Mobile Suit Gundam Wing

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: New Mobile Report Gundam Wing, Shin Kidou Senki Gundam Wing
Japanese: 新機動戦記ガンダムW
English: Mobile Suit Gundam Wing
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 49
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 1995 to Mar 29, 1996
Premiered: Spring 1995
Broadcast: Fridays at 17:00 (JST)
Producers: TV Asahi
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Themes: MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary, SpaceSpace
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 7880378,803 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1249
Members: 144,231
Favorites: 2,216

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2007
Hiromi (All reviews)
Gundam Wing enjoys a hefty helping of popularity in the eyes of western otaku alongside with its brother, Gundam SEED (whether this is a pro or not, is up to the viewer). Wing can owe its success to one of many things. It began its American broadcast just as anime was starting to peak to the next generation, a large and somewhat epic plot contrasting many simple episodic American cartoons or, Wing could simply owe its success to the bad assery of Wing Zero (say what you will - those wings trounce 90% of the Gundams made).

Story
The story, like all Gundam plots revolve around read more
Oct 12, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
Even though the characters tend to have more one-dimensional personalities, it’s used effectively in a way where they can be distinctive and stand out, and serves as a motivation to develop the characters in their own way. All sides of the conflict have characters that have beliefs in why they do what they do, and you can sympathize with them. Certain characters will consistently change because a new revelation or turn of events will unveil that will impact them, and you can say it’s a reality of politics and war which I think is presented in a less complex manner in comparison to Tomino’s Gundams. read more
May 26, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Whether brought in as a pure import of the original content at hand or a distillation of several ideas taken from it to form a new product, Japanese media, and its aesthetic sensibilities, have constantly found its way stateside throughout the decades. From live-action shows to those of the animated variety, the stylistic fingerprint left behind by this cultural entity has continuously drawn the attention of curious onlookers. A curiosity that's led to you, the reader, and me, the writer, to this point of intersection. And from all the decades that this media has been funneled into the states, perhaps no other time period has read more
Mar 8, 2017
TakaTempest (All reviews)
If you are a fan of Gundam Wing you may not like this review.
Am going too, go ahead and judge Gundam Wing for what it is and not the base of nostalgia love that I use too, have.
Also, keeps this in mind I was one of those kids whom grew up with Wing and loved it. Also, I didn’t complete the series when I was a kid because at the time period Gundam Wing was slowly disappearing out of Cartoon Network along with Outlaw Star and Cowboy Bebop so I never finished the show back then but for what I saw in Gundam Wing read more
Jun 5, 2015
dinohunterpat (All reviews)
Overall this is a pretty good series. Granted it's not exactly the best Gundam series, it still holds its own ground. The action is solid with lots of explosions and mobile suits pummeling each other. Also Wing Zero and Epyon have some of the best Non-UC designs I've seen. Also the voice acting and animation are passible for what's provided. That said, the characters and story is better than I expected to be honest.

The overall story stands out from previous entries in the UC by portraying our main heroes as insurgents and emphasizing that people matter more than organization. Sure the earth government has read more
Dec 10, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Gundam Wing was the series that helped popularize the Gundam franchise here in America as it was the first series in the franchise that was aired via Toonami. But in terms of the amount of praise a number of fans have given the series, it is definitely overrated as the series overall is an average one that is trying to be grand with its plot yet is quite sloppy and unoriginal in its execution. A good amount of the writing for the plot is quite sloppy where logic is thrown out the window in vain attempts to create drama to hook in the audience at read more
Jan 17, 2008
flashandfade (All reviews)
Gundam Wing was the first show of the Gundam franchise that I saw. Namely because it was on Toonami (I was ten, I couldn't import anime). After re-watching it many times, it has become of my favorites.

The story isn't bad at all once it's realized it more about the organizations and the war itself, instead of mecha fighting. The plot can be a bit choppy at times, but that was because of writers quitting every ten minutes (which is why episodes 28-29 are recaps. *Explained in Episode Zero Manga*). The characters are interesting themselves, and seem one dimensional at first, but as the series read more
Mar 11, 2013
RyanZero (All reviews)
I really wanted to like this anime more than I did, really I did. I'll start off by saying that I've never watched any Gundam series, so I didn't really know what to expect. Starting the anime the first couple episodes really drew me in and I was very interested to see what would happen next to the Gundam pilots. After those first couple episodes though, that's where the series flat lined for me.

I couldn't help but feel they tried to be too ambitious with the whole series, too many "main" characters, WAY too much flipping of politics and sides. For example, the character read more
Feb 23, 2011
TheSakurax (All reviews)
When you've grown up to anime, you get your fair share of repetitive mecha shows.

This is not one of them.

I started watching this when I was a kid. Didn't really understand everything, but I liked the boom booms and the awesome weapons.

When I hit my teens, I rewatched it. When I hit adulthood, I watched it again.

And then I watched it again for sheer pleasure. So, what does that tell you?

a) I like it
b) It must be damn good to watch it 4x.

Story: 10/10

You've probably seen the mecha space war story plenty of times. But Wing takes it to a new level. A political one.
One read more
Sep 13, 2013
RaynorsRaider (All reviews)
I loved this anime when it was aired on Toonami, but after my second time watching it, I don't have the same love for it as I did before.

I will say that for it's time, it was a good anime...but it could have been better is so many other aspects.

