Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Air Gear


Alternative Titles

English: Air Gear
Japanese: エア・ギア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 to Sep 27, 2006
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Marvelous, Kodansha
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.621 (scored by 136,524 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #360
Members: 261,377
Favorites: 3,465

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 4, 2007
jupiterjazz (All reviews)
Story: 8/10 Not too bad all things considered.
When I started up the first episode of Air Gear I was pretty skeptical. I almost let this one pass by just on the basis that it was based on kids with motorized roller blades. However by the third episode I was completely hooked. I then proceeded to cram 25 episodes in over the span of the night. I must say given the fact that this is based on roller blading I was very impressed with the story presentation, and by the end of the 25th episode I was left begging for a second season. I can only read more
Jun 3, 2007
VK11 (All reviews)
Air Gear is one of those anime shows that you will either love to death or be turned away from it by its weird style. Its very....how should I put it, "open," in a way like Tenjou Tenje is. The girls are revealing, the main character, Ikki, has no shame (as this is shown by him taking a dump in front of EVERYONE while a skating match is going on). Nevertheless, if you enjoy this kind of humor or can get by it, Air Gear shapes up to be a good introduction anime from its manga counterpart.

The story is relatively the read more
Jan 12, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Air Gear is a pretty cool Shounen, Sports, Comedy anime about a teenage boy Itsuki Minami “Ikki” who ends up thrown into the competitive sport of Air Trek. Being drawn into this extreme sport, Ikki makes it his goal to reach the pinnacle of AT. Although it would have done better without the typical clichés, inconsistent plot and countless fan service. ^_^

At first glance you might just think of it as rollerblading, with add-ons in the form of an anime but Air Gear manages to pull of a pretty exciting anime with this basic concept. From the beginning something that helps this average-length show read more
Jun 29, 2015
re11ding (All reviews)
All things given, this is my first review. Please don't hit on me too hard for what I say as I'm inexperienced when it comes to writing reviews. I'll get better as I write more.

I'm gonna start things off with saying how I watched the dubbed version of this. Though I can't imagine it mattering much when it comes to this show, it'd be helpful knowledge regardless. Air gear.. was a bit disappointing. The show had great potential and yet was executed poorly.

Story 5/10

Air Gear's story was bland. One kid finds these things called ATs, loves them, and apparently is the destined king or read more
Apr 14, 2009
dasfreefree (All reviews)
EDIT: This review has been edited since finishing the series.

This is my first review so here goes nothing.

I can’t actually remember why I started watching Air Gear, but that’s beside the point. The plot intrigued me and I gave it a go. I thought that I would perhaps like it, but I was completely wrong. I detested this show.

The story itself isn’t all that bad, but it is a bit clichéd. A kid gets hooked on the latest sport fad (Air Treks or ATs for short) and wants to become the best at it. So he forms a team with his friends to try and read more
Nov 13, 2008
PrettySammy (All reviews)
Air Gear is definitely an interesting series to review. I'm a rare breed -- a person who watched the anime before reading the manga, and thus, I think I have a fresh perspective on the story. I'm not comparing it to the manga as many fans do with anime adaptations. "OMG! They left out my favorite scene with the spatula!!11oneone This anime suxxr0rs!" is an exaggeration of a complaint voiced by fans of a certain series: the adaptation isn't true to the original work, therefore, it isn't as good as the original work. I, however, had nothing to compare this anime to, so I believe read more
Jul 27, 2013
iSheep (All reviews)
I think I have a newfound respect for anybody that enjoys this show. Not because it's a bad show, but because it's a bad show that somehow gathers a respectable amount of fans. Air Gear is bad. It's not just bad, it's probably the worst show I've ever seen.

Have you ever seen a review with big bold caps streaming the headline blatantly screaming to you "WORST SHOW EVER"? Everybody that writes a bad review often tells it that way, but it means there are about a hundred other "WORST SHOWS EVER". I admit to watching plenty of shows within the span of my daily life, read more
Dec 28, 2006
VyseN (All reviews)
I first found Air Gear when I was looking for the anime Air, but I got this instead when I downloaded a torrent-file. Since I never delete any anime, I started watching the series and found my self enjoying it immensly!

Who can say that they never wished they could fly?
Minami Itsuki, or Ikki as his friends call him, really wants to spread his wings and fly. The closest thing in his mind is to start running around on motorized rollerskates called Air Trecks (abbreviated as AT), and become one of the storm raiders (Air Treckers). The story is about Ikki, and his quest to fulfill read more
Sep 11, 2014
BlackPrism (All reviews)
Just when you think there are already too many battle shounens out there, here comes another. However, I appreciate the fact that Air Gear at least comes with a unique concept. Regardless, a battle shounen is a battle shounen and it all comes down to presentation that decides whether or not an anime stands out in its genre. Unfortunately, that isn't quite the case for Air Gear. It is definitely enjoyable but it doesn't present anything new to the table. If you plan to watch this anime expecting a masterpiece, prepare to be disappointed; but if you just come in for a good time, then read more
Feb 13, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
Story: (7.35/10) This story is about a weird sport. At first it looks like rollerblading with some special moves, but then it turns to be an interesting but unusual sport. It starts when a boy, ikki, get in the AT world. Then later he decides to form a team, with some friends, wich aim is to get to the top of the ranking.
It´s interesting, quite funny, and better than i expected, but it didn´t really convinced me.

