Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ergo Proxy


Alternative Titles

English: Ergo Proxy
Japanese: エルゴプラクシー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 25, 2006 to Aug 12, 2006
Premiered: Winter 2006
Broadcast: Saturdays at 19:00 (JST)
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 149,510 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #178
Members: 382,416
Favorites: 9,361

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 23, 2007
That1GuyTim (All reviews)
After watching Ergo Proxy completely and thoroughly, I must say that this is one of the most enjoyable series I've watched yet. The story is so complex and can at times be very agonizing because you are just so clueless as to what is going on. Then, usually, by the end of the episode or by the next episode all of your questions and doubts about what is going on will be answered.

Why did I enjoy this series so much? First, this series is a real psychological mind boggling experience. I haven't see too many series that make me question what is going on or read more
Jul 4, 2008
Darkmage530 (All reviews)
As far as I know, there are no Spoilers or Summaries here.
-There is one thing I need to point out about my scoring. The enjoyment of a show is weighed heavily by me. If I can't enjoy a show then what's the point of watching it?

Now without further ado.

Story:
The actual story and plot of the show isn’t bad other then being a bit confusing. It jumps into the plot right away for the first few episodes. The story progresses rapidly at first before coming to almost a complete stop. For about 7 or 8 of the episodes between 10-20, read more
Mar 8, 2013
Singan (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy is a highly experimental show, and just like all shows of that kind it always divides the viewers into two camps: while the ones enjoy its complex story and thought-provoking symbolism, the others fiercely criticize it for "pretentiousness" or simply scratch their heads in perplexity, wondering what this whole thing is supposed to mean.
As for me, I firmly believe this is an amazing series with no exaggeration about it, and with this review I'll try to explain you why. Since the anime has a site description you can always read, allow me to skip further introductions and get straight to business.

STORY
Obviously, read more
Feb 7, 2007
infinity (All reviews)
- - - - [ Ergo Proxy :: Episodes - 26 ] - - - -

[ Could contain minor spoilers. Sorry.. ]

Ergo Proxy. When I first saw that title, I was curious. I knew what a proxy was, on Internet and in real life. But I didn't know what Ergo was. So I got the series, mostly out of curiosity. I didn't expect much at first. The main female character, Re-L (Lil, Real, or any variant. Depends of fansub) has a freaky face with blue mascara, and wields a shotgun. I expect an all-out gun action series, with some mecha. But I was wrong! Ergo read more
Jan 15, 2013
mahoganycow (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy might just take the cake for being the most frustrating series that I've ever seen. Not only because of what it does wrong, but because of what it does right—it's based on a great idea, and it features some great art and music, but unfortunately it doesn't know how to capitalize on any of these qualities.

The most immediately inviting aspects of Ergo Proxy are definitely the technical ones. It's set in a post-apocalyptic future in which mankind lives in self-contained cities (“domes”). The main city of Romdo, portrayed as a maze of slummy apartment buildings and burned-out streets that contrast with the clean read more
Jul 13, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
The Ancient Greeks created their own religion. Characters -- or rather, Gods -- were made based to human feelings as both: representation of what these feelings look like and what the characteristics and behaviors of these metaphors would be like. It didn't stop there. They created lore, past-stories and character potray to all of them, and decided that these Gods live on top of the Mount Olympus. And even today, 3000 years later, some geniuses go and ask "why did they never bother to climb on Mount Olympus and check if the Gods are there?" Because it wasn't the point of the story at all, read more
Jan 13, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
There is some excellent production in this cyberpunk thriller/road trip set in an eerie utopian futurescape filled with robots and starring a female protagonist in the vein of Ghost in the Shell's Motoko.

Except Ergo Proxy's Re-l Mayer has sexy eyeshadow. And she's petulant to a degree that she mirrors today's shallow socialites. Ok, so she's absolutely nothing like the strong-willed, decisive and intelligent Motoko. But hey Mayer's young, she's got makeup and dresses alternative style. Yes, you can see where the animators' priority lay with this production. Things get even more ridiculous when a girl in a pink bunny outfit read more
Jul 1, 2015
MaelstromSpark (All reviews)
I am not a fan of this Anime.

The show starts out with great promise. The Artwork is beautiful, the world is atmospheric and the characters seem full of potential. However very quickly the story begins to take an unfocused long path toward an ever weakening storyline, slowely revealing each character to have almost no depth beyond their basic neurosis. Even the art style weakens only a handful of episodes in.

This Anime includes some pretty painful filler, some full episodes but even more offensive are some of the episodes that contain one or two moments of "main story" plot, but are mainly filler in the form read more
Jan 12, 2007
Wyko (All reviews)
"In a world where humans and robots live together..."

Sounds generic, no? This opening line to the description of the anime is rather misleading. I strongly advise you to take a second look at this before dismissing it out of hand as unoriginal.

Ergo Proxy stands out from among other stereotypical anime shows because of its ability of *not* resorting to these oft used plotlines. What this anime focuses on is the development of a few main characters in a world erupting into chaos. While the viewpoint of the show does not originally show it, a great deal of Ergo Proxy is centered around a read more
Jun 24, 2017
SmoothJazzDavis (All reviews)
There is some spoilers into this, there is also me telling you that watching this is not worth any of your time.

Ergo Proxy is one of these promising series that your friends tell you to watch and declare as "masterpiece."

It was one of the series i expected to love the most, i thought it was going to be consistently good, and the first episode kinda told me that my friends were right, it had a lot of potential to it, it was promising, it had a touch of atmospheric space that got you into it, but what made this series so appealing in read more
Feb 26, 2015
Silent_Scream (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy. Wow. This one’s tough to review.

