Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt


Alternative Titles

English: Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt
Synonyms: PanSto, PSG
Japanese: パンティ&ストッキングwithガーターベルト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2010 to Dec 25, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gainax
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.771 (scored by 118,031 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9622
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #390
Members: 235,529
Favorites: 3,727

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 2, 2010
Nyron (All reviews)
I'm not going to mince words here, gentlemen. This right here is what is commonly referred to as an "orgasm of excellence". This series is so good it'll probably kill you by the time it's done. As in, this thing Gainax has made here can roughly fall under the definition of autoerotic asphyxiation. But that's just a summary of the show's quality as a whole, let's break this shit down:

PREMISE:

To put it plainly, the entire point of this show is to take the illusions otaku have surrounded themselves with for the last 10 years and annihilate them through a wanton, infinite assault of sex read more
Dec 26, 2010
Detective (All reviews)
"So what's the point?"

The main argument as to why Panty & Stocking is a masterpiece are all embellished ways of saying "funny," "it's a parody," and "cool art." Some people go as far as to say that Panty & Stocking is actually genius scripting - a juxtaposition between today's current moe anime standard and hardcore "American pop culture." I've even come across the explanation that Panty & Stocking is "a new level of anime," one that doesn't require intricate or meaningful plot, characters, or story - essentially an anime that thrives on emotion and it's acute sense of humor.

That my friends, is complete bullshit.

Panty & read more
Apr 24, 2011
Dietrologia (All reviews)
If you're going to watch this show, you should know a few things right off the bat:

It is a not a sophisticated series.

As an anime in general, its selling point is not a deep and compelling story with fleshed out characters, exploring various philosophical issues in order to deliver a good message.

As a comedy anime, its humor is not very classy. Its laughs are not derived from insider knowledge (well, most of them) or sublime writing.

So what exactly is the appeal of this anime, you ask?

In Gainax's own words, "vulgar and indecent jokes".

This is usually not a good selling point for anything, because read more
Dec 24, 2010
A2ZOMG (All reviews)
Out of all shows that have been presented in Fall 2010, it seems there is no show like Panty and Stocking which has so decisively split viewer opinions into clear cut groups that either believe it's the best thing that's ever happened since sliced bread, or have banished it to the depths of utter disdain. The question I ask right now and will answer in this review is if one or even both sides are justified.

First thing that one should wonder is what this show was trying to accomplish. I'm not a fan of Gainax, and thus I am not extremely acquainted with their read more
Oct 1, 2010
Jay0san (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is awful. Its so low brow, anyone with half a brain will turn away and go watch something good like Bakemonogatari.

Everything in this show is "LOL SEX JOKES" "LOL LOOK BLONDE IS A SLUT, I GET IT" "HURR DURRRR PENIS AND VAGINAS" "xDDDD TOILETZ GUYS YAH!."

I am afraid that Gainax has officially become a shit studio. First, they make that awful toddlercon loli bullshit, and now this? What the hell happened to the great studio that made my brilliant Gurren Lagann, Gunbuster/DieBuster, and FLCL? I'll tell you what happened, they are trying to appeal to the masses, i.e. abandoned all read more
Jun 25, 2015
TheHonestThief (All reviews)
"Fuck if I have a clue." -Panty
I'm not one to normally start off a review with a quote, but from my perspective nothing summed up this show quite so perfectly. Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt is the anime parody of western cartoons. To put it accurately, you take the Powerpuff Girls and cross them with South Park. The result, an amalgamation of crude humor, sex jokes, false ecchi, monsters of the week, Team Rocket, and two "Angels" who may just be the antithesis of angels. Allow me to say that it was fucking incredible.

Story: ???
Yeah, I'm not really certain of how I should label read more
Oct 22, 2010
TheFinalPie (All reviews)
Preliminary
So yeah, to be completely honest, this anime offends me. Not a single thing about it didnt offend me. Its so bad I felt its needed that I tell everyone that its an abomination and I cant even be nice about it. Now here comes why...

Story - None, this is an episodic series with no progression in site. It follows the same plot every time, something goes wrong and it a ghost's fault so the protagonists must stop it. there's nothing beyond this format to be seen.

Art - Its a poor attempt of taking Cartoon Network cartoon styles like PowerPuff Girls and throwing a bit read more
Nov 24, 2013
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
Critic’s Log - Earthdate: November 24, 2013. Review #69: Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt

Warning: This review contains subject matter that is not appropriate for young children.

November 23, 2013 was a very special day, Yesterday was The Day of The Doctor. It was the 50th Anniversary of the longest Science-Fiction series Doctor Who. Pffft, fuck that! *ahem* Actually, I really enjoy Doctor Who and I was just joking, But this day should also be honoring all doctors of all fields, you know… the doctors that give you your checkups to see that you are healthy. Also, let’s not forget the teachers that teach high school students read more
Oct 2, 2010
Edgeworth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Eh, what's wrong with you people hating PanSto? Why did you watch this at first rate? What did you expect of it?
As for me, i expected nothing less from Gainax. We all knew that it will be a good anime which will include "PowerPuff Girls" and "Dead Leaves" in it, that it will be a bit of fanservice, but... BUT GAINAX, I LOVE YOU, you just made my morning with it - it was higher-higher-higher of all my expectations. PanSto just made of win.
If you don't like shit, sex and sluts - just don't watch that. I don't wanna see anymore of you who read more
Nov 28, 2010
artist-retired (All reviews)
Preliminary
What's more important? Dazzling animation or a gripping story?
Well Gainax definitely chose animation over everything with PSG.

