Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu
Legend of the Galactic Heroes
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Legend of the Galactic Heroes
Synonyms: LoGH, LotGH, Gin'eiden, GinEiDen, Heldensagen Vom Kosmosinsel
Japanese: 銀河英雄伝説

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 110
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 1988 to Mar 17, 1997
Producers: Kitty Films
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Source: Novel
Genres: MilitaryMilitary, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SpaceSpace, DramaDrama
Duration: 26 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 9.111 (scored by 4320343,203 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #52
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #620
Members: 192,149
Favorites: 12,024

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 27, 2008
santetjan (All reviews)
This series is overrated on this site. That is to say, with 110 episodes, your vote only counts after you've seen 22 episodes, almost a full season, and those who don't like this show probably won't wait for 22 episodes to decide.
Which is a shame, as it's only after about 20 episodes that this series progresses from something that is slow, somewhat overly bombastic, and hinting at more to come to show itself to be one of the most intelligent pieces of anime that's been made to date.

When I say 'intelligent', I don't mean it to be cunning, surprising the viewer with unsuspected plot read more
Mar 8, 2009
Beatnik (All reviews)
This is Star Wars. Lucas's franchise should be renamed to something else.

If any work of entertainment in our history deserves the title of 'Star Wars' then it is this anime, and not George Lucas's franchise. This is more star wars than Star Wars ever was, is, or will be. This is star wars. Epic wars among the stars, grand vision with something to say, something to show, all the while consistent narratively, thematically and audially, never pandering to a clamouring fan base, this is 110 episodes of pure sci-fi operatic drama of the highest quality. This is star wars.

Preferably experienced after watching the prequel movie read more
Dec 16, 2009
Sick_Bastard (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is easily the most overrated anime of all time. When I first came to MAL, I didn't hear much about it. About August 2008 I started seeing it being recommended by people in the Recommendation forum. I didn't pay attention to it. Fast forward to 2009, March to be exact, and I'm seeing it being recommended left and right, and being hailed as the greatest anime of all time. Many people even went as far to say that if you didn't like LOGH, you had no taste in anime. So I started to think that I may want to watch it. I went read more
Jun 7, 2012
Brockemsockem (All reviews)
Preliminary
An overhyped, overrated, inflated-by-details anime of Mary-Sue dialogues and bland battles. When somebody says "the show doesn't get good until 20+ episodes in," you know there's something wrong. As you can already tell, nothing good can come from me writing this review. Legend of The Galactic Heroes is beloved on this site. A great deal of people call it a classic, and here I am writing about it being only "average." I have not finished the series; I can't, and this review is intended to tell you why I can't, but also why others like me, who bought into the hype, shouldn't waste their time.

The read more
Dec 6, 2008
noteDhero (All reviews)
Legend of the Galactic Heroes is an epic tale of the rise to power of two men born at the right time on opposite sides, leading to a clash of brilliant spectacle that could only be executed with care in as an animated original.

Animation- 9/10
Though Legend of Galactic Heroes is 20 years old the visual quality and care is quite priceless. As a viewer who is reluctant to watch series over 40 episodes or over 10 years old, I was taken aback by the engaging art ranging from Ancient Rome, to Victorian England, to Blade Runner-esque futuristic set-pieces and costuming. Both factions, The Free read more
Dec 7, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
It is so rare to find any type of lengthy series that span over 100 episodes without declining in quality over its duration due to various factors such as the abundance of inconsistencies in the story, or rehashing the same narrative structural wise, which is pretty common in long running series. Other limiting factors are the available funds for its execution, or its own popularity, which can induce authors to change the course of the story. However, there is one title that managed to evade said issues, being an adaptation of a series of novels by Yoshiki Tanaka, with a lengthy production of 110 OVA read more
Aug 7, 2010
martin03345 (All reviews)
History is not just the study of the past, but the events that occur throughout history hold a different meaning for different people. These past events encompass the overall thoughts, beliefs, ideas, and conceptions of all those who lived throughout it. When a war between two different states and political ideologies breaks out with both states claiming to be fighting on the side of righteousness, which side is truly the right one? This is the overarching theme of of the epic 110 episode OVA space opera, Legend of the Galactic Heroes. Adapted from the science fiction novel series by Yoshiki Tanaka and directed read more
Jul 22, 2011
ManlyTears (All reviews)
I can’t believe people has dubbed this most intellectual and complex to have come to anime. This is pretty much all talk and an unoriginal generic war story. Basically it follows two homos and a guy who drinks tea on death star. These three are your typical “fight against the man because they are corrupted” characters. Of course everyone is corrupted because apparently humanity always ruins itself in the future. Humanity is split apart so our heroes must re-unite the universe, lame. If this was like 50 episodes I would probably rate this 7 and consider recommending to people.

This anime pretty much consists of dialogue read more
Sep 14, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
Legend of the Galactic Heroes feels like reading a book.

I won’t sing LoGH any praises and call it the undisputed crème de la crème of the Anime medium, nor will I go ahead and call it a terrible experience simply because it felt nauseating during times. LoGH is good, but if you are expecting anything entertaining to come out of it, then please don’t watch it. This Anime barely has any action or plot twists of that sort, and while the occasional “surprising” death appears here and there, it barely makes up a percentage of the huge catalog of episodes this Anime contains. From read more
Nov 1, 2014
Lockensocke (All reviews)
Preliminary
Legend of the galactic heroes (LotgH short) is a space opera with a big galactic war as its main theme, where 2 nations are facing each other, The republic side, a democratic nation and the imperial side, which is more of a monarchy. It focuses around the story of 2 young strategists who grew up in opposite nations, each being apparently a prodigy and each fighting for their nation to win.

