Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokkou


Alternative Titles

English: Tokko
Japanese: TOKKÔ[特公]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 16, 2006 to Jul 30, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: WOWOW, Shochiku
Licensors: Manga Entertainment
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.651 (scored by 17,961 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #53142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2186
Members: 36,802
Favorites: 116

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 17, 2008
natsuocosplay (All reviews)
Wow... I must tell you before you read this review that it has been awhile since I watched Tokko.

I really do not think this anime has gotten enough love. It was actually a VERY great anime with a great story. Even though, it made me very upset that they ended it with pretty much... no ending. It was kind of just... over.

This anime... is not for little kids. Very bloody and a lot of swearing, but that was one of the reasons I liked it so much!

STORY: I think that this anime had an amazing story. I mean, sure it's kinda getting old, the whole, read more
Jan 4, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

When you hear the word "anime" what pops into your mind? Do you think of the beautiful movies of Hayao Miyazaki? Do you think of generic shonen series like Dragonball Z, Naruto, or Bleach? Perhaps you think of the artistic and Avant Garde works of Satoshi Kon or Masaaki Yuasa? For someone like me who was born in the late 1980s and grew up in the 1990s watching the anime available on American TV, I first think of highly formulaic action series with clear character archetypes, mediocre animation, and attempts to use pointless gore and nudity to make themselves edgier than the animation of read more
Oct 31, 2008
-FlameHaze- (All reviews)
Introduction
Firstly I'd like to say i read some other reviews and this is a very varied anime. (I have finished this anime before reviewing) It's like marmite / veggie mite lol You love it or hate it.

Story
While watching this I was always wondering what was going to happen next, have seen alot of horrors / slash 'em up movies and anime, I wasn't entirely sure what was going to happen through this. There was various suprising moments through-out the entire anime. The idea of demons trying to kill humans isn't as simple as it goes, that is just the impression you get at the start read more
Aug 16, 2010
deleteme234 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dreadful, boring, plot goes absolutely nowhere...

Man, FUCK this show!

Tokko is an anime that seemed to have a lot going for it, at first at least. Too bad Tokko was too busy fucking itself. Truthfully, I was not able to finish the entire series; I only watched 8 out of the 13 episodes. Honestly I do not even care to finish the rest of the show, even if Tokko happens to have an amazing ending, which I highly doubt. I bet the ending sucks as much bullshit as what I saw. The 8 episodes I watched sucked dirty asshole and wasted my time.

Story:

The premise may sound read more
Dec 31, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Based on the manga of the same name which was written by Tohru Fujisawa and directed by Masashi Abe. Tokko is an action anime that dabbles in the supernatural and Japanese mysticism. It involves a group of supernatural detectives taking on supernatural threats, in this case it's some type of zombie like creatures possessed by demons whom devour the living. Many naysayers hit on the unoriginal feel of the series, yet I can outright ignore just how derivative the story is, because the real problems are stale characters, unnecessary filler, bad story progression, poor interactions, plus a rushed and unfinished ending. This is more than read more
Aug 1, 2008
StarfleetCpt (All reviews)
A rather good anime ruined with an incredibly disappointing (lack of) ending. Though it lacks anything spectacular or unique with its plot, setting, or characters, Tokko is for the most part a good action series with good action scenes, and is able to hold the viewer in with its deepening mystery and conspiracy behind the secret organization Tokko and the evils it fights. Another thing it has going with it is, yes, fanservice - some may complain it's overboard but I think it's actually handled rather well. However, once again, the series is ultimately ruined by its short length and obviously rushed conclusion - it's read more
Apr 27, 2012
Ziggyrawr (All reviews)
I felt that, the story's build up stretched out far too long and then the ending was pretty much non existant, there was little to no explination as to what happened in the final episode.

In short i felt very disapointed by this anime once finished.
May 1, 2019
LostNomad4471 (All reviews)
It doesn't feel like Tokkuou's a real anime as much as a template for an anime.

Story 5/10

The story is very straight forward, but, in my opinion, that's the problem because it makes the anime feel bland and boring. So Ranmaru wants to find the people who killed his parents, finds out they were killed by monsters, he joins Tokkou to kill the monsters, and at the climax fights the evil mastermind whose controlling the monsters and wants to take over the world.

There weren't really any big twists or surprises and it fells like the writers were really dragging the plot out, like they were read more
Aug 23, 2008
TADDAIMASU (All reviews)
Una serie que ofrece una trama muy interesante per que lastimosamente carece de una buena animacion y algunas escenas parecen elaboradas en FLASH, de todos modos e intentando olvidarse de ello vale la pena verla si te gustan las batallas con espadas y demonios en pleno siglo XXI, encuanto a los personajes son algo estereotipados pero aun asi de buena calidad y el sonido es bastante acorde a las escenas. No es lo mejor que he visto pero vale la pena verlo si tienes tiempo libre XD
Jul 31, 2010
EllieFace (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just finished watching the anime.
If you're just about to watch it, here's the good and bad points;

Good points :

The story had a good concept, I mean, it's been done, but everyone loves gore and there's not much you can do with evil spirits. I actually quite liked the little twists and the way they laid out the order of things to come.
The characters are hard not to love. Ronmaru (the main character) certainly makes you smile, in the beginning he's very cute and fun and unknowing and he changes through out the anime, but you find out every reason why; which I like. I read more
Apr 7, 2014
riccyjay (All reviews)
A total flop.