STORY: It's about two fallen angels, Panty and Stocking, who got kicked out of heaven and are now trying to work their way back by defeating ghosts by using their namesake items (a pair of panties that transforms into a gun,and stocking socks that transform into swords) to combat them and to try to earn coins so they can return back, all in a episodic rate.

Well that's pretty much the gist of the plot.

This is also, by the way, a comedy... a very rauchy, gross, and repeatative one in read more
Apr 10, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

There are certain opinions that are accepted on MAL, and certain opinions that stir up lots of anger. Certain anime series can't be praised and others can't be criticized without creating an absolute hailstorm of "unhelpfuls". I don't mean to come across as a mean spirited contrarian and kick any sacred cows, but I have to be honest. This is one of my least favorite anime comedy series. I don't think I laughed once the entire time. That's an accomplishment! I'm pretty easy to make laugh. YES, I understand that the director intended the series to parody the crass stupidity of American comedy and show read more
Mar 19, 2015
middleground4471 (All reviews)
WARNING: This review contains mature language and content that may not be acceptable for all readers.

Panty and Stocking is a unique anime in the sense that in not only has some of the fastest jokes I've ever seen in an anime, but this is the dirtiest, sluttiest, grossist, most foul mouthed anime I've ever seen, including hentai!!!

Story: The story is your basic monster-of-the-week story with Panty and Stocking fighting a different ghost in each episode and each ghost having his own unique powers. However, I will point out that because this is such a short anime, the episodical nature of the story doesn't wear read more
Aug 21, 2013
azuslu7jpg (All reviews)
Gainax decides to take on Western media and produces some interesting results.

As always, my reviews are spoiler free.

Story - 3/10

Panty and Stocking, a pair of angel sisters are rejected from heaven due to their questionable natures. In order to get back in, they must kill ghosts to collect heaven coins. It seems like a pretty simple story, and that's because it is; each episode (with a few exceptions) is divided into two halves, each killing a ghost wreaking some sort of havoc in the city. This havoc is usually directly involved with some sort of crude humor (the tissue factory has been read more
Oct 24, 2014
Thisvthattv (All reviews)
Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt is the most obscene, vulgar, and over the top anime that I’ve ever seen. That is what makes this series so unique and enjoyable. It does, and says things that you’d never expect to see in an anime, and it does it all really well. But with that said, Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt is not without its problems.

Story:

The story in this series revolves around the Anarchy sisters, Panty and Stocking. They are angels that got kicked out of heaven because couldn’t follow the rules. A handler named Garterbelt accompanies them on their mission to obtain the currency of heaven read more
Jun 15, 2015
TheBandOfTheHawk (All reviews)
Now, Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt is not your typical anime. This is one of the most profane and dirty shows I haved watched probably in my entire lifetime, but you know what, it works. Panty and Stocking is one of those shows you're uncomfortable with watching at first, but then you just accept the fact that you're watching something of its caliber. Gainax, you truly know how to experiment.

Story 6/10
Now I know I shouldn't be expecting much from a comedy show, and I didn't going in. Every episode is a new little story that tells us of the coarse adventures read more
Aug 5, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
You think you’ve seen everything in entertainment that would make you wide eyed in disbelief in its various forms of hedonism and debauchery? I’ve got one show for you to feast your eyes on and, to no surprise, it is thanks to Gainax, by the lead people who were responsible for Gurren Lagann unsurprisingly. The name of this title is Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt. Now if you think I use the terms hedonism and debauchery in any negative fashion, trust me when I say, it molds those two things into one glorious package.

A way to describe Panty and Stocking in a nutshell is read more
Nov 9, 2010
zopney (All reviews)
Preliminary
Remember watching cartoons as a kid, such as Cartoon Network or Nickelodeon? If you haven't remember or paid attention to the details of it, it's very much no connecting story for every episode; as each episode had its own scenario for itself, and did not drag on. This is the purpose of Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt, except it's not for the kids anymore. So yes, your cartoons as a kid, did finally grow up along with you.

To be forewarned, Panty and Stocking are not for the faint of heart, or even the intelligent. As GAINAX is clearly making the point that this is clearly read more
Aug 7, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt
PSG was great to watch and the writers were inspired to make their own Drawn Together, so this contains Off-color humor, black comedy, and surreal humor.

Story
I don't think this has a story to be honest more than the two badasses angels Panty and Stocking wants to go back to heaven and by doing that they have to kill demons or monsters to earn heaven coins and have to reach an amount of coins to go back, helping this two fallen angels is Garterbelt who in some way is like Matusalem he has like two thousand of years, because god wanted him read more
Apr 1, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Warning: this review contains some foul language. If you can't handle that, then this review is over... don't watch Panty and Stocking.

Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt... A title I’m going to shorten from this point on... Is a show about two angels who’ve been expelled from heaven, and must destroy ghosts in order to be accepted back through the pearly gates. They follow the lead of a mysterious black priest named Garterbelt, who shelters them, manages them, and aids them in finding their targets. However, now that they’re living new lives as mortals, what will be more important to them... Their quest read more
Dec 25, 2010
Cobbles (All reviews)
ah Panty & Stocking, probably one of the most controversial shows from Gainax in quite a while, and since they made good ol' Evangelion, that's saying quite a bit. P&SwG at heart is a love-letter/parody/pastiche/you name it/ to/of Western pop culture. Filled to the brim with toilet humor, references, asinine plot elements and even more inane characters, it's like I sat down to watch some animu and ended up watching something on Adult Swim/Comedy Central. Is it a show everyone can enjoy? Definitely not, it's pretty much cut right down in the middle between lovers: people who absolutely adore it and everything it stands read more