Pale Cocoon

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Aoi Tamago
Japanese: ペイル・コクーン


Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 10, 2005
Producers: Directions
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Rikka
Source: Original
Genres: DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 3253032,530 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #22602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2201
Members: 64,735
Favorites: 220

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 8, 2007
ElectricSlime (All reviews)
Pale Cocoon tells the story of a post-apocalyptic Earth as observed by two humans, a man and a woman. They are involved in the extraction and cleaning of digital archives left by humans many years before. They include all types of media, pictures of Earth, newspaper clippings, video... the works. They are to a certain extent futuristic archaeologists. The story follows them as they hope to unravel Earth's history. Although short, as one off OVA, it doesn't feel like it is short. If that makes any sense. The plot is nicely developed and reaches an interesting conclusion.

The animation and direction for Pale Cocoon is read more
May 29, 2011
WillMunny (All reviews)
Yawn. Total waste of time.

The visuals are pretty, with smooth and life-like animation as well as pleasing character designs. It also showcases some cool-looking futuristic archival technology. However, while better than average, the visuals are not groundbreaking -- easily surpassed by 5cm Per Second and its ilk. They are also repetitive.

Plot is thin, derivative and not particularly well presented. The characters are unengaging and underdeveloped. Dialogue and soundtrack are forgettable. Moreover, the pacing is self-indulgently, navel-gazingly slow, making this piece boring despite its short duration.
Mar 29, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
This OVA will undoubtedly get much praise from people too quick to let the animation convince them they've witnessed something groundbreaking, when in reality, much like what occurs in the story itself, they've allowed themselves to be bamboozled by what's in front of their faces while ignoring what's behind it all.

Swinging your camera around like a 15 year old who just discovered editing software doesn't really impress. The director's immaturity behind the camera shows itself via his lack of restraint. Animation junkies, the kind of people who prioritize pretty visuals over substance and story wont notice or care.

The story was imaginative and with read more
Oct 17, 2009
SamFury (All reviews)
=====
Story
=====

“In the sky, there is no distinction of east and west; people create distinctions out of their own minds and then believe them to be true.”
-Buddah

The audience opens their eyes to a set of wrought iron stairs, coiling about a brilliant pillar of golden light. It illuminates the dreary recesses of this world, the rusting iron, the sluggish gait of the excavators leaving their cubicles. This is the fate of mankind, stuffed into the interiors of the planet because the surface has rotted away from overpopulation. At least it’s not global warming that dooms us, Pale Cacoon predicts it’s a lack of protection. read more
Jul 3, 2016
Vousz (All reviews)
[This review contains a few minor spoilers]

The OVA has a fairly straightforward message: that Earth and its beauty is irreplaceable, even by the most advanced of technologies. In the dark, gray world the characters live in, the only faint resemblance to earth among all the steel is a color -- green. The characters keep going down the levels of their own world to live closer to a fake green - the "ocean" -, yet all they ever do is lose themselves even more amid all the machinery. In the end, when one of the characters finally gets to see something natural he realizes just how read more
Jan 11, 2014
Honest_Senpai (All reviews)
Pale cocoon is an anime short film about an unlucky generation living in an artificial colony below earth’s surface after its inevitable demise brought upon by possible pollution, possible war and maybe other devastating factors. Our main protagonist Ura is an excavator who recovers lost archives containing facts including: images, audio and video footage from the beautiful world where humanity once existed. He is the last excavator as the rest of them (including our female lead Riko) had been disgusted by how their ancestors came to destroy that beautiful world and decided against digging up more facts as it would only sadden them further. Ura read more
Aug 3, 2010
Seabury (All reviews)
I understand that “OMG, this anime is so deep!” Really, I do! I understand that it has a compelling narrative that asks us to ponder slightly more philosophical questions than usual, like what the value of the past is, for example, and what makes it worth revisiting. Our protagonist doesn't know why he enjoys researching the past, but at one point he suspects that it helps him to avoid reality. One fellow archaeologist thinks it's too painful to see what humankind had lost, and to witness the course of human stupidity, thus ends up quitting.

Hmm, our new and talented director is yet another pessimist read more
Feb 17, 2010
thresholden (All reviews)
Spoilers, read only afterwards.

Theme:

Pale Cocoon is less about environmentalism and more about the preservation of our history and truth. The humans stuck on the terraformed moon gave up the on excavating the ruins of Earth because they thought they could never return to their mother planet. Faced with the past of knowing and understanding that their ancestors ruined themselves and the future, the excavators rather resign themselves to ignorance and forget, only burrowing themselves further downwards rather then accepting the bitter truth and seeking the origins.

The main character refuses to give in to this nihilistic ignorance, he clings desperately to the fading truth as read more
Feb 10, 2012
_Rika (All reviews)
“The archives we know of as history ended at some point. Before we knew it, humans were living in this world.”

