Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

MM!


Alternative Titles

English: MM!
Synonyms: MM! Group, Emu Emu!
Japanese: えむえむっ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2010 to Dec 18, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Lantis, Media Factory, AT-X
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Xebec
Source: Light novel
Genres: Harem, Comedy, Ecchi, School
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.281 (scored by 88,555 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #515
Members: 163,083
Favorites: 643

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 1, 2010
OdysseusUlysses (All reviews)
There are many animes out there that have perverted characters in them, in fact most do, but animes that focus completely on one characters perversion are few and far between. Most are terrible porn like crap, but some like MM manage to do all that is necessary to be respected in this genre, namely be funny and have good characters.

-Story-
The story follows Tarou who on the surface seems like a normal high school guy but in actual fact he's got a problem, he’s a hard core masochist (he experiences sexual pleasure from pain for those who didn’t know).Trouble is he wants to be read more
Oct 24, 2010
HowTragic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pre-notice: If you don't like bad things said about this, then don't read it. I don't want people having seizures and breaking stuff. Otherwise, keep in mind that this is based on the first 3 episodes. Maybe it'll get better later, maybe it'll get worse.


When I first saw this anime on one of the download sites, I thought "oh what the hell, let's give it a try. The art looks good". Well the art WAS good, but that was ALL that was good about this anime. A few episodes into the anime, I stopped seeing the point. I was tricked.

Art (10/10)
As I said before, the read more
Apr 23, 2011
Activelee (All reviews)
Taro is sick in the head. Mio is sick in the head. Yuno is sick in the head. I think you can understand where this leading. Fundamentally, every single character in this anime is sick to the extreme at one dimension of their personality.

MM! is a story about the curing of a closet masochist by a sadist and the resulting shenanigans involving an androphobic, cross dresser, cult leader, prodigious inventor, lolicon etc. etc. It's basically a freak show, a twisted school drama, an exhibition of corrupted youths. But is that good?

Well, overall, the fetish humor had its moments. I especially found it golden when they read more
Dec 20, 2010
Detective (All reviews)
If you're looking for more of the same, then you're in luck. MM!, wittily titled after the protagonists masochism fetish, takes every character design and comedic gag as by the book as possible, for the absolute level of comfort viewing. MM! is enjoyable for what it is, a harem anime centered around a club that helps people, but it doesn't strive to go beyond it's original premise and ultimately that is where it falls short. Note that the numerical value I have awarded this anime with does not mean anywhere near as much as what I've said textually about it.

Story: 5/10
The story begins with Sado read more
Jun 28, 2013
Eat1423 (All reviews)
MM! Was an anime filled with romance, funny scenes, a good story, and some characters with some problems. I swear there wasn't one character without a problem like masochism or sadism. Anyway MM! Was a great anime in my opinion. This revolves around a highschool student named Tarou and he is a hardcore masochist. So one day his friend sends him to the second volunteering club at his school and Tarou explains his problem to the clubs president and she acts nice in the beginning but she breaks character and starts beating Tarou which to him being beaten by a pretty girl feels great to read more
Nov 13, 2014
Vene (All reviews)
~Multilingual review, English & Español: MM!~

Sadomasochism, Comedy and Romance are the keywords for this series. Considering the bad times I had with similar series featuring these same themes, I would actually say this was a show I should have definitely passed, even if everyone tells me that I shouldn't judge a book by its cover I'm not able to don’t give a first impression to something I haven't seen yet, I can't be helped. But since I'm a baka that doesn't learn from his previous errors I started this show anyway. Oh boy I did good...

In my opinion a successful romance doesn't resides only in read more
Oct 2, 2010
akinari-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Konichiwa, mina-san, this is akinari-kun from SUTORAIKUanime, here to bring you my first impression of MM!.

"T-the truth is, I'm a masochist! I get pleasure when women abuse me. It feels so good that I lose myself! I'm tellin' ya it gets really bad! What do I do!? I cannot control myself at all!!!"

And there you have it, the outline of Tarou Sado, a high school freshman with a sexual masochism fetish, or whatever the hell you call it. Whatever it is, it's funny, it's catchy, and it makes Mio look absolutely sexy.

And that's how the first episode of comedy romance "MM!" started. Along comes read more
Oct 17, 2010
Craz1estOn3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I usually hate when people write reviews judging by the first few episodes, but I think by now I have a pretty good grasp on it.
This is also my first review so bare with me, please.

Story 9: The story is about Sado Tarou who is a "hard core sexual masochism"; someone who has pleasure in getting hurt. To cure his problem he visits the Voluntary Club, a place where they "grant your wishes". There, everyday, they try to "torture" him out of his masochism. He ends up joining the club with Mio Isurugi, Yuno Arashiko, and Michiru Onigawara. There he "encounters" more adventures into their read more
Dec 27, 2010
DangoSage (All reviews)
Believe me. I was skeptical at first. A show about a masochist? Hah! Probably it's just gonna be centered around hundreds of repetitive slapstick jokes. Turns out to be true. But hold on! Mr Masochist here has his own harem? What?! How can a masochist has his own harem when us normal people out here are trying so hard to get one! He's not even that good looking...

Turns out like every male harem lead, all you have to do is be nice and overflowing girls will come after you. Now, this isn't realistic of course because guys like us aren't nice. Chances is if you read more
Feb 14, 2014
Grangey (All reviews)
This was one of those anime's where i just stumbled across it on anime freak and was not expecting the madness that it was about to throw at me. this was just Mad, Mad, Mad all the way through and i loved it.

