Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gosick


Alternative Titles

Japanese: GOSICK -ゴシック-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2011 to Jul 2, 2011
Premiered: Winter 2011
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:23 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Light novel
Duration: 20 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 124,477 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #191
Members: 280,972
Favorites: 5,692

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 6, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
Detective stories never go out of fashion, but finding a way to make them interesting is another matter entirely. Some leave things open to interpretation, whilst others rely on convoluted mysteries that are more difficult to follow than a city street map. There are also whole bodies of work dedicated to the exploits of well known sleuths like Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot, Miss Marple, Inspector Morse and more.

So what was the great innovation brought forth by the anime industry? Why loli detectives of course!

Originally a light novel series by Sakuraba Kazuki, Gosick (which may be a play on the word "Gothic"), is set in the read more
Jul 2, 2011
cyrilkhan (All reviews)
Overall - 9
If you are looking for a good detective series, this is not the show you are looking for. Gosick is not a detective show. It is a historical fiction that tells the story of Ministry of the Occult’s attempt to maintain political power against the rise of science. Victorique, the heroine, solves minor mysteries in a Sherlock Holmes manner throughout the show. As Ridiculous as they may seem at first, the resolutions of these mysteries foreshadow events crucial to the actual plot. Although the conflict is not obvious until the second half of the season, it is present from the first episode.

Another important read more
Jul 6, 2011
Detective (All reviews)
Review contains possible spoilers.

I find that GOSICK is flawed and weak in every way, and to summon up a commonly used cliche to describe an undesirable mystery,"it's like watching Scooby-Doo."

So my first comparison will be how Scooby-Doo is, in fact, superior to GOSICK in terms of mystery. Scooby-Doo is an episodic mystery show (similar to GOSICK in this regard) in which a cast of bumbling characters winds up with a mysterious case on their hands, that is always solved (similar to GOSICK). Unlike GOSICK though, Scooby-Doo always introduces it's culprits prior to the solution, and presents CLUES as to HOW the mystery is solved along read more
Feb 5, 2013
Darkmoq (All reviews)
This is a really great anime if you go in with the right mindset and expectations.
Story: 8/10 The story was very good and enjoyable. The storyline can be divided into micro-scale and macro-scale subplots. On the micro-scale we have Victorique and Kujo’s adventures/mysteries. These are initially little, stand-alone mysteries that revolve around the legends of the academy where they study. As the series progresses the mysteries become interlinked with more important and far-reaching issues. I think the mini-mysteries were the weakest part of the storyline, as they were waaay too easy for both victorique and the viewer to solve. Fortunately the dud mysteries read more
Jan 7, 2011
Sartaj (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gosick was a literary masterpiece of a light novel. The reason being the little girl's dfc was so amazing that as I read each of her words, I imagined my own face brushing up against her chest.

The adaption from novel to anime from this first episode has only shown me how kakkoi it'll be and that it'll be the most sugoi series of the season, and possibly year. (tl note: kakkoi means cool and sugoi means amazing)

The little girl, Victorique has some background stuff to her, but it's not really important, what REALLY matter is how bloody cute she is. When you see her yawn, read more
Jan 23, 2011
Kurimu-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gosick received a lot of hype before it aired, and many people looked forward to the airing of this "masterpiece" novel. Will Studio Bones do it justice?
I would like to mention that I have not read the novel and thus I am only reviewing the anime version.

Story - 9/10
I am a sucker for detective / mystery anime. The first episode, however, did not meet up to my expectations. It introduced the characters all right, and I did enjoy the little mystery they had. However, being a fan of detective anime / stories, such as Detective Conan, I found the case pretty simple and repetitive read more
Jul 1, 2011
TheArchangel (All reviews)
1924.

A mere 6 years after WWI, the fictional European country of Saubure is the location of the prestigious Saint Marguerite Academy, where "The Golden Fairy" spends her days in chronic boredom eating sweets and reading in the tower library. One student that attends this school, "The Black Reaper," ventures to the very top of this tower library to see this legendary student literally rolling around, and so, an unusual bond forms between the two.

Gosick follows the story between Kazuya Kujou and Victorique de Blois, as they either dive headfirst into the various ghost stories or legends that frequent their school and try to unravel read more
Nov 10, 2015
guddi (All reviews)
Irritating. This anime is REALLY irritating if you hate a tsundere loli who acts like she's the boss and an idiot main character who goes behind her like a dog. I never felt connected to a character like I do in other anime. It's just like watching some stranger's life and not caring whether they die.

When I watched a few episodes of the anime, I realised that this anime is a horrible mystery anime. Terribly fails at depicting mysterious situations. Before the case even started, I could easily tell who the culprit was and the story behind it and I'm sure anyone can. It's read more
Mar 6, 2015
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
~I shall now reconstruct the fragments of chaos...~

A mystery-based anime set in old times? Sounds bland.
Think again.
Gosick is a genuinely interesting, entangled web of thought provoking mystery and emotion. Starting out quite slow with a cliche "mysterious girl meets guy" scenario, i didn't expect to experience great amounts of character attachment. Like many, i came with the assumption that the show would develop into a dramatic crime-busting series, and not much else.
If you hadn't already gathered from my tone, i was obviously wrong in my preconceptions of the show, and here's why...

The mystery genre is often associated with a slow rate of progression, plot-heavy content, read more
Mar 6, 2011
Swaggletooth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gosick is a difficult show to review, it is also a rather difficult show to watch if you're expecting a masterful detective story - which is doubtless the preconception many viewers will have prior to beginning this.

Gosick is not a particularly strong detective series - the detective work is generally summarized by Victorique in 1 minute out of a 60 minute story arc, and whatever clues she alludes to are invariably invisible to the viewer. In spite of this Gosick is actually an extremely enjoyable show to watch: the drama works very well and the characters are extremely likeable (ridiculous hairstyles aside).

