Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shiki


Alternative Titles

English: Shiki
Synonyms: Corpse Demon
Japanese: 屍鬼

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2010 to Dec 31, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:15 (JST)
Studios: Daume
Source: Novel
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 124,349 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #149
Members: 266,795
Favorites: 4,992

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 1, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
Vampires have been enjoying quite a renaissance in Western media lately, mainly because of the advent of Twilight. In anime however, tales of bloodsuckers have been pretty constant over the years, but like the West there has been an increase in the number of stories involving the children of the night. The only problem is, they all seem to romanticise vampires by giving them kind, gentle personalities, good looks, a reluctance to drink human blood, or some other hook to make the viewer believe that creatures who look on humans as food can be considered friendly.

And then Shiki comes along and blows that whole idea read more
Sep 3, 2010
Flipside101 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've seen my fair share of vampire anime; and I have to say, it was under vast number of genres, as well as themes. Shiki however, pulls you back in to what the traditional myth of vampires; added to it that it's a thriller, it will move anyone who's a vampire fan.


Story: 10
Compared to many other vampire themed animes, such as Blood+, Rosario + Vampire, Vampire Knight, and Trinity blood; this anime comes back to the roots of vampires and their myths. In this anime a town is plagued with death with no reasonable explanation; though thought of a possible epidemic, Doctor Ozaki, read more
Aug 3, 2014
momiji-no-kimi (All reviews)
Heya~

Story: 6/10
"Who's the real evil?" Who cares? It seemed pretty black and white to me logically. (Personally: If you're dead, stay dead.) I didn't feel any sympathy for either side. So I didn't end up contemplating life. Also I already knew humans are terrible. I guess a reminder didn't hurt? (Concept was good enough for bonus points in story rating. But, mainly, the endless blood showers ♥)

Art: 3/10
I still remember when my brain just said, "Deal with it, it's episode 17 already." The drawing style is unique but I didn't find it beautiful, it was bizarre. I guess it suits how messed up the anime read more
Jul 12, 2015
xDaydreamer (All reviews)
Shiki had such an awesome premise, however, from my perspective it fails to do that premise any justice. I will try my best to give a feel for the story, spoiler free of course. The story and artwork just weren't my cup of tea, but I understand some might enjoy this type of story / cast so I will attempt to avoid outright trolling.

STORY
I was very disappointed in the story for a lot of reasons. It progresses painfully slow, and the character development eventually drops just about everyone in the 'gray area' between good and bad. So basically by the time the climax comes read more
Feb 18, 2017
Animeindian (All reviews)
Humans have two sides, the animal side which keeps us alive and human side which builds societies, laws, art. This side makes us what we are. Shiki tries to touch this subject. However, Shiki fails to achieve that on so many levels.

Shiki has one of most boring starts I have ever seen in anime, first episodes are sluggish and uninteresting. While viewer knows what the hell going on from as early as episode 3, characters in anime simply can't figure it out even with such huge evidence. Every character is god damn idiot. Even these Shiki's are idiotic they don't even try to hide their read more
Nov 14, 2010
AngelRaf (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review.I'm going to write it because so much people are talking bad about Shiki.But I think Shiki is awsome.It's unique,it has a great storyline.I enjoy watching it !

Story: 10
The story takes place in a village named Sotoba.Sotoba is a quite and peaceful village,till the chain of bizarre deaths started to occur.Nobody knows the reason but more and more people are dying.Toshio Ozaki is the hospital dean and he suspects an epidemic. But what first starts as an epidemic, turns out to be much more. The first episodes might be boring.I didn't really enjoy watching them but later the show really gets read more
Jul 19, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Something strange has been going on in the quaint village of Sotoba... Ever since those wealthy outsiders built their lavish mansion at the top of Kanemasa Hill, there has been a succession of mysterious deaths... People of all ages will become lethargic and anti-social, refuse to go to the doctor, and then die after only a few days... Could it be an epidemic? Some new disease? And are the rumors true that the dead are still walking around?

Those newcomers are certainly strange, and Sotoba does have ancient legends about Okomiyagi, or the dead coming back to life... read more
Nov 2, 2014
Anthony_DiGrande (All reviews)
If you want vampires done right then this is the show for you.

The story of Shiki takes place in a rural Japanese village called Sotoba that the only thing the residents do is gossip. New residents called the Kirishiki's moved into town and from then on mysterious deaths occur throughout the town and there are reports of the dead coming back to life. The one that suffers the most because of this is Toshio Ozaki, the doctor of Sotoba, because he wants to know why these mysterious murders have been happening. He later believes that the cause of the deaths are something more supernatural and read more
Oct 29, 2014
Tiri (All reviews)
Alright, this is my first time with a review so bear with me!

Story: 8
Shiki did pretty well in this category. It was refreshing to watch a vampire story that didn't make you want to become one. They went back to the old school myths, where vampires can't be killed unless you put a stake through their heart, and they fear things like relics and crosses. They were actually the bad guys. There are already a lot of great romanticized vampire stories out there, so it's really nice to find the opposite.

The episodes were well paced, and the anime as a whole did a great job read more
Jan 2, 2011
Lindle (All reviews)
Shiki, or Corpse Demon, is effectively the story of a village in the middle of nowhere being subjected to a mysterious string of unexplainable deaths. If you want to watch this anime and go into it 100% spoiler-free, even though this is not much of a spoiler at all, look away now.

