Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket


Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam 0080- Pocket no Naka no Sensou
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダム 0080 ポケットの中の戦争

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 25, 1989 to Aug 25, 1989
Producers: Bandai Visual
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.891 (scored by 19,232 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2291
Members: 35,713
Favorites: 589

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 27, 2017
RedInfinity (All reviews)
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left" -Bertrand Russell

Sometimes, the best war stories are not told from the perspective of the people who fight, but from those who don't. Without offering any sort of resistance in most cases, civilians are defenseless against the cruelties which are present at these times. This way, some horrific stories remain hidden without record and linger profusely in the wounded hearts of many. Gundam is a series that usually relies heavily on action to show off the designs of the mechs, which are the main selling point of the franchise. By this method, a read more
Jul 2, 2008
Chag (All reviews)
As a small member of the huge gundam metaseries, Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket is often overlooked. This is a real shame, as 0080 is one of the most touching war stories to be found in the anime medium.

The story of 0080 is distinct from other gundam series in that it features a civilian child's point of view on war. It is the story of Alfred Izuruha's journey of disillusionment as he grows out of his starry-eyed romance for war and the military, ultimately realizing the devastation and meaninglessness of it all. Though the risk of spoilers prevent me from elaborating further, read more
Jun 21, 2014
JizzyHitler (All reviews)
Many months ago I decided I was gonna make it my goal to watch through every single universal century gundam and many of it's spin offs. Out of all the grand scale battles and magical newtype powers spread across the many entries of the universal franchise, I found a little ova by the name of war in the pocket. This short 6 episode ova stood out from the fellow gundam installments as well as many of its contemporaries in the genre even to this day. Set within the one year war from the original gundam series war in the pocket focused heavily on telling the read more
Apr 25, 2007
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
This series was only 6 episodes long but packed more character development in it than most 50+ episode Mobile Suit Gundam series. The protagonist, Al, is likeable, and is a kid that most people can quickly and easily identify with. He finds school boring, is good at some subjects, is failing at others and is afraid of his mother "grounding" him for his bad grades. His father is never around and he hungers for male companionship, which he gets from a new friend, Bernard Wiseman.

The friendship between Bernard, a rookie pilot, and Al, the school kid, grows despite the difficulties of the political situation in read more
May 22, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
In the hellfires of the battlefield, people are predestined to die. The tragedy of this reality doesn’t impact the dead, or usually even the survivors, but instead, the families of those who lost their lives. Seeing war firsthand can be as traumatizing as losing someone in it. In fiction, we often take for granted the sheer levels of brutality on display in shows like this, as we relish in the spectacle of the fights and the possible charm of the combatants, at least until one we care about dies. Gundam has nearly always embodied this as a franchise, but nowhere has the franchise been more read more
Oct 11, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
It brings a whole new chapter to the official first series in which we were to believe that side 6 was always officially neutral, but this series says other wise. Though none of the other series characters are present, it is noted, that you have to be a “freak” to truly pilot the Gundam NT-1 Alex. This series does an excellent job portraying the series about how naïve kids can be. Al is aware of how dangerous things can be, but he puts the excitement factor first without thinking of the potential consequences of what may happen. You also really feel the bond Al and read more
Jan 17, 2009
Monkey_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket is the first OVA to enter the vast Gundam franchise. After seeing the three lengthy first Gundam series, I was expecting a short six episode OVA to not quite live up to the standard set by those series. While, yes, it doesn't fully match such titles as Mobile Suit Gundam or Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, it's still a wonderful tale that without a doubt deserves its place in the Gundam metaseries.

The story is definitely the outstanding quality in War in the Pocket. You wouldn't quite expect this, since it's all jammed into just six episodes, but Tomino read more
Feb 8, 2019
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Finally, I conclude my trilogy of great, underrated anime gems. War in the Pocket is a Gundam anime, but you don't actually need to have an encyclopedic knowledge of the Gundam franchise or the One Year War to enjoy it. It works perfectly well as a stand alone feature, while also being highly enjoyable to longtime Gundam fans. Basically, it's the perfect Gundam series!

Plot and characters:

Hundreds of years in the future, war has broken out between a militaristic space colony called Zeon and the rest of Humanity. This war was depicted in the original 1979 Gundam series and is called the One Year War. Gundam read more
Dec 22, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
Let's get some Christmas themed anime all up in this review place!

First impressions were bad, primarily because it set up exactly the same way every single other friggen Gundam series seems to do. We’re on a space colony and here’s this kid who loves giant robots but ohsnap robots attack! The kid finds a giant robot with no pilot in it. It’s around about there that this show differentiates itself because the kid in question is about 8 years old. Even when the pilot of the downed robot picks himself up and points a gun at him, the kid is still jumping about with unbridled read more
Jul 19, 2017
Skittles (All reviews)
War in the Pocket is a stellar example of how revolutionizing a time-tested mecha franchise can bring about positive results. Preferring to avoid genre tropes such as angsty teenage pilots and testosterone-fueled robot brawls, this six-episode OVA chronicles a mature tale akin to celebrated war dramas. It’s the first Gundam series not directed by the legendary Yoshiyuki Tomino, but by no means does that make it inferior. In fact, War in the Pocket is easily the best entry in the saga until today.

