Shinryaku! Ika Musume


The Squid Girl

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: The Squid Girl
Synonyms: The Invader Comes From the Bottom of the Sea!
Japanese: 侵略!イカ娘

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2010 to Dec 21, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Diomedéa
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.441 (scored by 7651276,512 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1008
Members: 171,295
Favorites: 906

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 13, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
The problem with the anime industry is the continuous failure to capitalise on titles that are actually good, and instead redirect time and resources to producing shows that leave you as empty as a tectonic bowel movement. Every genre has suffered this iniquity, but while most bounce back with other, much better offerings (comparatively speaking), comedy continues to prove the medium's "Achilles heel". Those of you who are fans of Gintama may disagree with that perception, but consider for a moment the number of anime released during the last year that have borne the "comedy" label.

Now have a think about whether they made you laugh, read more
Dec 26, 2010
DangoSage (All reviews)
I would never imagine, in my lifetime, to see a squid this adorable!
Im telling ya, after years experiencing Squidward from SpongeBob Squarepants, I started to give up hope for all squids in the world...
That is until I met little Ika-Chan...

So what's so special about another failure invader anime? Don't we already have a frog for that?
How can you say that! Squid>Frog anytime!
Anyways, the story isn't very deep and there's no much of a plot buildup however the comedy and cuteness is enjoyable nevertheless. You'll have a drama episode, a horror episode (Oh damn that doll was scaaaaary) and also a tearjerker moment (I read more
Oct 7, 2010
ukonkivi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Adaption success? Adaption success. Unlike that of Dance in the Vampire Bund I had meant to do with a long time back with, among other things. Don't pay attention to my scores as my writing, as I tend to rate most things highly.

This is a simple show that does what it is supposed to, but is a big deal because shows like these can have a lot of expecation behind them from the manga fans like me. Could you imagine how much expectation you would have if someone animated Yotsuba&!? Exactly.

Shinraku! Ika Musume, is another Slice of Life Comedy show. A very good one. They're read more
Jun 7, 2013
GonzoLewd (All reviews)
I’m not going to lie, this show is a weird one to talk about. Not solely on the actual premise, although it does add a little to it, but on the way it’s structured. It reminded me of my own childhood shows that had three separate story arcs that had a basic theme to it. With an anime plot involving a cute squid girl trying to invade the entire planet by herself only to be undermined by a bunch of people who own a food court near a beach, you’d think that would speak of random hijinks that will only appeal to prepubescent girls. Fortunately read more
Mar 12, 2012
DraconisMarch (All reviews)
That's right de geso! I have come to tie you in my tentacles and make you my undersquid de geso! Don't even THINK of trying to escape from my wrath DE GESO!

Shinryaku! Ika Musume is quite a refreshing retake of the slice-of-life comedy scene. It was really nice to finally get one that didn't cop out and take the way-too-overused (high) school setting. The premise is actually quite creative and leads for some equally creative little stories and jokes as well. (Who knew the idea of a squid girl could be so interesting?)

The series is really the only thing I've read more
Dec 10, 2010
Mugen900 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, so just 2 more episodes and this anime is already nearing its end, so what can I say about this anime? Well, let's put it this way according to how I rate this anime:

STORY:

Originally, the plot of this story is about nature fighting back against humans who pollute the seas with garbage and with the help of squid girl Ika Masume and her so called invasion force of half human and half squid, which,by the way she seems to had forgotten bring it along with her at the start of the anime- talking about letting a girl do a grown-up's job. But,only to get read more
Jan 9, 2011
8thSin (All reviews)
I was eating instant ramen while watching the first episode... I never thought I'd start a review with that sentence, but it leads to a point. I almost threw up when Ika Musume did you-know-what to the pasta, but then I was choking from laughter by the time the episode ended. The entire series left me a similar impression, from disgust and rejection to appreciation and attachment.
'Shinryaku! Ika Musume (Invasion! Squid Girl)' is an anime series that appears to be flawed in almost every way imaginable, but somehow... somehow, I found this series to be extremely enjoyable and memorable. Ika Musume has invaded my mind.

Case read more
Nov 2, 2010
AppleBread (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the kind of show that you could just watch and enjoy.

The story itself is quite original and simple. It gives a nice setting for a comedy like this, but there's still not much to it. To be fair though, you wouldn't expect much from the story anyway, so you probably wouldn't be disappointed at all.

The comedy however, is simple and funny. It doesn't need much cultural reference to understand, and its jokes aren't forced or awkward. It has a comedic style similar to Azumanga Daioh, and maybe also like a crazier version of Yotsuba, which also applies to the art style.

The characters read more
Nov 16, 2014
TheAfroNinja (All reviews)
Squid girl was something I found while just browsing around for something to watch. Its intriguing title led me to watch over the weekend and I feel glad that I watched it.

Story 3/10
Story in itself is not very great at all. It is one of those short animes but it does not do much with its story though thats mainly the fact that it is for the most part a comedic anime. The line, "I am Squid Girl, emissary of the sea," would make you think what else could Squid Girl do with herself besides spit ink and use her tentacles.

Art 8/10
Its a pretty read more
Dec 22, 2010
NoblesseOblige3 (All reviews)
The story is pretty simple, its about a girl who comes from the see and proclaims to be a squid and has come to invade earth because she believes earth is responsible for polluting the ocean, the show does mention this a few times as if trying to send an obvious yet subtle hint at real world problems.

