Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Megami Kouhosei


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Candidate for Goddess, Pilot Candidate
Japanese: 女神候補生

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 20, 2000 to Mar 27, 2000
Premiered: Winter 2000
Broadcast: Mondays at 18:00 (JST)
Producers: Bandai Visual, ING
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SpaceSpace
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.481 (scored by 87128,712 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #62202
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3401
Members: 17,880
Favorites: 54

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 4, 2008
Jessa (All reviews)
I think Candidate for Goddess didn't get the recognition is deserved in the least bit. The 12 episodes were very enjoyable, but I feel like it got cut too short. And because it's quite short, this review will be as well!

Story has some similarities to Evangelion, but not to make it a direct copy or a rip. The characters were fun and enjoyable. The animation was well done-- clean and crisp. Character development could be a bit more, as there was so much room for potential growth.

Overall, Candidate for Goddess is enjoyable, light hearted, and fun. I highly recommend watching it if you can find read more
Jun 11, 2010
SoloButterfly (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had watched part of Pilot Candidate early in my discovery and immersion into being an anime fan and had fond memories of it, when a friend finally bought the whole series I eagerly borrowed it so I could get the full story. Unfortunately the full story is not what this show provides, and my memories were rosier than reality.

The show has some really nice art, though suffers some from the early CG and anime mixing where the CG is very obvious. Character designs are overall very attractive and in my opinion one of the highlights of the show. It's all down hill from read more
Sep 3, 2011
Universal_SheeP (All reviews)
I was uh what seven episodes in and I thought the show was fairly bad but watching the last five episodes....I felt ripped off. Normally I wouldn't mind but this went from being bad to just being terrible!

Pilot Candidate or Candidate for Goddess is the typical show about a young feisty protagonist who wants to fulfill -insert dream here-. Plus or what should be a plus is that we get mechs added into the shounen mix! With a cast with over ten members, and 12 episodes to tell a story how bad does Pilot Candidate fall?

Well I will describe what can be the pros read more
May 11, 2015
RoarkTenjouin (All reviews)
(Note that this review is based off of the TV show alone, and does not include the OVA)

Occasionally, whenever I watch a show, I'll wonder if the show has a function to serve aside from provide entertainment, and if so, what is that function (this isn't exclusive to anime - I've wondered this while watching shows like Numb3rs and Burn Notice)? Even if I'm watching an anime based off of a manga, I still will have this question every now and then. Pilot Candidate was a show that I found myself asking this question.

Story: 5/10
The story is somewhat standard for a mecha show read more
Jan 5, 2017
InvertiHerikawa (All reviews)
Before I begin, I am just gonna say... AVOID THIS SHOW LIKE THE PLAGUE. That is all. I'm gonna rant how bad it is, if you'll excuse me.

Story: 0/10

Art: 7/10

Sound: 1/10

Character: 0/10

Enjoyment: 0/10

Overall: 0/10

This is one of the most appalling anime I've watched, next to Voices of a Distant Star and Orange Road. Even with industry elites like Michelle Ruff (Rukia), Joshua Seth (Tai) and Richard Cansino (Kenshin), whom played the roles of Kizuna, Zero and Azuma respectively, they still couldn't save the damn show. Not to mention that the directing was atrocious as well. Even the most acclaimed voice talent can't rescue a shipwreck read more
Jul 17, 2011
BurntFlower (All reviews)
Candidate for Goddess can be more aptly described as being one big, juicy bait.

It presents potential viewers with its premiere episode ‘00’, bountiful amounts of eye-candy, a seemingly interesting plot filled with mystery and lots of space battles to satisfy even the most hard-core action fans. However, what this anime doesn’t want you to know is one dark, little secret: There is no ending. It piles on with every episode more drama, more symbolism, more of everything and just when you expect something epic to happen, you’re just left with thin air. I won’t say I didn’t fall in its trap; it’d be as big read more
Sep 8, 2018
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
【 The following is a review of : Megami Kouhosei and Megami Kouhosei (manga) 】

I watched Candidate for Goddess and read the manga when I was in middle school. And even at the height of my fanaticism with anime, I knew this show was pure garbage. Anime is known for having bad CG, right? Along the lines of Blue Submarine No. 6, this has some of the most migraine inducing computer graphics ever! Of any anime that I have EVER seen! And I have seen thousands!

• This show is a perennial eyesore, through and through. I would rather forget that I ever saw it or read more
Sep 6, 2016
KristinDtf (All reviews)
Maybe its the Nostalgia talking or maybe Im just stupid. But Candidate for Goddess is one of those series that I have always seemed to just enjoy.
Overtime I finish watching it I always find myself hoping to find more. Are some of the characters boring, uninteresting, or a waste? Sure. But I think that is less to do with the actual story than it is the pacing of this story. I mean I believe that this world is too big for a 12 episode series. Heck, even when I went to the manga for a conclusion I didn't get one!
I genuinely want to read more