While most Gundam stories revolve around a brash teenage pilot, War in the Pocket opts for something completely different by having an eleven-year-old—a read more
Mar 9, 2016
benjireturns (All reviews)
War in the Pocket is ok. I'll try not to spoil anything beyond the first episode, but I will say that the first half is somewhat boring. The second half is really where this series takes off, so if you're unsure halfway, push past it.

I decided to write this review because most of them are glowing and rate this short series highly, and I don't feel like there was an outsider's view (by outsider, I mean that I have never seen anything Gundam related before; I've seen various other mecha shows, but Gundam isn't one I'm familiar with). That being said, I read more
Jan 30, 2007
OtakuFreak (All reviews)
Hey there everyone. Yes, it's another Gundam review by yours truly. This time I'd like to introduce you to another of my favorite Gundam spin offs, Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War In the Pocket. Unlike many of the Gundam seires that you'd usually see that takes place after the Original Gundam or in another Gundam Universe, Gundam 0080 takes place during the end of the Original Mobile Suit Gundam series. This fan fic version of the great One Year War explains the story of the people the live within the colonies. Though the show was only six episodes long, it was worth watching.

The story begins read more
Jan 10, 2019
GameMasterGary (All reviews)
War In The Pocket is a good Gundam for anyone with not a lot of time to get into all the 50 episode shows. I thought I would start with the short side stories to get myself into Gundam, though I did watch 0079 first to make sure I had background knowledge of the franchise. For a 1989 show it holds up very well, I suggest if you're going to watch it get a hold of the 1080p version to get the best experience.

I really like the relationship between Bernie, Chris and Al. This story feels so realistic I would believe it if they said read more
Sep 18, 2014
milkpunk (All reviews)
I've read plenty of the reviews of War in the Pocket that sum up my feelings toward the OVA, lauding its unconventional focus on civilians. I'll get to that aspect of the storyline toward the end--it's this OVA's crown jewel, but I'd like to offer a little background first.

War in the Pocket is one of the handful of OVA supplements to the very first Mobile Suit Gundam of 1979 (among others including 08th MS Team and Stardust Memory). If you're invested in Gundam's UC Timeline, I'd suggest checking out all these OVA's before watching Zeta for some extra insight into the world of Gundam. Created read more
Oct 12, 2019
Manthors (All reviews)
Gundam War in the Pocket plot happens during the events of MS Gundam and takes a very different view from the war going on at the time. This is a very different story when compared to the rest of the franchise but it is a hell of a story and you can`t miss. More bellow.

Story: It gets you off guard. I can`t say much without spoiling it for you. So, let me just explain in simple facts. You will get a feeling that the story is something that it is not. It will make you believe that it has nothing to hide, but it does. read more
Jul 1, 2019
VengefulAura (All reviews)
This is a part of the Gundam franchise that stands out as truly something unique. You get to see a war on a neutral colony from the eyes of a civilian named Al. This 11 year old is quite stubborn, yet clever. What he doesn't realize is that he is practically betraying his colony by helping Zeon soldiers to obtain or destroy a new gundam called "Alex". Al doesn't seen to realize or care to think about what he is doing, because he's awarded meaningless badges, vanity items for him to keep assisting the Zeon soldiers. They used and manipulated this child for their read more
May 12, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
I find it impressive that Tomino had total control over the Gundam franchise for so long. I mean, 15 years and he was involved in almost all Gundam projects… with a noticeable exception. Throught the late 80’ through the late 90’, three Gundam OVA series were produced and none of them had that notable an input from Tomino. All of them were side stories meant to expand upon the universe of the franchise and seeing events from other points of view. For this first OVA, we’re gonna look at the 10th Anniversary celebration of the franchise: Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War In The Pocket. So, read more
Dec 7, 2018
edarel-triparte (All reviews)
After deciding to wach the entirety of Gundam by emission order I was very disappointed with what i'd seen so far. The OG show has more value as the precursor and the start point of the franchise than by being a good show on its own. Zeta was very, very good. But sadly his sequel ZZ Gundam became one of the most horrendous pieces of media in the history of anime, and the first non-compilation feature film in the saga, "Char's Counterattack" was underwhelming and painfully mediocre at best.
For a moment I considered dropping the franchise as a whole and just enjoy the Gundam Model read more
May 10, 2016
Space_Pirate (All reviews)
Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket is only a six episode ova, and there isn't a lot of content for me to write about, so it will be a rather short review, of what I liked and didn't like.

Story: (7)
The story centers around the main character Al who befriends a Zaku special forces pilot and the actions of the group. The story itself is pretty simple and there isn't a lot of twists, but it's well told through the development of characters and events that occur.

Art: (9)
This is my favorite animation style. The Zakus, Goggs, GM Mobile Suits, and Alex Gundam all look read more
Aug 30, 2018
Crusader_8 (All reviews)
Gundam 0080 War In The Pocket is one of the most powerful anti-war narratives in the Gundam franchise, and became one of my top favorites almost immediately after watching it.

In a way, it's the gundam story I've always wanted. It's short run time cuts away the chaff and filler down to the core elements of concise, powerful set pieces and characterizations. While some viewers may not get behind the slow pace of the first three episodes, every moment is crucial in establishing the tone of the story's primary conflict, a high-tension undercover mission. Aside from one Zeon officer who isn't even directly involved in the read more