Black Lagoon
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Black Lagoon
Japanese: BLACK LAGOON

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2006 to Jun 25, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:35 (JST)
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 286495286,495 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #111
Members: 572,073
Favorites: 11,647

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 10, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW OF BOTH SEASONS**

Usually, anime whose only two genre classifications are "action" and "seinen" are pretty open-and-shut. The vast majority of them are mindless action scenes with cardboard cut-out characters at best and unwatchable nonsense at worst. Black Lagoon, however, is different. Don't get me wrong, it's undoubtedly an action-first show with little plot substance, but Black Lagoon stands out among the rest thanks to its awesome characters and stellar animation that make the show an absolute blast to watch. This anime knows how balance itself between hardcore action and lighthearted comedy just as well as other action animes like Fullmetal Alchemist read more
Jul 15, 2008
Skullsnack (All reviews)
To start off, I will warn you that this is by far my favourite anime of all time. Thus, a little bit of bias is to be expected. However, I'm going to try my hand at writing this as objectively as possible. Here goes!

Story: Black Lagoon is an action packed, character driven anime following a group of multi-national pirates (in this context, mercenaries who take jobs from criminals based around the use of their boat and combat prowess). Taking place in the South East Asian Sea, the key setting is Roanapur, a fictional city which is best described as a 'hive of scum and villainry'. read more
Sep 29, 2008
Sylenced1 (All reviews)
I really can't come up with the words to convince you to watch this anime, but if I wanted to describe my first reaction to it with two words, I think I would choose: "Holy %@$%". I think you get the picture. Absolutely amazing! From the first episode I was hooked, and it only gets more incredible as you continue.

This series sets itself apart from every action based anime I've ever seen, with incredibly detailed animation to support every fight scene. They are not afraid to use crude language or display gory violence, and it's one of the most refreshing things about this series read more
Apr 13, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
You watch the way Revy handles her two, Beretta 92FS pistols with a 5.9 inch barrel and you say to yourself: “those jeans are way too suggestive for me not to imagine her holding my pistol.” But then you remember the talk you had with HR regarding this matter, and wisely choose not to watch bawdy anime at work. Let alone masturbate to it. Resulting in numerous complaints from fellow coworkers who can’t keep their damn mouths shut.

Prudish bourgeoisie mores aside, Black Lagoon is an exhilarating show. One that all too often becomes ridiculously absurd. Like when the read more
Jul 17, 2015
dinohunterpat (All reviews)
If there's one way to describe Black Lagoon it would that it's a exhilarating ride with surprisingly smart moments.

Story:
The story is surprisingly well-developed with a nice sense of pacing that manages to have both slow-down philosophical chats mixed with visceral action. The dialogue is fantastic with a real sense of sardonic wit that would seem like something created by Tarantino. In a weird way, Black Lagoon can function as a social commentary given how major characters like Rock, Balalaika, and Roberta have backstories that aren't too dissimilar from those of non-Western citizens from the 90s. Japan was languishing from a financial depression, the Soviet read more
Nov 1, 2007
Two-Hands (All reviews)
When I first hears the title I thought it was some fantasy or horror show like "The creature from black lagoon." or something like that...then when I actually saw the series, I was in for a big surprise coz the series was way different from what I pictured.

so here's the Drill:
The series follows the mis-adventures of Revy, Dutch, Benny, and Rock, the merry (seriously....joking) crew of Black Lagoon, a transport team that delivers anything from guns to people,anything!

Basically that's the story...


Art:
There are only a number of anime that have outstanding art...and This is one of them. The perfect balance between anime look read more
Nov 1, 2010
NoblesseOblige3 (All reviews)
Black Lagoon is an action series, people have guns, people use guns, people die, pretty standard sounding, but everything about it works and creates a truly brilliant experience thanks to it's memorable cast of characters.

The setting focuses on Southeast Asia where the Lagoon Company who are a team of mercenaries that specialise in smuggling goods. A lot of the time is spent in a fictional town in Tailand which is very run down and gangster run, it actually give a bit of a break from the almost perfect cities a lot of series are based in.

The actual story is divided into small arcs made up read more
Oct 25, 2009
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
For every two things I liked about this series, there was one thing I didn't like. That's a compliment; for the most part, I found "Black Lagoon" very refreshing.

"Black Lagoon" is a story about an ordinary, boring Japanese businessman named Rokuro who is kidnapped by pirates, and, realizing his previous life existed at the mercy of cold, impersonal business executives, decides to change his life path. He joins the pirates.

While most series would take at least five episodes to explain this, without even diving into the main part of the story, "Black Lagoon" takes just two. From the very instant one begins watching the series, read more
Feb 1, 2009
ManU-Alchemist (All reviews)
Black Lagoon is a action thriller that doesn't really have a storyline but does have enough action and character development to keep a person interested.

The story is the weakest point in Black Lagoon. To put it simply, there is no story. The Lagoon Company is a group of thugs that went into piracy because there isn't anything else in life that they accept as a job or that will accept them. So the Lagoon Company undertakes missions for various bosses. And that's just what every episode entails. It's either a continuation of the previous mission because it wasn't able to fit in with the first read more
Nov 18, 2010
CDR8516 (All reviews)
There are times when I am hard pressed to find an anime to watch I know I will like. Most likely this is due to indecisiveness, which admittedly is my problem more often than I would like. However, I also believe my struggles can be attributed to a major point: I know myself well enough to know that no matter how highly praised, artfully executed, or original a series is, if I'm not feeling it when I start watching, then It's probably not going to work out, which brings me to Black Lagoon.

