Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nurarihyon no Mago


Alternative Titles

English: Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan
Synonyms: The Grandson of Nurarihyon, Grandchild of Nurarihyon
Japanese: ぬらりひょんの孫

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2010 to Dec 21, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 79,578 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #547
Members: 181,691
Favorites: 1,190

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 6, 2010
Xynz01 (All reviews)
Edited this review by the way :)
Grammar Nazis? GTFO lol. This review is not for you. Why not create your own then? :P

Glad that my friend let me watch this great stuff.
Okay now let’s start.
What will you do if you will become a powerful commander?

Story: 9/10
The story revolves around Nura Clan. A Clan of “youkai” that controls 10,000 demons. Amongst them is what they called “supreme commander” a very powerful “youkai”.
Now for the protagonist story so far. Nurarhiyon no Mago didn’t lack story backgrounds at all. They explained what happened in the past with the right execution. Except for the flashbacks that his read more
Dec 27, 2010
Scrypt (All reviews)
If there's one word I could describe Nurarihyon no Mago, it would have to be BORING.

Having read the adaptation I really had high hopes for this series as the formula to which Mago is about, is seldom used in shonén anime and if done right, would have definitely been one of the better series for 2010.

...but like I said, BORING. Here's why:

Story - 8
Nurarihyon no Mago is a tale of the supernatural. It's a tale of demons and spirits and the co-existence between their kind and ours. It's also a tale of Rikuo Nura and how he takes over his grandfathers clan known as read more
May 1, 2011
fadinglotus (All reviews)
Ah...Nurarihyon no Mago. An interesting anime indeed.

Before I start reviewing, I have to admit, I'm a big sucker for Jun Fukuyama voicing characters with alter egos (e.g. Lelouch/Zero in Code Geass, Ryner/Ryner with Alpha Stigma activated in Densetsu no Yuusha no Densetsu and of course, Rikuo Day/Rikuo Night in Nurarihyon no Mago), so excuse me if I sound a bit biased here.

Now, on to the actual review:

Story (7/10): You have your classic reluctant hero, Nura Rikuo, heir to the Nura Clan. 3/4 human and 1/4 youkai, he lives a normal school life by day and controls an army of youkai by night. The story details read more
Aug 9, 2010
GothicShadow22 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was very excited to watch this show and had been looking forward to the first episode, and it was quite a letdown. That was my opinion of the first episode. And I would say after watching the first episode, I would have given this show a 6.

I felt the same after watching the second episode.
I was feeling quite disapointed with this show, but as the episodes progressed, I came to enjoy the episodes more and now at five episodes I know that it's a show I plan on watching all the way through.

That isn't meant to say that the show magically became interesting and read more
Jan 4, 2011
helur (All reviews)
I was looking forwad to this show, as i had heard a lot of good things about its source. After the first episode i felt euphoric; a shounen that would provide bad ass fights, but has a dark background, and looks like it will avoid the pitfalls of the others. A plot based on the complexity of a nation of youkai but the simplicity of a shounen. A mix of the happy day rikou and the dark mysterious commander at night.

Expectation: 8-9
Episode Scores: -,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-, 5, 5, 3, 2, 6, 7, 6, 5
Actual: 4 (Bad)

However while everything could have been promising every episode i cried about read more
Sep 14, 2010
abennett17 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I happened to stumble on this anime by accident. I wasn't looking to watch a new anime, but I saw a picture and was immediately drawn to the image of Rikuo in his demon form and thought I'd give it a shot. Boy, am I glad I did!

The story line is great, though the first few episodes are quite slow and repetitive, but it's enough to keep you interested. It's only on episode 11 as of this week, but I'm already hooked and can't wait to see how it pans out.

The art is spot on. I love the character designs, especially Rikuo's demon form. For read more
Nov 30, 2010
dindinsome (All reviews)
Preliminary
This would be my first ever review so please bear with me haha:D

Nurarihyon is a manga adapted by Studio DEEN. It’s like a combination of Katekyo Hitman Reborn with an Inuyasha infused yokai theme and more. The story is great, even though it’s quite normal being an heir (involuntarily) and fighting of others that want to get your position, too much proving (with regards to your worth as an heir) and those entire allegiances thing with the other characters (value of friendship and trust) and a pretty obvious love interest since the girl the read more
Dec 11, 2010
teenoli (All reviews)
Preliminary
Nurarihyon is a unique take on the yokai genre, and a very enjoyable one at that. I have to admit, when I first started watching the show I immediately thought: "Oh great, it's a yokai version of Katekyou Hitman Reborn."
But Nurarihyon no Mago isn't as naive, and it keeps surprising you in little ways.
The story starts with a 12 year old boy, Nura Rikuo, who lives in a house full of yokai, and is a quarter yokai himself, and thus his true demon form can only be released for a quarter of a day, under cover of darkness. He is the grandson of Nurarihyon, read more
Nov 27, 2018
Qichar (All reviews)
Nurarihyon no Mago is neither inspired nor terrible. It's rather mediocre actually, which comes as a disappointment especially since it has a decent MAL score. I like the premise and I tried to be as open-minded as I could. It pleasantly surprised me in some areas; for example, the plot elements suggest some strategic thinking on the part of protagonists and antagonists alike. However, the outrageously bad action in the fight scenes is unforgivable in a shonen anime. Neither the character development nor the dialogue are sufficient to redeem this glaring weakness for this sub-genre.

