Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Arakawa Under the Bridge


Alternative Titles

English: Arakawa Under the Bridge
Japanese: 荒川アンダー ザ ブリッジ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2010 to Jun 28, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Romance, Seinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.681 (scored by 87,113 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #321
Members: 190,342
Favorites: 1,624

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 1, 2010
cowwart (All reviews)
From the time we are young, are parents all/ teach us certain things. No matter what these deal with, there will usually be a very common theme: what society wants us to do.

Yes, from a very young age, most of us will be told to continue the flow of society's ideas, and to never question them. But, what makes these ideas right?

This is the question that we are faced with while watching Arakawa Under the Bridge, a story about, well, living under a bridge. A bridge under which almost no laws will ever reach you, with the possible exception of public indecency...

We see a romance read more
Aug 8, 2013
Venten (All reviews)
Charming. This is what I constantly thought of when watching Arakawa Under The Bridge. Despite the insane plot and the ridiculous characters, this show was full of charm. Whether there was a hint of deeper meanings between it's comedic outtakes, or its abundance of heartwarming scenes, there never once was a dull moment during my time at under the Arakawa Bridge!


Story:
The story of Arakawa Under The Bridge is something that tends to turn many people off due to it's nonlinear approach. The story goes as follows; a guy who believes in never owing anybody anything gets his life saved after falling off a bridge by read more
May 20, 2010
leingodf8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Never judge a book by its cover, or in anime's case, never judge an anime by the first episode. Arakawa under the Bridge started out (for me) as a fairly pretentious and rather bland series, and I fully expected that I would be ready to drop it by around episode 5 or maybe even sooner. Now that isn't saying the first episode was bad by any means, it just didn't stand out at all to me, it was a regular opening describing the 2 leads and giving a good amount of exposition. As the episodes progressed, I slowly began to enjoy Arakawa more and more, read more
Jun 28, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
'Arakawa Under the Bridge' is about Ichinomiya Kou, an elite (someone who holds a high ranking position or works in a blue-chip company. A "winner" in Japanese society) who's been taught to never get indebted to anyone, gets careless one day over Arakawa and gets saved by a girl. The girl's name is Nino, who turns out to be a denpa-kei (people with "overactive imagination" or nutcase, e.g. Nodame) who claims to be from Venus, and doesn't want anything in return. After a long debate, she tells Ichinomiya that there is one thing that he can do for her: "Let me fall in love." read more
Jul 7, 2010
Seabury (All reviews)
So, this show is a random humor enthusiast's heaven. It is sometimes funny, sometimes stupid, and often both.

That could be the end of my review right there, but there's always more to talk about. For example, the art. The art is great. It is produced by shaft, directed by Akiyuki Shinbou, and is typical of Shinbou/shaft. If you are unfamiliar with shaft/Shinbou style artwork (most famous for Bakemonogatari), it is basically a collage of unconventional anime styles, that shifts around depending on the story. Lots of random fast cuts to land/city-scapes, sudden changes in the detail of animation, etc. It all is used in read more
Jul 30, 2013
Manglex (All reviews)
Often times people like to think of themselves as “the normal one.”

At least this is the case for Kou, a self-proclaimed part of the “elite.” From the day he was born Kou was taught to never be indebted to someone. For the most part Kou does a pretty good job of it too, that is until he loses his pants and falls into the Arakawa River. Now we have one indebted Kou, and a savior named Nino that wants Kou to help her experience love. He accepts, and begins living under the Arakawa Bridge with a group of bizarre social misfits.

It sounds a read more
Jul 5, 2010
HakushuBeet (All reviews)
Produced by SHAFT under director Akiyuki Shinbou (Bakemonogatari, Zetsubou Sensei, Maria+Holic), Arakawa Under the Bridge expresses more of the director's enticement to mix a dark comedy with a colorful cast of characters. This combination has proven successful with previous hits Zetsubou Sensei and Bakemonogatari. Does the same hold for Arakawa, or has the director gotten too comfortable with the genre that he overlooked the basics?

Kou Ichinomiya was raised by his stern father to be the perfect businessman. At the young age of 22, he already leads his own company and has mass amounts of wealth. He obsessively follows his family's motto, which is written read more
Apr 13, 2010
orpheust (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, this show has its share of eccentricities and requires some suspension of disbelief. The humor can be hit and miss, so it's hard to recommend this show after one or two episodes. But I like the voice acting - Maaya Sakamoto (Haruhi from Ouran Host Club, Ryougi Shiki from Kara no Kyoukai, Lightning from JPN FFXIII, etc.) acts out Nino, and I enjoy her brusque voice so I'll be following this series for a couple more episodes.

One last tip: There's a reason why Nutbladder's subs appear first, and that group's work is clearly a speed sub. I'm hardly in the place to criticize anyone's read more
Apr 5, 2010
knightlight567 (All reviews)
Preliminary
There being only one episode out so far, there is only so much to say. That being said, if you enjoyed FLCL, it has a strangely similar feel to it. Basically, the story, art, sound, characters, nothing really matters. Its basically a series of jokes.

There is a character that has a "normal" outlook on life, but has one major restriction on how he lives it, and another who is anything but normal, and is unintentionally abusing his restriction on life. As such the entire show thus far is Set-up, Gag, WTF, Gag, Set-up, Gag, WTF, Gag.............

If they could actually keep that up for 13 read more
May 4, 2010
kyokai (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review here and I'm writing after watching the fifth episode. For me SHAFT is a hit or a miss. I liked Bakemonogatari but hated Vampire Bund so when it was Arakawa's turn, I was quite apprehensive of what to expect but from the first episode, this series has surprised me with a twisted storyline and weird characters that turn weirder and weirder still - in a good way though.