Frankly, there is nothing that I could write in this review that read more
Dec 4, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Madhouse is a pretty unpredictable studio. For me, they've always been pretty hit or miss. Sometimes I really enjoy the anime they produce, other times I can't stand it. Some of the best and worst anime I've reviewed have been from them. I'm not even kidding, I've given anime from their studio everything from 1-10. Most of the time when I get a request to review one of their works I have no idea what to expect. Today is an exception since I've actually seen the anime before. So re-watching it for a review didn't leave me questioning whether or not it was going to read more
Mar 21, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
I consider Black Lagoon and Black Lagoon: The second Barrage as one, so this review will cover both seasons. Also, the modular structure of Black Lagoon does lend to adding more kours. Oh, I refuse to shorten Black Lagoon to BL… Anyway, on to the review…

The first thing that came to mind when watching Black Lagoon what how it was quite different than your typical action anime. Instead it reminded me more of the over-the-top action flicks by John Woo or Hollywood summer blockbusters. It has crazy gun fights and insane car chases, things you find in many action flicks. read more
Aug 28, 2012
hlguyvalve (All reviews)
Opening Thoughts : Black Lagoon is about a japanese businessman taken hostage by the Lagoon Company, a mercenary pirate group sailing around Roanpur,Thailand. He was taken hostage because of a disk that contained important data from the company he had worked for and later realized his life in Japan was thrown away from his boss to as a cover up. Sick and tired of his old businessman life, he ends up joining Lagoon Company on an epic adventure in the criminal underworld. The crew of the Lagoon Company is Dutch, a black man that seems to be in charge of the entire crew, Benny, the read more
Sep 4, 2008
nx6 (All reviews)
The Lagoon Company is a "delivery" company that operates in the South China Sea. While they do in fact deliver cargo to and from destinations, the business is as legitimate as Al Capone going to the bank to "make a transaction". They are made up of their leader Dutch, a black ex-U.S. Vietnam veteran, and Captain of the PT boat Black Lagoon; Revy, a Chinese-American sharpshooter from New York; and Benny, a Florida post-grad electronics expert.

Our main character is Rokuro Okajima, a mild mannered Japanese office worker still very low on the totem pole at his employer. His company is smuggling information on nuclear weapons read more
Aug 28, 2017
PakiUSA (All reviews)
STORY: 6/10
CHARACTER: 8/10
ART: 10/10
SOUND: 9/10
ENJOYMENT: 9/10
OVERALL: 7/10

!!Since there’s only a short gap between S1 and S2 of Black Lagoon, I am going to be reviewing both seasons here so Warning beforehand for any Accidental Spoilers!!


‘Black Lagoon’ captured my attention from Revy on the poster to good word of mouth. Not knowing what to make of the title or the poster, I was very surprised at what this anime turned out to be. Often criticized for copying ‘Cowboy Bebop’, I was a little concerned at first but this anime distinguishes itself with its world building and characters. Set to a dark yet realistic, cruel, cold, violent read more
Sep 19, 2019
RyanSpring (All reviews)
This anime gives Deadman Wonderland a run for its money for my "Most Juvenile Anime I Have Ever Seen" award. This anime is BLATANTLY targeted at angsty teenagers in every way and it's cringe-inducing to watch.

The writing is unbearably bad. Expect constant lines along the lines of "Shit is bullshit! Let's go F some shit up!" or "Let's go start some shit" or "I'm going to show that F ing C the definition of pain". It's offensively mindless and juvenile and could only possibly appeal to unhappy teenagers.

It's not just the writing either. All the characters try really really hard, and not the least bit read more
Oct 21, 2014
blackcontractor (All reviews)
Black lagoon was my second anime and even though i have seen plenty anime it remains one of my favorites in the action gender anime category. I will keep this as short as i can but i will also try to explain the reasons this anime is one of those few hidden gems out there.

As we all know anime about pirates do not come by so often other than the neverending One Piece, and one that puts the cutthroat and ruthless life of a pirate under the magnifying glass is even rarer, if not, nonexistent. Black Lagoon is an exception that vividly exemplifies this read more
Mar 1, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
Story (8.7) - The story is about a group of mercenaries that do all kind of stuff, like looking for treasures, go on dellivery missions, and some more you will find out.
Is fine, not a masterpiece, but enoguh to make this a good one.

Art (9.6) - Animation in black lagoon is really great..especially in the gunfights, the movements, the perspective of the action, the design, is all great..outside the gunfights is nice, but not as great in my opinion. But still great. i can just take 0.4 pts to the rate, so 9.6 =10.

Sound (7.9) - I really like the opening, however, the rest read more
May 17, 2019
MouradSME (All reviews)
Rei Hiroe heard about actual piracy cases in the East China Sea in the 90s, and was inspired by the works of many a hollywood director like Tarantino, and decided to start working on his own story... that is Black Lagoon.

Now, it goes without saying that there are a lot of amazing works out there in the Seinen Anime world, but what is an undeniable fact is that Black Lagoon rules them all (according to me at least).

[Story]
In short, we have a group of mercenaries called the Lagoon Company that does anything for money -that's mercenaries for ye! Somewhere in the map of the read more
Nov 14, 2017
iorn (All reviews)
Preliminary
(This review will contain mild language.)
Black lagoon is about a Rokurou Okajima a Japanese man with no friends who becomes a pirate. But instead of doing stupid things like singing sea shanties and making people walk the plank he's fighting neo nazis and getting into gunfights against other smugglers . Despite having no formal training with a firearm of any kind and having a gigantic gaping cunt where his balls should be Rokurou isn't immdietly gunned down during the first-fire fight that happens in the anime. And that's going to bring me to my next point.


Early on Black lagoon stabs to death any sense of read more