Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Asura


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Ashura
Japanese: アシュラ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 29, 2012
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: Drama, Historical
Duration: 1 hr. 15 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.131 (scored by 10,949 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2781
Members: 23,930
Favorites: 68

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2013
SquirrelLuvsPnut (All reviews)
What makes a monster? Are some men born monstrous or are they simply a product of their time? This film forces the viewer to struggle with these kinds of questions. What would we be willing to do in order to survive? Can we even fathom what people had to do so long ago and how can we possibly judge them? Asura has shocked and touched me in a way an anime film has not since Grave of the Fireflies. The title character is designed to look very much like an oni of folklore, but the viewer is reminded very quickly first and foremost he is read more
Nov 12, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
Asura kicks off with a pregnant woman giving a quite graphic birth to a boy, before she beats a wild dog to death with a nearby axe. As we can see, things are looking pretty grim in this world. Everyone is dying and the only way to survive sometimes is to resort to cannibalism. This baby eventually leaves his mother (after she throws him onto a fire with the intent of eating him) and becomes a wild child who runs across the countryside, eating other dying people.

To be fair to the producers of Asura, there probably was a time in history when the outlook for read more
Mar 31, 2013
Fintan (All reviews)
Asura starts off with a very graphic backstory as to how the main character came to be, showing his gruesome birth and exactly what he had to go through pretty much immediately after being born. Lets just say Asura didn't have a great start in life, and because of that he basically became a wild animal who can't speak. The movie is fairly short so I'm going to do my best not to spoil anything, that is why I'm not going to go into too much detail about specific events.

Story(6): While this is probably the movies saving grace, it doesn't exactly "save" it. The read more
Apr 14, 2013
tsubagakure (All reviews)
can you find the light in such a darkened dying world?
can you keep that light shining?
i never thought that 'asura' would bring me down to my knees.. in a brief winking moment my eyes witnessed all the blood and gore, the crescent carnage and madness surrounding. but in a subtle and suspended animation you can feel the beauty embracing you. a big round of applause for this timeless masterpiece..
and in the end if you can't feel any kind of compassion towards asura, i say you're the beast!
May 14, 2015
gaaldinodesu (All reviews)
The film addresses a theme hunger, drought and scene of devastation
In times of conflict and war always think in the conditions of life. What happened to get us the right situation? What could happen to a child in a horror scenario? .
With a well tied script and a production well made, it is in this scenario of pain, hunger and misery that we are surprised by the plot which holds us from beginning to end. The graphic quality of the film is also excellent and can create some exciting, dramatic and fun times. Despite being a film with a strong theme and using a child read more
Jun 9, 2013
Faylicia (All reviews)
Story:
Asura tells the story of a boy who lives in Japan during a period of famine, around the 15th century. It’s a movie with many philosophical morals and strong character development. Why makes humans different from animals? Why do humans need love? Many questions about our existence are explained through an indirect way in this show.
In the beginning we are presented with a horrific situation where people go insane due to their hunger. I such circumstances a boy is born. Years pass and the boy doesn’t behave any different from a wild predator, literally. It isn’t until his meeting with a Buddhist monk read more
Aug 7, 2015
KyotoKycco (All reviews)
Asura claims to take us within the depths of human nature, but does it really? Asura tries to explore multiple concepts about human nature such as nature vs. nurture, human greed, despair, what people do backed in a corner, but unfortunatley falls VERY short of delivering a moral lesson. There's too much ambiguity involved to ever create a meaningful message, as everyone Asura kills is NOT justified. Even in the end it is very hard to sympathize or forgive Asura for his candid killing since I could relate to the opposing characters and the actions. There's no real life message to this story, which you read more
Apr 5, 2013
Syus (All reviews)
I don't usually write reviews so please bare with me here about the lack of... well anything that u might expect of a proper review.

To start, the story was about child who was abandoned as an infant. Struggling to survive, it did what it could and what it needed to and hence became something like a wild beast child if you will. The child, Asura, goes through a series of events which then leads him to learn about humans and slowly regain some of his humanity. But then again, happiness never lasts long and well the rest you'll have to watch for. :)

Mind you, beware read more
Sep 25, 2014
yankeedoodle (All reviews)
"what is a human? A miserable pile of little secrets!"
-quote not relevant

haha, that was just a gag, now here's my review for this movie:

when i watched the trailer, I knew I was going to be hooked in to this movie, and after I watched it, I was never disappointed and quickly became one of my most favorite anime movie of all time.

Asura takes us to a medieval era in japan where famine is widespread and everyone struggles to eat and survive, and among those people, there was a child who was human in appearance but has primal instincts like that of a wild animal. Through read more
Mar 25, 2014
playmakerzam (All reviews)
Asura is a dark and twisted anime movie based on a controversial 1970 Japanese film of the same title. At first glance, it would look like a movie full of mindless violence catering for people who enjoy watching those horrific stuff. It would put off some people because of the gore and violence (these scenes would appear immediately right off the start of the movie). I managed though because these kinds of movie are right up my alley and I consider the scenes in this movie as somewhat "mild violence". Anyway, behind the killings and the blood fountains portrayed in this movie lies a message read more
Jun 20, 2016
tasukilove (All reviews)
Asura is not the typical kind of anime in that it's more grotesque in delivering a philosophical idea: what does it mean to be human? Are we a product of our environment? These types of themes can be seen in other anime, but this film uses the subject of cannibalism to drive this thought process, which is something I haven't seen done in anime before. During the entire movie, Asura has to face three powerful influences on his character: a monk, who stirs up Asura's fight against his beastly nature; Wakasa, who shows him love that he hadn't known since his mother read more