Story: The story was okay. It had it's plot twists to keep you on edge, but all of them were easily seen, and not too bewildering. I would say it is average in that respects.

Art: Again, for it's time, it had decent artwork. They definitely had all the explosions and firepower well captured throughout read more
Jun 24, 2010
Shinryu1284 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gundam Wing is one of those anime that I just can't comprehend. Every bit of it was perfectly made, yet, I just can't bring myself to fall in love with it like the rest of the world has. It's politically realistic, The story is well done, the art style is unique, the mobile suits are awesome, and I could even go on forever.

There's so much good, yet so few things bad. I've only been able to figure out one thing that I don't like about Gundam Wing; the main characters.

We have five Gundam pilots sent to earth from space colonies to crush the corrupt read more
Jul 29, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
This was one of few shonen that I grew up with that actually didn't treat its young audience like idiots. There was a level of moral relativism instead of Manichean good vs. evil. There was complicated sub-plots and character relationships. It displayed the suffering and injustice of war rather than celebrating it ala GI Joe. It also had a flat out amazing soundtrack and epic battles! It had its flaws to be sure. The art was not that good, characters would go insane on a weekly basis, and oh yeah, the Arab pilot was inexplicably blonde. Overall though , this was a solid series and read more
Sep 20, 2009
Tape (All reviews)
Important question to ask: Am I going to have to like mecha anime to fully enjoy this show? The answer is yah, you will have to like mechas, cuz that is what this show is all about.

Heres a quick summary. The good guy group has super mechas called Gundams. These Gundams are far superior to the rest of the worlds mecha designs and give them an advantage in all fights. Since at this time in the world most of all the wars in the world are fought using these giant mechas suits, having a advantage in technology gives you the edge in each and every read more
Nov 21, 2008
Kira01 (All reviews)
Gundam Wing is mainly focused on the wars between political groups and factions caused by a difference of beliefs and opinions. There are people who seek a world free of wars, a world of peace, a world in which people can all live happily together. On the other hand, there are people who seek war and have the world fall into a cycle of hatred, destruction, and chaos. However, instead of the traditional jet fighters, tanks, and soldiers fighting at the frontlines, we have giant machines known as mobile dolls battle each other instead.

Aside from the political story involving Gundams, the animation itself isn't all read more
Feb 3, 2011
TheProfessionlol (All reviews)
Among the first animes I watched as a teen, I loved it then for the quiet, angsty teens who piloted entirely unique and superior mechs to slice up hordes of enemy suits. It was always tough to keep up with the dialog, philosophy, and reasoning behind the individual characters' motivations. But years later, after I had gained some years, I rewatched this in succession so that I might be able to pick up on the plot a little bit better. I was rewarded with what I consider the best anime I've seen to date.

Story: Tough to follow, for sure. but once you are able to read more
Jan 8, 2013
Shura-shurato (All reviews)
One of the , if not the BEST gundam serie ever made AND aired on t.v ( at least in the western world it was HUGE), this is just one of those long franchise wich has an serie that stands out, revolutionair mecha-designs, good char. introductions and yep what else: it was handdrawn anime. Storywise i really liked it, such an unusual plot and tere is little traditional animation , more mature animation like, and those 5 boys are just manly, not anime kiddo's who bithching all the time like lots these days
Apr 7, 2020
jalford31 (All reviews)
At best it is forgettably mediocre and at worst so hilariously bad it's somehow entertaining.

There is not a single character I liked, all of them are either forgettable or extremely shallow and painful to watch. All but one of the main pilots are some kind of edge lord that only a 13-year-old would think is cool because if they were one of them they could tell their stepdad Terry to shut up. Going from left to right, Trowa is your emo sad boi with like two feet of hair in front of his face, he least edgy of the edge lords but still read more
Aug 11, 2008
EtherealMerc (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is Mobile Suit Gundam Wing and my review of its profound glory.

I have never been a big fan of mecha anime and Transformers (the original), Gundam Wing, and Neon Genesis Evangelion are the only three that I care to watch more than once. In fact I am rewatching Gundam Wing now.

Story: 8 points
The series has A LOT of redundant footage, a few episodes that only serve to rehash previous scenes and dialogue, a skin-deep plot and no subplots or back-stories, and several, impossibly invincible characters. However, this series also has A LOT of redeeming qualities. Gundam Wing is full of twisting storylines, paradoxical characters, read more
Jan 29, 2020
ktulu007 (All reviews)
The Gundam franchise is one I've talked about twice. Once with Iron-blooded Orphans & once with the considerably less competent 00. But since it's the month for great couples, it's time to look at an older instalment with Wing. 

Story:

Our tale takes place in the future where we have established space colonies and a powerful Earth alliance that basically runs the planet. Factions within the colonies feel that they've been oppressed by the Alliance's overwhelming military might and this leads to operation Meteor. Five different colonies all sending their own Gundams and pilots to Earth. The pilots land and fight separately, with a special focus on read more
Jun 29, 2019
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
Pop quiz time! What Alphaville song best describes the Gundam franchise? The answer is, of course, "Big in Japan"! And over the years, many people have tried many times to make it "Big in the West" as well, but it never really gained much traction. The small amount of success it did find mostly traces back to "Gundam Wing", which made a decent sized splash on American TV around the turn of the millennium.

And that's rather unfortunate. Because although I've only seen a handful of Gundam series, "Gundam Wing" ranks among the worst ones in my book.

"Gundam Wing", with its cast of characters starring mostly read more