Gintama

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Gintama
Synonyms: Gin Tama, Silver Soul, Yorinuki Gintama-san
Japanese: 銀魂

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 201
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2006 to Mar 25, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Thursdays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, ParodyParody, SamuraiSamurai, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.971 (scored by 208369208,369 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #110
Members: 691,418
Favorites: 44,979
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 18, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
Over the years there have been a multitude of comedy shows that have graced our TV screens, from the surreal stylings of Monty Python and sarcastic wit of Blackadder, to the sci-fi tomfoolery of Red Dwarf and the strange antics of The Fast Show. There are numerous notable series that have taken their rightful places in our DVD collections, and in an age where comedians are treated like rock stars, maybe it's fate that comedy anime would also come of age.

It's strange to say this, but humour has never been a strong department for the medium, partly because of the cultural differences between East and read more
Jul 23, 2014
Hanimir (All reviews)
Gintama? Gintama. Hmmm, Gintama... Gintama or not Gintama, that is the question.

Now this is a show I've wrestled with for a long time. Many of my friends pledged almost fanatically this is the best anime in existence. I watched the first episode. So this is it? I was not impressed. As a person who found pleasure in the darkest and most gloomy kinds of settings, I would almost immediately say that this was not for me. Everything was just so weird and appeared to be arbitrarily glued together.

I was so naïve.

At some point I picked Gintama up again, I’m one of the people who are read more
Jul 31, 2007
cubekid (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review here, so please let me know what you guys think!

Gintama is about Sakata Gintoki, who is a samurai in an age where samurai\'s have been deemed unnecessary by the aliens who have taken over. As far as I can tell, that\'s about as deep of a story this anime has. But you probably won\'t care, because this anime is downright hilarious. The characters are funny, the situations they get in are completely ridiculous, and all the references to other anime/manga they have make it all the more enjoyable.

--Story--
As I mentioned earlier, there really isn\'t too much of a story line. read more
May 20, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Gintama is an ongoing manga by Sorachi Hideaki. From 2006 to 2010, Sunrise, the same studio behind the Gundam franchise, did an anime adaptation which lasted for just over 200 episodes. So, does the anime manage to stay entertaining for that long, or even be entertaining at all? Let’s take a peek and find out.

Story:

There isn’t a single cohesive narrative to Gintama. There are some loosely connected arcs, and a whole lot of episodes that have nothing to do with those arcs, but there is no single narrative. The basic setup is that the world has been conquered by aliens, referred to in Gintama as read more
Feb 5, 2009
Touka (All reviews)
Gintama is a masterclass in comedy writing and variety; a series that grows in originality with each passing episode, so inventive and fresh, dynamic and interesting, it's no wonder it has become one of Sunrises' flagship series, not to mention a mainstay of Shounen Jump.

The plot - from the get-go - perfectly encapsulates what Gintama is about: it's absurd. The Gintama universe is limitless; anything can and will happen. This insane nature is perfectly explored through the episode structure. Chiefly, it's an episodic series, with multiple story arcs woven in-between. Each episode will see a new plot, exploring one (or multiple) aspects of this wide read more
Sep 13, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gintama takes place in Edo(a.k.a Tokyo nowadays). Aliens who call themselves, the Amanto, have invaded Japan. In order to prevent another resistance of samurai's, they prohibited the use of swords. Only a handful of samurai's are remaining, Sakata Gintoki, a laid-back samurai who carries a wooden sword, is among these few. Together with Kagura, an extra-terrestrial girl with a monstrous strength, and Shinpachi, your average troubled adolescent, they'll take any kind of job as long as it fills their stomach and keeps them from getting kick out by the landlord.

Gintama is an action, comedy samurai anime with a sci-fi twist. You dont get to see read more
Sep 22, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Gintama is a very inconsistent and overrated series.

Many Anime fans tend to praise Gintama as the best battle shonen Anime of all time, and they inflate it’s status even further by giving it perfect ratings, and while Gintama is a show that does good in some aspects or during some arcs, it fails at being a consistent show throughout it’s long two hundred and two episode run, which hinders it from becoming good or even great by extension. Gintama is definitely not a bad show, far from it actually. It is just that Gintama suffers from problems that cannot be overlooked, and today we read more
Jan 3, 2008
Aikoh (All reviews)
Preliminary
Japan, a nation which was once known as "samurai country", has been invaded by aliens called the Amanto who now pull the strings of the government. The samurai have been forced to become ordinary citizens and sheath their swords forever. Gintoki Sakata, a former samurai who follows his own code of "bushido", was once a fierce warrior who can now barely scrape together the change to purchase this week's Shonen Jump. What's a samurai to do?

Story
Gintama is not an anime that one should approach expecting a plot. It's an episodic action and adventure comedy that details the hilarious and ridiculous daily read more
Feb 6, 2008
missind33 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't really know how to start this off, but here it goes...

I first began this series out of complete boredom during the summer, but after wacthing the first couple episodes I thought to myself "

Story: The story is fantastic! Even though most of the episodes consits of crazy occurences that occurs with Gintoki and his friends (and shinsengumi), all the episodes are exciting and funny. But this series is not all fillers. There is a secret past with Gintoki and how he is connected to the previous war with the amatos (aliens) and samurais, and he encounters villians who try to harm to read more
Jul 2, 2010
MirrorBeing (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gintama is a peculiar type of anime. It's a mix of 90's shounens and comedy.

Story:
The story is not the main focus of Gintama. The sroty is divided into arcs. Evey Arc starts with disconnected episodes focusing on comedy and then, after some episodes, it starts to dive in plot. This cicle repeats.

