Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin
Occult Academy
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Occult Academy
Synonyms: Zaidanhoujin Occult Designer Gakuin, Seikimatsu Occult Academy
Japanese: 世紀末オカルト学院

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2010 to Sep 28, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, MysteryMystery, ComedyComedy, SupernaturalSupernatural, SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.091 (scored by 3629836,298 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #32772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1348
Members: 84,749
Favorites: 190

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 9, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
One of the biggest problems with anime is that all too often what you're watching just doesn't hit the mark. There are a number of shows that have been great conceptually, but when it comes to execution they simply do not fulfill their potential. This could be due to the oversimplification of the plot, an uninteresting storyline, dull or overly stereotypical characters, or even just pure laziness on the part of the writers (or something else entirely). Whatever the case may be, there are far too many anime out there that simply do not cut the mustard because they don't do enough with what they read more
Sep 21, 2010
Benatron (All reviews)
You know when you have to find something and how it's the highest priority to do so? Well, Occult Academy for 13 episodes is looking for something, but it isn't the the highest priority. Time Traveler Fumiaki "Bunmei" and Prinicpal Kamashiro Maya are looking for the illusive "Nostradamus' Key" in order to prevent the world from ending in 1999.

Anime no Chikara is a project designed to create "original" anime series. Which, they have no problem in doing. The major fault of these series is that everything building up to the climax has little to nothing to do with the actual story. Taking example of Sora read more
Sep 14, 2010
foxgloves (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime has only gotten better as the story progresses. Don't judge it by the first few episodes.

Story-10
I love the plot. It's original, unpredictable, and always leaves me excited to see the next episode. This is the best anime of the season, in my opinion. Personally, I love to see the supernatural or occult in anime. This series shows the occult very well, and I really am enjoying it.

Art-10
The art is outstanding, I think. The animation is very smooth, and the style is nice. I it's original, and can be very dark, but also can be very bright and cleansing. I found the art in read more
Aug 3, 2010
TR_Purin (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review.

Even though (at this point) only 5 episodes have been aired, I still think that Occult Academy is one of the best animes of the season.

Story 8:
I don't really know what to say here. We don't know that much yet but from what I've seen it's pretty good so far.

Art 8:
I love the animation in this series. It's very smooth and I can't spot many mistakes. Character designs are simple but I still like them a lot. I also really like the art style. The opening is very well animated is very nice to look at.

Sound 8:
It's really hard for me read more
Nov 1, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
'Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin' (Turn of the Century Occult Academy) is the third and final installment of 'Anime no Chikara' (Power of Anime) Project by TV Tokyo and Aniplex, following 'Sora no Oto' and 'Senkou no Night Raid'.

Story: 5/10
As the title suggests, the setting is in an Occult Academy in 1999, a school notorious for study of the pseudoscience. Series of paranormal incidents have been observed in the academy in recent months, including the one where the dean was killed. Soon after the dean's daughter returns, a psychokinetic 'time agent' descends from the sky, and together, the duo seeks Nostradamus' Key, which supposedly was the cause read more
Aug 24, 2010
mastertek (All reviews)
Preliminary
About this show there are 2 things: 1. the main girl is hot (I love white one-piece) but 2. everything is RANDOM and UNIMPRESSIVE.

This show is a failed mix of supernatural, comedy, and slice of life, revolving an UN-CUTE (even though hot) girl Maya and a super-PATHETIC ex-esper time-traveling-by-force young man Bunmei (which literally means "modern") in their journey to search for the "Notradamus's key" to break the prophecy about the End Day in 2012 and solve the mystery behind the school principal's death.

The show is meant to explore occult mysteries which, in common knowledge, consist of objects, monsters, phenomena, and spells. A supporting character read more
Oct 21, 2010
djhot (All reviews)
Actually more of the people are way to far from getting the meaning of this anime. I'm not saying that is the best thing out there, but it's actually pretty good on his own way. Please, read everything, is worthily!

Let's start with some probable obviously things. Bunmei is coming from the summer of 2012, like we all know in the moment that I'm writing that this is the very famous "end of the world", on 21 December. And where is going Bunmei? In 1999, to stop the prophecy of Nostradamus for 21 July. Actually till now there was many endings of the world, but 1999 read more
Mar 12, 2011
TheSakurax (All reviews)
The problem with writing reviews is in the categorizing of the actual text being reviewed. In this case: supernatural, comedy, sci-fi, etc etc.

For an anime of its genre, I feel like Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin might have missed the mark in some respects. The premise is interesting of course, but what really made this anime special for me was the characters --specifically the mains.

Let's break this down shall we?

STORY: 6/10
I love the premise. It's interesting, engaging and has enough unique elements here and there to keep us relatively intrigued about what is to come. However, what really irks me is the overwhelming amount of content read more
Aug 21, 2010
ksanders (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: Pretty obvious from it's title - it's all about occult, or not really? At this point (episode 7) it tries to keep story steady, but it's more like drama with scars from past and trying to overcome them, with some occult elements that aren't impressive.

Art: Average in my opinion. Backgrounds are made well, but characters are somewhat plain and facial expressions can only show basic. Coloring is rather depressing with more darker tones that light.

