Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kyuuketsuhime Miyu (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Vampire Princess Miyu
Synonyms: Kyuuketsuki Miyu TV, Vampire Princess Miyu (1997)
Japanese: 吸血姫美夕

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 1997 to Mar 30, 1998
Premiered: Fall 1997
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:15 (JST)
Producers: Studio Jack
Licensors: Tokyopop, Maiden Japan
Studios: AIC
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.201 (scored by 8,701 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2615
Members: 28,351
Favorites: 173

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 18, 2007
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
This is the longer 26 episode TV series chronicling the adventures of Vampire Princess Miyu, the Guardian whose destiny it is to banish stray shinma (demons, shapeshifters, vampires etc.) back to the darkness from whence they originated. She is accompanied by Larva (a European shinma) and a rabbit whose right eye can actually "see" supernatural things, in Dungeons and Dragon they called this "true seeing".

The series because it's longer has different strengths and weaknesses compared to the OVA.

The first 10+ (too many) episodes follow the formula of
1. Miyu + classmates and how their relationships begin/grow
2. Some shinma appears
3. bad things happen
4. Miyu and Larva defeat read more
May 27, 2009
oOoOoOo (All reviews)
While the title character's eternal task of hunting stray demons lends itself to a "monster of the week" structure at first, Vampire Hunter Miyu reveals itself to be a fascinating character study. The teasing glimpses into Miyu's heart and past are fully satisfying in the final few episodes, making the anime far more rewarding than the mundane (though equally pretty) OVA. While I would have appreciated less of the episodic approach, it does give a feel for the "daily grind" of hunting creatures of the night that prey upon the weaknesses found in humankind. The high school sequences are lighthearted, but retain read more
Nov 2, 2011
saambiguous (All reviews)
Vampire Princess Miyu is one of those dark Anime that is unique because it leaves you feeling haunted. This anime has always stuck to me as one of the anime you can never forget. It is not one of those sugary anime and not every one gets a happy ending. Each episode are mainly stand alone and contained but do give a bit of a character development between the main characters Miyu and Larva.

Miyu and Larva are such an interesting couple and you are drawn into their complex and compelling relationship. Miyu is not your typical herione, sometimes you don't know what side she is read more
Jan 30, 2014
Lailament (All reviews)
This is a show that has an interesting and long history with me. I originally watched this show when I was in middle school towards the beginning of my anime obsession. This was back when I was unfamiliar with the medium, when the internet was still a baby, and I harbored an unhealthy obsession with vampires (pre-Twilight, of course). I was finding less-than-awesome shows such as Helsing, Trinity Blood, and Nightwalker to feed my lust for bloodsucking sexiness. This is when I watched the first few episodes of Vampire Princess Miyu. I rented the first two volumes from Blockbuster (already dating this story) and watched read more
Nov 20, 2018
MKSTEEL (All reviews)
A fantastic extension of the Miyu animation that built upon the previous success of the popular OVA series. With the addition of schoolmate characters that were more fleshed out than the background characters briefly shown in the OVA and the incredibly interesting Miyu foil in the Ice Demoness, the Shinma-Hunting Reiha, and her crusty companion, the Living Doll Matsukaze. Featuring highlights like a two-parter that looks into Western Shinma/Larva's past and some interesting twists and reveals in the final 4 or 5 episodes, the series excels upon adapting more of the Miyu Manga story which the short OVA had less space to adapt the manga read more
Oct 23, 2019
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've talked about the vampiric Princess, Miyu, once before. About seven years ago. Like the OVA, this is from AIC. The same studio that brought us Blue Gender, Night Walker, & Bubblegum Crash to name a few. This series came out almost a decade after the OVA since that was late 80s and this was late 90s. But the important question is, does it maintain the same level of quality?

Story:

The narrative follows the same basic premise as the OVA. There are supernatural beasts called Shinma that feed off of humans. Fighting against these monsters is the Guardian, Miyu who uses her flames to send stray read more
Nov 26, 2012
BunnyBake (All reviews)
One of my personal favourites, I was lent the first few episodes a long time ago and was forever drawn into anime from then on.
Even though it's pretty dated now, i think it's classic more than anything, the art is elegant and sweet, while dark where appropriate.
The story is not for everyone, although most of the early stand alone type episodes are easy to watch, but the final few episodes can be pretty devastating, in an excellent story telling sort of way.
If you like watching people be destroyed emotionally and physically in a real world type setting by the supernatural read more
Jan 24, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Quite the mixed bag of a reboot for Vampire Princess Miyu. Many episodes of this TV take on Miyu are "Shinma of the day" setups where a random Shinma is manipulating a different human, Miyu senses its activity, she and Larva confront it and in many instances, tragic developments befall the Shinma's human victim. The Shinma cases for the TV anime are more on the dramatic side compared to the suspenseful horror of the 80s OVA adaptation. The setting and characters here also have their noticeable differences with Miyu being more reserved in personality and taking the guise of a middle school student, Larva being read more
Mar 26, 2010
robwar (All reviews)
Vampire princess miyu could hav been much better in my oppinion.
I liked some of the characters and it could have been a bit shorter becouse when you get a bit out in the series it feels like it drags it out too much.
The story is ok but as i said they drag it out a bit and it's no real progress in it. It is more like a new story in each episode and some plot in it at some places. The art are good enough and sound not too bad. It focuses on this 2 main characters who is hunting down shiinma (some read more