Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru


Alternative Titles

English: And Yet The Town Moves
Synonyms: SoreMachi
Japanese: それでも町は廻っている

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2010 to Dec 24, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.461 (scored by 15,986 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2002
Members: 43,046
Favorites: 156

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2010
Salsk (All reviews)
To be honest, I didn't know what to expect from this adaption. I was familiar with the source material, but since the production was in the hands of Shaft, yeah. For the unitiated: If Japan's anime industry was a party, and the studios were the invited, Shaft would be the high guy smoking joints on your favourite couch while eating all your snacks. They're just completely unpredictable. Some times they'll create excellent animation and sharply delivered dialogue, other times they'll churn out something that looks more like a slideshow and the boring, endless monologues which are associated with them.

I was pleasantly surprised.

The plot of read more
Dec 27, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
'Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru (The World Still Turns)' is about a dull maid café in a small shopping district, and the daily lives of its employees and customers.
It sounds like just another slice-of-life comedy, but it is one of the most thought-provoking comedy series I've ever encountered.
The town is a microcosm of the world. Conversely, 'SoreMachi' attempts to explain the way things work by studying the lives of ordinary citizens in an ordinary town.

The protagonist of the show is Arashiyama Hotori, a carefree, clumsy, and air-headed, yet very proactive girl who works in the maid café. Her irresponsible and unpredictable actions gets her into all read more
Oct 22, 2010
-Hysteria- (All reviews)
Preliminary
This my first review, hope you like it.

So, here we go.

Story:

Story is about a clumsy girl named Arashiyama Hotori who can get into trouble so easily. She's working at a maid café run by an old lady. I said it's a maid café but actually it's not like one of them. The first employee Hotori, has got no idea about what's a maid like. In one day her best friend Tatsuno finds out about her job. And guess what? Tatsuno really loves maids and maid café things. That's why she can't stand Hotori's clumsiness about being a maid. So Tatsuno's starting to read more
Jul 19, 2015
johnbradshaw (All reviews)
Somehow, from very the first episode, strange story settings, head tilt, weird camera angles, i talked to myself: "My god, this show is made by SHAFT". The studio that is both hated and loved for their unique approach to directing anime (thanks to Akiyuki Shinbou). Many times, they actually improved the anime but many times, they just created a disaster. So what about this show ? Is it lucky enough ? Very Fortunately, it is.

In fact, SHAFT has directed many great shows : Monogatari Series, Madoka Magica, Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei,... And even among those famous shows, Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru or And Yet The Town read more
Jun 7, 2019
Fuerzo (All reviews)
If you've watched enough anime, you've surely noticed that some anime studios have their distinct in-house styles that transcend franchises or genres, and perhaps no studio does this as clearly as Shaft. Akiyuki Shinbou and his team made themselves known through critically acclaimed adaptations like the Monogatari series and original anime like Puella Magi Madoka Magica, as well as other popular anime series, through a signature visual surrealism, quick cuts, and a focus on the strange aspects of ordinary life. While 2010's Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru (SoreMachi) lacks the flashiness of Shaft's more successful adaptations, it provides one of the most immersive settings I've seen read more
Oct 16, 2010
HavanaCruz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru

This is a review based on first and second episode only.

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru is a simple anime that is revolved around a rather odd maid cafe and it's employees. In the first two episodes there are hints of romance but its more about working at a cafe more than anything else. It would be fitted in the "slice of life" genre. It attempts to be so realistic they even have a not-so-pleasing-to-the-eyes friend to the two main characters. When I first saw this character I thought it was a joke but she made it to another scene so I'm guessing she's read more
Jul 16, 2011
foxnewsnetwork (All reviews)
It's no secret that Akiyuki Shinbou and the usual suspects at SHAFT productions tend to produce avaunt-garde shows with weird intros, strange camera angles, odd positioning, and artsy flares. Yet, even amongst the veritable flood of Shaft shows (actually, all anime in general), Soremachi stands out. It has become a rare example of when good source material meets good animation production. Everything from the loosely connected story-line, to the elegantly constructed setting, to the personalities and interconnections between all the characters spin perfectly into one gem of an anime.

People often argue that a "good" anime must have a "good" story; such an all-encompassing statement is read more
Sep 11, 2018
LunaPrecure (All reviews)
And Yet The Town Moves, or Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru, has as much substance as a g-string. It’s thin, flimsy, and far too voyeuristic to have any lasting significance. The plot revolves around three teenage girls who you constantly see talk about quirky, shallow things, while working in an uncanny valley café with an elderly woman in a maid uniform, and that’s really all there is. Oh! And an uncomfortably intimate view of their bodies to bridge dialogue gaps!

