Kara no Kyoukai 8: Shuushou
the Garden of sinners Chapter 8: The Final Chapter
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: the Garden of sinners Chapter 8: The Final Chapter
Synonyms: Kara no Kyoukai: Epilogue, The Garden of Sinners Epilogue, The Garden of Sinners: the Garden of Sinners
Japanese: 劇場版 空の境界 the Garden of sinners 終章

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 2, 2011
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: ufotable
Source: Light novel
Genres: MysteryMystery
Duration: 33 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.231 (scored by 3836538,365 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #26682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1475
Members: 74,999
Favorites: 134

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 6, 2011
Archaeon (All reviews)
Kara no Kyoukai review Part 8

Finding a way to end a story can be a little tricky if the tale in question has no "natural" conclusion, and in cases like those there is a tendency towards overemphasizing key events in the plot or particular moments of character development through the use of flashbacks or the ubiquitous clip show before the big finale. There is a problem with this method though, as while it can be effective in the right sort of setting, it also has the potential to ruin a perfectly good narrative. That said, the last hurrah of the Kara no Kyoukai franchise is read more
Sep 7, 2011
winnett (All reviews)
What was the point of this Epilogue? Lets toss around a few scenes of characters standing in the rain on a roadside and listen to one of them talk for a half hour about deep deep things (tm) like PHILOSOPHY and EXISTENCE and WHO ONE IS.

I really really wonder why this episode was rated so high. Maybe people were afraid that if they didn't rate such DEEP THOUGHTS high, others would find them dull.

DEEP THOUGHT equals not enjoyable anime.

DEEP THOUGHTS + PLOT can equal enjoyable anime.

Plot, plot, where are you?
Apr 12, 2011
Cheating (All reviews)
Oh boy. So I watched this a while ago, so I may have forgotten a bit about what happened in terms of story... er... well, I think, anyhow.

Story: 1

Yeah so, there's not actually any story in this. I know, sue me, but there's storytelling in the dialogue, should you be inclined to follow it. I'll warn you though, it's deeper than the subsonic frequencies produced in the Mariana Trench while watching Boku no Pico. It's harder to follow than a blind and deaf man in a pitch-black labyrinth while drunk, dizzy, and inexplicably blindfolded. Or maybe I'm just not smart enough to figure it out. read more
Aug 23, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
This is the epilogue of the KnK series
30 minutes of wrap up. That's pretty much it.


[Story]: (5/10)
The KnK epilogue now takes place 1 month after the events of the 7th movie. While Mikiya is walking, he saw "Shiki Ryougi" standing at the exact same spot where they first met about 4 years ago.
If you were expecting something great to happen then don't. This is literally 30 minutes of Shiki and Mikiya having a conversation. What's the conversation about? It's about Shiki's dual personality and the "Shiki Ryougi" that he's seeing is not Shiki or SHIKI. Notice the quotation marks, the name Shiki with read more
Nov 23, 2011
Lucena (All reviews)
The Kara no Kyoukai anime film series may have ended nearly two years ago, but for some, the story was not quite over yet. People who were lucky enough to get their hands on the Blu-Ray box set of the series were not only treated to the seven films in crisp HD, but also received a new, never-before-seen "epilogue chapter" as an added bonus. The chapter is one that many fans of the original novels had hoped to see animated, and once they heard that their wish came true, they rejoiced with great anticipation. Not long ago, I've decided to revisit this mysterious world for read more
Apr 22, 2012
Last_Chevalier (All reviews)
So here’s the thing, if you watched all 7 movies of Kara no Kyoukai , you’re going to watch this epilogue regardless of what I say, so I’m not going to talk anyone out of seeing it. But I would if I could. The thing is, it doesn’t add as much to the story as it could have, and actually ended up leaving me confused and irritated.

So what exactly is wrong with this epilogue?

Where to begin...
The epilogue is meant to expand on some of the ‘behind the scenes’ goings ons in Shiki’s head. It’s basically supposed to clarify the how’s and why’s of her multiple read more
Apr 8, 2016
de_pression (All reviews)
When I first read the synopsis I thought to myself "wow they did a lazy job with that", well I apologize because that is literally all that happens.

This is 30+ minutes of pure dialogue, I am a fan of dialogue don't get me wrong, but this was bad, slowly paced dialogue. The whole "split personality" element was a feature of this series that I never particularly liked, so 30 minutes of talking about it was certainly not entertaining for me.

The art is fantastic, for the first few minutes, then it's repetitive, yes the snow is beautiful and yes the characters look amazing, but so what, read more
Aug 6, 2012
DevLog (All reviews)
Archaeon and Lucena have both written very explicative summaries of this series epilogue, and so I'm not going to focus on ideas that they've already covered. Having watched the entire Kara no Kyoukai series, including the special, over a span of a few days, I found that the epilogue both answered some questions I had, and posed a few more. This style of giving moderate definition to events and history, but not all, has been present since the beginning of the series; I would not see this as a reason to rate it with a poor score, however. For all the complexity of characters, read more
Jun 15, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
So remember when a few months ago I reviewed a bunch of the Kara No Kyoukai movies? Yeah, I kinda forgot to review a bunch of stuff, mostly because I just kinda forgot to watch or rewatch them. But I finally got around to doing so, and I see no better place to start than where I left off. Released two years after the seventh movie, it’s an adaptation of the Light Novel’s epilogue chapter (Duh). So, how is it? Well… it’s different.

This is by far the most talk heavy of all the movies; the whole thing is just Mikiya and Void Shiki talking for read more
Jul 6, 2015
znyggisen (All reviews)
If the show would have been better if the epilogue (or any episode/movie for that matter) didn't exist than you have clearly done something wrong.

The 7 movies don't necessarily explain EVERYTHING, but they explain enough to the point where I felt very happy and satisfied with the ending and story that I got.
This one just decides to step its foot where it doesn't belong and stir up sh*t to explain things. Unfortunately, the explanation that I got (to questions that I didn't have to begin with) made the story WORSE... I think the same goes for one part in the main 7 movies as well, read more
Jun 14, 2013
Arete7 (All reviews)
Oddly enough, i think this epilogue would have been better has a prologue, especially how this movie series handles it's timeline. I accidentally watched this part first of the entire series and enjoyed it alot more then when i watched it last in order. However this might be because i was already familiar with the character Shiki before even watching the movies. Eitherway i like the mysterious fill and vibe of this episode so 8.