Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Senkou no Night Raid


Alternative Titles

English: Night Raid 1931
Japanese: 閃光のナイトレイド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2010 to Jun 29, 2010
Premiered: Spring 2010
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Aniplex
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.921 (scored by 9,688 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #40362
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2207
Members: 35,366
Favorites: 46

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2010
xxxholic_wing (All reviews)
With the series ended (but ongoing in North America), it's seems that Senkou no Night Raid (or Night Raid 1931 in English) is not just about Japanese spies with superpowers (a la Darker than Black). It's more than that since it goes deeper into pre-WWII history which also touches sensitive content (e.g.: Mukden Incident). In contrast to what most people claimed that it whitewashes history, it's not.

Story: 7

The six episodes are just tasters on who are the characters and what direction will the story be, considering its episodic formula. The rest of episodes...well, let's just say that where the real story is as the episodic read more
Nov 26, 2011
LightningHound (All reviews)
My first review of anime on MAL so here it goes.

Senkou no Night Raid is about the Sakurai Agency, a fictional organizations that leads covert missions with superhuman agents to carry out the interests of Imperial Japan.

Now why did I give this anime such a high rating? My reason is because I love Asian history and know a lot about it especially the late 1800 to the early 1900 era. With this in mind, I had a pretty good idea of what was going on in the story. It sounds smug and biased, but this anime does require a bit of background knowledge to read more
May 6, 2010
Nyron (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only four episodes in, so take it with a grain of salt.

Senko no Night Raid is potentially one of the better things so far this year. For those who're too busy watching Angel Beats and have no clue what this is, it's basically 1930's Chinese Ghost in the Shell.

The story follows that squad of four spies, their wily leader and his lanky assistant. Aside from the old man leader, they all have superpowers. The hotblooded main guy has telekinesis which he revels in spamming, his associate is a cool-headed teleporter who dislikes his powers, their girlfriend is a scrying telepath and her bodyguard's got eagle read more
Dec 8, 2015
Minster122 (All reviews)
Senkou Night Raid is a nice historical anime that centers on the time period between the two World Wars. The chosen time period is somewhat rare for animes since Japan did a lot of questionable stuff during this time period and actually still try to hide it today. It's definitely nice to check out since it tries to depict what happened during the time in Manchuria after the Russo-Japanese War.

Also adds a nice twist by adding ESPers to the time period, making them superpower spies. It's actually kind of vague as to what side they're on, but it gets a little clearer overtime. Adding psychic read more
Oct 2, 2013
longlivelink (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm warning anyone who's considering watching this anime to stay away now! I've seen some pretty pretty shitty anime in my time, but this series takes the cake~!
True, I tend to stay away from anime I think I won't like or have good reason to dislike (i.e. Naruto, One Piece, Girls Bravo, etc), but this anime lures you in with a good concept and short plot and fails to deliver!
You expect some solid action, conspiracy, slices of the WWII time, but what you instead get is some micro-managed story that tries to get the audience to identify and emotionally-attach themselves to the characters. But it read more
Jan 2, 2012
igotme0 (All reviews)
I finished this anime recently. To be honest, I was kinda lost and try to follow the storyline but in the middle I catch up. The art and character style is good (one of the reason why I watch it). Ending was ok, so overall Senkou no Night Raid is fair.
Nov 27, 2011
zillion29 (All reviews)
I had no preconceived notions going into this series. It was a random Netflix stream and I had never heard of the series. I was hooked from the beginning - a rarely explored historical setting, jaw-dropping fight choreography, high quality animation, serious plot but not overbearing - it was great. We're so jaded as otaku into expecting the usual WWII whitewash from Japanese mass media - but it reads pretty true to events (aside from psychic powers and the narrative conceit of the Japanese mysteriously inventing a protypical A-Bomb). Unfortunately, the crazy choreography read more
Jun 6, 2017
Lambda_Delta (All reviews)
Art (5/10):
It’s pretty average as far as Chinese cartoons go: nothing really stands out and nothing looks that bad either.

Sound (7/10):
The OST fits well. The opening and ending themes are also nice. The Indian caricature who had a white voice actor and the British dude who had an American voice actor was a nice meme. Although the guy who portrayed the Indian dude was far more skilled in expressing his emotions convincingly.

Plot (3/10):
It’s like Darker than Black. Except in China. In the 1930s. Look, it’s pretty interesting actually. But, some of the events do feel a bit wonky. You'll know what I mean when you read more
Mar 22, 2013
chalupahoopla (All reviews)
I don't usually write reviews, but I thought I would for this anime. It first caught my eye on Netflix and I'm glad it did. Like the other reviews say, if you are interested in history, especially early 20th century history, this is the anime for you. However, my only major qualm with the show is that towards the end, the characters and the plot become a little shaky. Nevertheless, I would even just watch this anime for the animation and the soundtrack alone (goodness, the soundtrack is amazing, it's kind of a mix between Legend of Korra and jazz). And if you enjoy a read more