One of the worst series I've seen. The biggest problem for me with this anime was that you're aware from very early on there's not going to be a proper resolution.

It seems more like a video game plot, where the main character has to defeat x amount of monsters to collect things inside them. Totally unoriginal.

Animation is pretty poor too. Lots of unanimated characters rushing through static backgrounds. Also the character design is pretty dull. None of them break out of the most basic stereotypes.

Avoid.
Oct 6, 2009
UserDeleted (All reviews)
This is my first review, thought I would make one since I'm feeling a bit bored.

First of all, my opinion would be that this is a great anime show. It's a bit underrated, and I think it deserves more credit then it's given. I'm giving it a 10 because it's one of very few anime shows that actually had me interested. I would say this anime show deserves between a 7-9 rating, but I'm not one to give very low ratings.

Story 7/10 - The storyline was okay, it wasn't anything original, but it wasn't bad either. There is your average sword fighting in it, and read more
Oct 8, 2015
IEatBees (All reviews)
Tokkô

Total score: 2/5

I had high hopes before watching Tokkô, I really did. I was expecting, hoping for, looking for something dark. I wanted an anime rich in horror, blood, violence. I was looking for scenes bathed in the blood of unjust enemies who committed horrendous crimes. I wanted to be kept uncertain as to whether or not someone would be left alive at the end. I wanted uncertainty as to the fates of everyone involved.

I got none of that from Tokkô.

I have only watched this show once, so I'm the first to admit the possibility that my disappointment stems from setting my expectations too read more
Jun 25, 2016
lkiller12l (All reviews)
This is my first review so hmm where should I start.. I dont get it why is this anime so unpopular and ppl hate it. In my eyes it was pretty good if u like blood.The art is good for how old it is the characters are ok but now the bad thing the story is so unfinished they could have done much more it feels like the ending is just thrown at u this had a lot of potential imo.It also had a bit of humour which I like.Overall It needs more episodes and better ending. Im sorry its hard for me to rate read more
Feb 26, 2016
nightcrawlercyp (All reviews)
Ok, so I saw a lot of people hate this anime because nothing happens. What they must understand is that unfortunately the manga as dropped after only 3 volumes. I think originally the anime was supposed to have 24 episodes or another season. This explains why until episode 9 things go very slow. I personally found the show very exciting and interesting with strong and deep characters. There are no bad people just because like some shows have and a lot of things got explained by the end. I could say the only thing I did not like was the last episode which was read more
Aug 16, 2010
G8crasha (All reviews)
This was one of those animes which had a massive amount of potential, but then seemed to take a wrong turn near the end. It seemed as if the producers had run afoul of their budget and then quickly rushed the series to keep the big boys happy.

The build up to the latter part of the anime is definitely worthy of recognition as one of the better series, but then things begin to unravel near the end where the whole tone becomes rushed and abrupt. There were some real golden moments, but they are few and far between.

My biggest qualm is the fact that it read more
Feb 16, 2017
Enderspider15 (All reviews)
Tokko was interesting. I was promised zombies and only kind of got my wish. It wasn't bad at all and I actually enjoyed it, but there were flaws (Like the ending)

Story: 7/10 - The story was good and had a cool plot. It was executed fairly well, but it went in a lot different direction than I expected. I did enjoy the story but it seemed lacking and it just kind of ended.... very abruptly.

Art: 5/10 - I honestly don't care about art or how bad it is, but this did have an older feel to it, which honestly isn't my favorite style. It was read more
Oct 23, 2012
KaosStoner (All reviews)
all in all it was a great anime it sucks that it wasnt finished or so ive read from various other sites thus the none existant ending its a pretty good anime if u like hack n slash anime if u want a well thought out complex story this might not be ur prefered anime the story is pretty straight forward and doesnt leave much to the imagination but all in all the chracters are great and the back story behind the characters was pretty cool just the actual plot story was kind of a downer but still a decent anime for all its flaws read more
Mar 18, 2013
skullon92 (All reviews)
this is one of my all time fave anime's simply because it's one of the first anime's watched online after getting a computer and the fact it was different to the other anime i watched back than. loved all the fight scenes and the story line it's self was really good (imo at least) and i probably also like as much as i do since it was the first anime i watched that had nothing to do with kids in high school since i do get bored of them some times,
the only thing i didn't like about the anime was that it was to read more
Jun 21, 2010
jljaina (All reviews)
I great start to a series, but a ruined ending... or should I say a lack therof. They just...stopped. No explanation or reason. That was it. Otherwise a enjoyable series until then. Violence, good fights, good story potential.