Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rec


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Rec
Japanese: レック

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 9
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 3, 2006 to Mar 31, 2006
Premiered: Winter 2006
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:55 (JST)
Producers: TBS
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 46,908 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1134
Members: 88,510
Favorites: 305

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2008
Tenchio (All reviews)
REC only spans ten episodes (counting the DVD special) and those episodes aren't even full-length, yet it manages to be more heartwarming and entertaining than many longer series. It isn't groundbreaking at all, but if you don't hate predictable romance anime, it is a perfect way to cheer you up when you're feeling a little down.

Onda Aka is a rookie voice actress who one day encounters the salary man Matsumaru Fumihiko, who's been stood up by his date, in front of the cinema. Long story short, Aka makes Matsumaru watch the movie together with her and the flames of love are ignited. Later the same read more
Aug 12, 2007
dnt (All reviews)
REC,

Story:
REC, incorporates real life problems with a warm feel. This story is basically life, while trying to understand your feelings with a cute spin here and there, but serious when it needs to be.

Art:
Art is good, borderline amazing.

Sound:
Soundtrack is good, character voices were cute, well portraying of the characters.

Character:
Character development is great, you end up liking the characters and somewhat can relate to their problems as time goes on.

Why did I like this anime?
It was pretty damn cute, read more
Jan 22, 2008
Kyte (All reviews)
Well, I watched REC, and I think that it was quite a good storyline, for a short series! 9 episodes, spanning 12 minutes each. It’s a shame there wasn’t more.

But hey, onto 1st my review!

I’ll split this into 5 secions, rating each section, then give an overall x/10 rating!

Story 8/10

I enjoyed the story, some good twists in it, and it was good ’slice of life’, in my opinion. I wish that there was more anime for this series. It was a good start to the series, and the ending was quite good also, a little more wouldn’t have gone a miss though!

Animation 9/10

I like the read more
Apr 7, 2015
OmegaPhoenix (All reviews)
There is nothing quite like sitting down to a nice down-to-earth anime. Sometimes those are are hard to find, yet here we are with Rec. It is the story about a guy and girl living under the same roof. Seems kind of cliche, until it actually gives a legit reason: her house burned down (sorry I saw the title and the burning house and immediately thought of mix tapes, I'm so ashamed). I know the length of the episodes seems intimidating, but it was not bad at all. I applaud the series for actually giving us something to enjoy while putting it in half the read more
May 4, 2014
Demi_V (All reviews)
What is a better day to post a review for Rec than Hollywood actress Audrey Hepburn’s 85th birthday? Audrey Hepburn was a huge inspiration for the show’s aspiring voice actress Aka, and the show embraced her movie titles and movie quotes in each episode.

I warn you that you may not like this show if you’re expecting a steamy hot romance. It's more about the development of a romance. Some people who watched Rec, including me, rated it with a very low score, because it’s incredibly boring at first viewing. However, Rec is different from most other romance anime and not as cliché. It reflects on read more
Sep 7, 2007
purplegold (All reviews)
Cute. Wish there were more. The character's were beautifully written, as was the plot. The relationship between the two main characers were perfect, as they explored the growth their personal and work lives.

The female Onda, Aka played the cute, happy, but vulnerable role quite well. At times you really wanted to strangle Matsumaru, Fumihiko ; who appears to be more crass than other sensitive male leading roles.

Perhaps it is truthfulness like this which mirrors real life; that adds to the beauty of this series. Now I"ll have to look to see if there are any Manga out for this.

(PS there is and it is read more
Jun 6, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Rec is a romantic comedy about an aspiring voice actress. The manga was written by Hanamizawa Q-Tarou in 2002 and is still ongoing. In 2006 it got a nine episode anime adaptation. I've never read the manga, but how does a long running series translate into nine twelve minute episodes? Let's take a look at Rec and find out.

The plot is very simple. A guy, Matsumaru, gets stood up for a movie date. As he's about to throw the tickets away he's approached by a girl, Aka, who tells him not to waste them. They go to the movies and then drinking together. After they read more
Nov 11, 2007
jansuke (All reviews)
Story:
The story of this anime is really unique... love between a seiyu and a business man (how messy can that be? LOL)
Ehem... well the series did a really GOOD JOB on making series, from what ive seen the series made me fall in love again! (most of my friends seconded on this one)

Art:
One of the series that really has amazing art... the theme look different when its sunrise (the shiny white theme were amazing)... and good artworks were viewed at ending (which really makes me watch more LOL)

Sound:
Opening was great... i was like "WOW that was really cute" every time the aka says Uwwww... read more
Apr 4, 2014
BadabumBadabicch (All reviews)
To be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this anime. The reason why I decided to watch it is just because it's from Shaft, thus I thought the artwork would be great with the unique Shaft style. My thoughts was wrong. (If you're not familiar with the word Shaft, it's an anime studio responsible for the unique artwork, gag, and cinematography of Bakemonogatari, Madoka Shoujo Madoka Magica, Nisekoi and much more)

The story is about an office guy, a salary man(Japanese white collar businessman) to be precise, who is living with a girl who dreamt on becoming a voice actress. Although living together and already did read more
Mar 17, 2014
Scragleton (All reviews)
Rec is an anime I did not have high hopes for, I figured since it was so short, it would be super rushed and not have a lot of backstory, although it was somewhat rushed at the beginning, I feel the progression worked very well. There are 10 episodes in total that are about 12 mins each, I enjoyed the length of this anime because it was short and to the point, and quite heartwarming. Definitely a must watch for you Romance lovers out there.

