Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kore wa Zombie Desu ka?


Alternative Titles

English: Is This a Zombie?
Synonyms: Koreha Zombie Desuka?, Kore ha Zombie Desu ka?, Kore wa Zombie Desuka?
Japanese: これはゾンビですか?

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2011 to Mar 30, 2011
Premiered: Winter 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.551 (scored by 239,051 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #147
Members: 430,544
Favorites: 3,052

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2011
Ryhzuo (All reviews)
Maybe it’s because I’m getting old and senile, but it seems that the more anime I watch, the less sense they seem to make. You could imagine my confusion when I started watching Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? "Why is the zombie weak to sunlight but not the vampire? Why the hell is he in a pink frilly dress? Why is that monster a giant lobster?" In exasperation, I put these questions to a good friend, and I found that his reply turn out to be a very apt one-sentence summary for my review.

He said to me: "I dunno lol, who cares? It's fucking hilarious!"

Everything read more
May 21, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
Is everything really better with zombies?

Given the recent surge in stories involving the shambling undead it's pretty obvious that there are people out there who believe that they can improve any form of entertainment, so much so that at times it seems as though the world is already in the midst of a zombie apocalypse. Tales of creatures that wander aimlessly, groan a lot, and have the annoying habit of eating people while they're still alive are rife in movies and games (although I tend to class Resident Evil as more of a playable soap opera with added undead), but that's only the tip of read more
Jan 11, 2011
DangoSage (All reviews)
Preliminary
HOLY CRAP ANOTHER ZOMBIE ANIME!

Hey wait a minute.. Aren't zombies suppose to be the living dead with rotting flesh and mindless expressions, mumbling "braaaainnnnssss...."
No wait, that's my biology lecturer...

Anyways, sure Aikawa Ayumu looks like a normal typical high school boy with a boring life etc etc, but isn't that how all the typical animes started out with?
However, he is blessed with a special gift... No! Not a harem! Im talking about his gift of being the walking undead! (And for added fun, the ability to crossplay!)

The anime started out pretty normal but just less then a minute everything turns haywire as his identity of read more
Sep 21, 2013
JusticeSoulTuna (All reviews)
So what is 'Is This A Zombie?' aka 'Koreha Zombie Desu ka?'

Zombie Desu ka (as I'll refer to it from now on) is an anime that abuses genre cliches, it's horrendously inconsistent, shockingly violent and has some of the most uncomfortable shots of a guy's ass on several occasions...and it's easily one of the funniest animes I've ever seen.

YES. Zombie Desuka is the BUSINESS. I honestly couldn't contain my laughter ever since the dynamic and hysterical first episode. What makes this anime so special is, as I've mentioned, how it abuses genre cliches such as harem, shonen, fantasy, fanservice and even a bit of heavily read more
May 28, 2011
BatOtaku13 (All reviews)
Have you ever seen an anime you were convinced was going to be really cool and interesting and only just to have it let you down to no end? Welcome to my experience with Kore Wa Zombie Desu Ka. After two episodes which presented a genuinely interesting and refreshing take on the harem genre (interesting takes on mythological creatures, nobody particularly interested in each other romantically, basically just putting up with each other simply because they have to), this series succumbs to the harem tropes it actively avoids and just becomes ultimately a very lazy series.

The initial concept for this show is actually read more
Feb 22, 2011
Lysferd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello, folks. Today we'll talk about `Koreha Zombie Desuka?', whose original name is 「これはゾンビですか?」, henceforth called `KoreZom'. First, allow me to tell you that I've never read the original Light Novel, as well as never read any of the adaptation manga. So, every opinion bases itself on the anime, and no comparisons between adaptations are made.

Well then, let us begin.

~!~

Story: 9 out of 10.
KoreZom has lots of comedy, but even though it manage to unfold an very interesting plot. Since, once again, it has great focus over the comedy, I really wasn't expecting any story at all. I've seen comedy animes that just had almost read more
Jan 18, 2011
Pan151 (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Kore wa Zombie desu ka?" is, despite what the "Zombie" in its title might suggest, the extreme opposite of every zombie show you've ever seen before. Forget about mindless monsters trying to eat you alive. What we have here is a harem mixed with slapstick comedy, magic and lots of gore.

Story: As in most harem animes, the actual story is not the show's main focus. However, at first glance, it seems quite a promising one for its genre, though pretty simple: A high school student is murdered after he is attacked by an unknown person. However, he is revived as a zombie with the help read more
Mar 15, 2015
TheHonestThief (All reviews)
Oh boy... This show. I find myself torn while writing this, on one hand there were some extremely funny and enjoyable moments where I could not stop laughing. But on the other hand there were some downright terrible moments where I was raising my head to the ceiling praying for the scene to end. Is this a Zombie is an anime that makes it's mark by throwing in every genre, every character type, every trope, just everything really. If you can think of it there is a high probability you'll find it in this show. But despite throwing everything under the sun into this anime, read more
Apr 8, 2013
thetideproject (All reviews)
The following will be a review for one of my favourite shows; Kore wa Zombie desu ka?

Now, without further ado, Here is the review.

~Story~ (8/10)
For me, the story for excellent. The was the story works in this anime is really quite odd. Everyone has their own stories and agendas, there really isn't an overarching story until the second season.
The main gist of the story revolves around the Zombie Ayumu and the Necromancer Eucliwood (Eu) and the shenanigans and such that they get up to. On the surface, this may just look like your average Harem/Ecchi/Action but if you care to look deeper you'll really find read more
Jan 11, 2011
Lihn (All reviews)
Preliminary
alright this is my first review ever, so it might be kinda sloppy, lets see here

Story 7/10
The story itself isn't really anything special, the protagonist is a zombie, living with a necromancer, but it is different from most other magical anime's so i'll cut them some slack.