The main reason i liked this anime was the three main characters (Taro Sado, Mio Isurugi and Arashiko Yuno) who all have their, lets say difficulty's in life at school. I love this trio of misfits. the art style of the game is great and so is the sound, especially when there is a dragon ball Z reference in the anime and read more
Aug 5, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)


Story
The story is really interesting and it's about a club of help that is lead by Mio Usurugi who has a superiority complex and thinks she is a god and on top of that she is sadist and is unaware of this and denies it, one day Taro Sado goes to the club because he has masoquism complex and wants Mio to cure him and in that club happens to be Arashiko (who has androphobia) the girl who started Taro's masoquism, every one they meet has a complex, the bad thing from this is that they only focus on curing Taro, while the other members read more
Jan 22, 2012
rikoxkinji (All reviews)
Since I mostly watch romance and harem animes, I figured why not give this a try. While reading through the story, I thought it wasn't going to be good. I thought it was one of those echhi anime with a lot of fan service, but then the word "masochist" caught my eye. Then, I didn't know what a masochist was, so I decided to look it up. I was so shocked the male protagonist is a lot like me, since i didn't know that I was a masochist. So I decided to watch the first episode to know if I was going to continue watching read more
Dec 18, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
'MM!' is a slapstick comedy about a high school student who's masochist to the core.

Story: 4/10
The story starts with Sado Tarou visiting Volunteer Club #2 to get his masochist nature fixed. He was immediately dubbed "Butarou" (pig bastard), and obviously a poor plan of fixing him through extreme pain was devised, and he gets to enjoy the masochism play everyday. Beyond that, there isn't really a story to this show, but this series is a hardcore slapstick, so a real story isn't needed nor desired. It focuses on the comedy and perversion of the protagonist as he gets into all sorts of strange situations that read more
Jan 4, 2011
helur (All reviews)
At first glance I expected it to be the crappy ecchi comedy of the season, and it pretty much was. Yet, despite the episodic nature and lack of progression I had a lot of hope.
Expectation: 6-7
Episode scores: -,-,-,-, 4, 7, 4, 10, 7, 5, 9, 10
Actual: 5 (Average)

There was many episodes where I was stunned by the romance, and the quality of some of the jokes; I of course have always been a sucker for the pseudo date episodes, and this show played that card heavily. The only time scenes which truly bored me were the handful of long masochistic scenes.

Yes, a lot of read more
Oct 26, 2011
Puddingman223 (All reviews)
This anime is a decent way to spend time if you're sick in bed all day; I don't mean that as an insult.

Story:
The story's pretty decent for the first few episodes, then it pretty much gets dropped. The show becomes focused on random events between the characters, the final episode coming out of no where completely in terms of plot relevance. On the plus side, it isn't hard to follow, easy to digest, and would be a good choice if you watched an anime that recently blew you away. Treat this show like a Saturday morning cartoon.

Art:
The art is pretty average, but read more
Jun 24, 2013
Savepoints (All reviews)
Preliminary
NOTE: This anime was DROPPED by me, and as such the following review will only take into account things I actually saw during the short time I watched the series.

Disclaimer: The following review is based on my personal opinions, and does not feature many objective analyses. As such, this may not coincide with yours, or the general publics opinions.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In a lot of anime, we see lots of perverts, or weird fetishes amongst some people, and this all serves to make them who they are as a character (in most cases), but what if an anime would focus almost solely on one pervert, and his fetish, read more
Oct 13, 2010
Mugen900 (All reviews)
Preliminary
OK, so this anime is about sexual disorders, we have the main character, Taro Sado, who's a masochist. Mio Isurugi and her nurse elder sister, who are sadist, Yuno Arashiko who's androphobic ( somehow, I'm beginning to think that she might be lesbian) and Tatsukich Hayama who's a cross dressing gay ( I wonder if she has any romantic feelings for Sado? EEEEEwwww). Anyway, I think that this anime should have been made as full encchi all the way instead of a subtle one, that way it'll add more to the comedy. As for the other characters.....I guess we'll find out later read more
Feb 15, 2012
SevenKnights (All reviews)
I originally watched the first few episodes around a year ago and instantly dropped it. This was because I just got into the whole romance/harem/comedy genre of animes and I was looking for something more "romance" heavy and more "harem" based in the sense that all the girls wanted the main characters *you know what* right off the bat.

So judging off that idea MM! was a strict no no and I never looked at it again.

However a few days ago, seeing how there is literally NO good romcom/harems that I haven't seen (at least good by my standards) I was like f*ck it, watching MM!.

I read more
Jun 16, 2011
mmm4lifegg (All reviews)
This is one of the funniest animes you will come across that isnt like many others. The plot is hilarious and it confidently fullfills its job as being a comedy, harem and romance.

Story 9
If you havnt read the synopsis yet MM! revolves around Taro Sado not your average male lead seeing as he is a masochist ( a person who finds sexual pleasure from feeling pain or humiliation) and your average 2 female leads who both have feelings for Taro. The storyline consist of following these characcters and how their relationships with each other differ while trying to cure Taro of his masochism hehehe. read more
Dec 7, 2014
Verethragna_XIII (All reviews)
Sometimes an anime will get you by its title, such as the long titled ones like "Oreimo" (for short) or like the really short ones like MM!. Now if you ever read the synopsis and have seen the cover of this anime which is Mio in a maid uniform with a bat, then you know that this would be another typical harem genre anime with an annoying tsundere character. However if you stick around you might reconsider that conclusion like me.

Story: 7/10

The excuse plot of this anime is to cure Sado's masochism because it is starting to bother him. Thus he goes to ask read more