Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ergo Proxy


Alternative Titles

English: Ergo Proxy
Japanese: エルゴプラクシー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 25, 2006 to Aug 12, 2006
Premiered: Winter 2006
Broadcast: Saturdays at 19:00 (JST)
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 150,351 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #181
Members: 384,833
Favorites: 9,414

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 31, 2008
Poparteeb (All reviews)
OK, I’ll admit I’ve looked at this series for quite some time before actually picking it up. The reason being I didn’t feel quite comfortable with the apparent darkness the pictures of it seemed. Also the plot didn’t seem to interest me, as it appeared at first glance by wiki to be a bit bland. Then something changed, I prodded myself to go try it. And then,…I became trapped in the dark and phantastical post-apocalyptic world of Ergo Proxy, where anything might happen. And you could not trust anyone, anywhere.

-Animation-

Ergo Proxy has some of the best animation that I’ve seen in an anime. It sets read more
Feb 10, 2012
name93 (All reviews)
Ah, Ergo Proxy - an anime so promising, the only thing greater than its potential was its downfall. Anime that could have been among those few elite series that just leave you stunned with their superb quality and sophistication, turned out to be just... "good". And if there's a thing about a show that I can't stand more than poor quality, it's a waste of potential. But enough of this preface, let's dive into "Ergo Proxy"
P.S. I feel I should warn you that if you don't like reading long reviews, you should drop this one right now. As a very pedantic and analytical person, read more
Jun 20, 2009
ParisainGoldfish (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy was a terrific disappointment to me; from the initial episode, as well as promotional material, the how I expected and the show I received were on two completely different wavelengths. Rather than a post-apocalyptic science fiction thriller, I was instead given a very slow paced, dialogue heavy series that approached a genre one could call psychological or philosophical, and did so in a way that kept your interest, as well as avoided the pretentious nature of similarly designed shows such as Evangelion. It is also noteworthy that this series develops in a bizarre way, one which cannot be compared to any other series read more
Apr 18, 2009
tentacle_raep (All reviews)
This is damn well near perfect, and one of my favorite anime.

It's quite ambitious as an "abstract" anime, and for the most part pulls it off thanks to well developed and likeable characters.

The premise is superficially simple, the remnants of humanity live in domed cities where their entire lives are orchestrated, carefully regulated, controlled, scrutinized, and more or less worthless. They are a remnant of those who fled the planet after a massive disaster rendered it mostly uninhabitable and live on in a wretched purgatory of an existence where they aren't even considered alive. They are tended to by humanoid robots called Autoraves, who have read more
May 17, 2014
iSuckAtWriting (All reviews)
When a show is touted as deep or intelligent, I often fear what makes a good story will be neglected. Maybe it’s no secret a show can be praised solely for its profundity while failing in storytelling. But hey, ‘intelligence’ is good armor for a show to have. Why bother with authentic storytelling when a show can show-off its psychology knowledge?

But instead of ranting, let’s look at Ergo Proxy.

The future, probably. Technology has advanced to where it’s created AutoReivs, androids who act as servants to people. But in the city of Romdo, a bug called the Cogito Virus is spreading through the AutoReivs. They gain read more
Feb 10, 2015
Blazestar (All reviews)
** This review was my first and it certainly did not include all the elements of the show cuz I really didn't get them all back when I wrote it. I also screwed pretty badly on describing character development too. If you feel like reading this, go ahead, but it is not well polished and the points are NOT all current. I'm working on the reversion.**

This anime is kinda hard to review. It was probably a bad idea to make this my very first review. it's pretty complicated and opinions can vary greatly from person to person. I guess I'll just briefly talk about it read more
Jul 16, 2007
Kelaihc (All reviews)
I know I should be modest about the ratings but I won\'t hold back in this review. Ergo Proxy is absolutely fantastic!
The characters are superbly detailed, each having completely different personalities which you keep on discovering throughout the episodes. The soundtrack and art are amazing, though it is a very dark show. You\'ll find yourself painstakingly searching for the right angle to look at your screen so that you get what\'s going on, and jump back, blinded, when those few rare moments of light come sneaking through...
The plotline is splendid. You start out in a post apocalyptic world ravaged by nuclear war. Most humans have read more
Jul 9, 2018
RyanSpring (All reviews)
I was pumped to watch this anime as I know it's generally highly regarded and the box art and back of box description seemed very cool and right up my alley. Furthermore, it had one of the very best opening episodes I've ever seen in any anime, so I quickly had sky high expectations. In the end, I watched a hard to follow, convoluted, disjointed mess with huge pacing issues and a bigger picture message repeatedly force-fed down my throat.

Art-

I'd give the art high praise. The direction of this anime was solid with numerous professionally executed camera tricks. The dark, bleak art style perfectly suits read more
Feb 1, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
The future of humanity is an aspect that has always been pondered about in many epoch's and mediums, especially as of late with the ever-growing available technology. However, with the destructive and greedy nature of mankind, the annihilation of it is certainly an aspect to consider. This is the essence of a dystopian setting, which concerns in this specific case Ergo Proxy. It is a well crafted anime which provides viewers with a variety of themes throughout its duration, such as the coexistence between AI and society, or the acceptance of oneself, through the setting. With that being said, there where some issues that ultimately read more
Feb 9, 2009
VoidHawk (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy


Many already said about its cyberpunk elements and such.

I will say that in regards of Science Fiction, plot development, execution and characterization, this anime is a True Masterpiece!

