Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koukaku Kidoutai S.A.C. 2nd GIG


Alternative Titles

English: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex 2nd GIG
Synonyms: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex 2nd GIG, Ghost In The Shell S.A.C. 2nd GIG
Japanese: 攻殻機動隊 S.A.C. 2nd GIG

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 1, 2004 to Jan 8, 2005
Premiered: Winter 2004
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.541 (scored by 78,808 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #594
Members: 167,201
Favorites: 2,633

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 2, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
"Life without truth is not possible. Truth is perhaps Life itself" - Franz Kafka

One of the keys to creating a successful story is innovation, in particular, creating something that is both interesting and relevant, but approached from a different perspective. Of all the genres of the storytelling medium, science fiction is the only one that holds up a mirror to a possible future be it good or bad. It's for this reason that the genre is often lauded and derided, sometimes by the same person, as science fiction is predictory by nature, in other words, it posits how humans would behave in certain circumstances.

During read more
Apr 22, 2007
amaity (All reviews)
NOTE: If you haven't seen 'Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex' I recommend you watch that first. I have reviewed that as well.

Just when one thought that with 'Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence' and 'Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex', this franchise had reached its pinnacle, Studio I.G. came up with GiTS: SAC 2ng Gig.

It carries over the same qualities that made the first series such a brilliant watch - an excruciatingly complex plot with conspiracy, intrigue and plenty of action and smashing music. The reason why this tops the first season is the more personal feel. Character development, read more
Mar 9, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
A couple years back I reviewed Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex, and it was fantastic with complex characters and compelling writing. It's one of the few things I've given a “10” rating. There's a sequel to the series, 2nd GIG, that came out not long after the first. So, will it be up to the same standard? Let's delve in and see.

Story:

We open with Section 9 on standby, waiting for the official order that will allow them to go back into action. A group calling themselves the Individual Eleven has stormed the Chinese embassy and taken hostages. Aramaki manages to get the Prime read more
May 14, 2009
DarkGyraen (All reviews)
It’s hard for me not to lavish praise upon the altar that is Ghost in the Shell, as I’ve always found the entire franchise to be among the pillars of great anime science fiction. Each movie and show has delved deep into psychology, spirituality and even to some degree religion. The question is how would Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex 2nd GIG stand up to the incredible first season and movies. The answer is: it continued to raise that bar of excellence in this franchise.

Story: I don’t want to go into too much detail about the story of 2nd read more
Jan 20, 2008
Qwerkzy (All reviews)
The 2nd gig is a real disappointment compared to the first season of Ghost in the Shell. There are two interconnected storylines (Gouda and the Cabinet of Intelligence; The Particularist Eleven) that run side by side and eventually are tied together. It's an interesting storytelling approach but wasn't executed particularly well. They should have taken a more conventional approach by having the storylines run more in parallel within each episode, and not have episodes dedicated mainly to one or the other. I can't help but feel some coherence was sacrificed for this interesting innovation.

As far as stories go, there read more
Aug 23, 2009
Mawootad (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Laughing Man arc of the first GITS:SAC was one of the best plots I've ever seen in all of anime. Sure show itself had problems with needless filler (a good half of the show could have been cut without affecting the story much), but the incredible plot, superb action, and clear cut distinction between filler and plot (complete with handy label).

It would be pointless to say that I began watching 2nd GIG with high expectations. I was expecting another incredible plot with fantastic action and either less filler or filler that was much, much better. I have to say that the read more
Mar 18, 2009
Skyfall (All reviews)
After watching the fantastic first series of SAC I could not wait to get sunk into the 2nd Gig, however I was only met with disappointment. What made the first series so compelling and original was totally missing in 2nd Gig.

Let me explain; what made SAC different from other anime was the way in which it retold classic crimes with that twist of GITS universe. The plots were always interwoven with tales of morality based on technology and crimes were often solved with the application of complex technology based approaches.

Secondly the very strong characters help to put it all together, whilst they are read more
Jun 3, 2008
elc1247 (All reviews)
Overall: This is actually one of my favorite anime series, when you watch it right after GitS:SAC, it flows pretty well. If you like a pretty deep sci-fi psychological action thriller, then GitS:SAC 2nd G will do well in pleasing you.

Story: I thought the story was quite good, though it does not top the original SAC story, it did make quite an impression however. There were plenty of twists in the story to keep you guessing all the way till the end. One thing to look out for is the explaining, they usually spend a decent amount of time explaining situations, so be prepared for read more
Jun 16, 2008
Leibstandarte (All reviews)
I love the complex story telling. Even though there are a lot of twists in the plot, in the ends it easily merges and effortlessly tells the story.

The sound perfectly conveys the mood of a particular moment whether it is poignant, action filled, suspense. I gave the highest points to both story and sound because much effort has been put into it as evidenced by watching 2nd Gig.

I love the animation, I just hope they kept it more realistic like in the movie or the series' first season. Sometimes Motoko's eyes are too big, she often looks like an anime (well?) character read more
Jun 9, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Continuing off from the first season, Ghost in the Shell 2nd GIG effectively makes itself into a political thriller series where what comes across at first sight as Section 9 trying to halt terrorist activity turns into an elaborate political conspiracy that once again pushes Section 9 to its limit in trying to halt. Much like the first season, 2nd GIG explores what appears to be a typical case for Section 9 to get involved in. But as they uncover more holes in facts being shown on the surface with said case, they become entangled in something much bigger than originally anticipated. In this case, read more
Apr 22, 2015
ahmed2142 (All reviews)
Ghost in the Shell 2nd gig, second part of the Stand Alone Complex story-line of the Ghost in the shell franchise, is one of those anime which aren't usually talked about much, but of course, you might have heard about it but not too many discussions around. Now does it deserve more recognition or it just wasn't worth noting? Oh who am I kidding, I gave it a 9, of course it does, its not perfect though, but still close.

