Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam ZZ, Mobile Gundam Double Zeta
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダムZZ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 47
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 1, 1986 to Jan 31, 1987
Premiered: Spring 1986
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: SpaceSpace, ComedyComedy, MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary, DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.651 (scored by 1511315,113 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #52042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3023
Members: 32,323
Favorites: 119
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 12, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
This is a direct sequel to Zeta, but not only as that, I think of them as one big series itself despite the opposite nature of the first half ZZ that no reviewer should over look when reviewing this anime. Apparently some of the audience, executives of Sunrise and Bandai, and Tomino’s wife thought that Zeta was way too dark and gritty which is something many fans thought was what made that series distinguishing. Plus Tomino even felt bad about the nature of Zeta and thinks anime should make people happy. Then again, he was going through a depression. While with the first half of read more
Nov 17, 2015
Mondblut (All reviews)
A controversial one...

The black sheep of Gundams UC timeline starts off horrible with its comedic approach, but almost reaches Zetas quality of dramatic storytelling in its last third. Especially the second half makes it a must watch for any Gundam Fan, as important political UC relevant events take place. If you want to have a complete understanding of the UC timeline ZZ is quite important to watch (Haman Karn is one of the most intimidating villains in the franchise). The cast of likable characters makes it also very enjoyable.

Story 7/10
Characters 8/10
Art Animation 7/10
Music 7.9/10

Final Verdict 7.5/10
Sep 1, 2008
ayase- (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam Double Zeta.

It gets a lot of bad press. "Worst Gundam Ever" is a common phrase when ZZ comes up in conversation. However. I'm going to go and stand out on a lonely, creaking limb and say I liked it. Say I liked it better than Zeta. Now let me tell you why...

The Characters:
The main difference between Zeta and ZZ is that a majority of the main characters are teenagers. Judau Ashta - the protaganist and pilot of Gundam Double Zeta - isn't interested in piloting or fighting at all in the beginning. When the badly damaged Argama lands at read more
Oct 27, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*spoilers for both Zeta Gundam and especially ZZ*

Prologue

When people think of the phrase “worst Gundam anime”, there are usually a few choices that tend to stick out in fans’ minds, including the likes of Gundam SEED Destiny and as of now, Twilight Axis. Among such lists, you might sometimes see Gundam ZZ being thrown around, and it’s very understandable as to both why one would give it such a label and as to why one would defend it as something that becomes good over time. Regardless, most fans who see it tend to agree that the first 20 or so episodes of ZZ are terrible, read more
Jan 15, 2015
darcwizrd (All reviews)
Here is the short part:

To me there will be 3 types of people who will watch ZZ.

1.Those who enjoyed the angst of Zeta
2. Those who didn't (Me)
3.Those who have never watched a UC Gundam series before

To the 1's I say: This may not be the series for you as it is very lighthearted and sometimes campy from the beginning and doesn't really lose touch of these roots as it grows from it.

Tot he 2's: I sympathize with you, and say that you will most likely enjoy the fresh characters and their passion in what they do.

To the 3's I say: Why are you starting read more
Sep 26, 2008
Monkey_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ, the third installment to the Gundam franchise, gets a considerably poor reputation among the Gundam community. I've even read that some fans accuse Tomino Yoshiyuki, the director of the Gundam metaseries's first group of series including ZZ, of intentionally trying to ruin the franchise. That's pretty harsh, but I don't think it's truthfully quite as bad as it's believed to be.

The plot takes place directly after Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, and stars a group of teenagers who are junk collectors, the main character being another Newtype by the name of Judau Ashta. Now here's where things get a little different story-wise. read more
Jun 15, 2009
unclesnapple (All reviews)
One of the things that gives Gundam ZZ a bad rap is the way it is so jarringly different in mood from its direct prequel, Zeta Gundam. Zeta Gundam is a great, brooding anime and a testament to how anime could tell a serious space drama. Bracing myself for what I knew would likely be a more upbeat anime, I gave ZZ a chance to impress me with an open mind.

The collection of characters in ZZ, particularly the new group of protagonists, aren't terribly deep and aren't incredibly original, but they do have a kind of chemistry together that can carry the show during the read more
Nov 10, 2017
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
Hello, everyone, this is Shawn aka KurataLordStage and this time we will be taking a look at one of the most notorious Gundam shows from the franchise Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ.
Spoilers ahead of this show takes place directly after Zeta.


Story.
It is the year Universal Century 0088 the Titans have been defeated and Kamile Bidan mind was lost in the process turning him into a living vegetable because of this the Neo Zeon raise in power and gain control. The Arguma crew land on Shangri where they meet Judau Ashta a teenager who is taking care of his sister by dismantling mobile suit and selling read more
Apr 1, 2009
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
The "Worst Gundam Ever" tag didn't scare me from watching this series as part of my completionist mentality. After all I had managed to eventually finish Zeta Gundam - so how bad could this be? I guess the tag wasn't exaggerated. Now, while the other reviewers may have liked this, I have to beg to agree to disagree. Read on for a "keeping it real" review.

Story wise, ZZ follows the generic gundam story line. Young hero, happens to "fall" into piloting the "latest and greatest" suit. Gets conscripted into fighting for adults whether willingly or unwillingly. Grows up, finds his own reasons to fight/not fight read more
May 11, 2017
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
The Gundam franchise continued to gain massive popularity due to the release of zeta Gundam. Its depiction of its heroes as flawed individuals who tried to reconcile their selfish desire with their sense of duty was a potent combination. In order to capitalize on his new found success, Tomino made ZZ Gundam which takes place right after the finale of Zeta Gundam. However, this entry into the franchise has to be the weakest one yet.