• I usually don’t care about fanservice, but this series is so saturated with it that the characters are practically a pair of talking ass and tits. It’s read more
Mar 6, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Soremachi is an anime centered on a high school girl named Hotori, who is chipper, energetic, and is voiced by Chiaki Omigawa, which means you’re getting a voice so nasal that it makes the Irate Gamer sound…well actually Chris Bores sounds a lot worse than her, so that comparison is utterly screwed. After school, she works for her grandmother at a maid café and helps her out whilst dealing with the customers and all sorts of wacky adventures that come her way, from matching wits with her math teacher to learning how to be a proper maid according to otaku standards to discovering space cookies read more
Oct 2, 2016
Aria_90 (All reviews)
If you like slice of life genre so much, then this one will be your favorite. In this show we will find daily life of Arashiyama Hotaru which is really enjoyable. The character of her is someone like always cheerful and almost airhead. The people araound her, friends, family, people in neighbourhood, are so enjoyable too. Actually i can say that you can find somekind of warmness by watching this anime.

Ups, lets put it aside. There something in this anime that any other SOL genre dont have. Yeah. The producer of Monogatari, Mekaku City Actors, Hidamari Sketch, hm, maybe you can guess what i meant. read more
Jun 14, 2011
Onigiri-man (All reviews)
i love the randomness of this anime, the hilarious twists and turns that you don't really expect, and above all Joseophine.
the creator of this story has taken maids to a new level, one that is better and more interesting than they were before (especially of you're female like me and don't care for moe)
plus their songs totally rock!
i was sad that it ended and hope for a new season
Oct 20, 2013
Danon6 (All reviews)
And yet the town moves.
In truth, i didn't expect absolutely anything from this anime, in my view you shouldn't spoil your own expression from watching anime with some expectations or even by reading reviews before you will complete it.In some cases even getting to know genres is more than enough to knew denouement, i mean that when you see drama you already know in variations how it will end. Unfortunately,almost nobody can avoid it.
There is nothing remarkable in the story,in my opinion: it's a typical slice of life and comedy story,sometimes diluted by fantastic and mystical inserts.But this in no way be regarded as a read more
Jun 2, 2013
sunshine_sakura (All reviews)
Unlike many anime comedy series that try to be funny with randomness but come across mostly as weird, SoreMachi is the type that leaves you snorting juice up your nose laughing at the absurdity of it all. Behold, the anime equivalent of eating pure sugar, in all its hyperactive wonder!

Each episode consists of sketches about main character Arashiyama Hotori, a clumsy and completely clueless employee of a poorly-run "maid cafe" who loves mystery stories and tries (not always so successfully) to act as a detective, and her equally strange friends and acquaintances. The mood is set by silly rants by the narrator on some tangential read more
Apr 11, 2016
cash_money_hoes (All reviews)
This is my first ever review, so please excuse any oversight I might've unseen.

With the general grind of seasonal, 12-episode shows, it is not often that one comes along with an essence to redefine a genre. And Yet the Town Moves is not one of those shows. SoreMachi does not seek to redefine anything, but merely portray the life of a girl as the life of a girl is, in an abstract-reality sort of way. The show itself embraces real life at its core, and yet happens to use abstract ideas and hidden messages to transfer a meaning that is beyond a normal show of read more
May 11, 2013
gwern (All reviews)
For the first few minutes of the first episode, I was all 'what on earth was I thinking downloading this cutesy maid crap' and then slowly the humor ramped up and by the end I was laughing and had remembered that it was by Shaft. May still not watch the whole thing, but it's looking good. Unfortunately, then I was pretty disappointed at episode 2, episode 3 was OK, episode 4 was pretty good, episode 5 was back to being only OK. I think my favorite character at this point would be the math teacher, which is a little sad. Doesn't look like this series read more
Sep 6, 2011
DVTClark (All reviews)
"Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru" (or "Soremachi" in short) is based on its original manga series, "Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru", and follows almost exactly the way how manga directs events. Only minor adjustment to orders,.

Soremachi's atmosphere is light and very relaxing. The art is colorful and drawings look interesting, my eyes were never bored. Musics fit the situation and very easy on ears. Characters are very interesting and has distinctive personality with different his/her own side of story. I liked the way how the anime pays attension to side characters as well as main characters.

Although not many, Soremachi gives bits and bits of real life philosophy read more