Of course, Hiroshi Kamiya and Maaya Sakomoto are total win under the skins of Rec and Nino. Being the main pair, they still have a lot of ground to cover around each read more
Aug 19, 2016
Phdrhymes (All reviews)
This was a very cute, very hilarious, touching, kind of show. It subtly hit on a few very real philosophies and ideas about the kinds of expectations a parent or guardian can have for their kid. It touched on a few deeper topics, which gave this show just a little more appeal and juice that it needed on top of all of the hullabaloo. And th soundtrack is AWESOME, i listen to the ending song of season 1 almost every day. Suneohair FTW!!!

This show is one of the most fun and random shows i've seen, and it was a great time watching the MC adapt read more
Mar 6, 2017
nyja-chan (All reviews)
If you like weird, but an amazingly well-written story then this is your kind of show.

This show has a certain type of humour which is not liked by everyone, which I can understand. The humour comes mostly from its weird cast of characters, which often results into something called ‘dry humour’.

The characters make this show great for me. They are unique in their own way and I mean this, they are very unique. They are a bunch of weird people living under a bridge, and without a doubt, they believe everything they do is the most normal thing ever and I love it. They read more
May 28, 2016
marcelolucche (All reviews)
Maybe when we are born we are forced to do what makes everyone happy or to follow rules that we did not need to follow. This anime is about that, about finding true happiness in small crazy things in life, it is about leaving everything to live like you never expected, but you always wanted. I strongly recommend it, definetly one of the best pieces of art i will ever see or feel in my heart.

Characters in this anime are crazy enough to laugh a while and to tell you the story, so do not worry about being bored while watching. Never skip reflections read more
Apr 11, 2016
ShamelessCritics (All reviews)
* Enjoyment and laugh levels overload,WHY IS THIS SO UNDERRATED??!!?!*
Like literally i can't describe it with more than 3 sentences. Firstly, one of the best comedies ever created. It lacks common sense, but that's the whole point!!
Absolutely hilarious, original and outstandingly beautiful.
Epic voice actors and fucking unique story and characters.
If it was only a Comedy-parody this would be a 9/10 but since its has "Comical"-->romance that kinda ruined it. Whatsoever it wasn't bad. It could have been better . . .
In my opinion, this was 4 hours full of laugh and enjoyment.The only problem is, that in the end you will wanna learn the read more
Apr 14, 2010
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Updated: Eps watched -5]
SHAFT is the producer of Bakemonogatari, and uses similar presentation methods in this series. The problem is: Bakemonogatari is more of occult, suspense and mystery while Arakawa Under the Bridge is something like gag humour.

Note: After ep 2, the anime seems to fare better in its own style.

Story:6
To be honest ep 1 and 2 gave me a headache. A wide variety of characters introduced, the main characters were presented, and tons of poorly used impact-scenes. From ep 3-5 the story seems more smooth and less gag-likke. Which is good, since some fundamentals had finally been touched on.

Unfortunately, too many characters had been read more
May 26, 2011
Ston3_FreeN7 (All reviews)
Comedy is a tough aspect to grade, since it is largely subjective in nature. Just because I find Kramer and Jerry arguing about the trajectory of someones spit on Seinfeld hilarious, doesn't mean others will. Likewise, just because someone else finds a guy walking into a woman's bath by incident and getting knocked into the stratosphere for it amusing, certainly doesn't mean I do.

But, and I think most other people will agree, some of the best comedy is stuff that actually has an underlying message to it. When humor can actively facilitate an overall message that the work in question has, then it all read more
Aug 1, 2010
Mune-sama (All reviews)
When I heard the premise for "Arakawa", I was immediately attracted to it. Something so strange, but yet simple. One man living under a bridge, and the small community that he spends his time with. It received plenty of positive reception from the reviewers on MAL, so I dove right in. And what I found was a charming, albeit eccentric slice-of-life that quickly became one of my favorites in the genre.

First and foremost, this is a character driven show. By no means will anything happen beyond the two main conflicts (the main character's acceptance into the community, and the other big one, which I won't read more
May 4, 2010
gorskino10 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mini Review (After 5 Episodes)
---------------
A synopsis from the Preview list looked interesting but has Arakawa Under the Bridge lived up to what i hoped for... no, but in some aspects they have good things (Characters/Sound) shame that one half is doing well but the rest is doing quite badly (Art Style/Story) but with many more episodes to go its hard to judge how this will pan out, but lets say i have less optimisium than i did before this show started.

I don't get some people, how is this series funny it tries to be i cant remember one part i've laughed at, and the OP read more
Aug 7, 2010
Fulan (All reviews)
At first, I thought this anime is like a normal love story.
But when I watch the first episode, the story was totally ridiculous.
But in the fun way.

There's a lot of weird people under the bridge.
Although, some of them looked normal.
You'll totally laugh after watching this anime. Their stupidity is the best!

All the charcters are well create.
Their attitude is somewhat unique.
All their past life is a mystery.

Don't know where they come from, who are they, what's their background, and why did they live under the bridge?!




Feb 14, 2013
maddynamite (All reviews)
Thanks for taking the time to read my review of Arakawa Under the Bridge!

Story: I found the premise of the show to be very intriguing. After the first episode, however, it's clear that the main focus of the story is the people who live under the bridge. While Ko and Nino bond throughout the series, Ko's interactions with the secondary characters are the main attraction. The short mini-story format to each episode helps keep the whole feeling of the show light and easy-going.

Art: An interesting mix of styles are used throughout the series. You have some very beautiful backgrounds and character portrayal during the read more