Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu


Alternative Titles

English: Legend of the Galactic Heroes
Synonyms: LoGH, LotGH, Gin'eiden, GinEiDen, Heldensagen Vom Kosmosinsel
Japanese: 銀河英雄伝説

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 110
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 1988 to Mar 17, 1997
Producers: Kitty Films
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Artland, Magic Bus
Source: Novel
Duration: 26 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 9.101 (scored by 33,115 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #62
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #662
Members: 144,829
Favorites: 9,577

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 27, 2008
santetjan (All reviews)
This series is overrated on this site. That is to say, with 110 episodes, your vote only counts after you've seen 22 episodes, almost a full season, and those who don't like this show probably won't wait for 22 episodes to decide.
Which is a shame, as it's only after about 20 episodes that this series progresses from something that is slow, somewhat overly bombastic, and hinting at more to come to show itself to be one of the most intelligent pieces of anime that's been made to date.

When I say 'intelligent', I don't mean it to be cunning, surprising the viewer with unsuspected plot read more
Mar 8, 2009
Beatnik (All reviews)
This is Star Wars. Lucas's franchise should be renamed to something else.

If any work of entertainment in our history deserves the title of 'Star Wars' then it is this anime, and not George Lucas's franchise. This is more star wars than Star Wars ever was, is, or will be. This is star wars. Epic wars among the stars, grand vision with something to say, something to show, all the while consistent narratively, thematically and audially, never pandering to a clamouring fan base, this is 110 episodes of pure sci-fi operatic drama of the highest quality. This is star wars.

Preferably experienced after watching the prequel movie read more
Dec 16, 2009
Sick_Bastard (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is easily the most overrated anime of all time. When I first came to MAL, I didn't hear much about it. About August 2008 I started seeing it being recommended by people in the Recommendation forum. I didn't pay attention to it. Fast forward to 2009, March to be exact, and I'm seeing it being recommended left and right, and being hailed as the greatest anime of all time. Many people even went as far to say that if you didn't like LOGH, you had no taste in anime. So I started to think that I may want to watch it. I went read more
Dec 6, 2008
noteDhero (All reviews)
Legend of the Galactic Heroes is an epic tale of the rise to power of two men born at the right time on opposite sides, leading to a clash of brilliant spectacle that could only be executed with care in as an animated original.

Animation- 9/10
Though Legend of Galactic Heroes is 20 years old the visual quality and care is quite priceless. As a viewer who is reluctant to watch series over 40 episodes or over 10 years old, I was taken aback by the engaging art ranging from Ancient Rome, to Victorian England, to Blade Runner-esque futuristic set-pieces and costuming. Both factions, The Free read more
Jun 7, 2012
Brockemsockem (All reviews)
Preliminary
An overhyped, overrated, inflated-by-details anime of Mary-Sue dialogues and bland battles. When somebody says "the show doesn't get good until 20+ episodes in," you know there's something wrong. As you can already tell, nothing good can come from me writing this review. Legend of The Galactic Heroes is beloved on this site. A great deal of people call it a classic, and here I am writing about it being only "average." I have not finished the series; I can't, and this review is intended to tell you why I can't, but also why others like me, who bought into the hype, shouldn't waste their time.

The read more
Dec 7, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
It is so rare to find any type of lengthy series that span over 100 episodes without declining in quality over its duration due to various factors such as the abundance of inconsistencies in the story, or rehashing the same narrative structural wise, which is pretty common in long running series. Other limiting factors are the available funds for its execution, or its own popularity, which can induce authors to change the course of the story. However, there is one title that managed to evade said issues, being an adaptation of a series of novels by Yoshiki Tanaka, with a lengthy production of 110 OVA read more
Aug 7, 2010
martin03345 (All reviews)
History is not just the study of the past, but the events that occur throughout history hold a different meaning for different people. These past events encompass the overall thoughts, beliefs, ideas, and conceptions of all those who lived throughout it. When a war between two different states and political ideologies breaks out with both states claiming to be fighting on the side of righteousness, which side is truly the right one? This is the overarching theme of of the epic 110 episode OVA space opera, Legend of the Galactic Heroes. Adapted from the science fiction novel series by Yoshiki Tanaka and directed read more
Jul 22, 2011
ManlyTears (All reviews)
I can’t believe people has dubbed this most intellectual and complex to have come to anime. This is pretty much all talk and an unoriginal generic war story. Basically it follows two homos and a guy who drinks tea on death star. These three are your typical “fight against the man because they are corrupted” characters. Of course everyone is corrupted because apparently humanity always ruins itself in the future. Humanity is split apart so our heroes must re-unite the universe, lame. If this was like 50 episodes I would probably rate this 7 and consider recommending to people.

This anime pretty much consists of dialogue read more
May 21, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

It finally happened. I'm finally going to review what is probably the most beloved anime on all of MAL. An anime so sacred that even trolls on 4chan don't dare to insult it and sully its glorious name! I'm sure everyone reading this review is already quite aware how amazing this anime is, so I am going to talk about WHY it's so good, why you should watch it, and even discuss some minor imperfections (gasp). I'm finally on Summer break from medical school, so I can afford to write a long review! I picked the right series for this!

Legend of the Galactic Heroes is read more
Nov 1, 2014
Lockensocke (All reviews)
Preliminary
Legend of the galactic heroes (LotgH short) is a space opera with a big galactic war as its main theme, where 2 nations are facing each other, The republic side, a democratic nation and the imperial side, which is more of a monarchy. It focuses around the story of 2 young strategists who grew up in opposite nations, each being apparently a prodigy and each fighting for their nation to win.

