Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls


Alternative Titles

English: Samurai Girls
Synonyms: Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls
Japanese: 百花繚乱 サムライガールズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 4, 2010 to Dec 20, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Arms
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.901 (scored by 61,739 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #806
Members: 136,796
Favorites: 267

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2010
DangoSage (All reviews)
Oh man.. It's another samurai harem. What's with Japanese people and turning historical figures into high school girls? Anyways, this anime series is based on a light novel series written by Akira Suzuki. Wait a minute. I know what are you wondering.. "Hey isn't the main male lead name is Muneakira?" Yes you're right. I mean if you're writing a story about a harem, wouldn't you want to be the center of it? And let's just add "Mune" to your name and nobody would even notice.
(Yes, I know Mune can also mean breasts..)

I really had high expectations with this one. No kidding. It's been a read more
Jan 24, 2011
AquaHaze (All reviews)
Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls isn't a series that I expected much from so I guess in a sense it exceeded my expectations. It is not the best series out there and it's not for everyone either, but it can be a good time waster.

The series does have a plot but it only significantly advances in the final episodes. So like many ecchi comedies out there, there is very little plot and when there is it's pretty weak. However not every series requires a strong plot to succeed, in fact there are many series out there that are successful with no plot. All read more
Dec 21, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
'Hyakka Ryouran SAMURAI GIRLS' is the 40th anniversary media-mix project by Hobby Japan, a plastic model / video game magazine publisher.
This series is an interesting watch because it's not only a "media-mix" as in franchise with products in multiple media platforms, it also feels like many popular anime series are mixed together. However, it represents everything that went wrong with today's anime industry.

ART:
Series like 'Gankutsuou', 'Mononoke', 'xxxHOLIC', 'Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei', and 'Yojouhan' have such distinctive and unconventional art style or character designs that you'll never forget once you've seen it. Sounds pretty cool, we should do it too! And there we have it, sumi-e (wash read more
Sep 5, 2010
rainstrife (All reviews)
Preliminary
At this point of the story, it hasn’t fully revealed itself to be important, because majority of my thoughts were being distracted by the beauty of the cel-shaded animation. However, there is more to the story than just action fan service scenes.

Whether it’s standing still or in movement, it’s really a rich and attractive art design. The environments feel like a sharp watercolor painting, and the characters blend in with a darker, deeper color.

Hirakawa, Daisuke (School Days, Omamori Himari) and Kugimiya, Rie (Toradora!, Hayate the Combat Butler!) share the majority of airtime on the first episode. Both of these voice actors have had their share read more
Oct 24, 2010
Rochit (All reviews)
Preliminary
Completely and Only for Timepass.

Made for males with lots of fan service, it's the usual hot curvaceous girls who can fight with a single male convieniently stuck amidst them. Having watched 4 episodes till now, it still makes for some good entertainment with great artwork and editing with decent comical situations. Don't watch for the story or even character development as i feel the creators want it to be light with a pinch of mystry and drama, not too much brainwork that is.

So i'll give it a 7 - watch once, enjoy, then amnesia.
Dec 13, 2010
kakaros (All reviews)
Preliminary
Like all too many animes out there who are considered a "harem" this also has a bunch of girls who are all in love with the main character but for some weird reason that i just can't figure out they always have to beat him up and act like hes some kind of freak of nature. whilst just like always the protagonist is indecisive and for some reason he's an all Human Rights champion or something, always making stupid and long speeches about how no one should fight and everyone should just live in happiness with each other even though the ones he are preaching read more
Nov 17, 2010
warniefn (All reviews)
Preliminary
well i have only watched about seven episodes , but that's probably enough to the basic gist of whats going on.
First off , it is a harem anmie ,no if whats or buts and carries many of the typical characters and events you would expect to find in such an anmie , including lots of fan service.

That said, there is a surprising undercurrent to the story ,that has you guessing and keeps you read more
Feb 24, 2015
pluslethatminun (All reviews)
Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls.
“Oooooooooh, lookie-lookie! Another harem series rated with mild nudity!” --- Me
I’ve been a fan of harem series as long as I can remember. I don’t know; maybe part of it was because it won’t happen for me in real life. I know I’m not the only one who projects themselves as the protagonist, and that’s why, maybe, I don’t watch shoujo series at all. Enough about me spouting nonsense. Let us proceed further into my review of Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls.


Story: 7
Hyakka Ryouran’s story isn’t that great. But the setting will pique a bit of your interest. Why? It’s because of read more
Apr 2, 2014
Siscon2000 (All reviews)
a few side notes:

1. this damn review is all about hyakka ryouran samurai girls (1st season) NOT samurai bride (2nd season).
2. english in not my native language I m not too good in english so...



HYAKKA RYOURAN SAMURAI GIRLS


so one day I downloaded that hyakka ryouran samurai girls and started to watch. well they show boobs so...

yes they show boobs there. YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but anything else is not so good.

well first of all anime setting is in some alternative world where "great japan" is attacked by outside forces and "great japan" instead of using their millitary using "master samurais" who are a sexy females in read more
Nov 6, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Taking place in an alternate 21st century where the Tokugawa Shogunate still rules Great Japan, the generals of the country relied on Master Samurai's; very powerful women with special powers to fight their battles. As time passed, this breed of warrior has become more scarce. Muneakira Yagyu heads to the Buou Academy to meet with his long time friend Princess Sen, but he ends up in the middle of a battle taking place between students of the academy, and their rival Yukimara and her assistant who both represent Toyotomi. During the battle a girl falls from the sky claiming to be Jubei Yagyu before she read more
Dec 26, 2010
Scrypt (All reviews)
If there's one thing 2010 isn't short of, it would have to be the abundance of ecchi anime that's aired this year. From titles like Kiss x Sis, High School of the Dead, and even Seikon no Qwaser, it makes one think that Japan has had a rise in lonely boys who are buying into this stuff like ice to Eskimos.

