Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei


Alternative Titles

English: The Tatami Galaxy
Synonyms: Yojo-Han Shinwa Taikei, Yojou-Han Shinwa Taikei, Yojohan Shinwa Taikei
Japanese: 四畳半神話大系

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 23, 2010 to Jul 2, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.651 (scored by 65,346 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #418
Members: 197,593
Favorites: 10,111

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 21, 2014
Vene (All reviews)
~Multilingual review, English & Español: The Tatami Galaxy~.

Life wouldn't be less than a simple and plain matter of choices, wherever our life is right now is due to the choices we've made in the past, we're doing and we'll probably make in the future, considering everything said "Life" would just be an abbreviation of the sum of choices we've made up until now.

So...?

Have you ever thought about them?, the choices you've made I mean, I’m pretty sure everyone have dedicated, at least a little moment of their time, to muse about the choices we've made so far in our lives, important or mundane read more
Jul 2, 2010
Detective (All reviews)
I don't mean to get deep and definitely not right off the bat, but it's pretty true that small events can change the course of your life whether you're aware or not and that is what Yojou-han Shinwa Taikei (or the 4.5 Tatami Mat Galaxy) is all about. Sure it's also about pleasing your Johnny, hijacking blimps, engaging in prank wars, being ripped off by fortune tellers, joining the local power ranger squad, and eating cats and castella, but that's all trivial. Brought to you by the same guy who brought you Mind Game, Cat Soup, and Kaiba, Masaaki Yuasa, brings you what I would read more
Nov 14, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei (or The Tatami Galaxy) is an anime about a university student stuck in a Groundhog Day-esque time loop. In the span of each episode, our nameless main character (he is referred to as Watashi, basically meaning "myself") goes over the same two years of university, unaware of the loop, each time joining a different club, in search of a "rose-coloured campus life".

Yojouhan is a rare example of a series with time loops where the loops themselves are actually played with. Throughout the 11 episodes, there are several different stories, but many of the episodes focus on the same stories as others. What read more
Jun 25, 2014
BlueEldur (All reviews)
I think I'm not in the wrong here when I say most of us have probably thought of the best way to live life at one time or another. That can mean what you want to be when you grow up, your dreams, ambitions, goals, what path you want to take, and what you envision it ending up life.

Tatami Galaxy's unnamed protagonist is one concerned with exactly that. In seek of that ideal life, he desperately repeats the first 2 years of his college life , searching for the "rose-colored campus life", and the "raven-haired maiden" that supposedly awaits him.

In doing so, he is able read more
Jun 2, 2014
bellellis (All reviews)
J. D. Salinger's "The Catcher in the Rye" despite being a novel intended for adults, in many ways laid the groundworks for the typical young adult story, where an above average intelligent teen tells about their life and problems, in a very self-conscious, humorously wanna-be literate way. Examples range from the now aging Adrian Mole books, to mostly anything by John Green, and the recent British film "Submarine". Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei, or Tatami Galaxy, is also a rendition of this trope, though seemingly with a pinch of some hallucinogenic drug.

The never named main character's story of university level loneliness, as it happens, is told with read more
Jul 31, 2013
AnimeCrusader (All reviews)
From time to time, I desire a show that will deliver a simple and grounded in reality plot in an unorthodox way with great success. Yes, you should already understand that Tatami Galaxy holds no need for superficial or amazing concepts to be successful, just a realistic story executed in a masterful way.


Story : 10 / 10 "Masterful"

Tatami Galaxy is set on a fictional universe, specifically a town, which seems pretty close to the modern Japanese towns. Our main character, Watashi, expects to find the rose colored campus life that he always dreamed of, entering a campus club. Instead, he finds mischief and disappointment in read more
Sep 6, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
I watched Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei back in 2011. I was a noob and thought it was a masterpiece and the best thing ever. Recently, I rewatched it and came to realize that it was just the wannabe-elitist in me thinking this show is any good. It's basically the same as Sword Art Online, just the other end of the same shit-stick.

The story of this series is identical to Endless Eight from Suzumiya Haruhi S02. Only this time it is apparently meaningful and deep and provokes some thoughts in people. All I see is yet another teenage drama aimed for people who are lost in read more
Jul 1, 2016
Cynthesizer (All reviews)
Beware, spoiler-ish review.

It is a given that choices are very important for all of us, for just a minute of thought or two can change the outcome of many things in our lives, that be a relationship, that be a friendship, that be our well-being, anything I dare say. Before going to sleep, I personally reminisce of my actions, coming from my choices, which in turn come from my thoughts, and make a conclusion as of whether these actions were the right thing to do for myself. Ever thought of how much of a toll a choice can take in your life? Additionally, have you read more
May 7, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
The idea of perfection is something that, I believe, not any piece of media has been able to attain, and that makes sense. Nothing is 'truly perfect' and every piece of media, no matter how great that product actually is, will still have flaws in one way or another and this philosophy also applies when I give tens to shows. When I do so, I don't reward an anime a ten because I believe it is perfect. I reward a ten to an anime that does the most good or is a shining example of what the medium is capable of. The Tatami Galaxy is read more
Jan 23, 2017
jennyj270687 (All reviews)
I decided to watch "Tatami Galaxy" because of the overwhelming numbers of positive reviews, many giving it a perfect 10/10.

How disappointed was I when I started the series. The narrator speaks in a very very fast manner, making a lot of his narration unintelligible. Even with the subtitles on, it was very difficult to follow. I thought after a few episodes I would adapt to the pace, but unfortunately it did not happen.

