Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A's


Alternative Titles

English: Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha A's
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A's
Japanese: 魔法少女リリカルなのは エース

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2005 to Dec 25, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2005
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Seven Arcs
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 23,721 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1366
Members: 42,913
Favorites: 893

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 6, 2008
Skadi (All reviews)
After how much I enjoyed the first season of Nanoha, I immediately set to watching this sequel. And I will tell you something that rarely happens for me, I don’t think I got up from my sofa from episode 1 until the end. In many ways, A's outshines the original as a lot of the peeves I had from that show are non-existent now. I really loved this series a lot, it just had a few warts that prevent me from giving it a perfect grade.

The story in the original was really good, A's takes it all to a different level and read more
Jan 23, 2009
Vizard (All reviews)
Every once in a while or so, appears an anime that is literally compelling, rich, and truly irresistible. This is one of those- the franchise flourishes with support from the first season and absolutely comes back even more powerful to capture and entice the watcher in loving this well-constructed presentation. Seven Arcs has accomplished many great deeds with this release: executing a fantastic sequel to attract more awareness out of a type of "Dark Horse" anime. The Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha series (will use MSLN for short in later instances) isn't really "well-known" or "popularly watched" by the general audience, at least imo); Seven Arcs read more
Oct 31, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Better than the first season

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s certainly strayed away from the usual, formulaic mahou shoujo stereotype. No more collecting Jewel Seeds for Nanoha and Fate. This time they face bigger, more powerful enemies that get in their way.

The new plot really made me excited, mostly because I’ve been waiting for Fate and Nanoha to become closer friends as well as become team mates. The new characters were also very intriguing and interesting, especially the Velka-type Knights. I like how Nanoha and Fate have to go against them, because they’re not as evil or twisted as Precia Testarossa read more
Sep 17, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Following up on the surprise hit of the first season, Nanoha A's comes with more energy and more faults, but it's still a worthy second season.

The second season dives headfirst back into the action that made the first season so remarkable by the end. There are still many enjoyable twists, though not as impressive in comparison to the previous season. This is no fault of the series itself though. By now, it's become more "girls who fight with magic" than "magical girl" so the various new plays on the genre don't sell as well as they did before. Battle scenes are no longer highlights, but read more
Aug 16, 2007
MrGaz (All reviews)
PS: Review is based on both seasons. Although there is no spoilers, it's recommended you've watched the 1st season before reading on.

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha is indeed one of the fine "Mahou Shoujo" series you will pick up. The beginning does drag a while but it makes it up in the miiddle and end of the season 1 and with the beginning of A's, there is no stopping you in getting into the series until the very end.

Season 1 starts off with the introduction of Nanoha and her sudden involvement in helping Yuuno in finding all the Jewel Seeds. When Nanoha starts to get read more
Mar 10, 2007
kosquarepelli (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A's comes up a bit lacking compared to its predecessor, but is a solid continuation. Like the first Lyrical Nanoha series, A's boils down a fairly conventional mahou shoujo story arc (the heroines battle determined foes with sympathetic motivations but an ultimately destructive goal) into a single 13-episode season, while somehow leaving intact all the drama and character development one would expect to see in a series two or three times its length. (It's like mahou shoujo for people who don't have time for mahou shoujo.)

Nanoha and Fate work side-by-side in A's, but those who come in expecting the read more
Mar 5, 2015
finaljas90 (All reviews)
I'll admit it. I haven't watch much "real" mahou shojo. I haven't watched Pretty Cure or Princess Tuturu or even Sailor Moon. I'm a "Madoka-era" mahou shojo fan, someone who prefers the Symphogears and Yuuki Yuuna's over the Sailor Moons and Pretty Cures. That being said, I loved Nanoha. I'm a big fan of the series. And A's especially. A's showcases to me all what I want in a mahou shojo show: breakneck action, "friendship" and magical gunfights.

Story: The story of A's is ultimately one of friendship and understanding, something that Nanoha conveys very well. The world and its magic system is typical magical read more
Aug 12, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Back in January I talked about Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha, an anime from Seven Arcs. The second anime series in the franchise, A's, aired in 2005. Exactly a year after the first. Let's recap the first, shall we? Young Takamachi Nanoha gained magical powers to help Yuuno, a boy transformed into a ferret, find artifacts called Jewel Seeds. While doing so she came into conflict with the young mage Fate Testarossa. Nanoha was immediately drawn to Fate, wanting to become friends and more than friends with her. After a climactic battle with Fate's abusive mother, Nanoha returned triumphant and Fate was taken away to face read more
Aug 13, 2016
InsaneLeader13 (All reviews)
"Her Friends."
~Fate Testarossa, Episode 1
SQUEEEEEEEEEE
~Fandom's Collective Reaction, Episode 1

This is where that investment I was talking about earlier starts to pay off.

Let us break this down.
Story: 7/10
Roughly six months after the events of Lyrical Nanoha's initial season, life is looking good. Nanoha eagerly awaits the return of Chrono, Arf, and Fate, the later two finishing up sentences for 'crimes' from the first season. Fate and Arf are beginning to settle into a more steady family environment. Chrono is doing...things for the Time-Space Administration Bureau (TSA Bureau for short, as I can't ignore making that joke).
But on the night that the group is destined to meet read more
Apr 21, 2007
FFViper (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A's is the sequl to Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha, I don't recommend watching this or reading this review till at least watching it.

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A's follows up only a few months after the end of the original. Nanoha has been training herself in magic while Fate and the other are awaiting the verdict on her trail. All seems well till one night while doing homework, Raging Heart warns her of danger.

It follows the original in the sense that the plot is straight and to the point, with no side trips. We get to see the cast read more
Dec 1, 2010
PrimeSonic (All reviews)
:::INTRO

It was a small wish: to have a good sequel to a great first season.
PrimeSonic here, bringing you my review of Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha A's.
I'm assuming you've watched the first season by now and I'll keep the spoilers for A's down to a minimum. So, on with the review.

Nanoha A's takes place six months after the conclusion of the first season.
The plot of Nanoha A's is driven forward by the Wolkenritter, or Cloud Knights, and their mission to complete the Book of Darkness.
To do this, they have to steal magical power from a mage's linker core, the source of a mage's power, which in read more
Apr 24, 2016
Phantasmafloria (All reviews)
Probably the greatest magical girl anime ever made (or at least the blueprint for the popular choice "Madoka"), and likely the one that would eventually bring Akiyuki Shinbo to prominence, "Nanoha A's" revolutionised a tired genre with a unique storytelling, art design that would influence an entire age of animation and excellent sound design with strong western influences.

This is the anime that would expand the definition of what one could consider a magical girl or a magical staff, and challenge typical characterisation of villain and hero. It also features fantastic cinematography and framing, paired with easy to follow editing, doing away with frenetic cuts read more
Dec 22, 2008
the_bici (All reviews)
yeni karakterlerin gelmesi çok güzeldi fatedan sonra diğer cool karakter vita çıktı heleki hayate nin gücü müthişti sırf savaşları için zaten izledim nerdeyse bu animeyi yine sürükleyiciydi hemde birinci seriye göre fazlaca iyiydi
Jan 19, 2014
-ice-chan- (All reviews)
Well, i must say that MSLNA is one of my favorite series. It stands out from the typical shoujo where the girls are all cute and magical spells, lollicon etc etc.
I'm not saying that this doesnt has magical girls, because it has but there's action, fights and blood, that makes it different. For some worse tho.

STORY(10/10)
This is the strong point of A's. The story is full of action, fights and magical spells. There is not a moment of boredom. Before in the first season of Nanoha there is not so much action , but this season compensates for that. It also has its read more