Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Air Movie


Alternative Titles

English: Air: The Motion Picture
Synonyms: Gekijouban Air
Japanese: 劇場版AIR

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 5, 2005
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 1 hr. 31 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 28,072 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23632
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1752
Members: 50,805
Favorites: 120

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 13, 2008
KaminaKai (All reviews)
"A condensed love story with significant differences from its TV counterpart."

[Spoiler Warning]

Advice #1: Do NOT watch the movie right after finishing the TV series. It is very tempting to do so (for comparison) but you are bound to be disappointed if you do so (due to various reasons to be discussed below).

Advice #2: Forget what happened in the TV series about Kano and Minagi as they play no part in the movie so do not hope for much of their appearance in the movie. (same for PIKO PIKO!)

Advice #3: Do NOT view the movie as inferior to the TV series. You are comparing French to read more
Aug 4, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
**MINOR spoilers included.

Air the movie was a different story compared to the TV series, but both started and ended the same way. There were a lot of differences, such as Misuzu and Yukito’s relationship, as well as Kanna and Ryuuya’s relationship. In fact, the story focused more on these relationships, removing the story arcs of Kano, Michiru and Tohno. I guess they wanted to give more light to Kanna and Ryuuya’s story (which is a good decision)

As for Misuzu and Yukito, their relationship was more boyfriend-girlfriend, whereas in the series, they were more like brother and sister. Kanna and Ryuuya were much closer too, and read more
Dec 18, 2007
Maurox (All reviews)
Hmmm... It's actually my first time writing any kind of review, but I'll try my best...

First of All let me say I enjoyed original series. It was touching, it was interesting, had great art...

With that being said, I personally don't see much similarities between this movie and original. First: the animation. I just couldn't get used to new art, it kept bugging me through whole series. In Original series characters actually looked cute, while in this movie just freaky. Animation itself was OK though I think.

Then the characters... I'm sorry but the idea of making someone say "A", "definately A", and then without any real read more
Jan 4, 2008
anonimus91136 (All reviews)
Once again we witness another shot from Toei Animation at one of Key's works, first from Kanon, and now a movie based on the eroge Air. Is it on the same level as the acclaimed Kyoto Animation anime or does it hide in the shadows once again, overwhelmed by Kyoto's masterpiece?

To put it rather bluntly, yes, it does. The movie is not that bad itself, but it just can't keep up with the series. But upon analyzing as an individual, without any type of comparisons, we can see that there are many good points worth mentioning, which could potentially place this movie under the "good read more
Jan 13, 2015
MReyes96 (All reviews)
To start off, I watched the Air movie after the series. I wanted to compare them and see how good it was. This was not a mistake, since the movie and the series are quite different in many ways. Personally, I believe the movie is so much better, and it should be watched before or after the anime. This is why... (NOTE: Spoilers will be announced.)



Art: 9

Compared to the series, the art read more
May 17, 2009
OhJay (All reviews)
M y advice, forget about the series. It's basically telling the whole story diferently, and that's what makes it so much better than the series in my opinion. However the art seems drawn differently. It looks a but more lower qualiity then the anime did, and Yukito's hair looked purple on my screen. Now it might have been the quality of video I was watching it on, but that's what it looked like to me. Also the ending made me bawl my eyes out so bring tissues.
Dec 11, 2009
dafuzzbudd (All reviews)
This movie was bad. I got interested in Air by a random AMV I saw at Otakon and decided to seek out this anime. My thought process was that the movie would have a higher production value than the TV series; this was my mistake. I now know that they have different directors and that the TV series is regarded as being better.

Sorry about the rant, let's get to the movie review.

Animation: The first thing you notice is the slightly experimental visuals. Lots of sun glare and strange but effective uses of the background becoming the foreground. It read more
Jun 9, 2009
sailorlitakino (All reviews)
The movie of my favorite anime of all time, Air! I was severly disappointed with this and I will go into further detail in my review.

Story:
For the most part the story stayed true to the anime (which was the true story). This stayed with Yukito and Misuzu, and only had Kano and Minagi and Michiru as characters taht didnt even talk. They even turned Michiru into one of the children that watches the puppet show! WHAT THE HELL?!? Anyways. Very romantic. They focus more on romance :\ Hate it.

Art:
Sucks. Toei Animation failed epicly on this. Comapred to KyoAni's OUTSTANDING anime, this was just horrible.

