Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Canvas 2: Niji-iro no Sketch


Alternative Titles

English: Canvas 2: Rainbow Colored Sketch
Japanese: Canvas2 ~虹色のスケッチ~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2005 to Mar 26, 2006
Premiered: Fall 2005
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: DAX Production
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.831 (scored by 9,716 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #44472
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2930
Members: 22,855
Favorites: 47

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 29, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Surprisingly Entertaining

I didn’t really like harem anime series, but I actually liked Canvas 2. In fact, I think I looked forward to watching it. That’s really surprising, because normally I would avoid series that had ero-game written all over it. It was really interesting to see how Hiroki, the main character, would interact with the girls in his life, a lot of them under-aged, I might add.

Like your usual harem anime, Canvas 2 had ecchi scenes complete with unnecessary shower scenes and panty shots, and I can’t believe I’m saying this but I didn’t mind it at all. As a read more
Mar 31, 2008
rainbow_heart (All reviews)
First of all, this is the first harem anime that I watched that I liked so much that got me into making a review for it.

Story:
The story is quite nice and somehow unpredictable. If you've watched Da Capo, it resembles most of it. But the way the story is presented, and the story itself, has a unique touch to it.
Even though it's harem (I don't like harem animes anyway) this is entertaining to the point that I really watched 11 episodes in one sitting and I never included this anime in my Dropped list. I gave the story a 9 because I enjoyed it so read more
Jun 12, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
In the year of 2005 the japanese animation production companies made quite a few animes, one of them is called Canvas 2. Why it is called Canvas 2 is probably because it's based on Canvas ~Motif Of Sepia~ (an OVA which I suppose was originally planned to be hentai, but they were feeling extra original and didn't make a hentai, instead they made the masterpiece that is known as Canvas ~Motif Of Sepia~, do not be fooled, I was being sarcastic), but it's not really a sequel. I guess they thought it was witty to add the 2 even though it's not an actual sequel. read more
Feb 24, 2008
loplop (All reviews)
Canvas 2 is a show that is not made enough in anime these days, a slice of life in the Modern day. It could have been set just as easily in New York or Chicago as it was in Tokyo and told its story. Having played the Bishoujo game that it was based on about a year or so before the series started in the fall of 2005, I was rather happy to see that the series was executed very well. That does not always happen with shows made from games(Think Shuffle!). Many people dismissed this series quickly as a harem show, but there were read more
Apr 13, 2014
Hime-In-A-Box (All reviews)
Canvas 2 was definitely an unexpected series. Despite what the other reviews say, this show doesn't feel like a harem whatsoever. In fact, it's more of a love triangle. Take note that just because a show involves a male character hanging out and talking with a fairly big group of girls, doesn't mean it's a harem.
I have literally one issue with this series. What's the issue, you ask? Well, I'll tell you; The ending. I'm a person who values the path along the way to the ending the most, but you can't disagree that an ending to a series can affect your view on read more
Oct 28, 2008
patient_senses (All reviews)
A harem is a harem and Canvas 2 is definitely a harem.

Story: The story takes the route that every harem takes. One boy in a sea of girls who may or may not be interested in them. In this case, he or hs sister help them to accomplish their dreams through their high ranking academic school. Each girl has a different talent and a reason for why they're held back from reaching their tre potential. As do the two heroines of this story.

Art: I found the art well below average from what I usually watch. It's nowhere near intolerable to watch (little blabs), but I read more
Jun 10, 2009
Eastiling (All reviews)
From the start I enjoyed this anime, as it progressed upto the point where the two characters I liked were about to get togeather... then the author had a spasm of guilt and went in some horrible japanease fashion and paired him off with the one I hated instead.

I was soooo behind one character trhoughout the series and then the author just crushed my hopes flat.

I was a nice tale, drawn very well and story was quite nice. Which is why I didnt just crash the scores on the ratings. If you enjoy the ending then it is just that we have a difference of read more
Oct 23, 2018
KoutafromFB (All reviews)
So, I've read the Visual Novel before watching the anime and this review will be based on my knowledge of the game.

The soundtrack of the show is really bad at times, which is a shame because the VN has some good songs to it. While the art style is bad at times and could use a few more in between to check on it, it doesn't really take away the enjoyment.

