Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Supernatural The Animation


Alternative Titles

Japanese: スーパーナチュラル・ザ・アニメーション

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 23, 2011 to Apr 27, 2011
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Warner Bros.
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Other
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.171 (scored by 5,417 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2303
Members: 19,734
Favorites: 44

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 18, 2011
harmony_kh_kairi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched the first episode after following progress and being excited about an anime version of my favorite TV show for a very long time. I was not disappointed. Even though it starts off rather different from the show it still feels very similar. The first episode still gives us the basics of the plot, Mary Winchester was killed by the yellow eyed demon when Sam was only 6 months old. But this is seen as a dream by Sam in the Impala on their way to a case (later Sam also sees a dream of Jessica's death). The first episode is an adaptation of read more
May 12, 2011
zealot7 (All reviews)
Before starting, I should note that I am a fan of the TV series, but I will review the anime as a standalone piece. I will put myself in the shoes of someone, who has never heard of Supernatural and evaluate its merits and faults from there.

Story: 7/10
The story is simple and easy to follow. It is about Sam and Dean, two brothers who hunt demons and evil spirits. Most of the episodes are following the “monster of the week” formula… but there is a general plotline that advances slowly throughout the series. There is also a main villain and the Winchester brothers have a read more
Apr 19, 2011
musicvidnut96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
STORY: 4
The plot seems okay. How Mary Winchester died is still the same as it was in the original series, but it wasn't as detailed. The flashbacks that Sam had near the beginning of episode 1 made me go "What?" once or twice, so I had to rewatch that scene a couple of times before I went "Oh... Okay".

The anime desperately tries to have the same feel as the original series. Honestly, it did have the same feel, but there was just something lacking.

ART: 3
The character designs are simply pathetic, it's too over-shaded, the characters seemed poorly planned out. read more
Jun 15, 2011
luffyluffy (All reviews)
This show is a joke.

Therefore, it is best to just relax, lean back, and watch it flounder. If you're a fan of the original Supernatural, take this as a chance to take the piss out of it. Because it's hilarious. If you take it seriously, you'll be very disappointed.
Jun 27, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
This is a creepy show. Having not seen the live-action show before, I don’t know if it does justice to the show or not but I have to say, I really like it any way and it does make me want to see the original show. The episodes all have to do with someone dying in a gruesome way, then the brothers’ end up being at the right place at the right time. Each show is its own storyline without many things to link them together. The story is slow, and not really action orientated. Many of the shows act more like detective shows where read more
Jul 19, 2014
Mew1Mokuba-Akari (All reviews)
Preliminary
Truthfully if your a fan of the series don't bother. Sure it sounds like it'd be good But with Jared Padalecki being the only one to reprise his role it was a disappointment. If Jensen Ackles (Who was only in the last two) and the rest of the cast had reprised their roles as well maybe I could have actually been able to stomach a full episode. Had they done this it could have made for something wonderful. But the animation for Sam was pretty much spot on. But Dean lacked a lot to be desired.

Non fans wouldn't understand why fans would be confused read more
Apr 13, 2015
foREVer-san (All reviews)
As many of you are already well-aware, Supernatural is one hell of a series and for those who know it, seen it, love it I believe the animation is also worth seeing. But for the sake of a fair review, I'll try not to compare it (-much-I do compare it) with the original series.

So, the story is definitely interesting. Two brothers hunting down all kinds of monsters thought to be just fictions of mythology and legends does sound appealing. The series includes remakes of the original episodes and anime-only episodes, too. As far as the latter is concerned, I believe they fitted with the original read more
Nov 3, 2015
StormyParasol (All reviews)
I quite enjoyed this anime adaptation of the Supernatural series. The series take place over the span of the first two seasons of the original show, including animated remakes of fan-favourite episodes as well as completely new episodes. There were some episodes, such as 'Moonlight' that I found didn't quite work as well, but this could be excused by the difference in episode length (the original series being 40 minute episodes compared with the animated 20 minute episodes).
Jared was the voice of Sam for all 22 episodes of the series, however Jensen only voiced Dean in the final two episodes. Despite this, I found read more
Apr 25, 2011
jimakossoad (All reviews)
Preliminary
I saw the first episode of Supernatural Animation, and it was nothing but a chineese stupidity. In the end of the animation, you can hear the song of Kansas- Carry on my wayward son, executed by an unknown and probably untalented artist.. he literally killed this wonderful song. I m a big fan of Supernatural and i think this animation serie is pointless.. It underestimates the tv serie Supernatural , and its horrible. Personally i will stick @ tv series Supernatural which i watch it for years... i reccomend you to do the same..
Aug 7, 2012
itsthatguy (All reviews)
"If there's something strange, in the neighborhood, who you gonna call?"

Bad news everyone, your parents lied to you (it's OK, mine did too). The Boogeyman does exist, there are things that go bump in the night, and yes, there probably was a monster living in your closet when you were a kid. No worries though, for when the bumps in the night start to get a little louder (don't get out of the car you fool!), you've got somebody watching your back to send the creatures of the night back to their holes in the ground. Sam and Dean Winchester, brothers who read more
Dec 25, 2012
christian_otaku (All reviews)
Well.. This is my first review. Sorry if I lose your time. I just finished Supernatural The Animation and felt like writing a review about it. It is from these kind of series that you can't say whether it is good or not from seeing only the first episode.

STORY - 8 (Very Good)
To begin with, I should say that the plot surprised me a little bit because I had heard about it from the original TV series and expected to see demons, monsters and bloody things everywhere (which does not bother me anyway). It was far better than this, though. But there is something read more