My second problem with this anime was the amount of repetition. As the protagonist relives some of his days with a difference going from slight to more pronounced. But I grew tired read more
Jan 17, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

There’s no such thing as a perfect anime; everybody knows that. Due to the fact that different human beings value very different things across all mediums of art, it is impossible to create a work that everybody will agree is flawless. However, there IS such a thing as an anime that could not possibly be more effective in the delivery of its narrative, characters, animation, themes, and soundtrack under the given circumstances; an anime that is as close to perfect as you can possibly get. That anime is called The Tatami Galaxy. There is little debate among those who have indulged in this read more
Jun 22, 2010
Fuzzen (All reviews)
Preliminary
From the critically acclaimed director Masaaki Yuasa comes an anime that defies the definition of conventional: The Tatami Galaxy provides a ride full of twists and turns, rewinds and jumps through time. Beautifully crafted and imbued with a comedic touch, The Tatami Galaxy explodes with energy, ultimately forming a dense and complex narrative that serves as the embodiment of good directing. Indeed, The Tatami Galaxy proves that animation is a viable medium in terms of both storytelling and visual appeal.

Upon first glance, what do you notice? Chances are it’s the art style. Similar to Yuasa’s previous works, The Tatami Galaxy features a unique, anomalous, but read more
Nov 12, 2017
zenmodeman (All reviews)
This analytical review of The Tatami Galaxy spoils the entirety of the series and is thus advised for those who have completed the series.

Notes:
-The protagonist shall be referred to as Watashi.
-The Tatami Galaxy shall be abbreviated as TTG.

Episode summaries:

Episode numbers will be referenced frequently in this review, so for the sake of easy reference, the episodes will be described briefly

Episode 1: Parallel world setup, romance setup, Mochiguman setup, suspense of why Ozu was chased by a mob at the end of the episode.
Episode 2: Watashi's movies; sabotaging Jogasaki; Akashi asking that Watashi make his dream movie about true love between those tied by read more
Dec 4, 2012
AnnoKano (All reviews)
When you look back on your life up until now, do you find yourself feeling somewhat dissatisfied with how things have turned out? Do you find yourself regretting choices you’ve made, the people you’ve met and end up wishing you could just give it another shot, knowing that this time around, everything would work out so much better for you?

If you are just such a person, then watching Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei -or The Tatami Galaxy as it has come to be known in English- is one opportunity that you simply can't afford to pass up.

The story of a nameless (referred to as 'Watashi') read more
Apr 20, 2018
Shrabster (All reviews)
There isn’t much to Tatami Galaxy. A nameless protagonist, here by referred to as Watashi, wants another chance at a “rose colored campus life with a raven haired maiden”. Through mystical means he is granted the opportunity to do so, thus beginning his journey for that rose colored campus life he so desperately wants though it might just be right in front of him. With such a setup there are not many places to go, and Tatami Galaxy quickly finds itself trapped.

Most episodes follow the same structure of Watashi joining a club in order to reach his goal and falling just read more
Aug 21, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
"There are many, many, many worlds branching out at each moment you become aware of your environment and then make a choice."
-Anonymous

The parallel universe concept is one that has existed for decades, but its freedom in entertainment space makes it just as refreshing each time I come across it. Whether there are multiple, unique universes with the same recurring character like in Black Rock Shooter or a scientist delving back into time trying to alter the present in Steins;Gate, this concept has proven to have unlimited applicability. In The Tatami Galaxy, infamous director Masaki Yuasa (Kaiba, Ping Pong- The Animation) took the idea and combined read more
May 15, 2016
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
A common misconception is that being experimental makes your work inaccessible. Too many experimental works got this reputation, and too many people now think difficulty is praiseworthy. It’s as if jumping through 50 hoops somehow increases the value of 20 dollars. It may increase perceived value, but that’s not the same. It just means your mind distorted the real value so you won’t feel bad about wasting time.

Difficulty can’t be the main aim of any piece of art. Art is a way to communicate ideas. The reason we seek these experimental/non-traditional/avant-garde methods is not because of their difficulty. These new approaches are meant to enhance read more
May 16, 2015
MaridiuS (All reviews)
"This opportunity is always dangling in front of your eyes. You must grab this opportunity and act on it. And if you not, you will walk this life as now, ever unchanging." For starters, the opportunity would be this anime, and you shouldn't miss it, as it will impact your life, just as the quote suggests.

This starts off with a fast dialog quickly summing you up on the "world" the main characters lives in. You will quickly notice the special art that is very different from regular anime in any age. It doesn't resemble any art on any anime ever made, it might rather resemble read more
Mar 30, 2017
Artrill (All reviews)
[10/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________


Whatever choice you make, whatever path you take, live it to the fullest. The message is simple, the idea isn’t. Tatami Galaxy weaves a complicated string of narrative threads through a canvas that tells a humble story. How would you relive a moment in your life which you believe has gone down the wrong path? What if it wasn’t one moment, but a combination of moments. A cacophony of looping situations with slight differences that all lead to a split second in which you realize that you haven’t achieved your goal. That miserable moment where you realize the last two years was wasted. What do read more
Apr 6, 2013
NonOtaku (All reviews)
If there was ever a time to slow clap it out, this would be the precise time to.

This series really is why I love episodic series. The bad ones obviously suck beyond belief, but when shows like this one make optimal use of them they can really turn into something unique, and the short stories can allow for ideas that would normally not fit within a linear storyline. A lot of things have to be done right in order to get a good episodic series, though, but to me the key seems to be creativity, along with somehow finding a way to build-up: connecting the read more