The read more
Feb 5, 2011
Neicha (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first I was a bit afraid to fall on one of those cliché detective animes with shitty riddles like it was when I watched detective conan years ago (which is not bloody ugly but also not so challenging)
so I was rather nicely surprised by Gosick .
I'm very fond of ghost stories and mysteries to start with and so far I haven't been let down by the anime. What's impressive so far is that Victorique literally seems to be finding the answers out of nowhere thanks to some kinda fountain of wisdom and with the very few hints she gives read more
Aug 20, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Some anime you actually CAN judge by their cover. Fairy Tail is a generic Shonen Jump title, while Sekirei is an echii harem comedy series. Gosick is not one of these cases. Gosick is a mystery anime set in the 1920s that seems to star a little girl dressed in a Victorian Era maid outfit. Most people would look at the cover and say, "I'm not the damn Subway guy! Why the HELL would I ever want to watch this shit!?" I was originally one of those people, but I kept getting recommendations to watch it and finally I caved. Surprisingly...Gosick is actually pretty damn read more
Nov 2, 2014
RomaVictor43 (All reviews)
My Wellspring of Wisdom is telling me to review Gosick!
Well here I am, I'm the master of the universe.
From the makers of Sword of the Stranger, FMA: Brotherhood, and Darker than Black sequel. Studio Bones!


Story: 8/10

Gosick is your natural detective tale, love story, slice of life. It is brimming with mystery, set in a fictional European countryside called Saubure (Sauville), adjacent to France and Italy. Its plot follows in the footsteps of Lupin, Detective Conan, Heaven's Memo Pad, hell even Death Note. Our protagonist and deuteragonist is Kujo and Victorique De Blois, respectively. Their mutual friendship eventually blossoms into a partnership.

Art: 7/10

For 2011, read more
Apr 15, 2011
Hectotane (All reviews)
Preliminary
It happens. There's this show you wanna watch, and you wanna enjoy it. But the problem's with the main characters. You HATE them. You just wanna beat the crap out of them because of their mere existence. This is the feeling I get with Gosick. (Of which I wanna call Gothic, but hey.)

The European setting, the timeline it's in, the rest of the characters. Everything is fine until the spotlight is shown on the "unfunny comedy pair" of Kujou and Victorique.

Kujou is walking a thin line between being a pansy shounen lead / punching bag for the shoujo read more
Mar 4, 2015
Pyrowombat (All reviews)
I rarely ever find myself liking a series or movie about detectives and strange mysteries because I find that they become extremely repetitive, always following the same formula over and over again where your protagonist(s) uses the evidence at a crime scene to solve a crime. What sets Gosick apart from these aformentioned shows is that it isn't entirely focused on the mysteries and detective work but also places a lot of emphasis on the relationship between the main characters, adding a sort of slice-of-life-ish and romantic side to a story which would have otherwise been a more generic detective show.

Story: 8/10

The story takes place read more
Apr 27, 2015
Tavinreyes257 (All reviews)
Gosick, the anime that enveloped me in a classic Sherlock Holmes and his dear Watson tale of mystery. We are familiar with the story of Sherlock Holmes and his famous mystery solving skills and Watson who is dragged around by Holmes and questions his methods as they are unbelievably insightful. In Gosick we have Kujo Kazuya, a boy descended from a soldier from which he inherited all the traits that make up a man. Kujo transfers into St. Marguerite Academy where he eventually stumbles into Victorique De Blois and this is where this Sherlock Holmes story begins as they solve mysteries and cases involving the read more
Jan 31, 2014
Zelot (All reviews)
The fragments of chaos are all lined up...
I'll reconstruct them for you here into a review...
I'll take the fragments from the chaos of this world...
And I will reconstruct them into truth using the wellspring of wisdom within me...

Story: 10
Gosick stars Kazaya Kujo, a Japanese exchange student in the fictional European country of Sauville. During his stay in Sauville, he meets up with the other main character, Victorique, a small girl with long blonde hair and dresses in lolita clothing, and solve mysteries together. Throughout the series, as each mystery is solved, more questions on the past, and the family relating to Victorique are read more
Nov 12, 2015
AhiruArima (All reviews)
This anime is excellent. It's my second favorite anime next to Death Note. Truthfully I found this anime boring when I started watching it. I even stopped and then only a few week later did I watch it again. That only happened with the first few episodes. But the rest of the story was too awesome. I never expected it to be so good. Victorique is an awesome detective. She resembles L from Death Note in many ways. But I think that she might be even smarter than L. Victorique and Kujo make such a cute couple. The ending was excellent. It's very read more
Mar 24, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

To me, Gosick (a play on the word "Gothic") is the token example of an anime that seems mediocre and flawed at first, only for it throw the viewer a complete curveball and significantly pick up during the second half until it turns into something truly unique and enjoyable. I thought I had this show pegged at around the halfway point, but once it started to go in a more over-aching direction rather than an episodic one, the tone of the show did a 180 degree turn.

Story: 7/10
Synopsis: Set during 1924 in Saubure, a small (and fictional) European country in the Alps, read more
Jul 24, 2011
Exkalamity (All reviews)
To the rhetorical question: "Why would I watch a mystery anime with mediocre mysteries?", I provide the following four rebuttals.

1. "I don't mind mediocre mysteries."
2. Heartwarming character interactions and development
3. Awesome loli detective with puffy cheeks.
4. Beautiful Victorian setting and clothing.

Gosick is a so-called mystery anime set in aftermath of World War I in the fictitious country of Sauville. The anime follows the exploits of Victorique and her servant/friend/partner, Kujo, as they unravel the mysteries surrounding Victorique's origin and the impending world conflict. However, despite read more