‘Pale Cocoon’ is a poignant account of a distant future when the beautiful earth inhabited by the living has been ruined due to the stupidity of the mankind itself, leading the planet to be barren and uninhabitable, and humans to migrate to a supposedly ‘artificial colony’. The blue sky, the vast tracts of greenery and the flora are nothing more than bitter memories of homeland. On the colony, there is the Excavation Department whose sole purpose of existence is to retrieve digitally read more
Oct 3, 2008
edgewalker00 (All reviews)
even though the animation quality isnt that to boast pale cocoon sure did give its story quite a boot.

taking place on a post-apocalyptic setting, pale cocoon deals with the lives of two humans under the excavation department whose jobs are to excavate old records encoded into software. while this job had some enthusiastic employees early on, it later lost its vigor as one by one, people began resigning. Ura, the only one dedicated in finding out about history decided to go on and unravel the mystery behind one archive. true to what the intro say about this anime, his finding would eventually change the read more
Feb 12, 2013
Chronologist (All reviews)
Pale Cocoon is a 23-minuite Sci-Fi and kind of mystery short film that deals with some interesting themes, but ultimately comes off as bland and mediocre at best. The visuals are impressive but there's not much else here folks.

The plot is simple – the world got polluted, so they moved everyone to a giant web-like series of structures in order to survive. Ura and Riko work in the archive recovery and analysis departments, and are basically the only two left – their jobs are to go through records of what the surface was like and then analyze them. That’s it – they don’t do anything read more
Mar 12, 2015
sky_conqueror (All reviews)
I found this Ova looking at the page where I usually see anime, hence I'm writing this 10 years after it was aired.

It is a great Ova and recommend that if you have 20 minutes you see it because I assure you that it will entertain you at least.

*Spoiler*

Story tells us that humanity has to take refuge in the depths of the moon because the earth becomes uninhabitable for those, because of the mistakes that people made and because the sun was extinguished and they can only wait for it reactivation, but people living on the moon want nothing of what their ancestors did to read more
Jul 14, 2009
alchemistnarutoZ (All reviews)
Gorgeous art and beutiful storyline resume the final concept you have of Pale Cocoon.

At the very start i was already amazed by its great animation and draw style. The story is tremendously intresting. The Earth, in a undefined future, is protected from man, now they live under the ground, so the planet can survive. A man and a woman are the main protagonists. They both work on a department designed to research about how the surface was. This department is almost dead, there are only two working there. The empty offices indicate that once, there were many doing this job. Now, our protagonist is read more
May 9, 2012
mdude009 (All reviews)
I have one question I wish to ask you, why are you looking up reviews for this anime? Honestly, it's a single twenty two minute long episode, that's it, there is absolutely no reason to not just go and watch it. But I can't write a review where I tell you to just go watch it yourself without giving you any information (court ordered, it's a long story) so without further ado here's my review of Pale Cocoon:

Story 10/10: The plot of Pale Cocoon is set in a post-apocalyptic world where it is concluded that earth is now a dead world, brown and completely lifeless. read more
Jan 11, 2011
Lazyness (All reviews)
As I am finishing this anime, I can only feel the sickening sensation of disgust invading my body as I frown upon our future. This near prophetic anime is a true work of art, its beauty is incomparable in its art and its message. a 23 minutes you absolutely want to see, even if you do not agree that it is almost the fate that awaits us.

the story 9/10: pale cocoon offers a deep and complex story that is an absolute must see, it pictures the dilemma of a man having a complex choice to make, satisfy his quest for knowledge of the read more
Jul 29, 2013
obtrice (All reviews)
Pale Cocoon might be the best little sci-fi OVA ever made. In just 23 minutes, Yasuhiro Yoshiura does what most fail to do in 23 hours: makes a fascinating and original point, and does it while telling a great story. Many will inevitably compare this to Voices of a Distant Star, another ambitious 20 minute sci-fi film, but unlike its well-known peer Pale Cocoon is far more than flashy production values. This is short storytelling at its finest, and its only fault is leaving you wishing there were more.

At first glance, the film could be interpreted as just another environmental tale of woe. And in read more
Mar 17, 2016
Empha (All reviews)
Pale cocoon, set in the year 22XX, presents the viewer with a profound and novel message: “Wouldn’t it suck if earth got ruined and really sucked because we had so many wars?” Real heavy stuff.

Right from the start, it looks cheap. The art is very flat and simplistic, and the movement gets really choppy a few times, especially when panning over the computer screens. The sound isn’t bad overall, but it’s nothing special.

To me, Pale Cocoon is at its best near the middle, when it shows you pictures of our new home and just builds the atmosphere. The music really shines here, but showing the read more
Oct 12, 2020
Thigh_Tide (All reviews)
Didn't look like there was a lot of effort, and predictably there weren't a lot of results.

Pale Cocoon is at its best right before it starts. The premise is strong, the synopsis is enticing, but right from the outset the OVA is a huge disappointment. It may even be best to just not watch it at all, and save the idea being dragged down by this result.

In the interest of parity, there are some positives to mention. The OVA has a type of confined brutalist architecture that goes a long way towards setting the tone, and some of the visuals are actually rather memorable, particularly read more
Mar 24, 2009
Munsuta (All reviews)
This anime was well composed. The art was simply amazing and is what made this anime great. It was dark and grungy, I could almost feel the cold wet feeling this anime gave off. Even though it was very short it was very enjoyable and i recommend it to everyone. Dont expect any mechas and explosions with big breasted school girls. Just a very good story with amazing art.
Jul 2, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
The story is slow but it feels like it could happen in our time. They talk of how the world has lost its history because of something devastating and they have to piece threw the small ruminates of the archives in order to learn of the past. In the first part, we are introduced to the man male character and what his job is slowly, though it is still a lot of mystery. It made me want to know more.

The artwork is actually pretty nice, mixing 3D with the drawings well. Sometimes you can’t even tell that there is 3D. The artwork is dark, read more