Art 8/10
The art for the majority of the episode is again, nothing amazing, but the show does have a well done intro with some satisfying looking animation, and i'm hoping to see some animation like that in later episodes of the show, so for now they get an 8. Also random addition, this episode has lots of blood for read more
Apr 24, 2014
Rawrzz03 (All reviews)
*This may contain a few spoilers*

At first I thought Kore wa zombie desu ka? was going to be one of those fantasy-comedy anime without an actual storyline and with lots of boring episodes. Fortunately, it was much better than I thought.

Story: 6
I was very surprised that this had a plot. It really did. The story focuses on a high school boy, Ayumu, who is both a zombie and a Magiclad Girl (Yeah, I know, kinda weird) and his supernatural friends, Eu, Haruna and Sera who fight against all kind of creatures. This might seem a little mediocre and it is because as the show goes read more
Jun 16, 2011
helur (All reviews)
Looking back on this show I question myself how I enjoyed this show. Riddled with fanservice, a harem which means no actual romance, and a cast of invincible characters. Our good male lead Ayumu is a zombie, taking an arm or two is but a flesh wound, and our female lead has enough magic power that the universe is changed at her emotions and words. The action scenes are enjoyable and occur frequently but nothing extraordinary. They aren't afraid to show a bit of blood though!

Nevertheless, there is something about the comedy in this set up that makes every episode worth watching. Of course read more
Apr 13, 2011
itsthatguy (All reviews)
Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? was certainly an interesting show. What initially attracted me to the show was that the main character was in fact a zombie and after seeing that it was labeled as a harem story I was interested to see where it would go.

Story: 7/10
Ok, personally I really enjoyed this show. However I would say that the story was the show's major weak point. The initial premise of the story is extremely unique and interesting. Main character and normal high schooler Ayumu Aikawa is murdered by a serial killer, is then brought back to life as a zombie read more
Mar 9, 2011
zensunni (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story/Characters: 10/10 of 10

At the half-way point, this is a well wrought tale, with significant twists along the way. There is a certain amount of "cliche elements" in the telling, but what sets Kore wa Zombie desu ka? apart from the crowd and saves it from being a cliche ridden also ran is the way it turns each and every one of those cliches on its ear, pokes a wet willy in it, strips it of its dignity, and then tells it "It is OK! People still love you even with all your warts!" In other words, the show has an overriding irreverent tone and read more
Jun 26, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've always suspected that sometimes people request anime reviews from me because they want to see how I'll react to a particular really bad anime. That suspicion has been confirmed. Today's review was requested specifically because "Ive seen Ktulu review some real crappy stuff (I think I saw Baka to Test somewhere), so I thought this would be 'right up his alley' reviewing-wise." Yes, that is an actual quote. Is it really that bad? Let's take a look and find out.

Kore wa zombie desu ka follows a magical girl zombie who lives with the necromancer who brought him back to life, a magical girl read more
Feb 21, 2015
InfiniteJam (All reviews)
Is This a Zombie? is an anime I seen pop up on Netflix and I'm glad to say that I gave it a watch! It reminded me of so many different shows such as "My Bride's A Mermaid", "B Gata H Kei", and "Heaven's Lost Property". This is not to say this anime doesn't have a charm of it's own. I went into this show with not knowing what I was getting into really because I had heard nothing about it. Not gonna lie, the 1st episode was a bit over the top for me at first, but you get adjusted to it shortly after. read more
Feb 23, 2011
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, so call me EL Diablo, amigos, for giving this anime a rating of all 6's, but, HEY! That's how I looked at it, anyway there are a couple of more episode to go before the "PIECE DE RESISTANCE" of this anime and move to the new season, so, why all the 6's?

Ist, the story:

Even it 's genre are: Action, ecchi and magic, I think that comedy and mystery should be inculded since this anime did played with our minds as to who really killed the muchaho(male lead) and how his realtionship doing with the tres chicas (Yu, Sera and Haruna) if there is read more
Mar 30, 2011
AquaHaze (All reviews)
Out of all the anime I watched this season I would probably say Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? is one of the stronger series. The reason I decided to give the series a try is because the picture caught my attention when I was selecting anime to watch. However I'm glad that I decided to watch this series

The first half of the series doesn't really follow much of a story, instead we are given some gut busting comedy to pass the time. The comedy did actually get me to laugh a lot and I would've had no problem if the series kept read more
Feb 9, 2015
michi26 (All reviews)
I am going to start this review by stating, if you like a serious anime this is NOT for you. Those who watched this and took everything literal can not enjoy the beauty of this anime.

Now to my review. I thoroughly like that this anime is just one solid joke after another. Nothing in this anime is serious and should not be taken serious. It makes fun of all aspects anime out there, and does a good job at it. It builds up great characters that are lovable and does a decent job at putting in background story considering the anime is more of read more
Jul 16, 2012
DeSwitch (All reviews)
Ayumu Aikawa is a zombie resurrected by a necromancer named Eucliwood Hellscythe after being killed by a serial killer. As he tries to make the best of his un-dead life, he encounters a mashou shoujo named Haruna and accidentally takes her magic powers, being forced to become a mashou shoujo in the process. With Eucliwood, Haruna, and a vampire ninja named Seraphim living with him, Ayumu helps battle demons known as Megalos while trying to figure out the mystery behind his own death.

Story & Characters (5/10)
After watching enough gut-busting man-eating zombie movies you start thinking that you've seen everything that is until you saw Kore read more