Its a great slice of life and spends most of its time on the beach in a cafe hut and its surroundings and is just brilliant at how it uses its comedy, which mostly comes from Ika Musume out lead girls over active imagination and thus always comes read more
Apr 23, 2011
TrisTops (All reviews)
I know this might sound a little girly coming from me, but this is one of the cutest animes I have seen. The is that a girl called Ika Musume, which I think is japanese for Squid Girl, comes to the surface to invade the human race for polluting the ocean. However she knows nothing about the human world and when she busts a hole in the resterant called Lemon (I think), she ends up working at the place with to a group of two sisters and a brother to pay for the damages.

Characters are the best I seen in any other anime composing read more
Sep 21, 2011
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Shinryaku Ika Musume is the story of a squid girl who invades the surface because humans are ruthlessly polluting the sea. She subsequently gets side-tracked and ends up working at a beachside restaurant stall. The story, while creative, is essentially just a framing device for the zany comedy. So the real important question is: does the comedy work? The answer is an ardent yes. The situations Ika Musume ends up in are generally pretty mundane but her involvement adds a surrealistic element that works very well. The result is pure hilarity. One of the best aspects of the humour is that it never falls read more
May 20, 2021
Pyro81300 (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: This is more a review of both seasons, but it works just fine as a review of s1. There won’t be any spoilers for s2 either (not that there’s really much of anything to spoil).

SoL and Comedy anime are 2 genres I have a weird history with. I often enjoy them, but they have to be paired together with some other genre to usually interest me. If a show’s genres are just SoL and Comedy I often am not interested in it. HOWEVER, Squid Girl is one of the few exceptions, and it’s quite the delightful little show. Years ago when I saw this read more
Apr 13, 2013
HybridMedia (All reviews)
Sometimes in the anime world, there are a lot of sub-genres that are very subjective, depending on what kind of anime you’re watching and one of the other subjective forms of media is comedy. For example, some people can like Love Hina for being some new turn of the Harem genre but most of them (including me) hated it for how annoying and juvenile it is. Others like Azumanga Daioh & K-On! For being innocently enough funny to entertain people for all ages without being too edgy and for others, they find it either too boring or moe for their taste. For me, comedy is read more
Oct 6, 2010
DVTClark (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime at the first glance shows that this is one of those anime for comical and funnies. From what I heard, the director who made "Hare and Guu" is in charge of this, so this already kind of gives it away that this is going to be a fun one.

Much like Hare and Guu and other animes, it only goes up to certain quality of story and art, but what matters is the characters, and the anime does a good job giving a brief character description in the first episode and still be fun while elaborating it.

So for those of people who want serious read more
Apr 10, 2020
Ryuk9428 (All reviews)
Ika Musume is a perfect example of how to create an amazing moe, slice of life anime. The premise is so simple, its a squid girl who invades humanity after becoming frustrated with how humans have treated the ocean by polluting it. When she actually does come to the surface though, she finds that the humans are surprisingly tolerant of her despite her repeated threats to invade all of humanity and she quickly builds close bonds with the owners of a small restaurant on the beach, as well as many of the people who frequent the beach.

Despite having such a simple premise, I was hooked read more
Sep 22, 2013
Redd396 (All reviews)
Usually I'm not a fan of comedies, animes or otherwise. However this one was different, all the jokes were genuinely funny and the story surrounding the whole series was (while admittedly silly) well put together and enjoyable to watch.
Unlike most anime this one follows a non-linear style where story is episodic, where each episode is a self-contained story that is loosely connected to the larger story as a whole. I feel like it adds to the atmosphere as well as helps to make the jokes that much more funny. It allows the writers to focus on how to make each individual episode good rather read more
May 23, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
For decades, mankind has taken the vast, epic ocean environment for granted. As our technology has advanced, so has the scale our pollution, with oil, garbage and toxic waste killing millions upon millions of innocent aquatic life forms. But now, the world below the surface has finally taken enough abuse from the world above, and they’re sending their most powerful, most terrifying soldier to deal with us.

All 1,000 of us.

Okay, so it’s information may be a bit dated, but it’s desire to enslave us and force us to pay for our crimes is no laughing matter. She’s coming, and we have no choice to prepare read more
Dec 29, 2015
Bigjoesemporium (All reviews)
This show is so good, that after doing the math I found out that if we were to gather a squid girl body pillow, and the blu ray disc for shrinryaku ika musume, and send it back in time, we could give it to Hitler and prevent the holocaust. Once I reached episode 4 I realized just how powerful the tunes that play in the soundtrack are, whenever the opening song played my life flashed before my eyes and I was taken to heaven, that's right, this show is in fact heaven. There is no afterlife, once we die our spirits are sent to the read more
Nov 11, 2012
BrigadeHamtaro (All reviews)
I've known about this anime for a long time know and I'll would always pass it by or say is this a gross hentai. One day in the App Store I was looking at the crunchyroll apps and stumbled upon the squid girl one. For some reason I was drawn to this one and the blue exorcist one, BUT I DIDN'T USE THE BLUE EXROCIST. Watching episode instantaneously drew me in. Squid girl is a very funny anime about a girl who tries to "invade" the surface to punish humans for polluting the sea. While trying to do so she becomes drawn to human customs read more