This is the 2nd part of the Stand Alone Complex story-line, so you would expect some improvements over the first part/season, and thats just what read more
Apr 19, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
The GIG is up! The 2nd GIG!

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex is back with a second season! What's so different about it from the first season? Nothing, yet everthing! 2nd GIG does sport a more straight forward and engaging main case, compared to the Laughing Man of the first season. While the Laughing Man had a lot of scientific themes such as data manipulation and whatnot, the case of the Individual Eleven is much more action and drama oriented, which made it simpler yet more impactful than the Laughing Man case.

2nd GIG also explores the pasts of the members of Section read more
Apr 21, 2017
Falco2424 (All reviews)
2nd Gig is a continuation of Ghost in the Shell: Standalone Complex. They're so similar I'd rather just talk about their differences here. The atmosphere, execution, and characters are all the same. The only thing that really changes is the story. The story in 2nd Gig is simply worse, which is weird. It feels just as epic and dense, but it's not. The music, the directing, the monologues, they're all there. But, the substance is missing. It feels like a Shell of it's predecessor, missing its Ghost. I know I said earlier that the characters were the same, but that's really the missing factor. The read more
Aug 1, 2015
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: The second season of Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex takes place two years after the resolution of the Laughing Man incident – After resolving a hostage crisis Section 9 becomes reinstated under a new Prime Minister however becomes involved with an enigmatic terrorist organization called the ‘Individual Eleven’. Between this new terrorist threat and the numerous refugees in Japan left over from the aftermath of the Third and Fourth World Wars who’s rebellious sentiments have been stirred by recent events, Japan has turned into a powder keg and as the story unfolds it becomes read more
Dec 16, 2010
kurzweil1024 (All reviews)
Stand Alone Complex was based on Yoshiki Sakurai’s 2001 Media Ecology dissertation “The Whereabouts of the Other in the Future of Human-Robot Interaction” (「他我を宿す条件 ~人間・ロボット間コミュニケーションの行方~」).

It is about how the phenomenon of THE LAUGHING MAN — unique minds becoming individual components of a complex system acting as one collective consciousness (memes), and the phenomenon of THE TACHIKOMA — perfect machine copies of each other evolving individual differences, are the two inevitable consequences of data synchronization.

The interaction between these antithetical phenomena is explored on a literary level in Stand Alone Complex, and political in 2nd GiG.

Stand Alone Complex is the most cerebral anything anywhere, and it has read more
Jan 23, 2010
yellowheartren (All reviews)
Masterpiece. Again. And just gotta love the last episode, like ep6 of Star Wars: when all the pieces of a brilliant 3D-puzzle fall into place. Quite overwhelming really, having to arrive to understand what everything's been about, even the details that made no sense earlier...but that's just like the first series, too. Same with how they close all the plotlines at the end, no open questions, no events left hanging in the air. Same with the complexity as well, woven together from many abstract layers, a feast for thought.

And just like the first series, this one's sure to make a few re-watch as well. Too read more
Apr 12, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Once more into the Stand Alone Complex cyber rabbit hole we go...

The 2nd season of Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex or "Ghost In The Shell S.A.C. 2nd GIG" once again follows Section 9 after their re-establishment by the new Japanese Prime Minister Youko Kayabuki to combat cyber-terrorism in the form of the Individual Eleven...or are the Individual Eleven the REAL villains here?...

Just like LA's first season review, S.A.C 2nd GIG has it's own form of episodes; individual, dividual and dual. The individual episodes concerns the Individual Eleven, the dividual episodes are stand alone episodes that have development towards the Section 9 members (from read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
Arguably one of the greatest anime films of all time, Ghost in the Shell pushed the boundaries of modern science fiction, building upon the cyberpunk genre invented by William Gibson in his momentous novel Neuromancer. It inspired The Matrix, and also inspired an anime television series that was both complex and smart without being too convoluted. Ghost in the Shell’s futuristic world is something so beautifully complex and realistic, it’s like a sci-fi author’s wet dream. With Second Gig, there is a lot to live up to. Made exclusively for Adult Swim (back when Adult Swim actually played good stuff and was not a nightly read more
Jan 5, 2016
RoneSpeak (All reviews)
Usually a second season of a show puts me off, I mean that's a whole lot of episodes to watch. 26 is my sweet spot, but 52? I watched the first season and could not start this fast enough, and the craziest thing happened: season 2 was even better than season 1.


Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex second Gig is, again, a tightly packed action/thriller. The premise of the show is sort of simple, there is a refugee crisis, a low pay work surplus, and mass immigration into Japan. Think civil unrest, and confusion between whether terrorists are locals, refugees, or even something new. read more
Feb 15, 2016
PxHC (All reviews)
I didn't like SAC but SAC2 is in a whole another level. It's the same staff and they did a great job here.

There is improvements in everything, the art, the story, the characters, and I would say even the music (that was already great) got better - as the opening song felt connected to the anime and not taking on the existentialism of the movie.... even Motoko got an improvement in her wardrobe! I mean, looks like she got a pay rise and finally was able to buy some pants.

Some of the "stand alone" episodes were great with great plots and characters, like the second read more