Hyakka Ryōran: Samurai Girls is no different in that all it really is, is a show about samurai with breasts set in neo-Japan. Die-hard fans of historical anime/literature may feel insulted to this as famous names like Sanada Yukimura, Yagyū Jūbei and even Senhimé are read more
Jan 23, 2015
torrapamii (All reviews)
You know, once in a while you'll find yourself watching an episode of an anime thinking, why am I watching this? But for Hyakka Ryouran, you'll be thinking, why have I not heard of this earlier?! (unless this was in one of your first 10 anime, ignore that whole paragraph.)

Story: 7/10

A martial arts anime with harem, romance, comedy and school. Except, the genre that was least shown was of course, the school genre. Probably just to make everything look more interesting. This type of story isn't for your light hearted, slice of life type anime fan, because there's also mild violence. The romance genre can read more
Jan 4, 2011
helur (All reviews)
Ahh, the classic ecchi action show. I am not a fan of the genre in general, but the first episode seemed like it could turn out well. It also seemed like it had a plot. The art also seemed rather unique in its genre of bright and happy. Yes, it was all what it seemed.

Expectation: 6
Episode scores:-,-,-,-, 5, 5, 5, 6, 7, 6, 6, 6
Actual: 4 Bad

Yet the plot is quickly put aside for the last episodes, nothing unusual, as the harem tries to become master samurai. Now what can be wrong with that? Well, i don't mind the cliche random guy getting all the read more
Sep 21, 2010
Rerednaw (All reviews)
Preliminary
My initial impressions were quite favorable. The animation quality is stellar, probably among the best I've seen short of full studio movies. The art is good enough that I sometimes get distracted and end up missing the dialogue. The cel-shading may offend some, but I've never had an issue with this style of animation.

As far as being categorized as ecchi...I'd consider this to be very mild. While there are the usual scantily clad (or no clothes at all) scenes and plenty of fanservice, none of them are directly explicit(at least so far.) This anime does not use the read more
Feb 9, 2012
razorblade81 (All reviews)
One thing that made me want to see this show. THE ART! I saw the trailer, and was unbelieving. I watched the entire series, and now am a believer. This is one of the most unique and well done art styles I have seen in an anime in a long time. The heavy lines, softness of the colors, detail, all combines to make it very nice to watch.

Granted, there is a lot of fan service. And I agree with others assessment, the ink blots used to cover naughty bits was annoying, especially in combat. However, getting the blu-ray version obviously fixed this problem.

I don't have read more
Aug 12, 2012
MangoFox (All reviews)
I figured for my first speed review I'd try to do my best not to completely berate an anime or worship it as a deity (Edit: I failed). What better to do it on than Hyakka Ryouran?

Possibly the worst anime I've ever watched. However, it DID manage to get on my watched(completed) list, instead of the pile of crap I wouldn't touch with a ten foot pole, the (dropped) list. Which makes me ponder how I ever finished it.

I can't really be unbiased, because I honestly hate almost every single aspect of this show. The story is border line retarded, there is little character development, read more
Apr 7, 2012
NoblesseOblige3 (All reviews)
At this stage of my review, that is to say, the very beginning, i feel obligated to let you know that this review will not end positively. It's a warning you perhaps do not wish or care to hear but one i must inform you thusly. There will be positive comments throughout but they will all fall eventually into a melancholic tone to highlight certain disappointments.

This show can be summarised in the following sentence; that is to say if i do not go off on a random tangent instead, big breasted female samurai fight against villains. That is, there are only two villains of the read more
Nov 19, 2014
caseyc13 (All reviews)
Overall this was a really great anime. Of course to get through this you have to be ok with Ecchi, but if you enjoy Ecchi then this is right up your alley. There are great fights, and intriguing premise, and moderately well developed characters. Sure alot of the things in here have been done before, but this anime manages to have fun without losing sight of the importance of the plot. Sure there is fan service and the requisite awkward situations, it still maintains a serious undertone since the fate of Japan is riding on them. Overall a great little read more
Aug 15, 2011
Andristian (All reviews)
Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls is the kind of anime show that seems to have everything going the right way before it even starts airing. A storyline revolving around samurais? Check. Edgy visuals that make the anime stand out from the rest? Check. Fan service? Double check. All the ingredients to make a great anime series are present, which makes it all the more perplexing that Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls turned out to be a complete failure of a show.

Let’s start at the beginning. Taking place in Great Japan in an alternate timeline where the samurai tradition has been kept alive through modern age, the show read more
Dec 13, 2010
darkcommanderq (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall: Hyakka Ryouran Samurai Girls is a fresh take on Ecchi anime. The main charecter is only stereo typical in that he is a tad shy about sex (like most maile leads in ecchi anime), but that forgivable aspect aside he is a highly skilled samurai. With fresh visuals and a good use of sound to compliment them you should have a good time with this show.

Story: I would have given this show a lower value if is wasnt for the last 2 episodes. So far the story has been very bland, but as of episodes 10 and 11 the plot has read more