The very concept of why it all happened in the planet is a true concern some scientists have, about the methane hydrate layer and the possible consequences if it went volatile. Many power and fuel industries have already shown interest in extrating and using it to produce energy, as the tihng is really powerful...but one of its characteristics is its volaticity, and if by mistake a chain reaction was iniitated and the existing layer went into combustion...the read more
Sep 1, 2010
TheRedKiwiHaze (All reviews)
This won't be a review of characters, of art, of sound, or other bs that has been repeated in 12 reviews already. This is one for those wondering "Why the hell is this worth a 10?" "What's going on, what is so great here?!" or just.. "another 2c down the piggy's back" Oh and yeah, it's as SPOILER FREE as you can get.

I used to think, until the last few episodes, that they named dropped just for the sake of it but that's not true. What you need to understand is this: The series is humanity and its struggle metamorphosised. Probably the most important mention read more
Apr 17, 2014
vigorousjammer (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy is a bit of a difficult show to review. There's many positive elements, and at the same time many negative elements. At times I loved the show, and other times I was bored with it.

The story tends to be the biggest reason for my mixed opinion. It starts off very strong, painting a very interesting picture of the world, the main cast, and their relation to each other. Yet, it also introduces some mysterious plot elements. Now, these mysterious elements didn't bother me the first time they were introduced. However, halfway through the series, most of the questions get answered. I was hoping read more
Sep 11, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Have you ever seen an art house film? Perhaps a film by David Lynch or Cronenberg? Perhaps you have heard of the film Solaris by Tarkovsky (not that garbage remake)? Solaris combines an interesting science fiction plot with realistic characters, existentialist themes, and of course mind bending WTF moments. What if you brought Tarkovsky back from the dead, flew his ass to Japan, and made him direct an anime? The result would be Ergo Proxy!

Story: 9/10

The story takes place in what appears at first to be a utopian future, but soon we see the truth is somewhat darker. Everyone is born with a given purpose. read more
Sep 8, 2014
SootShade (All reviews)
I decided to rewatch Ergo Proxy, seeing as I just didn't remember anything about it from the last time I watched, aside that it was a massive mindfuck and a very entertaining series. The rewatch really did remind me again why I thought so. It really doesn't do anything half assed.

From the very start, the style of the series strikes true for the dystopian society of a post apocalyptic future it shows, both with the stunning art that is combined with excellent animation, and chilling music. There's just something strangely alluring about the contrast of light and dark present everywhere in the art, even as read more
Apr 14, 2014
EndritVA (All reviews)
The thing that drew me to anime in the first place besides style , it was that writers weren't afraid to raise big questions and make the answers interpretable so that the viewer could have a say.It was the philosophic and psychological elements that made me realize that this medium was to be taken seriously.Ergo proxy is a show that celebrates al those elements, and it does it in style.

Story-9/10
If i could sum up the story of Ergo Proxy in one word it would be EPIC.The show starts as a generic cyber-punk anime only to evolve into more of a dark fantasy set in a read more
Nov 17, 2015
Exowave (All reviews)
Introduction:

Before start i will not include spoilers in this review (or at least keep it at minimum possible).

You know in every piece of entertainment, especially in fiction, there are always
examples of works, that try, to entertain/please the viewer in 2 ways.

By either trying to appeal to as much different groups of consumers,
as possible with mix of various themes, that specially strike not to say pander to certain people which can be done in quality way by putting thoughts
into it thinking about consumers needs, or just for the profit which can be hit or miss.

And read more
Apr 9, 2019
LILYInDespair (All reviews)
Therefore Proxy... This will be a spoiler free, basic overview of the show. This is my first and only review since it is the only show I will acknowledge as an absolute in every aspect of humanity, knowledge, art, imagination and nature.

Rarely do you see a show that attempts to cover a huge part of history and reality itself within this art style. And when they usually try, most of the time it ends failing in certain aspects because of the lack of connection between particular things in set show, or the lack of information and effort put into set show. I have given a read more
Mar 9, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My Opinion:
Ergo Proxy is a successful blend of numerous genres, a show that contains many hidden meanings and symbologies, employing a complex yet solid plot and featuring strong but delicate characters.
Seeing Proxy felt like watching a mix of the movies Oblivion, Automata and Equilibrium with the execution of Alien, once I finished watching Ergo Proxy I was left feeling empty and pondering about the messages and themes the show portrayed and ultimately contemplating what living and being alive actually mean.
Ergo Proxy is the one show I would have rated 10/10 if it weren’t for episodes 15 and 19 which did not fit the read more
Sep 15, 2016
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
If to be great is to be misunderstood, then Ergo Proxy is truly one of the greatest anime ever. It’s second only to Future Diary in how everyone misinterprets it, both the fans and the haters. Some of what you heard is true. It’s experimental, bizarre and sometimes a little too vague. Yet no one talks about how it’s not experimental in the conventional, silly way. No one mentions how human the story is, or how traditional it is at the same time.

Somewhere at its heart is a very traditional story. It starts off with a mystery and later becomes a journey of self-discovery, a read more
Jul 14, 2008
p0pr0cks (All reviews)
Well this is the series that I connected with most out of all the anime I've ever seen. I didn't know what to expect from this series going in, but the art really captured my attention from the very start. This is good because like most great animes, you pretty much don't have any idea what is going on or what to expect after the end of the first episode. You are shown just enough that curiosity takes you to the next episode and every episode after that. Oddly enough, even after watching this entire anime I was still kind of read more