Sound:
The opening read more
Aug 1, 2012
Wynter_Star (All reviews)
Since the AIR movie existed to condense the series into something a little less drawn out, and focused on Misuzu and Yukito’s relationship dominantly, I expected something to have superior quality to the original series. How wrong I was. Besides the tighter screenplay, this movie fails where it should have been strong: its technical aspects.

Animation :
This was my major problem with this film. Because Toei Animation decided to take on the project (the guys who made Digimon) instead of Kyoto Animation, the animation style has changed greatly, and for the worse. I’m not saying Toei Animation is a bad studio. They are capable of beautifully read more
Jul 6, 2009
ZetaiSabishii (All reviews)
Story - 3
I watched this movie twice, and I still don't get it. the plot is totaly poor, mixed up and has no conection to the anime.
Art - 5
The art of the anime was so good, so pretty, so cute. then came the movie. everything is suddenly so...not cute._.!!! the eyes looks really bad, Misuzu looks like twice Haruko's age, and wasn't Yukito bishie?
Sound - 6
nothing special, but I like some of the voice actors.
Characters - 1
I am not even going to start talking of how hopeless the characters became in this movie.
Enjoyment - 3
I guess only those who are obsessed about romance will read more
Oct 18, 2017
Springball64 (All reviews)
The Air Movie was interesting to watch. I will leave it up to viewers to decide whether or not to watch immediately after the TV series, as I did that. I will say that I enjoyed this less in most aspects, but more in some more.

Story: I greatly enjoyed the story of Air, and this was no different. I do believe that this solved the plothole issues that I had found in the TV series, and I found this one's plot to be less confusing. 10/10.

Art: I did not enjoy the art style used in this movie, and the scenes were less pretty, IN MY read more
Aug 7, 2014
_Yuuki (All reviews)
I have watched the movie not very long after I have finished the anime, while some say you shouldn't do that.
I kind of can agree with that because the story is almost changed completely.
The relationship between the two main characters become deeper and looks a bit similar to the relation between the lady with the wings and her guard.
There are things I don't like about what they changed, not only in the story but also about the art style.
For example they changed the way the eyes look, what I like, but some characters don't look the same anymore what is kind of a shame.
But I read more
Oct 6, 2015
BlueKojiro (All reviews)
I far prefer the movie version of Air to its tv counterpart, and I think the condensed format works better for the story that it's trying to tell. Comparisons aside, though, I think as a standalone movie Air is a very moving piece of tragedy that can really tug at the heartstrings from the way it sets up your expectations for a tragic ending and delivers on it in a timely manner.

The story is once again about a man on a mission to find some lady in the sky that his mom used to talk about, and he finds a strange girl in a seaside read more
Aug 21, 2010
Shiro- (All reviews)
Well...I watched the movie right after I finished the TV series...I can't say I'm disapointed...I actually am glad that I watched the movie too...It had some different twists at some parts...Like Ryuuya's love with Kanna [in the TV series it wasn't THAT serious and they never made sex lol >.< -],and Kanna was more funny and childish,in the movie she seemed more like a grown up, same thing with Misuzu and Yukito's love [I honestly don't remember in the TV series that these 2 kissed -] but to be honest I really loved this difference...The ending was sad too...I thought I will not cry because read more
Dec 17, 2009
AuronSurmount (All reviews)
If you are just finishing up with Air (TV) Series and are looking to see whether you want to watch the movie... I only have one thing to say to you...

Prepare for disappointment. The television series and that of the movie are completely different. They are about the same story and about the same people (for the most part) but unfold differently. But don't get me wrong the movie was good but not after you just watched the television series.

One thing I really noticed about this movie compared to the series is how powerful it was. What I mean is, The movie had some deep read more
Apr 15, 2009
__SoRaTaRd__ (All reviews)
this movie is one u can sit down on the sofa with your boyfriend and a tub of pop-corn
it will make you cry at the end but there are the odd funny moments with yukkito the main carecter
the story is simple so its easy 2 follow
air is a not so common anime but it should be on how high i would rate it
there is one thing to be carefull about tho. you have to watch the move before thanime or you wont really understand it.
i learnt that out the hard way
so watch this movie
Aug 8, 2011
NightmareRWolf (All reviews)
well, i didn't think i was going to be watching the air movie for quite some time but here i am with it completed and writing a review. i loved the anime air so i thought oh what the heck, lets see what the movie was like. so without further adieu, lets get on with the review. ^^

first off the story. overall, it gave me a feeling like it was a condensed, slightly changed version of the anime. it focuses more on misuzu's and kanna's story rather than any of the other characters (the other females like minagi and kano were not even in this read more