The problem I have with this anime is that; on the one hand it seemed to focus on making its war story as realistic as possible, like a documentary in a way which makes it read more
Nov 18, 2014
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Are you tired of Good Republic vs Evil Empire? Are you tired of archaic honor and pointless martyrdom? Are you tired of war dramas with runaway nationalism and selfless sacrifice to secure the government's next election victory?

Well, look no further because Legend of the Galactic Heroes is tired of those tropes too. This is a show that takes political philosophy seriously and debates about it in a pretty analytical and argumentative way and at great length. Which is superior: a corrupt democracy or a virtuous autocracy? What good is having an election if the majority tramples on the rights of the minority? Does the legitimacy read more
Oct 10, 2008
aristocles (All reviews)
A masterpiece! This is anime for adults. When watching it you are seeing a historical epic unfold before your eyes. It is not only one of the greatest anime series of all time, IMHO, but also one of the greatest science fiction series of all time. For both anime fans and science fiction fans it is a must see.

With the general praise for the show out of the way, a word of warning to potential viewers. While I laud the show it is *EPIC*, both in terms of the story, the setting, etc. but also in terms of length. At 110 episodes (*plus* the read more
May 11, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
For as long as human history goes on, the past will continue to accumulate. History isn’t just records of the past. It’s also proof that civilization has continued to advance to the present. Our present civilization is the result of our past.” -Yang Wenli

You know that really good friend of yours that moved away because their dad got a better job in umpteesquat town? That’s how I feel right now. After finishing the Lord and Savior of anime itself, it’s as though a legitimate part of me was ripped out in front of my eyes. I don’t know how many times I attempted to start read more
Jun 14, 2008
durendal4444 (All reviews)
I'd like to preface this review with the fact that I'm an avid science fiction reader and have chewed through a fair amount of books in my day. Within minutes of beginning this show you can see how derivative it is from a series of books.

The story is long (obviously) and intensely philosophical. There are jokes but they're either without humor or simply not funny, so if you're looking for something light look elsewhere. As far as character development goes there's a huge ever-developing list of people to keep track of and this is where it gets a little tricky. Since read more
Mar 1, 2016
phs_togusa (All reviews)
This isn't Star Wars. George Lucas's franchise should NOT be renamed into anything else.

If any work of entertainment in our history deserves the title of 'Star Wars,' then it is the entirety of George Lucas's franchise and NOT this anime. Star Wars is more star wars than LOGH ever was, is, or will be. Constant spiels of exposition about various topics, a constant show of myopia in regards to its setting and subject matter, all the while consistently failing to act on the countless possibilities presented to us, this is 110 episodes of pure, unadulterated wasted potential in the most inexcusable ways possible.

In case you read more
Nov 19, 2014
Hanimir (All reviews)
What I have just witnessed was history unfolding before my very eyes!

Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu, it’s a myth, a myth so old that many of today’s anime enthusiasts wouldn’t dare watch it. People on this site rate this anime so immensely high, that one would eventually come to wonder what that ridiculous score is based on, and give the whole thing a try. Are these people merely the retainers of old, classic shows that have been made in a style that has long since come to an end? I sincerely believe that it’s more than that.

To make one thing very clear, this anime was made before read more
Nov 23, 2009
Lovo (All reviews)
Usually, when I have a high expectations for a show, after watching it I end up somehow disappointed. For this reason, before I watch a show I lower my expectations.
Before watching LoGH, I was forced to have high expectations
Since it's ranked no.1
Maybe this was the only anime that I had really high expectation for it and it actually even managed to surpass those expectations
It just blew me away
I really don't know how to describe my feeling towards it
What a plot….what a characters…what a scenario…what everything
Intelligence…drama…action…romance…humor…tragedy
LoGH had all these elements in an efficient way
They never overused any element in here
I think for that reason that read more
Oct 10, 2016
Goukeban (All reviews)
For a while, some of the people who I usually talk to on MAL have come to claim that I am some kind of contrarian, due to my refusal to shout unconditional praise for some works considered to be “classics” in the same fashion a few circles do. I don’t feel that is true, though, when taking into account my general stance (just look at my other reviews!), it just so happens that I have a very particular way of judging any given work, hipster glasses off. For that same reason, when I began watching Legend of the Galactic Heroes, or Ginga Eyiuu Densetsu, I read more
Mar 26, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu is a somewhat odd series, in anime terms. It began as a series of novels in the 80s, got adapted into a manga and, over the course of the late 80s to late 90s, it was turned into a 110 episode OVA. The odd part being that it was released as an OVA. For those of you who don't know, an OVA is a direct to video/ DVD release rather than one that runs on a televised network. Usually OVAs are pretty short, running somewhere from an episode to maybe a dozen. A hundred and ten episodes is virtually unheard of from read more
May 5, 2015
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
The cosmos. Man has head dreams of venturing the final frontier since the dawn of time. It is an endless void for which ambition can take can spread its roots. If only we could reach there. There have been many epic space operas about young men with grand ambitions of power. However, none of them could ever quite match up to the proportions and magnitude of Legend of the Galactic Heroes. Legends of the Galactic Heroes is an anime so ambitious, so expansive that this review won’t be able to cover everything. However, I will try to be as concise about my views as possible.

The read more