Art: (7.50/10) I liked the battles, and the design is good. However, the pauses between the battles made the art look a little worse than it is, but still read more
Feb 19, 2015
pluslethatminun (All reviews)
Roller blades are cool, but motorized roller blades are waaaay much too cooler. This brings us to Air Gear. Air Gear is a show which obviously originated from roller blades. You either like the show or get annoyed at it for breaking the laws of physics (which most of the series out there do. dude, its anime).

Since I’ve just recently watched Air Gear, I have no idea what the manga version is. So to be precise, I’ll be doing this review for the animation only.


Story: 7
Air Gear’s story isn’t that different from the other shounen shows out there. We all got to admit read more
Jun 10, 2009
BloodSlave (All reviews)
Air Gear

+++Positives

Air Gear is without any doubt COOL. Everything from the catchy OP and ED, the slick presentation and the surprising sophistry of ideas behind ordinary roller-blading scream COOL. There is a wicked sense of humour prevalent throughout the anime, and the frequent crude jokes will definitely get a laugh out of you. The sense of competitiveness which any sport inspires is very nicely captured, there's a lot of yelling and foot-stamping but it never gets boring.
The characterization is very good, although full of the typical anime cliches - angry young kid with "hidden" talents, gorgeous shy chick who loves our hero and also read more
Aug 8, 2018
YoungChigga (All reviews)
This is one of my favorite animes. Usually my favorite animes are ones that are more than 100 episode because it becomes my favorite animes because I spend alot of time on it so I get to know the characters alot more. This anime was different because It is like I knew these characters my entire life. Every character in this show is like people I already know. The plot of this story fly is fly. It is not that typical anime where the main character is trying to reach the top. Sometimes you need an anime where you fly and that is what so read more
Oct 22, 2015
Kakita_Ookami (All reviews)
Bad Plot, Amazing Everything Else.

Enjoyment/Overall: 8.5/10
I love this show. It's a fun, hilarious, anime that you throw on to relax. Before you watch this, you need to accept that the plot is bad, random things happen regularly and there is excessive fan service. If you still want to watch it, knowing this, you'll probably enjoy it. Even going back and watching it again years later, I still laugh, and love the characters.

Story: 6/10 You don't watch Air Gear for the plot.
The plot sounds so stupid I almost skipped it, but i'm glad I didn't.
The main character Ikki wants to be the best AT read more
Aug 31, 2012
GhostofNexus (All reviews)
I will start out by saying I only write reviews on shows that I rate higher than 9. The music in this series is amazing it moves from Techno to Funk to Hip-hop to Rock. The characters where really like-able but as far as character development in the story, they didn't do such a great job. The art in the show is fairly good on par with shows like Zero no Tsukaima. The story is really good but can get complicated at times. I really enjoyed this anime and for me it reached my #1 anime pretty quick. I would also like to state that read more
Apr 28, 2007
otakukidd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Last Year when I first heard of this AirGear show I was a little standoff-ish. Come on, here is a show about kids on friggin rollerblades. Then a few months ago I got this first edition from ADV and I gotta tell this show ROCKS! It's about KID'S ON FRIGGIN ROLLERBLADES!!! :P

Ikki is a student with a grudge; on what I dont really know but it works for a story jumpoff. One day he gets his ass kicked and now wants to ride skates to cope with the pain. He lives with three girls who each own a pair of skates: Rika, Ringo, read more
Apr 26, 2014
hinatasashybamf (All reviews)
Air Gear is a formulaic, typical Shounen anime. The concept is creative, and if you like hotheaded protagonists who keep showing everyone up, then you'll enjoy it. It's a sports anime with plenty of fan service, but the story is still enjoyable. It'll keep you entertained, it's full of action and comedy, and you find yourself rooting on the main character.

I have to admit, I'm not a fan of pantyshots and other forms of fanservice, but I was able to look past it for the sake of the story. It was interesting and kept me entertained. Air Gear is not a show for people read more
Dec 3, 2013
Silver_Wind93 (All reviews)
Story: 8/10 It’s Progressive but the ending is a let down.

When I started up the first episode of Air Gear I was pretty amazed by the opening scene, from the male protagonist looking over the horizon searching for new experiences to the following up’s and down’s within the opening scene’s. The ability to over come his obstacles, seeking higher limits and soaring up to the expectations.
I enjoyed the basis of the narrative that it was based on kids with motorized roller blades. I must say given the fact that this is based on roller blading, I was left beseeching for a second season. I can read more
Nov 29, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
Air gear is about a special kind of skates with a motor attached known as air treks. The story revolves around the life of Ikki a middle school student who learns about air trek and has humoungous talent and interest in the air treks and as a result is soon sucked into the world of air treks.

I found the story a very unique and orignal shounen anime. Of course you would expect the usual qualities like perserverance, determination and stuff being eminated by the protagonist but what made this so attractive was how they created such an interesting story from skates with motors in read more
Feb 23, 2012
Shabluh (All reviews)
Air Gear is a supertechnology and (almost) fantasy anime based off the first 103 chapters of the manga of the same name. Why it is called "Air Gear" however, I don't know, after all these engine driven roller blades that allow them to "fly" are called Air Treks (AT for short) in both the anime and the manga. But then again Air Gear simply fits better as a name, so then I guess it's okay.

Story:
The story in Air Gear is pretty basic, yet it still manages to be so awesome at the same time. It starts with the lead Minami Itsuki (or Ikki for short) read more