Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu


Alternative Titles

English: Today We Start Our Love
Japanese: 今日、恋をはじめます

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 25, 2010 to Oct 23, 2010
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: Romance, School, Shoujo
Duration: 20 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.581 (scored by 13,160 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #56392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2663
Members: 26,217
Favorites: 106

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 30, 2010
shuffleair (All reviews)
I see a lot of people raging about this series on the forums and the review section, so I'm here to give you my two cents.

Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu is a difficult OVA to recommend. For newcomers who have never read the manga will find the first episode (and probably the rest of the OVA) to be confusing. Why, you ask? Because the first episode starts at the first major climax of the manga. Which I believe in the manga starts at chapter 15, so all anime viewers would be missing 14 chapters of background content of the first episode. If you do want to read more
Jul 21, 2010
Toffeequeen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, I just watched the first OVA and I gotta say I was never so disappointed in an animation before ! Seriously what was that O___o ?
The OVA started and the first 2 minutes they skip like 10 chapters with important plot and then put the scene with the star projector ... urgh
Very disappointing to me =3=
The VA weren't that great to me either ... Hibino has the same as Amu from SC so I couldn't take her serious because she reminded me of a 12 year old girl, sorry

The only thing I liked about it was the chara design. It was very similiar read more
Jul 21, 2010
WickedHeroine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Usually I don't write reviews after the first episode, but this is an OVA, and its review was needed.
I began reading the manga awhile ago. A friend had recommended it, so I was trying to push my way through it, even though I thought it was cliche' and boring. When I heard the manga was being adapted, I put aside the manga and said I'd watch the anime. I'm really sorry that I bothered.

Story- 6. I couldn't even tell what the story was at first. It started with a boy on stage, skipped to the main girl cutting his hair, then skipped to her read more
Jun 17, 2011
Ghostalker (All reviews)
Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu is a very short romantic story about two young high school students sharing the same name. After a terrible first meeting, the girl fell in love with the guy sometime later but was rejected by him. What follows is a story on how the two eventually becomes closer to each other. The story is quite simple and cliche, but being a short 2 episode long, the OVA manage to flesh out enough story details to make the story convincing and watchable at least.

The main highlights of these OVA are the still animation scenes which are rather breathtaking, artistic and read more
Aug 30, 2010
Hitsura (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, so, I apologize.

This is the first time I've really felt so disappointed in an anime I've had no background in. I usually give *everything* a chance but this.. It's just.. I'll let my review explain to you all my feelings towards this OVA.

Art:
I found the art lovely. The usual Shoujo, but I loved it non-the less. The animation as well was nice. I love that kind of animation style instead of the newer style they have been releasing with the newer animes. But, this was probably the high-point of the anime. 8/10

Sound:
The Actor's that were choose for this anime read more
Aug 3, 2011
H1kikomori (All reviews)
I felt to write a review due to the low rating reviews Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu has. Yes i would have loved to see more moving art work but atleast time was taken into consideration with each frame. Whereas the storyline was done so well in just two episodes. Actually engaging the viewer every developing step of their 'mutual relationship'. Very sweetly done :) - BEAUTIFUL

May 10, 2012
chihayatohru (All reviews)
This is my first review.

Please note, i have not read the manga, so i shall be writing my review based on the anime i have seen.

I have never been more frustrated at an anime in such a away- this had so much potential to become something more, yet it lacked that extra bit more.

One of its major flaws was rushing into the 'major climax' of the story between the 2 main characters, Tsubaki & Kyouta. With no explanation or plot development, BANG, it's almost like the ending started before the beginning. To be fair there was a short narrative beginning, but it would have been read more
May 8, 2011
Ren_bird (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all I'd like to mention that I've read the manga. Second the manga is ongoing and also 65 chapters long (so far) so how in the WORLD can it be a 2 episode (each an hour long) anime. It didn't let the characters build up. If I hadn't read the manga first then I would have had no idea what was going on. It missed loads of key parts and didn't do the manga justice.
Second of all the voices were all wrong for me.... :L
Also (I'm only on episode 1) they completely lost the idea of her fixing hair and Sakura, her read more
Jul 26, 2010
xXxLilithxXx (All reviews)
Preliminary
I agree also to what ppl been saying i believe that the anime really pushed too much ahead n put fragmentation scenes together to create the first ova. I loved the manga it was very interesting n enjoyable; however, the anime to was not as gud...but i did like seeing the characters in action....so overall it was very good but they should hav added more detail within it to make it more like the manga is.
May 22, 2015
Alire (All reviews)
Preliminary
This was.. hilariously ridiculous! One of my favorite manga(s) was so purely made into an anime that I couldn't stop laughing. Honestly what the heck was that? It had just some cut scenes. someone who hadn't read the manga wouldn't understand a thing. The animation was poor as well. Honestly even the voices of the characters annoyed me. I don't know, maybe I had it animated in my head in another way?
Jul 11, 2011
nunnally-sama (All reviews)
ano ne.. i like the manga of kyou, koi wo hajimemasu.. because of curiosity, i watched its ova..

it's like the continuation of the manga chapters.. then still the characters are adoring.. (specially kyouta-kun^^) and im happy when he confess to tsubaki..

tsubaki is sure lucky .. though we have the same characteristics.. she get a cool, hardworking boyfriend.. and i dont have one.. since birth... xD

sore dake..

if i say more.. this review will be a spoiler.. xD

hope you watch it^^
Sep 26, 2015
Jenangelx3 (All reviews)
OK, I have been a fan of this manga for a long time, even so much so that I had help in the translation of the manga when it first came out, so I was excited to see the OVA. I remember when I first watched Honey x Honey Drops as an OVA (before reading the manga) and it was just smut, but after reading the manga I realized that's how it played out at first lol.
Anyway, when I watched the first episode I was not happy that the first couple of minutes kind of just badly summarizes the first part of the manga. It read more
Sep 2, 2010
Nimawhe (All reviews)
Preliminary
This OVA is definitely not for anyone who hasn't read the manga. It was very confusing for me (who has read the manga) in the beginning, trying to recollect everything that had prefaced the starting point of the OVA.

Story (4/10): This OVA bounced around a bit, skipping over so much of the essence of the manga. Even stand-alone, the viewer would be confused and left and 20 questions of who, what, when, where and why. It was very focused on the dramatic element and that alone. They did try to have some flash backs so you got the idea of what lead up to read more
May 8, 2011
anjel (All reviews)
I would not recommend anyone who has not read the manga to watch the anime. It skipped a lot from the manga and as a reason, it was all over the place. I felt like the anime was moving at a pace I could not follow even though I have read the manga. They tried to give it a Kimi ni Todoke type of feeling where for example, if Kyouta and Tsubaki were smiling, it'd be just paper art rather movement. This I liked. Overall, it was sweet to watch but it could have been much better if they moved at a slower pace.
Jul 29, 2010
Tsukin3Hoshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
A hardcore fan of the manga will probably be disappointed. It's has the “overflowing cattle with boiling water” effect that Hollywood so called blockbusters have, when the director tries to squish a 700 page literary bestseller into an average movie format. So, If you haven't read at least some chapters of the manga, than these => ????