The problem I have with this anime is that; on the one hand it seemed to focus on making its war story as realistic as possible, like a documentary in a way which makes it read more
May 21, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

It finally happened. I'm finally going to review what is probably the most beloved anime on all of MAL. An anime so sacred that even trolls on 4chan don't dare to insult it and sully its glorious name! I'm sure everyone reading this review is already quite aware how amazing this anime is, so I am going to talk about WHY it's so good, why you should watch it, and even discuss some minor imperfections (gasp). I'm finally on Summer break from medical school, so I can afford to write a long review! I picked the right series for this!

Legend of the Galactic Heroes is read more
Apr 1, 2020
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
“According to all known laws of aviation, there is no way a bee should be able to fly. Its wings are too small to get its fat little body off the ground. The bee, of course, flies anyway because bees don't care what humans think is impossible.” - The Bee Movie

Legend of the Galactic Heroes, or Lotgh for short, is a renowned militaristic space drama eulogized by sacrosanct anime connoisseurs for its brilliant thematic execution and perspicacious handling of its impassioned characters and expansive universe.

But the critics are dead wrong. There’s nothing “unique” or “special” about this anime at all! Through countless hours of read more
Nov 18, 2014
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Are you tired of Good Republic vs Evil Empire? Are you tired of archaic honor and pointless martyrdom? Are you tired of war dramas with runaway nationalism and selfless sacrifice to secure the government's next election victory?

Well, look no further because Legend of the Galactic Heroes is tired of those tropes too. This is a show that takes political philosophy seriously and debates about it in a pretty analytical and argumentative way and at great length. Which is superior: a corrupt democracy or a virtuous autocracy? What good is having an election if the majority tramples on the rights of the minority? Does the legitimacy read more
Oct 10, 2008
aristocles (All reviews)
A masterpiece! This is anime for adults. When watching it you are seeing a historical epic unfold before your eyes. It is not only one of the greatest anime series of all time, IMHO, but also one of the greatest science fiction series of all time. For both anime fans and science fiction fans it is a must see.

With the general praise for the show out of the way, a word of warning to potential viewers. While I laud the show it is *EPIC*, both in terms of the story, the setting, etc. but also in terms of length. At 110 episodes (*plus* the read more
Mar 1, 2016
phs_togusa (All reviews)
This isn't Star Wars. George Lucas's franchise should NOT be renamed into anything else.

If any work of entertainment in our history deserves the title of 'Star Wars,' then it is the entirety of George Lucas's franchise and NOT this anime. Star Wars is more star wars than LOGH ever was, is, or will be. Constant spiels of exposition about various topics, a constant show of myopia in regards to its setting and subject matter, all the while consistently failing to act on the countless possibilities presented to us, this is 110 episodes of pure, unadulterated wasted potential in the most inexcusable ways possible.

In case you read more
Mar 26, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu is a somewhat odd series, in anime terms. It began as a series of novels in the 80s, got adapted into a manga and, over the course of the late 80s to late 90s, it was turned into a 110 episode OVA. The odd part being that it was released as an OVA. For those of you who don't know, an OVA is a direct to video/ DVD release rather than one that runs on a televised network. Usually OVAs are pretty short, running somewhere from an episode to maybe a dozen. A hundred and ten episodes is virtually unheard of from read more
Jun 14, 2008
durendal4444 (All reviews)
I'd like to preface this review with the fact that I'm an avid science fiction reader and have chewed through a fair amount of books in my day. Within minutes of beginning this show you can see how derivative it is from a series of books.

The story is long (obviously) and intensely philosophical. There are jokes but they're either without humor or simply not funny, so if you're looking for something light look elsewhere. As far as character development goes there's a huge ever-developing list of people to keep track of and this is where it gets a little tricky. Since read more
Nov 19, 2014
Hanimir (All reviews)
What I have just witnessed was history unfolding before my very eyes!

Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu, it’s a myth, a myth so old that many of today’s anime enthusiasts wouldn’t dare watch it. People on this site rate this anime so immensely high, that one would eventually come to wonder what that ridiculous score is based on, and give the whole thing a try. Are these people merely the retainers of old, classic shows that have been made in a style that has long since come to an end? I sincerely believe that it’s more than that.

To make one thing very clear, this anime was made before read more
Jun 1, 2019
kawaiiiiiiiii (All reviews)
Legend of the Galactic Heroes is an old ass OVA series spanning 110 episodes which elitists or 'cultured' anime fans deem to be the greatest anime of all time.
The hype surrounding this series is silly, the way fans rave about it especially.

Many viewers about the series complain that the first 20 episodes or so are boring. It is mainly build up yes but that's not what I had a major problem with. Even from episode 1 or 2 you get too much exposition and detail from the narrator. I'm all for having a narrator, shows such as Kaiji and Hunter x Hunter use narration read more
Nov 23, 2009
Lovo (All reviews)
Usually, when I have a high expectations for a show, after watching it I end up somehow disappointed. For this reason, before I watch a show I lower my expectations.
Before watching LoGH, I was forced to have high expectations
Since it's ranked no.1
Maybe this was the only anime that I had really high expectation for it and it actually even managed to surpass those expectations
It just blew me away
I really don't know how to describe my feeling towards it
What a plot….what a characters…what a scenario…what everything
Intelligence…drama…action…romance…humor…tragedy
LoGH had all these elements in an efficient way
They never overused any element in here
I think for that reason that read more