This story begins with Matsumaru waiting for his date at the movie theater, however, his date is a no-show, just when read more
Nov 27, 2013
Ataraxia-9 (All reviews)
wow............. this anime in my opinion is amazing but on to the review.

So the story is (if you read its summary) about a loser guy is lucky enough to get a cute voice actress to stay at his place because her house was burnt down which they don't give us a reason of why the fuck it was but anyways they just fast paced episode 1 to get on with the good stuff which guys I recommend watching cause its very dramatic in a sense that you would feel tears coming up when you see how the ups and down these two characters read more
Dec 8, 2018
KnicePerson (All reviews)
Rec is a short series that captivates the heart despite its nine 12-minute episodes. It does this by being centered on the conflict between our two protagonists. This conflict being whether or not they can continue living together since their professions are closely tied and foul rumors may spread among employees. I won't into too much depth about their conflict since it is what kept me interested in the series and what I highly recommend you pay close attention to should you watch this.

Story: 9
The story can best be described as a rom-com without the com but that isn't to say that the story isn't read more
Aug 23, 2017
TrashDax (All reviews)
Audrey Hepburn would turn around in her grave if she knew what work her name was attached to.

Story:
On the surface, Rec leads us to believe that we bear witness to the blooming of a young love and a boy and a girl overcoming the many obstacles in their way to be together. In reality, what we get to see is the formation of an abusive relationship that is presented as the ideal romance. I’m at loss for words how disgusting this is. Apparently, the author is either an utterly broken victim of this in real life, or (more likely) a terrible human being that you read more
Aug 25, 2016
Namiku (All reviews)
In spite of this series being fairly short, with length and episode duration, it manages to tell a better story than a lot of full length series. With Rec you really are not expecting anything amazing when you first notice it, but your voice of the series changes astonishingly fast. Really the series itself manages to grab you and keep you from the first episode right to the final scene.

I want to talk about the Art and Animation first off. It's incredible, strictly speaking from a low budget series. The animation is fluid, it flows together very well. The art work is simple, almost read more
Aug 12, 2009
shintai88 (All reviews)
I first stumbled on this anime when I was looking through a list of anime that had already been completely aired, and therefore found REC, I looked at the brief summary which said "A romantic comedy about a boy and a girl, one who is a marketer and the other a voice actor, due to a tragic iccident the girl had to stay with the boy at his apartment, as each day passed they began to develop a relationship."

This brief summary caught my attention, and therefore I decided to spare it some of my time, since they were only 12 minutes long, excluding the read more
Jul 30, 2017
FalseShepherd13 (All reviews)
Talk about one hell of a breath of fresh air! Rec is a surprisingly good romance anime between TWO ACTUAL ADULTS!

Rec is a really short, but sweet adaptation of a manga by the same name. At a measly 9 half-length episodes, Rec was able to firmly stand next to the likes of Toradora by being so different then whatns typical of anime romance.

Now when it comes to those differences, they are actually rather simple. Instead of teenagers in highschool whose entire lives seem to somehow revolve around their romantic relationship, we have two adults leading adult lives working two adult jobs. Did I mention they read more
Mar 28, 2016
SovietPsycho (All reviews)
Ima keep this review concise and nice just like this anime,

this anime accomplishes what most romance animes fail to do by the end of their series. At least most of them, and what I mean is that most romance animes don't give you the feeling of romance or a relationship, the hardships that come with a relationship, the feeling of being reunited after that setback, or the confusion that goes on in your head during that time.

These are all important aspects that can be used in romance animes. But in most romance animes, they instead have either fan service, the protagonist being thick headed, or read more
Jun 1, 2015
araphernalia (All reviews)
I'm a sucker for big age-gap animes so I came across Rec, a magnificent anime I never would've known it was. I researched about its plot and all, and considered it to be something I would really enjoy. After I saw the characters, I felt my hopes go down a bit, since it's a typical kind of anime style: with moe and all that crap. Although I only focused my attention on the girl and her moeness, and my negativity took over, this didn't hinder me from watching it. And I'm glad to have done that. Rec was such a great anime.

It wasn't that read more
Jul 12, 2010
Nintendoll (All reviews)
This series, while certainly cute an romantic, gets a lower score because at times it shows a totally disturbing view in the what might just be a cultural difference in relationships. The series is only 9 episodes (10 including the special) at 12 minutes each, and the relationship between Matsutaka and Aka seems somewhat schizophrenic.

Sometimes he is very kind and understanding towards Aka, and sometimes he is disturbingly sexually aggressive. Maybe in Japan that is to be expected since he is much older than her and they live together, but the lesson seems to be that Aka is wrong for not wanting to have read more
Sep 6, 2016
hana5963 (All reviews)
Rec is one of the shortest romance anime I have ever watched. This anime is more suited for adults as the relationship that develops is between two people in their mid-twenties.

Story: 7/10
Rec is about a guy named Fumihiko Matsumaru, a 26 year old man that works in the sales branch of a snack company. One day, he is stood up by the woman who he fell for. As he is about to throw away his tickets to the movie, he meets Aka Onda who is a voice actor in training. She tells him not to waste the tickets and ends up watching the movie with read more