Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tenchi Muyou!


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Tenchi Universe TV, Tenchi Muyo!
Japanese: 天地無用!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 1995 to Sep 24, 1995
Premiered: Spring 1995
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TV Tokyo, Pioneer LDC
Studios: AIC
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.511 (scored by 25,106 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1738
Members: 53,362
Favorites: 531

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 27, 2010
valce (All reviews)
Tenchi Universe is a spin-off to Tenchi Muyo! Ryo-Ohki. Like its inspiration, the series remains a harem comedy, following the tangled life of Tenchi Masaki and his extraterrestrial visitors.

The story is similar to the first series: progressive events cause an assemblage of characters, mishaps create subplots, a threatening antagonist later appears and the group pits to stop them. The artwork is less shaded and the animation isn't as fluid but it all still looks good. Audio is backed with a library of different music, spot-on sound effects and believably acted voices. Bolder content, like nudity, swearing and sexual references, is a lot more minimal.

One of read more
Apr 23, 2008
AoiMemori (All reviews)
After following the first 12 episodes of the Tenchi series, what else is there to do? Watch more Tenchi! Although the Universe concentrates on tons of side-stories about enemies, crazy scientist (i.e. Washu), cabbit romances, overthrowing a kingdom (you know, the general line), it is a good fill of episodes until you get to the "in space" storyline in which you are truly set into the "we've got to get Jurai back" storyline. It has it's great comedic moments, it's tearjerker moments (a certain "death" near the end of the series is a killer...) and the ever happy ending is great. Although I personally read more
Sep 29, 2015
FenrisMarine (All reviews)
No need for a review!

Especially given that everyone and their dog's probably seen Tenchi Muyo (Universe/TV aka the one who's page you're on). I'm also an unashamed fan. It's not a stretch to say that Tenchi is what got me into anime along with Outlaw Star on the legendary Toonami block a few yonks and a half back now.

Tenchi isn't just a harem anime. It's not going too far in my mind to say it is THE harem anime. A fantastic rom-com with some well placed scifi action and a nice bit of world building here and there, Tenchi has managed to create a read more
Oct 6, 2016
Plucky-San (All reviews)
What can you say? It's a mid-90's harem anime featuring your standard average Joe as the main protagonist.

So this is kind of hard to review since the nostalgia factor is really strong with this one. I can remember watching this as a kid and I couldn't WAIT for the next episode to come on. If we had DVD sets like we do now, I would have pooped my pants. That's why it will be difficult to be objective about the anime, it's one that I have so many fond memories of watching that the rose-tinted glasses are firmly welded to my face. I'll do read more
Jun 28, 2019
SeekingWaylander (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tenchi Muyou Universe is basically an alternate universe of Tenchi Muyou Ryououki. And that's it.

All the characters are different, and the story is a different in certain keypoints, but somehow the core of the Tenchi, still remains. The characters even though now they have a different origin, their story still stays the same. Same but different but still the same.

The art changes a little bit. It is not really the same, there are minor differences between outfits, and probably as a whole general there are others key differences. The animation is exceptional.

The sound and the music are exceptional. There are some slight read more
Jun 9, 2019
LostNomad4471 (All reviews)
First, I know there are a lot of people who have nostalgia for this anime (since it was one of the first anime shown on Toonami in America), but, to clarify, I'm a first time viewer thus have no nostalgia.

9/10

My two favorite characters would have to be Mihoshi and Kiyone. Seriously, these two characters are so funny that I would love it if they got their own spin-off show. What makes them so funny is they have completely opposite personalities; Mihoshi is a clumsy airhead and Kiyone is a hard working career woman who constantly has to clean up after the mess Mihoshi makes. read more
Jan 21, 2010
Flayer6669 (All reviews)
Quite a dramatic difference from the Ryo-ohki ova's. they seem to have added more silliness to the story and changed the characters backgrounds completely, and did a total overhaul on washu's personality. She is no longer the deep, calm, and collected person she was in the originals. instead she has become more of a mad scientist with a rediculous ego. though the new storyline is still quite good, the added sillyness and lack of character depth definitly let me down a little bit. but still a good watch.
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
A classic of anime and the first of the harem genre, Tenchi Muyo has a lot going for it: great balance of sci-fi and comedy elements, a delightful cast of characters, and a potential for good romantic development on the part of Tenchi and the two main love interests. There are problems with Tenchi though, and they detract some from the experience. For the sake of not being an idiot, I’m not going to include the horrible dub in my overall score but I will talk about it. So don’t think Tenchi’s getting the score it is getting because of the dub. It has a read more
Sep 28, 2015
lusyoliveira (All reviews)
I've lost count of how many times I watch Tenchi Muyo, but I never get tired of watching! Tenchi Muyo is a classic tale of romance, and the high point of the series are the scenes of humor protagonized by the frequent fights between Aêka and Ryoko, competing for the love of Tenchi.
At first, the story introduze each character, and begins to create the link between the girls and Tenchi. However, this seemed to be just preparing the viewer for the main focus of the story, the events on the planet Jurai due to the appearance of legendary warrior Yosho, who had disappeared a long read more
Apr 2, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
Tenchi Universe is a 26 episode series loosely based off of the original OVA Tenchi series, very loosely. It was directed by Hiroshi Negishi (relatively unknown) and produced by the ever pandering company that is Anime International Corporation (AIC). As a big fan of the OVA series, of course the tv series had much to live up to.

Compared to the entrancing beginning that the OVA had or anything else for that matter, the TV series is mostly just filler side-story nonsense focusing around the strange group of women that end up surrounding the main character Tenchi. Sure, the harem is in full swing, but the read more