Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory


Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory, Gundam 0083
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダム0083 STARDUST MEMORY

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 23, 1991 to Sep 24, 1992
Producers: Bandai Visual
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 12,496 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2174
Members: 21,689
Favorites: 164

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 11, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
This is the story that sets out to bridge the gap between the original Gundam series, and Zeta Gundam. Does it do a great job of that? Personally, yes and no. Yes, because you learn about what happened to the Federation to where it become in Zeta Gundam, and no, because you don’t really get to see what happens to the majority of the original cast from the series such as Amuro and Char, and mostly concentrates on the cast created exclusively for this saga. There are some other previous Gundam characters that will have brief cameos, but if you want to know, watch and read more
Jul 3, 2008
Chag (All reviews)
Set three years after the events of the One Year War, Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory is a mixed bag. While it boasts strong visuals and action, its mediocre plot and the lackluster characters ultimately prevents 0083 from the full extent of its potential.

The premise 0083's story is very promising at first glance. The valiant and desperate attempt of the Zeon remnants to pave a road for the future of its beliefs and its people makes them commendable antagonists, and the thus viewers are able to sympathize with both sides in the struggle between Federation and Zeon. However, upon closer inspection, one finds the read more
Nov 6, 2007
FireReaverX (All reviews)
With its masterful balance of action-packed battles, intense drama and a touch of romance, Gundam 0083 is required viewing for any anime fan.

Story

Gundam 0083 gets started with a bang in the very first episode and the momentum carries through all the way to its dramatic end. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you hooked and waiting for what's to come. Both drama and action are given equal screen time and presented with equal intensity.

Art

For an OVA from 1991, the animation quality in this series is simply amazing. In fact, Gundam 0083 still shines by today's standards. The design of the artwork itself read more
Oct 12, 2008
Scallion (All reviews)
Stardust Memory is mecha pornography, and I am a total mecha pervert. If you ever got a little hot when you watched Gurren Lagann's combination, aroused by the scent of a Gundam model, or felt flushed after watching Macross Zero's THRUST VECTORING, then you know what I'm talking about. If you don't, you'll probably be able to enjoy it, albeit on a different level. The best thing about Stardust is that the creators know that there is a segment of the human population that are raving mechaphiles (why else would their cheaply made plastic models sell so well...and be so damned enticing...), and the brunt read more
Apr 23, 2017
young_kappa (All reviews)
I'll put spoilers in this review. I encourage you to read on even if you haven't seen Gundam 0083, because watching the series to find out what happens is a waste of time regardless.

Gundam 0083 is bad. Really bad and overrated. Though it's not as overrated as Unicorn, but still on a level that's inexcusable. When it comes to Gundam OVAs, just about everything else is magnitudes better. My friends told me not to watch this and just go straight to Zeta, which is something I should have done in retrospect.

To begin with the story has a decent setup but it falters and becomes read more
Oct 12, 2015
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory is one of the many small OVAs (and movies) released between ZZ Gundam and the next TV series, Victory Gundam. It's also by far the most substantial installment, consisting of the highest number of episodes at 13 with each running a half hour. That's still less than half the total time of your usual Gundam series, but considering how damn long most of them are, often without a good reason to be, should anyone complain? All of the three OVAs released during this period focus on the events of the One Year War, with The 8th MS Team and read more
Mar 7, 2008
Huntsman (All reviews)
Ah another mediocre Gundam series.

It started off great with a good story, interesting characters, good music, and mobile suit design, and amazing animation. Sadly it spiraled out of control quickly. I think they tried to do to much in just 13 episodes. They should have expanded it to 24 or 26. First off they add to many characters, which made the story get convoluted, and the end revelations meant nothing since there was no back story leading to it. The ending seemed hurried and boring. The only really good think about this seres is the animation. The series read more
Mar 20, 2011
apatch3 (All reviews)
As I fall more and more in love with the UC universe, 0083 sits well with the whole timeline - it serves as a real link between 0079 and Zeta and tells its own story at the same time. It does however fall short of perfection for one very silly reason.

