Kyuuketsuhime Miyu (TV)


Vampire Princess Miyu

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Vampire Princess Miyu
Synonyms: Kyuuketsuki Miyu TV, Vampire Princess Miyu (1997)
Japanese: 吸血姫美夕

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 1997 to Mar 30, 1998
Premiered: Fall 1997
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:15 (JST)
Producers: Studio Jack
Licensors: Tokyopop, Maiden Japan
Studios: AIC
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, HorrorHorror, DemonsDemons, DramaDrama, VampireVampire, ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.141 (scored by 96389,638 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #30622
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2942
Members: 32,761
Favorites: 188
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 18, 2007
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
This is the longer 26 episode TV series chronicling the adventures of Vampire Princess Miyu, the Guardian whose destiny it is to banish stray shinma (demons, shapeshifters, vampires etc.) back to the darkness from whence they originated. She is accompanied by Larva (a European shinma) and a rabbit whose right eye can actually "see" supernatural things, in Dungeons and Dragon they called this "true seeing".

The series because it's longer has different strengths and weaknesses compared to the OVA.

The first 10+ (too many) episodes follow the formula of
1. Miyu + classmates and how their relationships begin/grow
2. Some shinma appears
3. bad things happen
4. Miyu and Larva defeat read more
May 27, 2009
oOoOoOo (All reviews)
While the title character's eternal task of hunting stray demons lends itself to a "monster of the week" structure at first, Vampire Hunter Miyu reveals itself to be a fascinating character study. The teasing glimpses into Miyu's heart and past are fully satisfying in the final few episodes, making the anime far more rewarding than the mundane (though equally pretty) OVA. While I would have appreciated less of the episodic approach, it does give a feel for the "daily grind" of hunting creatures of the night that prey upon the weaknesses found in humankind. The high school sequences are lighthearted, but retain read more
Nov 2, 2011
saambiguous (All reviews)
Vampire Princess Miyu is one of those dark Anime that is unique because it leaves you feeling haunted. This anime has always stuck to me as one of the anime you can never forget. It is not one of those sugary anime and not every one gets a happy ending. Each episode are mainly stand alone and contained but do give a bit of a character development between the main characters Miyu and Larva.

Miyu and Larva are such an interesting couple and you are drawn into their complex and compelling relationship. Miyu is not your typical herione, sometimes you don't know what side she is read more
Jan 30, 2014
Lailament (All reviews)
This is a show that has an interesting and long history with me. I originally watched this show when I was in middle school towards the beginning of my anime obsession. This was back when I was unfamiliar with the medium, when the internet was still a baby, and I harbored an unhealthy obsession with vampires (pre-Twilight, of course). I was finding less-than-awesome shows such as Helsing, Trinity Blood, and Nightwalker to feed my lust for bloodsucking sexiness. This is when I watched the first few episodes of Vampire Princess Miyu. I rented the first two volumes from Blockbuster (already dating this story) and watched read more
Dec 24, 2020
Recynon (All reviews)
This show might be better than Kino's Journey, Mononoke, and Mushishi.

Or I don't know, it could be a 5.

It all depends on how you read it. I read it as more Twilight Zone than Twilight, embracing its nature as an anthology series. All the shows I mentioned are episodic and yet are held in high regard, so even though every review of this show bashes it for being too episodic, being episodic in itself is not the problem. The question is, how well does it play to its type by using its episodic nature and supernatural elements to explore the darker parts of read more
Nov 20, 2018
MKSTEEL (All reviews)
A fantastic extension of the Miyu animation that built upon the previous success of the popular OVA series. With the addition of schoolmate characters that were more fleshed out than the background characters briefly shown in the OVA and the incredibly interesting Miyu foil in the Ice Demoness, the Shinma-Hunting Reiha, and her crusty companion, the Living Doll Matsukaze. Featuring highlights like a two-parter that looks into Western Shinma/Larva's past and some interesting twists and reveals in the final 4 or 5 episodes, the series excels upon adapting more of the Miyu Manga story which the short OVA had less space to adapt the manga read more
Oct 23, 2019
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've talked about the vampiric Princess, Miyu, once before. About seven years ago. Like the OVA, this is from AIC. The same studio that brought us Blue Gender, Night Walker, & Bubblegum Crash to name a few. This series came out almost a decade after the OVA since that was late 80s and this was late 90s. But the important question is, does it maintain the same level of quality?

Story:

The narrative follows the same basic premise as the OVA. There are supernatural beasts called Shinma that feed off of humans. Fighting against these monsters is the Guardian, Miyu who uses her flames to send stray read more
Jun 6, 2020
TheFireNinja (All reviews)
Before I begin this review, I just want you to be aware that it contains some spoilers. Vampire Princess Miyu was an anime that I happened to come across during the time I was watching Funimation in middle school. Looking back, I wouldn't say that this show was appropriate for someone of my age at the time. Granted that the show has a horror element and the show revolves around a female vampire hunting demons, I can't say that those were the reasons to why I didn't think it was appropriate. The show has some dark elements that I don't think would be suited for read more
Nov 26, 2012
BunnyBake (All reviews)
One of my personal favourites, I was lent the first few episodes a long time ago and was forever drawn into anime from then on.
Even though it's pretty dated now, i think it's classic more than anything, the art is elegant and sweet, while dark where appropriate.
The story is not for everyone, although most of the early stand alone type episodes are easy to watch, but the final few episodes can be pretty devastating, in an excellent story telling sort of way.
If you like watching people be destroyed emotionally and physically in a real world type setting by the supernatural read more
Jan 24, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Quite the mixed bag of a reboot for Vampire Princess Miyu. Many episodes of this TV take on Miyu are "Shinma of the day" setups where a random Shinma is manipulating a different human, Miyu senses its activity, she and Larva confront it and in many instances, tragic developments befall the Shinma's human victim. The Shinma cases for the TV anime are more on the dramatic side compared to the suspenseful horror of the 80s OVA adaptation. The setting and characters here also have their noticeable differences with Miyu being more reserved in personality and taking the guise of a middle school student, Larva being read more
Mar 26, 2010
robwar (All reviews)
Vampire princess miyu could hav been much better in my oppinion.
I liked some of the characters and it could have been a bit shorter becouse when you get a bit out in the series it feels like it drags it out too much.
The story is ok but as i said they drag it out a bit and it's no real progress in it. It is more like a new story in each episode and some plot in it at some places. The art are good enough and sound not too bad. It focuses on this 2 main characters who is hunting down shiinma (some read more
Jan 4, 2021
AzizA93 (All reviews)
What a deep and clever series this is. I know it gets formulaic and sketchy sometimes throughout, as many TV anime do, but the core and most importantly the emotions are of so great a pull, you just can't pass by it in my opinion. Also, it has that Japanese signature mood of gentle sadness, if that makes any kind of sense. But the way this is structured is worthy of praise, even if it was done on a completely intuitive level.

So many elements and details I like are present, it's just so innately Yamato-damashii, done in an eclectic way. I can understand if many read more