Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai


Alternative Titles

English: The World God Only Knows
Synonyms: Kaminomi
Japanese: 神のみぞ知るセカイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2010 to Dec 23, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:50 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 207,577 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #143
Members: 369,045
Favorites: 4,792

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 28, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
It's funny how trends, tastes, and even perceptions can change over time. Less than a decade ago being called a geek, nerd or otaku was considered an insult, and while those terms have maintained their derogatory status to a degree (especially in Japan), the steady march of technology has dictated the rise of the "Beta Male", and nowhere is this more apparent than in the entertainment industries.

In 2001 the PC and Dreamcast game Comic Party was adapted and released as an anime, and with it came the birth of a totally new genre - the otaku comedy. Since that time there have been numerous manga read more
Dec 23, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
"Reality is a shit game!"

'Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai' ('The World Only God Knows') is about a self-claimed "Otoshigami (Capture God)" who can "capture" the heart of any 2D girls in dating-sim games. One day, he unknowingly signs a contract with a demon through email, and ends up in a quest to capture real-life (3D) girls in order to collect runaway souls residing within their hearts.


The first season of 'KamiNomi" involves the capture of 4 girls, with 3 filler episodes.
Katsuragi Keima is an interesting character. He's full of confidence in front of the PFP screen and calls himself "Capture God", backing up his claim with read more
Apr 21, 2013
ojijisan (All reviews)
So, this is my first Review on my favorite manga and anime, KamiNomi!
I'll try to keep it short and clean c:

-Story & Overall-
What I would like to announce, this is not your regular average harem anime. It has a good plot and idea to it, actually and it does make sense in the world it was created into!
The way that the main character has to wear consequences and plan out his actions is just entertaining (as are the dialogs) and it definitely made me sit down and read/ watch.
KamiNomi does not try to be more than what it is and keeps going at it's own read more
Oct 27, 2010
HowTragic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai, The World God Only Knows, is an anime that centers on an otaku gamer's life. When I first found this series, I researched on it a bit on Wikipedia, found it somewhat unimpressive in plot, character and art, and didn't even bother reading the manga. I have to say that I was wrong to judge this series by merely the front cover of its Wikipedia article. After the anime came out and my anime savvy friend directly recommended this to me, I found that I was drawn into the story, something that rarely happens for an ardent critic like me. read more
Oct 7, 2010
tealeafkitty (All reviews)
Preliminary
TWOGK's a really good cheeseburger anime. I mean that in the sense that you know it's not necessarily "deep" or particularly "meaningful", but it makes you happy and satisfied when you watch it. Hell, it's junk food, but it's damn good junk food.

TWGOK basically runs like a dating sim game, with a new girl basically every chapter/episode. Even though it's kind of silly, and it's somewhat harem (not in the annoying way, because the girls forget him after he captures them, so there isn't this whole cat-fight thing), but it's fun and interesting, and very pleasing to watch. It doesn't really read more
Jan 21, 2011
Adanadhel (All reviews)
Unexplainable. It's completely unexplainable how big an approval this anime got from the overall anime fans. There isn't a single reason I can see to that after watching The World God Only Knows 12 episodes (being painfully tortured by the last 5 episodes).

It's cliche after cliche every single episode. It's true that they tried to cover it up, by coming up with the whole "I don't get in touch with real girls because the games girls are so much better but I'll use my gaming skills to stereotype girls and it'll work out" stuff, but while it worked well on the first episode, it got read more
Dec 26, 2014
TheAzureSky (All reviews)
Expected a twist on harem anime, but was disappointed by how boring and silly it became. Not even funny enough to tolerate.

★☆☆☆

Why do I keep being surprised when MyAnimeList gives me another shit recommendation? I saw the 8’s and 9’s (even some 10’s); I saw the 5-stars; and I read the reviews telling me it was funny—that it’s not your typical harem show.

I love a good story that parodies, deconstructs, or puts a twist on clichés. And this show sort of, kinda does that? But not really because so much of it falls flat. The premise is actually much better suited for a more serious read more
Aug 18, 2013
MrSurgery (All reviews)
Hello everyone! My name is Austin & I will be doing my FIRST ever review!

As a big fan of romantic comedies, I fully enjoyed watching this anime & its sequels.

[SUMMARY]
The story is about a high school boy who is completely obsessed with dating sims & therefore is known as the "God of Conquest". Due to his legendary gaming skills, he received a mysterious email asking for his help in conquering girls. Little did he know the message was pertaining to conquering real life girls & that the sender was from a cute demon girl by the name of Elsie. From that point on, he read more
Oct 24, 2014
kaizersaber (All reviews)
The World God Only Knows, basically, is the world that only Keima knows. Even I, have no idea, what kind of delusion this man is living in, but it sure as hell is pretty funny. The best way to sum up this anime is - a touching, smart and nonsensical comedy, that leaves you feeling happy at the end of it.

TL:DR
Story: 5/10
Art: 8/10
Sound: 7/10
Character: 7/10
Enjoyment: 7/10
Overall: 7/10 (rounded up from 6.75)

Good Points:
+ Superb comic relief and funny scenes
+ Interesting male lead
+ Cute and irresistible female lead
+ Good emotional / touching scenes
+ Not overboard with the ecchi/harem theme
+ Character growth in the four "targets" (Ayumi, Mio, read more
Oct 27, 2013
Whats_an_Otaku (All reviews)
This show is a really good one that has alot of rewatch value. Im still watching it but im in the middle, close to the end of the 3rd Season so its enough to give you a review especially since i cant spoil the ending of the last season, however at the end of the first and second seasons they let you know a following season is in the works, so i dont know if a 4th season is coming or not but it would be great if it was!