So let's get that out of read more
Jul 14, 2010
ryuichi_crosszer (All reviews)
Preliminary
"My grandson,when will u gonna to succeeding me?" "But i told u i wanna live as a human!"
"How many youkai I must change sake cups with? I'll take the seat of Third Heir and protect the weak youkai" "Darn! If the dawn breaks,his forms will change again and he'll forget for what he just said.What a pity,master.."

Cute in day, handsome in night....!! Very rare youkai in new adventures!
It's very great anime! Tell the truth, I didn't like the art of its manga so much. Kinda make me creepy. But its anime now, have change it! I must said, the design characters drawn me read more
Jan 22, 2013
dest-roy96 (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please leave comments.

Story:

The story is really good, sometimes it just goes a little to fast. There are also a few errors in the story. Because they say in one episode that the enemy is a coward, because the fight with one against two. But two episodes later they do exact the same thing as the enemy, fighting two against one.

Art:

The art was amazing, that is all I can say about it.

Sound:

The voice acting is well done for the most character. And the openings are really good and they stick in your head.

Characters:

There are good characters, but I didn't read more
Dec 17, 2010
rava (All reviews)
Another review for this show mentioned that it took a few episodes for them to get into it and I have to say that I agree completely. A good while back I watched the first episode, and I was kind of "meh"

Some time later I was a bit bored, so I started reading the manga, and it was kind of the same way. But, after getting through the first few chapters, I found myself really getting into it. Really, this anime is quite a lot of fun, and I would say it is worth it once you get into the meat of the read more
Dec 20, 2017
Enjyu (All reviews)
I feel so much potential was wasted on this one, it is kind of frustrating.

The anime has nearly all ingredients to make a great shounen: first a good plot concept, then there's youkai and humans and their various relations, yakuza styled youkai syndicate, great art style, nice VAs and BGM, enough space to develop the plot and characters and a great deal of Shinto concepts and ideas....

And then...enter THE characters...

For me personally, the characters ruined a fair bit of what otherwise could've easily been an 8/10 shounen. While I can ignore unrealistic age and pretend they are older than what they're supposed to be in read more
Jan 17, 2019
BlackNeonStar (All reviews)
Nurarihyon No Mago.

An anime i first noticed when i saw the title, and really liked the pronounciaton of the name Nurarihyon. (Don't judge me)

And to be honest, it's really good. It's far from something groundbreaking, but if you're in the mood for a battle shounen, this is actually one of the better ones out there.

Our main character is a person who is 3/4 human and 1/4 yokai/demon.

This results in the situation that he can only take on his demon form, for 1/4 of the day, specifically, right after midnight. But you can be damn sure, that when he appears, something epic is gonna happen.

The read more
Jan 3, 2011
Yakarin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story (6): Don't get me wrong, the story has good potential, but for some reason I kept feeling sometimes it moved too slow and other times it skiped important development and moved too fast.

Art (9): The art is very enjoyable, specially the design of the yokai, each character is very singular and deteiled in it's own way.

Sound (6): The ending quite grows on you, but I think the sound, plus Rikuo's classmates took a lot of the seriousness this story could have had.

Characters (10): Again, the youkai are very varied and well developed, having so many different characters, one would have not thought they would read more
Jan 23, 2011
ariamachi (All reviews)
Story: 8/10 This is a Anime about, young Nura Rikuo the grandson of the supreme commander of the Nura yokai clan. As heir to the most powerful clan of yokai, he has to live up to a great expectation set by his grandfather the Nurarihyon. This season of the show goes through the internal struggles of the Nura clan to the fight against the evil Shikoku yokai. The story is really interesting and really pulled me in. I have not read the manga so I wouldn’t know if it was slow or not. The pace of the show was good, tho at the beginning read more
Mar 4, 2013
nolladazzle (All reviews)
Preliminary
how come you say its only 24 episodes...i watched it and its 26 episodes, i can't even change it.
the story wasn't like so catchy but i liked it and I'm watching it to the end.
May 2, 2013
khunter (All reviews)
This is a pretty well established anime. A young kid who is half human,half demon takes control of the strongest demon clan(the clan he belongs to) and proves to be much more different than the previous rulers. Thanks to his human side. And so not to give anything away, the story develops from there and deals with the tasks of uniting humans and demons. The anime is well animated, has a easy simple plot to follow and entertaining as hell. Pretty good character development as well if you like that kind of stuff from your anime. It is well worth a watch and i recommend read more
Jun 12, 2012
BBHood22 (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying that Nurarihyon is one sexy Yokai!

*ehem*err* Alright, now I have gotten that out of the way...

Story: 7 - For me it's just the typical Human/Yokai story... it has an 'Inuyasha' feel to it... the plot is not boring, it's actually fast paced, but maybe I was looking for something more... the characters were developed quite nicely and the fight scenes aren't bad either... since Nurarihyon was strong, i wanted the antagonist to be a bada**... Also, the human by day and yokai by night is okay... not that Rikuo is not cute, but i wanted more Nurarihyon... waiting for read more
Mar 20, 2019
Mishi20 (All reviews)
I watched nurarihyon when it aired on animax around 2010-11 and I was completely in love with the show. It’s been quite a few year since manga ended and I couldn’t recall much of the storyline so I decided to rewatch it from the start. I didn’t know if I would enjoy it as much as I did but.....I fell in love again with this show.
As someone who’s into mythology and historical genre I enjoy this show to the core. The animation is great. And night Rikuo’s seiyuu did an amazing job. The voice just suits him so well. The action scenes are really nice read more