Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes


Alternative Titles

Japanese: 探偵オペラ ミルキィホームズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2010 to Dec 23, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Card game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.991 (scored by 13,416 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #38522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2263
Members: 36,462
Favorites: 216

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 20, 2013
Veronin (All reviews)
In the near future, in a world tarnished by lawlessness and disorder, exists an elite detective agency known as Milky Holmes. Represented by four talented young girls, the agency exists to fight against those that threaten the people's security. Through their struggles to preserve peace is a courageous, poignant story of mystery and betrayal...

Wait, none of that has anything to do with Milky Holmes. Let's try again.

For Sheryl, Cordelia, Elly and Nero, any shred of courage and talent is tossed aside within five minutes of the first episode. After losing their supernatural abilities— "Toys", the once-esteemed detectives devolve into a group of scatterbrains miserably failing read more
Nov 29, 2010
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think that some people didn't know what exactly to expect from the series when they first went into it. Goodness knows I was expecting something else. My review is going to hopefully clear up some things for people, before they even pick up the Anime, because I garantee, some people aren't going to be happy with it.

Story: (3+9)/2=6

I have a ligitimate reason for giving the story an odd two part rating. In my case, it has to deal with the fact that from the summary I read, I was expecting something that was cute, innocent, almost like a brand new take on an old read more
Dec 26, 2010
DangoSage (All reviews)
OK first of all, before you pick up this series, throw every expectation out of the window! Literally!
Here's the most common perception people have on this anime;
-"Oh god, It's another lolicon's anime!"
Well, that's my first perception on it, but I can assure you, only the opening looks lolicon-ish. The rest of the show doesn't really promote pedophilia. How can you when the main villain of this series has gigantic b**b!

-"Wow! A mystery anime! Finally I get to watch something else other than Detective Conan!"
Once again, throw away that perception. Did the title say Detective Holmes? No. Unlike Detective Conan, it's clearly not stated it's read more
Jan 25, 2013
Gaijin-san (All reviews)
SAO just like Milky holmes is a psychological delicacy that is undermined within the mainstream media as being a moe trash piece of garbage which when in fact it is really a genre defining academic text which would drive the most literally minded academics insane over the deep and complex issues conveyed of perpetual identity, symbolic relational symbolism, alternative character constructions and exploration through modern sociological issues within the show not to mention the ground breaking visuals which would send the most post modern shaft style shows to shame.

Honestly i could spend hours unravelling and discussing the deep psychophysical themes of Tantei Opera Milky Holmes read more
Jun 1, 2016
konakona495 (All reviews)
Tantei Opera Milky Holmes is a great title to detect people with alike mindset; if you stumble upon a favorite anime list with Milky Holmes included, it's generally a safe bet to try other high-rated titles there - similar mindset, simlilar taste that is.

And it's all because one can't really praise Milky Holmes for its story, art, sound or characters in particular.

The story mainly revolves around several cute magical girls who lost their powers due to a oppai villain and now fight to get them back.
You will have to grow extra fingers in order to count titles like that, right?
Art and sound are read more
Mar 2, 2011
shuncchi (All reviews)
So after a while i decided to write my first review for the most underrated anime i saw. Tantei Opera Milky Holmes.

If i look at my scores 8 for story, 8 for art, 8 for sound.
Its not really the animation or a great storyline which amazed me. The character are so funny to watch and the most important point for me was the "enjoyment".

I dont care if the arts bad, story boring and the sound annoying, but the jokes was so nice to watch, and the insider gags were so funny( ones you get it) that the enjoyment factor was at maximum for me.

And read more
Mar 26, 2013
IchigoRadiance (All reviews)
I'm honestly not sure what else to start with other than that I came to this show with expectations that I could watch lolies go on wacky adventures and solve strange cases. At the start I am greeted to the protagonists and the antagonists. The first five minutes prove to be very promising, with the characters losing their powers. I figured that they would have to use teamwork to move forward. What I got after that though was highly disappointing.

I'm going to be straight with you, one of things that got me through the first few episodes was the lolies, and even then, they read more
Jan 3, 2011
Annabeiru (All reviews)
When watching the first episode my first impression was that this anime was a children's anime on detectives and thief's, oh but how i was wrong. After watching more episodes i find that this series is definitely for older audiences especially when the teacher made his appearance.

Story: 5/10
Whilst their is a plot half of the episodes are dedicated to pure randomness, this is to be expected of from a comedy series. Now to the main story line. This story revolves Sherlock and her friends and their mission to re-gain/ find their toys whilst also trying to arrest The Gentleman Thief Empire. This is a read more
Feb 28, 2011
Kuro4735 (All reviews)
After ranting like crazy about the first episode when I first saw it, I never thought I would go back to finish the rest of it. But after hearing that it was nominated by Japanese fans as the best anime of 2010 (although Japanese fans do admittingly have some odd tastes in anime…) and hearing some good comments about it from the few people I knew that were watching the show, I figured going back and finishing the show couldn’t hurt. And I can say that, after watching this series, while it is the most underrated from the Fall season of 2010, it is by read more
Dec 30, 2010
helur (All reviews)
First impression & Bias:
Oh dear god. This show threw me for a ride. It took me a few episodes before I realized the kids genre was removed on MAL. I was sort of puzzled by the stripping male teacher who would pinch his nipples. Well despite that oddity, this show is definitely a stupidly fun show. Why? It has nothing to do with mysteries, special powers, or anything pertaining to the story. It is nothing more than the adventures for a group of girls to attempt to regain what they once had only to fail humorously.
Expectation: 5
Episode Scores: -,-,-,8,6,8,7,7,7,6,8,8
Actual: 7 (Good)

Analysis:
Starting up with a quote read more
Aug 22, 2013
Wulff (All reviews)
Admittedly I ended up watching "Tantei Opera Milky Holmes" due to a clip I saw on the internet which was sourced to this anime. In other words, I went in with literally zero expectations.

The ride was definitely a bumpy one.

A short summary of Tantei Opera Milky Holmes would be something along the lines of: A cute and somewhat entertaining little anime, that has a tendency to be about as non-sensical and generic as can be. If you want a good storyline, good characters and a satisfying ending, you'll definitely want to look elsewhere. If you want a whacky, zaney and non-sensical anime with cute girls, read more