The deaths are, of course, being caused by vampires. While they take their sweet time coming out and saying it, it's pretty obvious from a really early stage. But don't tell any of the characters that, because they don't half take their sweet time working it out. Over half the story is dedicated to read more
Feb 11, 2012
thenhk (All reviews)
I was directed to Shiki by a fellow anime fan who, like me, enjoyed more horror based anime. He insisted that Shiki was superior to shows like Another or Higurashi, since it created "characters you cared about".

Having now watched it, I am wondering what he was smoking.

I'll go through each aspect individually. Tharrrrr be spoilers (at least in the plot section), so read at your own risk.

Art = 5
I'm torn on this one. On the one hand, the backgrounds are great. It looks like a small village. They are beautiful, though a bit colourful at times for an anime which is supposed to be "dark". read more
Feb 16, 2015
Sorainnosia (All reviews)
Based off the light novel written by Fuyumi Ono in 1998. Shiki is not your typical vampire themes, it is a rare breed of an anime. If we discuss vampire in anime, many words that come out. The phrases that often comes out are romance (Rosario to Vampire etc), and action (Hellsing and Trinity Blood) Many vampire anime got mixed up by those set-up while Shiki did a different thing than the others. Shiki throws tons of mystery to the plot, the story itself is more focused to the plot and fewer fillers. The story set-up in Sotoba. A village with large numbers of mysterious read more
Jan 18, 2014
Mind-freak (All reviews)
Death is terrible for anyone. Young or old, good or evil, it’s all the same. Death is impartial. There is no especially terrible death. That’s why death is so fearsome. Your deeds, your age, your personality, your wealth, your beauty: they are all meaningless in the face of death.

Shiki is a very hard series to talk about without spoilers. It’s a show that you really need to see for yourself. Still, I consider this to be the best show to have debuted during the past half year, so I’ll at least try to vaguely explain why I consider it read more
Dec 2, 2010
ChiisaiYume (All reviews)
Preliminary
“Death is impartial to everyone, be it the young or old, rich or poor. Thus death is not particularly tragic.”

Shiki is by far the most riveting, suspenseful and thought-provoking series I have seen all year. Truly a category of its own, it not only contains elements of horror and mystery but also makes you question what truly is considered good or evil?

Story

The story is set in a small village where a string of unexplainable deaths start to occur. What is suspected to be an epidemic proves to be something the villagers would never suspect. The main plot and characters are introduced read more
Jan 11, 2017
bstt (All reviews)
There will be spoil at the end of this review. Nevertheless I think that even if you didn't see this anime, you will still be able to see it.

The huge good point on this anime is it's art. The backgrounds, the foregrounds, the chara-designs, all are beautiful. Unfortunately, this is the ONLY one good point.

The story is absolutely pathetic and obvious. Nearly all the characters have a personality or even if they have, it has absolutely no impact in the story. The actions scene are poor and the emotional scene are empty of feeling.
And the worst (and that the reason of this note), A LOT read more
Jul 23, 2015
Asunkuro (All reviews)
While Shiki is definitely not the best thriller anime out there, I wouldn't go as far as saying it is a complete waste of time.

Despite the fact that the story is not really original (vampires and werewolves, yeah), it still manages to not be a copy/paste of others fictions (at least from the ones I know). The rule for people to "rise" (aka becoming a shiki) is actually a bit different from what you can usually see, and makes the plot more interesting.
Also, the characters are not that original either (or unforgivable), but they still manage to make the view more enjoyable. The read more
Jan 20, 2017
ndsempai (All reviews)
Tl:DR review: Still a better vampire story then Twilight.

Shiki tried hard to present a sort of a grey world where there was no clear cut good and bad and both sides were justified in their actions. Well it tried.. But it failed terribly.

From the opening to the almost 18 episodes, all the vampires are shown to be these cold, calculating killers who are methodically exterminating an entire town and all of a sudden after episode 18, the show asks us to feel bad for them. Why? Because humanity decided to fight back. Yeah thats it. The show is peppered with pointless philosophy which read more
Aug 8, 2010
Hanaji (All reviews)
Preliminary
First three episodes of the show will get you wondering as to what's really happening to the village and it's inhabitants that are dying one by one, with no hint at all as why such disease that resembles "Anemia" was turning into a widespread epidemic throughout the village when victims show no signs of internal or external bleeding at all.

But I have to say, for anyone who's actually seen or read either Bram Stoker's certain novel or Fright Night, By Episode 3, you should now be aware of what's going on.

This is probably one of the only firsts in Japanese anime & manga wherein the read more
Nov 21, 2010
AkatsukigirlTy (All reviews)
Preliminary
As with all of my other reviews I decided to write a review about the anime Shiki because I found it to be really enjoyable (so far) and wanted to spread some of the love by hopefully persuading people to try it out for themselves! In my review I will talk about what I find to be good about the show and which aspects could do with some improvement.

Story: 10
I’ve watched a total of 16 out of 22 episodes of the show and have so far loved every single episode of it! Vampires singling out a small remote town and picking off each of the read more
Oct 21, 2015
yolerMit (All reviews)
NOTE: I write this review out of sheer enthusiasm for the series, which I watched pretty recently and eventually became one of my favourites.

Story: 7
Vampires try to take over an entire village. OK.
Not an original story taking into account the trend back then, but still the evolution of it tried to make it one. The story is not just gore or about how cool vampires are, but about humans and vamps try to eliminate each other.

Well, try and think how possible would be for you to convince your fellow humans that monsters exist in order to save yourself as well as them. Tricky read more