Mobile Suit ZZ Gundam follows a group of misfits on a junkyard colony called Shangri-la. The Argama, the battleship which housed Kamille Bidan and Bright Noa from Zeta Gundam, dock the read more
Dec 8, 2008
WolfWood37 (All reviews)
The so called "Worse Gundam Series Ever" was actually not that bad. Though the comical first half was shit I'll grant it that. It's probably why it gets so harshly bashed. But once you survive that, it gets back into Gundam form like you'd find in the original series and Zeta Gundam. However you still can't forgive its bad opening episodes of the Shangri-La arc. Especially if you're coming off of watching Zeta Gundam. You still get a great cast of characters, but they just take more time to evolve, much like the story did.

But its in no way superior To Zeta Gundam.
Sep 27, 2015
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
"It's finally time", I thought to myself as I leaned back and cracked my soft computer fingers. I dipped my feet into UC Gundam and tried some AU, and in the spirit of what started as familiarizing myself with some of Super Robot Wars's most prominently featured series I decided to partake in the inevitability that is watching the notorious Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ. To know anything about ZZ Gundam at all is to know the reasons why it's so hated. Are they true? If you came here for my response, then the answer is yes and you can probably imagine most of the review read more
Nov 5, 2018
edarel-triparte (All reviews)
It is deeply horrible. The plot is a mess, the characters are a mess. Don't even bother trying to watch this like I did. Just read the wikia pages for Haman Karn and Judau Ashta, and that should pretty much give you the knowledge to not get confused with the U.C. Timeline Lore. I don't give it a lower rating just because it's competent at a technical level. But everything else is pitiful, dreadful. Pathetic.
Really, don't even try. The first 7 episodes have to be the worst episodes I've seen in my entire life. Funny how there are many OVA's and stuff that tell amazing read more
May 6, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
One thing I forgot to mention in my Review of Zeta Gundam was its unrelentingly dark tone. While the show did have some comedy here and there, it was mostly dark, moody and overall depressing. Unfortunately Tomino’s shows have a patter in that when he makes a dark show, it will be immediately followed up by a lighthearted show. And sadly, the show he made right after Zeta Gundam was its sequel: Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ (Pronounced “Double Zeta”). It is to this day one of the most divisive Gundam series, but is it worthy of its reputation? Let’s find out.

Story:

Starting off, when reviewing Double read more
Feb 14, 2013
Cruzader93 (All reviews)
3rd TV Series of the Mobile Suit Gundam franchise
3rd UC series.
Review from my POV (w/my personal biases)
Spoiler-ish

Pros:
+ A Continuation of my favorite "Century"
+ A SOMEWHAT redeeming 2nd half of the show.
+ The assembly of Gundam Team
+ People often skip this show, but watching this enhances your experience when watching Unicorn. cause about 1/3 of the stuff the OVA references are from ZZ (like Watching Marvel's Avengers w/o watching the movies leading up to it)

Cons:(alot)
- The tone of the 1st half makes it almost unwatchable
- Bright is being pushed around by kids, (it's like they're Bright slapping him!)
- No substantial Antagonist.
read more
Aug 8, 2010
RedSuisei (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ, the third Gundam series is made as a direct sequel to Zeta Gundam. It follows closely after the end of Zeta Gundam. Many say that this is the worst UC Gundam (not the worst Gundam) ever made. Well I that's what I think as well, though that doesn't mean that this show is bad.

Story: 7
What made people hate this episode is certainly the humorous story and the many filler episodes. That's what I think as well. Even so, I think that the core of the story quite good. The core story actually have some good conflicts, politics, corrupt government, conspiracy etc. read more
Mar 13, 2015
WatDeVak (All reviews)
Preliminary
I basically enjoy watching the gundam series, so no matter how bad it is, I still can enjoy it. The plot and art suits me very well, as well the mobile suits. But the porblem is when I was encountering Mondo and Beecha, its driving me nuts. I just had to stop right here and then to comment that those pricks ruins all the moment in this series.
Jan 7, 2019
NightLamp (All reviews)
Where to begin with Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ? If you know anything about Gundam - indeed if you're checking this page - you have probably heard of the infamous ZZ before. You might be wondering whether it truly is as bad as people say it is and are reading this review to find out. Let me tell you right off the bat that ZZ is exactly as bad as it sounds. It's a frustrating and miserable experience watching ZZ coming off (what seems to be) the series high point of Zeta.

The oft-cited comedy is not just tonally inconsistent, it's unfunny. It's bad enough that the read more
Aug 27, 2011
Tobuay (All reviews)
To sum this up in a phase we all know.. "WTF" Sunrise. Yeah I get it Zeta was kinda of dark but it's better than the first one and Gundam is a story about War and violence it's suppose to be a little dark...

To Compare Zeta with ZZ:
Zeta is a frowny face
ZZ is a cheesy smile

If you like being slapped in the face in the end this is the Anime for you!

If you watch Zeta then went directly into ZZ be prepared. The first like 20 some episodes we completely like a happy fun time show, it kind of reminded me of galaxy read more
Dec 28, 2015
NullRay_85 (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ, the third Mobile Suit Gundam show in the franchise, has a reputation of being polarizing. Mainly, it was a departure from the dark melodrama that its predecessor (and my favorite show in the franchise), Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, had introduced. The show takes a kid-friendly approach in its first half, which I found to be unbearable. However, the dark drama that Zeta packed is still here and it's thrilling. There's a lot to talk about ZZ, so let's get started.

Story- The story immediately takes place after Zeta Gundam. The Titans have been defeated and the Axis Zeon threat arises. The read more