Ergo Proxy is not your typical cyberpunk anime. For more, it doesn’t rely on heavy gun-fighting action scenes to grasp viewers’ attentions instead it uses mind-break and a very intriguing strange and dark atmosphere in a post-apocalyptic world. Though a post-apocalyptic world is something that is not new or could even be said overused, Ergo Proxy’s is fluid and very well thought out.

Ergo Proxy stands out among other cyberpunk anime as this one is a truly original and is very unique as it takes on René Descartes’ very famous philosophical statement which is “cogito ergo sum” and read more
Sep 8, 2016
Zergneedsfood (All reviews)
Note: Spoilers for Ergo Proxy. Written for people who have watched the show and want an analytical review. You have been warned.

An echo, a heartbeat pounding in the eye of the storm, Centzontotochtin sails over the earth, and the pulse of the awakening signals the beginning of the end.

Ergo Proxy aired over ten years ago and to this day remains an enigma to many. Its creative thought experiments and questions about our purpose in life have been just as mesmerizing as they have been easily dismissed. But whether it’s thoughtfully ambiguous or frustratingly obtuse, what’s consistent is Ergo Proxy’s mystique beneath its decrepit and artificial read more
Dec 24, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy is basically another puzzling, post-apocalyptic view of the future, which had the potential of being a superb show but there was way too much talk in this dreary show.

The first couple of episodes have a "Ghost in the Shell" feel to them, where only the setting is explained and not much is given away, forcing you to figure it out yourself. This show does a terrible job in it's explanations as it force feeds the viewer with so much jargon and it's only the illegal fansub version that will help it all make sense, with their notes.

Beyond this problem there is a brilliant read more
Feb 8, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Ergo Proxy

Manga, Anime: Ergo Proxy does have a two-volume spinoff illustrated by Yumiko Harao, the final volume of which was released on February 19th, 2007. What it's about, I'm not sure, as there's not a lot of information about it. It has yet to be licensed Stateside.

Ergo Proxy is a 23-episode series that was created by Studio Manglobe (also famous for their work on Samurai Champloo) and directed by Shukuo Murase (famous for his work on Witch Hunter Robin). It ran on Japanese TV from February 26th to August 12th, 2006. Ergo Proxy has been licensed Stateside by Geneon (now read more
Feb 2, 2018
Aurochz (All reviews)
I want to state a few things up front. I'm a former philosophy major and I still enjoy learning about academic philosophy. Pretentious is my first, last and middle name. I'm more than willing to defend the likes of Metal Gear Solid 2, Finnegans Wake and Beyond the Black Rainbow. You can't reach my levels of pretension if you tried. The depths of my tepid intellectual masturbation and pseudo-intellectualism have very little if any bounds. My inner fedora can't be breached by mere mortals. In my head where I am already a massive intellectual superstar they call me "the sophist with the most wits." If read more
Dec 27, 2013
IamWEB (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy, it's a darker show that makes you think. Don't fall asleep for a second watching this show or you'll miss something important. Every little detail matters in some way. You know what... I LOVE THIS SHOW! I will do my best to keep my fanboy attitude towards this show aside to make for a more professional review.

STORY:
Ergo Proxy takes place in a post apocalyptic setting where mankind must live inside domed cities. They are all assisted in their everyday lives by AuroReivs which are autonomous robots. In the city of Romdo there is a virus infecting the AutoReivs that cause them to become read more
Nov 4, 2017
KyoumaZ (All reviews)
Ambition in an audio-visual work can generally focus itself on artistical visual or sound-related features only, while the foundation in terms of plot is rather simple, or tries to define itself in terms of quality by touching upon more complex, indefinite questions about e.g. the human nature itself, not being covered in a lot of works, not being followed through that deeply regarding its core theme or not being covered in that big of a quantity of related questions/topics towards the main one the work tries to tackle. While it’s hard to classify Ergo Proxy between example #2 and #3, I might have to make read more
May 27, 2014
Zetto92 (All reviews)
Ergo proxy, for me, started off as a completely unknown story which I came across while randomly searching for interesting anime to watch. The anime remained on my PTW list for a while until someone mentioned how cool it was and they definitely would recommend watching it soon. So, of course, I had to check it out. My only thought when I began was, “the girl with the blue eyeshadow,” but after watching the first episode, I was very intrigued, especially with the entrance of two strange beings known as Proxies.

Story: 8/10
Like many anime, they throw you into the main story, introducing the main characters read more
Nov 9, 2008
waterbottledork (All reviews)
So, the first thing that comes to my mind when asked to describe Ergo Proxy: ABSOLUTE MIND F*CK. But don't let that scare you away from this wonderful and though-provoking series--this is an anime definitely worth checking out for the more mature audiences out there.

I guess the genre I'd put Ergo under would be scifi psychological thriller (oops, that's more like three genres, isn't it? -.-;). It's definitely a treat for those who want a break from the mainstream, with outstanding original story and character development that seems to be rarely seen in most popular series. Ergo certainly takes the normal robot-living-beside-human-turned-crisis to a whole read more
Oct 24, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Ergo Proxy
An anime that makes sense but at the same time it doesn't, even when answers are given in the last three eps. i was thinking of the things that are not answered and there are supernatural elements, a lot and Deus Ex explanations but still manages to be entertaining.

Story
This anime has a very good story, since the beginning the story is thrown for ten episodes straight, fast paced with complexity, until when it takes a break to put filler episodes which were really good and had little pieces of the plot, especially the ''who wants to be a proxy'' episode where i was constantly read more