So this anime is based on the main character who is Keima Katsuragi. He is basically read more
Dec 23, 2010
ryuu_zer0 (All reviews)
Manga adaptations are, by and large, a double-edged sword. On one hand they can be a guaranteed-profit venture for the production company, while on the other it can be incredibly difficult to capture the charm of the original work and can often leave us fans bitterly disappointed. Being an avid fan of the original manga, it is needless to say that I expected a lot from the anime adaptation of The World God Only Knows (or TWGOK). Unfortunately, it joins the long list of manga-turned-anime that have fallen just short.

The plot centres around Katsuragi Keima, known on the internet as the “Capturing read more
Dec 22, 2010
Longxinus (All reviews)
This anime adaptation is a fucking disgrace to the manga.

I have followed the manga since its very start and have enjoyed it very much. I'll stretch out as far as saying it is a masterpiece, ranking as one of my favorite mangas of all time. Then there is the anime.

As you have already noticed, I'm already annoyed how the anime turned out. I'm gonna rip and analyze one point of the time, and we're gonna start straight on...

Keima: This is the main character. He is, as the title implies, a God. The God of Galge Gaming, or that's at least what he should be. In read more
Mar 23, 2015
DjKagamine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Review for Kami Nomi
=============================================

Summary of the Extended Review Below:

Story : Liked the sort of many ending type season,

Art : Well done, No unique style though this is not a problem

Sound : Voices are done well (Japanese Dub) Sound Effects great

Characters : Mildly developed Main Characters, Well Developed Sub
Characters

Enjoyment : Lack of Ecchi Scenes (Family Friendly) Funny, Connection to the characters.

=============================================
Full Review

Story : Not your usual harem anime,It read more
Oct 21, 2013
Eastunder (All reviews)
Quick note, considering that there aren't many differences or changes between either of the first two seasons in any category, and it'd be kind of pointless to do two separate reviews that say the exact same thing, this review with be covering the first two seasons of The World God Only Knows. There will however be a separate review for the third season at some point in the future. Now that that's out of the way, please enjoy the review.

You know, i'm pretty sure that i'd be hard pressed to find many anime fans that aren't also gamers, at least to some degree. After all, read more
Jan 22, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
"Games are games. Reality is reality. Those who try to compare the two are the ones who can't tell the difference."

So I said that to my mom and she called me a stupid kid, but whatever.

IMPORTANT: This is a review (not really a review, more like a PLS WATCH THIS) on the ENTIRE SERIES, not just season 1.

The World A God Only Knows, a unique series that combines the themes of gaming, otaku nature, dating sims, and real life relationship problems. Add an adorable demon girl into the mix and you get to this thing, a 3 season long ride of awkward and hilarious moments. read more
Mar 16, 2016
VegetaOver9000 (All reviews)
The World God Only Knows in a word: Euphoric

Where to begin with this one?? For starters, the Op is one of the best Op's I have ever seen. The song and the art are sensational. So well done. That being said the animation and sound throughout the whole thing is great.

I wouldn't give the story a 10/10, but the concept behind it certainly deserves 10/10. The idea that a boy who lives to woo the women of the 2D world is suddenly forced to win the hearts of the "inferior" 3D women is hysterical. The execution of this concept is, for the read more
Mar 17, 2011
ace52387 (All reviews)
It’s funny how a parody somehow has license to nab the actual appeal of its subject matter. It’s almost unfair, and that’s exactly what Kami Nomi does. Lets be honest, dating sims are sexist, treating girls like puzzles to be cracked, and those who would never touch such a game can appreciate how this series exaggerates its common character archetypes and lampoons them. The final romantic moments though are completely straight faced, and at times, somewhat touching as they should be in a dating sim. A satisfying romance this is not, but it is riotous, with a few sweet moments on read more
Aug 2, 2016
sevons (All reviews)
When I first saw this anime I didn't think it was going to be the best I have seen, and I was kind of right. It was kind of boring in the beginning and near the end it got a little better, but the ending was not the best I have seen.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-Story & Overall 8/10-:
The story was pretty repetitive, it was him playing video games, trying to get a girl to fall in love with him. she forgets who he is, repeat. Given it was pretty comical along the way with every girl it just got a little overdone near the end. The ending read more
Dec 5, 2013
UnknownUser- (All reviews)
I present to you: The character most of us wish to be, but never will be due to the fact we lack the funding, and the determination. Katsuragi Keima can be considered a true otaku, a man who has given up on reality and instead focuses on nothing but dating sims and VNs. But of course, that would make for a rather boring premise, so let's add some demons to it. ==(Minor) Spoilers Ahead==

Now, when I first heard about "The World God Only Knows", I thought it was going to be about a guy who's addicted to dating sims and nothing else. And when I read more
Dec 1, 2015
QuentinHahn (All reviews)
Sadness is a state of mind that can often strike us when we least expect it. Seeing as how we have no control over 3rd party factors, which are usually the cause for these emotions, we all come face to face with these feelings. The World God only knows, written by Mamizu Arisawa, takes these metaphysical emotions, and gives them a corporeal and physical form as ‘lost souls’. Interestingly enough, the term lost soul is also referencing a person who has perhaps lost their way, or is not of right mind. This further compounds on the idea that these supposed lost souls are the result read more