myself to enjoy every second of the anime.

Although Gintama is focused on comedy,DO NOT put the tissue box away.There will be tear jerking and touching arcs which will make tears roll down your cheeks.

And DON'T forget the action which will be showed read more
I found this review Helpful
Raptor1221
Sep 16, 2013
Gintama to be symbolized is like a bottle of fine apple cider. Its not the hot cinnamon one you enjoy at winter time, but a bubbly and sweet drink enjoyed alongside some of the finest of your holiday wines. Gintama is sweet. With a cast of bubbling and energetic characters who lift spirits. They just make the show sizzle with satisfying pops. At first Gintama feels like a kiddy drink laughable and nothing more. As you slow down and enjoy Gintama it becomes something more. There is certain tartness mixed in, a hint of something more dramatic, this only materializes itself once read more
I found this review Helpful
CG-Silver
May 25, 2016
So I've been meaning to write a review for Gintama for quite a while now ever since I finished this wonderful series. I'm a huge fan of the series but I'll address the negatives as well, since nothing is perfect. This review will be for all of the Gintama entries up until the 2015 version.

A common misconception that people make is that they think Gintama° (2015) is a reboot of original Gintama. The answer is NO, it is a direct sequel to Gintama: Enchousen and has totally new content. The watching order is: Gintama > Gintama' (2011) > Gintama: Enhousen > Gintama° (2015).

So before read more
I found this review Helpful
Play2X
Jul 17, 2014
Time for my first Review!
It should be obvious, but I'll say it nonetheless:
This is purely my opinion, agree or disagree as you like.

Well, right the first thing I have to say is excluded from that rule though.
Gintama is, without fanboyism, the absolutely best Anime there is.
Why is that, you wonder? Well, read on then.

Story: 9/10
Gintama has no consistent story, instead it has short arcs and standalones
(which I usually don't prefer) BUT each standalone episode and each arc in itself are hillarious.
Gintama can do whatever they like. Science Fiction Arcs, Comedy Arcs, Shonen Arcs, even more Comedy, Crossovers. But why are there just 9 instead of read more
I found this review Helpful
lovelyangel666
Aug 5, 2012
At first I was very skeptical towards the idea of watching this anime. For you see, to watch Gintama one must have a profound knowledge on Japanese pop-culture and language (as the show doesn't lack puns and references), none of which I have. Nevertheless, if you are one to appreciate a good laugh and a chaotic story line, Gintama is the anime for you.

My opinion on this show:

Story: 9/10

I can't help it but admire the author's ingenious approach towards not only fiction, history and adventures the characters come by, as well as the daily life of Ooedo inhabitants and all their small problems (e.g. the read more
I found this review Helpful