If you haven't read the synopsis yet, I highly recommend that you do. The main character who lost his dream of becoming an artist is the main aspect of the show that I liked and read more
Jul 8, 2008
DarkAssassin31 (All reviews)
For those who liked Da Capo and other 'slice-of-life'/romance animes, this one's for you.

[Story]
I was suprised at how good the story was. It had many complications. Some were solved almost immediately, but others were evident at the beginning of the anime but were finished off at the end. It was mainly the relationship between Elis and Hiroki that gave this anime steam. The Kiri and Hiroki relationship was just a plot device to further boost the Elis-Hiroki relationship, this was a little bit disappointing as you begin to pity Kiri who got ditched on a number of occassions. A very good storyline that i could read more
Nov 2, 2009
Saintly (All reviews)
Canvas 2 is like a harem burger - it has two really good soft, warm buns, but the middle, the meat, is kind of gray and unappealing. If that simile didn't give you a good summary of the story, I don't blame you; read on for the full review.

***REVIEW MIGHT CONTAIN SPOILERS***

Story: 8
Somehow I've picked up and watched two "incestuous" harems in a row. Not all bad, I might say. So this might put a little bias spin on this review of the story because I've seen the same thing two times previous, but this one is by far the best and most compelling.
The read more
Oct 11, 2009
triseke (All reviews)
I stumbled across this anime purely by chance, and i must admit i was pleasantly surprised. The story has a nice continuity with almost no filler. Its one storyline that continues right up until the end.
The characters are all likable, which is something ive never really seen before. I have never liked all characters in anime before, but in Canvas 2. they all play their own part and are really well put together.
Im not going to write a synopsis because that's what the paragraph on the top of the page is for. But if you like nice, light stories, with not too much read more
Feb 6, 2010
verayo (All reviews)
Being related to a poor OVA of the same name, Canvas 2 surprisingly had good content. The title and cover would make people think that it's just a typical harem anime with a whatever plot and tiresome service, but it isn't like that at all. It has good story material, serious drama, and good humour. Canvas 2 is unexpectedly enjoyable.

The story, unlike what you would expect from the cover and the OP, is not about a harem. If you look in the information section, you will see that harem is not part of the genre, that is because the story is mainly about an art read more
Nov 3, 2009
Vashti (All reviews)
this anime can be describable in one word... SHOCKING

you know watching every episode builds up the tense and romance between the relationship of each and every characters especially the protagonists hiroki and elis... every episode not only the protagonist's personality but as well as the deuteragonists and the supporting casts... you wouldn't know WHO will end up with WHOM... and also they did a great job hiding hiroki's true feelings...eventhough i find it a little bit of incest it kinda gave me an impression that hiroki and elis aren't just siblings... they give off an aura of lovers rather than relatives...
Dec 3, 2012
Twp (All reviews)
Characters: (7/10)

The characters personality of this series are easy to find in other anime's that you may have watched. Most include comedy, these characters are hilarious and funny to watch as they all grow closer to each other!

Art (8/10)

The art is one of the biggest things that i loved about this anime. It was clean, that is one of the biggest things in anime that makes me want to watch more of it. Not to mention this anime is about art, the artwork the was "drawn" had an amazing presence.

Story (9/10)

I loved the story, i read more
Aug 19, 2011
Appleveedub (All reviews)
First and foremost, this is my very first review of an anime, I'm looking forward to opinions and such.

Story: 7/10
The story in it's own is really good, but at some moments it gave me a WTF feeling. But it does have a unique story up until the the end where it goes completely cliché.
I am a big fan of harem, and as some people know, harem usually doesn't have very plot. I gave this an 8 at first, but as the story went on, It went down for me.

Art: 7/10
The art is nice, but it looks more common around now a days.

Sound: 6/10
I can't read more
Jun 25, 2012
yogotah (All reviews)
This has spoilers, so read in your own caution:

I have been very hesitant to do a review on this show. I saw this show about a month ago, and it left a mark. This is my first review for any anime so you can guess it left a pretty big impression on me, enough to do this.

To me and I think a lot of people who has seen this will agree. The ending of the show determines whether this is a masterpiece of a fail. I don't think it has a middle ground, not after the ending that it chose. It could have gone like read more