The 8th MS team is the best UC OVA in my opinion but 0083 had a real chance of sitting on that throne if only the director hadn't switched half way through, the second half of the show (as enjoyable as it is) is told clumsily, the plot twists come across weakly and you can't read more
Feb 27, 2016
Mondblut (All reviews)
It`s been a while since i watched the OVA, so the review won`t be overly detailed or long, but interesting enough the show comes back to my memory again and again, even though i never really though of it as that "impactful". Well, it seems it was...

0083 kind of acts as the missing link between the end of Mobile Suit Gundam 79` and the beginning of Zeta. You get to see what happened to Zeon after the One Year War and how the political structures that were already established in Zeta came into being. Actually there are certain plottwists that really surprised me as i read more
Jun 18, 2011
moggthegob (All reviews)

Mobile Suit Gundam 0083 is a highly underrated work in the Gundam series.
I feel this is because people have the wrong sorts of expectations going into the show, but since I watched this with no preconceived notions, I feel like I was able to enjoy it for what it was.

The story is set in 0083, just four years after the One Year War and the events of the original trilogy. While some of the events are related to bridging a gap in the UC timeline between Zeta Gundam and the original, the story is its own self-contained entity with a lot to offer.

The romance read more
Jul 2, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
I only watched "Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory" because someone gave the bootleg DVD's to me for free. And since those DVD's only had Chinese subtitles, I had to watch it in dub as my Chinese reading skills kinda suck these days due to lack of use. This may have resulted in lessening my enjoyment of the show, as it doesn't exactly have the best dubs I've heard... but at least they're not the worst either.

From what I can gather, "Gundam 0083" is a continuation of a chain of earlier Gundam series which eventually can be traced back to the original Gundam series, "Mobile read more
May 10, 2017
Biogundam (All reviews)
warning that this review may contain spoilers

First impressions, so stardust memory’s aka the prequel to zeta gundam which is one of my favourite in the uc time line so far.
In till I watch thunderbolt or origins because I have heard there really good
So I kind of went into this except something that’s somewhat decent,
It was going to explain some of the details that we didn’t see between the first gundam and zeta.
Which I was very happy to find out about,
Because zeta didn’t really go into that much depth of how the titans came into power. It was read more
Sep 26, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Taking place storyline-wise between the original Gundam series and Zeta Gundam, Gundam 0083's purpose in the Universal Century continuity is to reveal how the Titans would come to be when they become the antagonist faction for Zeta. The events seen throughout 0083 mostly serve to feature the buildup of these events through the perspectives of Federation Ensign Kou Uraki and influential Zeon soldier Anavel Gato. For the most part, Gundam 0083 is solid in its plot buildup as more details concerning the motives of Gato and the Zeons come to light and Kou's skills as a mobile suit pilot improve throughout the course of the read more
Jun 15, 2012
barcaman101 (All reviews)
The peace between the Earth Federation and the Zeon Space Forces have come to an abrupt halt. Rogue zeon forces have stolen one of two top secret mobile suit and intend to use it as part of a milatary operation called stardust.Kou Uraki an enthusiastic rookie becomes the pilot of the remaining gundam called 'unit one', and along with the crew of the Albion federation battle ship persue the rogue's in order to retrieve the mobile suit and uncover the plans behind operation stardust.

Firstly may I start by saying the animation in this ova puts ninety percent of the animation that we read more
Oct 16, 2008
Simply_Waiting (All reviews)
WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD!
Overall 0083 is a pretty descent. It acts as a bridge for Zeta and the original series. In 0083 a team of ragtag Zeon fleets that honestly act more like terrorists than soldiers to try and topple the Federation. They do use many Gundam cliches though, i.e. a colony drop. However, it is still terrifying and the way Operation Stardust unfolds is brilliant.
The art is everything you've come to expect from Sunrise, in the last two decades anyway. The mechanical designs will blow you away and their fluent movement is positively gorgeous. Takashi Imanishi really knew what he was doing.
The characters really aren't read more
Jun 19, 2016
GarlandReese (All reviews)
"Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory" is my favorite of all the Gundam franchise entries because of how well balanced it is. It combines all the aspects of my favorite Gundam series. The original gave us the savior suit and all the lure that comes with it, Zeta gave us the tragic and horrible nature of war, 08th MS Team was a realistic perspective on the strategy and tactics of battle and how one man cannot win the war on his own.

The story is a familiar one to Gundam fans. Zeon wants to attack Earth... again. It's up to a young, rookie Gundam pilot and read more