Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hetalia Axis Powers Movie: Paint it, White


Alternative Titles

English: Hetalia Axis Powers: Paint it, White!
Synonyms: Ginmaku Hetalia: Axis Powers - Paint it, White (Shiroku Nure!)
Japanese: 銀幕ヘタリア Axis Powers Paint it, White (白くぬれ!)

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 5, 2010
Producers: Frontier Works
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Web manga
Duration: 1 hr. 20 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.351 (scored by 26,204 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1925
Members: 46,764
Favorites: 320

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 15, 2011
PseudoJord (All reviews)
Axis Powers Hetalia (or Hetalia: Axis Powers, if you prefer) has much to be proud of for itself. Starting off as a webcomic in 2006, it has since spawned a manga, a Drama CD series, an anime series, and now a theatrical film.

The movie makes several departures from the main series, most notably having a storyline as opposed to simple sketches, although a few appear in the beginning to ease the viewers into the movie. This new approach brings a few interesting twists to the Hetalia mold, but unfortunately, the movie tries too hard to stay true to its roots, giving very little new read more
May 25, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Hetalia is an interesting success story. It began as a webmanga by Himaruya Hidekaz. Due to its popularity, it was adapted into a manga and published by Gentosha. This was quickly followed up by an anime version by Studio Deen and the series is still going strong. It's on it's fourth anime series, had a PSP game, a movie and a ton of merchandise. I may do a proper review of one or more of the series eventually, we'll see. That being said, I do have reservations about the film. The anime themselves are made up of short episodes that are made up of a read more
Aug 2, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

I'm VERY happy to finally write this review of the Axis Powers Hetalia Movie. Why? It means I will never have to review anything else Hetalia related ever again!

Plot:

Wait a minute...does this mean APH actually has a plot?! For the movie adaptation of Hetalia, yes it does! Do they finally do what the series was allegedly created for and finish telling the story of WW2 with our anthropomorphic Yaoi countries? Hell NO! Instead we get a plot about aliens invading Earth. So Hetalia went from being all about WW2 to being about space aliens? (Insert joke about the History Channel here)! The aliens wish read more
Feb 20, 2013
OtakuKay (All reviews)
If you've never watched Hetalia before, then you are guaranteed not to have the slightest foggiest on what is happening. Even if your Hetalia-crazed best friend is sitting beside you and giving you a running commentary on what is going on. #experience

That aside, this was actually a decent movie - but again, if you've never seen Hetalia before, you won't get a lot of the inside jokes (e.g. best friend is laughing out loud at random pieces of dialogue that you didn't really notice). If you're a fan of Hetalia, then you shouldn't miss out on this.
Oct 31, 2015
Emil5634 (All reviews)
I love Hetalia and just recently got into watching it. I sort of binge watched it and obviously finished the whole thing relatively fast since the episodes are so short. Then I found out that there was a movie and I thought, well... This is going to be interesting, since the episodes rarely have actual plots that lasts for longer than half a minute. I feared that the movie would be chaotic, pointless and that it would make no sense.
I was right.
The movie is funny, sort of, but the fact that it's main plot is interrupted by these small sketches from the episodes is just read more
Feb 26, 2013
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
***I originally posted this on Anime-Planet***

Critic's Log: Earthdate - June 7, 2012. Review #7: Hetalia: Axis Powers - Paint It, White

Hetalia: Axis Powers was a funny show, it got popular enough that Studio Deen decided to make a film based on the series, end result: Hetalia: Axis Powers: Paint It, White!

I decided to watch this after watching the Axis Powers TV show, since the last two seasons of Hetalia so far are called "World Series". What did I think of this movie? You'll find out now.

The story has a bit of a plot. An alien race known as Pictonians have invaded the earth and they read more
Jul 25, 2013
theotaku10 (All reviews)
For me being a fan of Hetalia. I did not enjoy the movie that much.
One reason was that they kept showing past episodes in the movie. Which one, I did not enjoy, second I was more interested in the movie that episodes I've seen.
The story was okay, it didn't seem much there was much thought in it.
Nov 23, 2011
Princess_Viola (All reviews)
Hetalia Axis Powers: Paint it, White is a movie based upon the webcomic/manga/anime Hetalia Axis Powers.

While the main series mostly takes place around the time period of World War II (with occasional episodes/scenes taking place before that and in the present), Paint it, White takes place during the present day.

Overall, the plot of the movie is what would be expected from this series, silly and fun for laughs. The animation of the movie is relatively the same as the animation from the television series. Normally, this would be a bad thing, but seeing as the movie has random cuts to the series, it actually isn't.

The read more
May 2, 2015
TheRainbowUk (All reviews)
Ok,So with this movie{Which i havent watched for a few months may i add,im a lil rusty}was one that i actually enjoyed.

I liked how the story may not have been the most original one used but they made it into their own and made it enjoyable.The art style like always was unique,clever and pleasing to the eye.The sound is something i unfortunately cant remember to well but i think it was decent.The characters included were very good for me because i love them all in the end,apart from the few who are a bit off to me{ahem france ahem}.

Overall i found it very enjoyable but read more
Jul 30, 2015
Polishanimefan (All reviews)
OK let me start this off with saying I'am a big Hetalia fan. I think the movie was very good and the plot fitted the general atmosphere of the show with it being random and at points hilarious and providing great entertainment to any fan. A nice touch was that the creators made Tony ( the alien) make an appearance. The ending song of the movie was fantastically done and is one of my favorite Hetalia songs. The movie did a great deal to slightly expand on the characters and kept nicely to the canon. The art is in the style of Axis Powers and read more
Apr 4, 2016
Sarcastic-Ginger (All reviews)
The movie itself had a plot that made no sense making hard to endure, honestly Hetalia is best as short ridiculous 5 minute video's. The movie never really explained why the aliens were there or have much story to them at all. The movie had nothing to do with the rest of the series and was honestly a let down. The art was mediocre and the characters weren't at there finest. The comedy was bland (like any other Hetalia show). The only thing this movie did right were the references. Okay, okay, the cat was good too. This movie is probably not what read more
Nov 4, 2011
mandi92 (All reviews)
Being a Hetalia fan, I was super excited when I found the subbed version of this movie. I was expecting so much of it, and I have to admit I was a tad disappointed with what I got.
By no means am I saying it was bad - it wasn't. As expected, it's super funny and wonderfully animated, so I've got nothing to complain about there. However, I feel like the plot could've been better.
Now, not spoiling anything, I think it started pretty well, but the ending seemed kind of rushed. I didn't quite buy how easily such a big issue was resolved.

I recommend this to read more
Sep 10, 2016
ThePissyParticle (All reviews)
Movie? This counts as a movie?!?! Well, get the bleach, cause I'm gonna need it! This movie is an absolute disgrace to such an amazing anime, I could get more entertainment out of staring at a globe for 2 hours! All the characters I've come to know and love have been dumbed down and made annoying at an offensive level (like China, America...) and the characters I already despised with every part of me are...somehow even worse! (like England, Italy...) The plot made no coherent sense and the random clips didn't help, you're just taunting the veiwer with the fact that they could be watching read more