Sound: OP isn't the kind I would like, it's like most of anime OP's wihout any thought on the anime it's used to. ED is good as standalone song and read more
Feb 24, 2015
thereisonlyone (All reviews)
Story = 2

-- Pretty much everyone has seen one of those "Let's investigate the school's seven mysteries episodes." This story is a combination of that and the movie Ghostbusters. Although, it combines them separately. It's as if two separate entities have been born within one anime.
-- An anime that turns into nothing more than the daily adventures of the ghost club was actually meant to be a well-thought out flow of events.
-- Imagine you watched a movie, now then, have a 12 year-old go back and fill in 4 and a half hours worth of screen time.
-- read more
Oct 15, 2011
mrghost_00 (All reviews)
Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin was one of the very first animes I watched in 2011. How did I noticed it? I typed 'Yoko Hikasa' on Google and this title immediately attracted my attention. Normally anyone would expect an anime series with such a cool title to have a plot that also lives up to its name...

STORY:
... But no.

The one lesson I learnt after completing this anime series was 'do not judge a book by its cover'. You have your academy which focuses on teaching its students all about the occult rather than normal textbook knowledge, interesting setting. You have your tsundere heroin and time-travelling esper read more
Jul 16, 2010
RiversArc (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin, aka: "Occult Academy", is fairly new, with only 2+ episodes aired. And because it is so new, I can't say I have much to base the storyline on. I gave it a "10", mostly to show my high hopes for it. Having said that, they managed to fill the void of two episodes with enough plot twists to drive me crazy (in a good way). And they managed to fit in a lot of background without having to resort to a narrated picture show that explains. Nope, instead, they did it the better way. Through hints and scenes and flashbacks; very entertaining. read more
Apr 19, 2013
Nabiz (All reviews)
I'll try to make this short and to the point.
It's fairly obvious that the writers bit off more than they could chew. The story has a great basis, and arguably too much potential to squish it into 13 episodes.
Despite this, I am largely of the opinion that, while they usually lack a singular plot-driving focus, the first ten episodes are QUITE enjoyable. The 'problem solving crew', while made up of your average cliches, makes for a good laugh, with exemplary facial expressions, and Maya, and sometimes Bunmei, find ways to make each episode interesting enough.

After that however, it becomes glaringly obvious, in my opinion, that read more
Jan 15, 2011
Adanadhel (All reviews)
I've finished watching a few animes in the last month and I must ask: What the hell is wrong with those script writers? It almost feels disrespectful towards the fans the way some endings are presented.

Among the over 150 animes I've watched the general feeling I got in 90% of the endings was "Lalala, it's so nice doing an anime! Oh, wait, we have to finish it! Just come up with anything and let's call it a day!"

Seriously! It's not that difficult doing an ending that goes along with the pace of the anime for pete's sake!

When it comes to Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin, it's read more
Apr 5, 2011
crayeg (All reviews)
This is my first Review and I am following the rules! I hope it goes well.

I felt compelled to write this review on the Occult Academy because, I thought that this show would have great potential. I expected action, mystery, supernatural occurrences, a little romance and even a little history ... blah blah blah ... I was so sadly mistaken.

My expectations as previously mentioned were mixed in but diluted. I honestly think the writers took a safe route. I guess I just wanted more because the potential is truly there.

The one thing I did like about this series is the artwork. read more
Dec 3, 2011
dgpl (All reviews)
Let's start off with the basics.
Art's on the cover, music's pretty mediocre, protagonists are slightly developed while everyone else is really shallow (but still hilarious).

NOW ABOUT THE STORY
The ending to an anime is usually either good or bad. This particular series is more of an in between, only because the ending didn't give enough of an ending. It's too subtle. The loose ends that should have been tied up nearly choked me to death. I was very confused and bothered. Time traveling in anime does that.

You could easily cut out the middle episodes, middle meaning 3 to 11. While there was some character development between read more
Nov 20, 2010
Mugen900 (All reviews)
How do I put it???????????????Ok so I guess the author of this anime kinda likes to keeps the audience guessing pertaining to the plot of the story, at first you'd think the antagonist or should I say the Nostradamus Key would be Chihiro Kawashima, but it turns out that she's on Maya's side as a Mage or White Witch who was entrusted by Maya's father to protect her, you would also tend to think that a lot of conflict would happen in the school, turns out that it was Mikaze (Bummei's supposed crush) all along who is responsible for mayhem around town where read more
Jul 10, 2011
pedropinilla (All reviews)
Hello.

Well, I have to be honest... I started watching this series because of the main female star, Kumashiro Maya, but after finished watching it, I'm glad that I did cause the overall feeling was a lot more than what I was expecting.

Very brief & no spoilers.

Story. You can say that is a nice one, and it's true that sometimes you get lost wondering... what the hell?... but all in all is a great experience and for me, the ending was quite nice too.

Art. I like it, not the best that I had seen but it's good, mantain the level from the beginning to the end.

Sound. read more
Sep 1, 2010
lilytenjouXP (All reviews)
WOW ok editing this... When i read over my review i just had to smack myself, literally. Reading what i wrote 2 years ago was just plain wrong, i was such a what? An anime lover? but i have come to judge more on that.

Story:
GOOD 7
Why? I really enjoyed the plot of this anime, different and sophisticated and fulfilled my joy in watching this anime all over. It wasn't over-powered by too much kind of shounen kind or shouji. But sometimes it might be too much to take in?! Not when you've already got a lot to take in from the 1st ep read more
Jun 11, 2016
nightcrawlercyp (All reviews)
A great show ruined by a idiotic ending. Why do people try to appear smarter than they are. A great person once said: Write about what you know. The moment you depart from this then all falls to shambles. This is what happens with this show with the ending of ep 12 and ep 13. I do not want to spoil anything but there is a plot twist so overused and dumb to start to that is pathetic to use it. There could have been at least 4 different endings to the anime that would have been ok, but no the writer wanted to read more