The comedy section oscillates between "Amazing" and "Ok". You cannot predict when you're going to get a funny episode and a shitty episode. Besides that, haf of the comedy comes from references to japanese pop culture and other animes, which most people won't get.
Still, when Gintama is funny, it's really funny.

The Serious read more
May 6, 2009
unbe (All reviews)
Preliminary
In just 25 minutes, this anime will show you that even a simple fight between friends over a sukiyaki pot can be more engaging than some epic battle between planets and solar systems (while there's plenty of that too).

I always thought there would never be an anime series that would keep me entertained beyond 50 episodes, and after watching over a 1000 episodes of anime in total, I'm convinced that this is in fact true... except for Gintama.

Watch this anime but be prepared to laugh your stomach out.
Dec 9, 2009
Shiroyuki30 (All reviews)
Preliminary
My first time writing a review so people,please be NICE :)

I started watching Gintama when my friend recommendate me too.She said it was a hilarious anime and people who did not laugh while watching Gintama,have no soul or sense of humor.I gave Gintama a chance and tried watching but i didn't expected myself to laugh non-stop at the jokes and i didn't expected myself to enjoy every second of the anime.

Although Gintama is focused on comedy,DO NOT put the tissue box away.There will be tear jerking and touching arcs which will make tears roll down your cheeks.

And DON'T forget the action which will be showed read more
Sep 16, 2013
Raptor1221 (All reviews)
Gintama to be symbolized is like a bottle of fine apple cider. Its not the hot cinnamon one you enjoy at winter time, but a bubbly and sweet drink enjoyed alongside some of the finest of your holiday wines. Gintama is sweet. With a cast of bubbling and energetic characters who lift spirits. They just make the show sizzle with satisfying pops. At first Gintama feels like a kiddy drink laughable and nothing more. As you slow down and enjoy Gintama it becomes something more. There is certain tartness mixed in, a hint of something more dramatic, this only materializes itself once read more
Oct 8, 2018
Joe_Striker (All reviews)
It’s always baffled me how Gintama fans think a series with pretty much 80% filler and 20% story is a “masterpiece” and the “best anime ever!!1!”

Gintama is overrated trash. It has a slow start, corny parodies, lame repetitive gags, no concise plot and has "serious arcs" when it's supposed to be a comedy first and foremost. What a complete mess of a series.

Plot: (1/10)
The comedic episodes that take up 80% of the series is just their to flesh out the characters, the world and repeat the same jokes over again. Don’t let these gintama tards fool you saying “you have to watch every read more
Aug 5, 2012
lovelyangel666 (All reviews)
At first I was very skeptical towards the idea of watching this anime. For you see, to watch Gintama one must have a profound knowledge on Japanese pop-culture and language (as the show doesn't lack puns and references), none of which I have. Nevertheless, if you are one to appreciate a good laugh and a chaotic story line, Gintama is the anime for you.

My opinion on this show:

Story: 9/10

I can't help it but admire the author's ingenious approach towards not only fiction, history and adventures the characters come by, as well as the daily life of Ooedo inhabitants and all their small problems (e.g. the read more
Feb 5, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
I've never really been a fan of long-running shounen anime. I had some bad run-ins with series like Naruto and Bleach when I was a kid and ever since then I've tried my best to stay away from them. For the same reason, I'm quite sure I would never have made myself watch Gintama either if it wasn't for its incredibly high ratings which made me feel somewhat obligated to. When I eventually started it though about 1,5 years ago, it was very quickly made evident that Gintama is... different. Not just different from other shounen anime, but different from almost every anime. In many read more
Dec 3, 2015
Bentokey (All reviews)
Before I write this review which is very long overdue I would like to first establish that Gintama is my favourite series in both the manga and anime mediums and it is something that I will carry with me forever, it took me out of a very dark part in my life and set me on the right path. Gintama is something that becomes better as time moves on and you learn more about Japanese culture (of course, manga and anime) looking back at the series but it is also a very compelling story with slowly arching storyline with some really emotional moments and just read more
May 24, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story (5.1) - I have to say...its very confusing, and really hard to find connections in gintama between the episodes..sometimes there arent any..well, this aspect doesnt matter since the others are better.
Basically, Gintoki was once a samurai who fought for edo...and still continues to fight, on hiw own way, helping others and saving the world from alliens (sometimes). With the help of shinpachi, kagura, shinsengumi and some other characters, they will
get in all kind of situations.

Art (9.8) - Art is outstanding!! I really like it.. Gintoki looks so great, also, the shinsengumi are something that made me laugh all the time, especially Hijikata-Okita-Kondo..Shinpachi and read more
May 22, 2018
pedromgdo (All reviews)
My first review ever, and unfortunately a negative one, but i'll do my best to explain why i'm giving it such a score.

* Story * [2/10]
Since this is a comedy anime most episodes are loose and don't really have any important conection with each other, but sometimes there are some 'serious' arcs where story develops, so my rating is of those arcs.
Story is generaly weak with no mindblowing twists, it wasn't as bad to watch as most episodes, but it was mostly the same formula as everything we have seen before, strong bad guy and good guy takes a good beating and then defeats the read more
Aug 10, 2009
Lillyness (All reviews)
Preliminary
Take samurai, aliens, robots, unrealistic animals, a whole bunch of randomness and throw them into an Edo period-like setting and you'll have Gintama. Gintama combines a lot of things that should not be combined, it breaks all the rules and crosses all borders in how a story should be told. However, Gintama does this extremely well and each episode never fails to have its watchers in stitches of laughter with its outrageous situations.

Story - 10/10
Story? What story? There is absolutely no plot to Gintama, its episodic humour that outlines the daily life of an odd jobs freelancer Sakata Gintoki and his two 'employees', read more