Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Mew Mew


Alternative Titles

English: Mew Mew Power
Japanese: 東京ミュウミュウ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2002 to Mar 29, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2002
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Kodansha, TV Aichi
Licensors: 4Kids Entertainment
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.051 (scored by 43,800 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #35492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1096
Members: 93,049
Favorites: 1,174

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
At first glance Tokyo Mew Mew basically looks and feels like a rip-off of Sailor Moon with maids and catgirls, and for the first 15-20 episodes that’s pretty much what it is. But a funny thing happened on my way through this series; it got surprisingly good and wonderfully addictive. It should also be noted that my three year old daughter thinks this is the best thing in the history of television. While I certainly wouldn’t say that’s the case, watching her sing and dance to the opening "My Sweetheart" is almost too adorably cute for me to bear.

The plot is read more
Jul 16, 2008
ionamay (All reviews)
Tokyo Mew Mew tells the story of Ichigo Momomiya, a clumsy but kind girl who loves protecting the environment and who has a huge cruch on Aoyama-kun, the coolest and hottest guy in school. However, on thier first date together, Ichigo is hit with a mysterious beam of light which changes and mixes her DNA with that of a rare wild cat. Now by she is half school girl, half super hero with some embarassing feline tendancies. It's up to her to find her super hero team mates, save the world from interdimensional aliens AND keep her new boyfriend from discovering her secret!

When I first read more
Feb 20, 2008
DarkBlue (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: The story is about a team of magical girls who have to protect the earth from aliens. For some reason these aliens only attack in places where the main characters currently are, even though the aliens want to control the whole earth. There is nothing really wrong with the story, but there is nothing special about it either.

Art: The artwork looks fine, but the battles consist 90% of the old battle scenes and are VERY repetitive, especially since every character only has one attack. And the same transformation and attack scenes just get copied over and over again. I think this makes the animators read more
Mar 6, 2008
Ayries (All reviews)
((This is for the subbed or raw Japanese version, not the dubbed version.))

Tokyo Mew Mew was, basically, my first anime. It was, overall, actually a pretty good place to begin.

Right then, story wise it's interesting but more in a new-spin on an old idea way; the concept of adding the environmental and animal focus to the magical girl idea was neat and I liked that some of the animals were less typical. The basic collect-the-pieces-and-destroy-the-monster plot is nice enough and pretty entertaining, and comes across as less repetitive as some could. There are some decent twists and turns, and I like one early on where read more
Nov 19, 2007
Amaya-Kiro (All reviews)
Tokyo Mew Mew is a really awsome anime to watch.........everything about it*in my opinion* is SO awsome!i mean its story, art, sound, characters, and everything else is awsome ^^.

Story:the story is about a girl who, when on a date with her crush, is zaped by a light and her DNA is merged with the DNA of a Iriomote Wildcat. Ichigo*that girl* and 4 others, Mint, Lettuce, Pudding, and Zakuro, must save the world from being takin over by the aleins, Kisshu, Taruto, and Pia. So that is pretty much the plot to it all.

Art/Animation:Again its very good. How they drew everything was awsome. The animation read more
Jun 25, 2009
Ludicious (All reviews)
Preliminary

Tokyo Mew Mew was referred by a friend of mind, and she warned me that it was a pretty girly anime...well she was definitely right about that, although it was the lackluster love story, and the horrendous battles that did me in.

Story:
The story is pretty noble but also pretty cheesy. I like the fact that these girls want to save the world and all.. and the fact that the bad guys use endangered species is pretty troublesome. there is also a pretty good love story, but it gets old rather quickly... icigo has a super hero alternate persona i will call strawberry, and 1st read more
Oct 25, 2009
amalthea22 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought this show was promising at first, probably because I thought it would maintain the same level of appeal that Sailor Moon had. Tokyo Mew Mew basically exhibits all the characteristics of a typical Shojo story, which alone would not have turned me away completely from the show. What kept me from finishing the show was that I couldn't care about the main characters, and the one's I did like were not developed enough.

Story 7: Like I said, the story is decent. It has a few twists here and there, but nothing too surprising. I actually found some of the filler episodes entertaining read more
Feb 14, 2018
AniTheAnimeBug (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay so, you guys must think it must be really cheesy. Sure, it shoujo, which can be kind of cheesy but trust me, you'll love this anime. It's about a team of girls who transform into " mew mews " to fight aliens. Lolz that must sound really weird but it's great. The story is pretty basic, aliens attack and the mew mews save the day, but there can be unexpected twist which want you to keep on watching. I really loved this show and I think they did a great job. Overall, I gave it a 9 because some parts were kind of boring read more
Sep 8, 2009
Skylavis (All reviews)
Preliminary
...Too pink and too girly. I can't even pass the whole 1st episode of it. I'm not saying that I'm a cat hater, it's just too girly...and also annoying. Has the most pathetic storyline (on my opinion).

Story: 3
I HATE THE FREAKING STORY SO MUCH. It's very pathetic, I know. This annoying protagonist is the most annoying character I've ever seen, besides Yuuki (from Vampire Knight.). The story is about the main heroine had a cat DNA- no, that's just...weird and freaky. I mean, what the hell?

Art: 8
I like the art, just the one I like. Very smooth. If you're into cute stuff and you're a read more
Jul 6, 2015
kyaaaa123 (All reviews)
**I use TMM to represent Tokyo Mew Mew in this review**

I honestly don't understand why I loved Tokyo Mew Mew so much.

When I was looking for a new series to start, I was craving for something like Sailor Moon. And boy let me tell you, TMM actually felt like it hit the spot.
At first glance I thought TMM was going to be stupid. Lmao I guess you shouldn't judge an anime by its' cover.
TMM's story was good! The art and sound (I thought) was good! TMM's Characters went beyond my expectations. From what I can recall, Ichigo wasn't that one "dumb" main read more
Oct 4, 2018
Nakano_Takeko (All reviews)
What can I say for this amazing magical girl anime?

Where should I start? The story is being developed on Earth where the peace is distracted by monster attacks and the enviroment is at stake! Two men are trying to bring peace back to the universe, Keichiro and Shirogane are planning to restore the planet but they are no match for these monstrous and evil creations! Their only hope is to find the rest mew mew girls, bring them together and fight the evil to the core. Ichigo is a student bored of studying and living a normal life until she notices that she read more
Feb 12, 2012
catsoo12 (All reviews)
I started watching TMM because I remembered watching it when I was a child. At first, it seemed pretty average, magical girl, cute girls, romance, save the World...etc Cliché right? I continued watching it, and noticed one problem. The girls were all cliché types. It was so frustrating!

Character: 5/10
Ichigo - Typical hyperactive-ish girl who falls in love and is the heroine. Extremely cliché.
Mint - Typical rich and snobby girl. The only good thing is that she changes into someone nice towards the end and obsessed over someone.
Zakuro - Too 'cold'. Its hard to explain, but there is just too much of a barrier. She is read more
Apr 12, 2016
rinikuma (All reviews)
So, before I begin I imagine my opinion and review or this might be controversial so be warned.
Firstly, this anime will always have a special in my heart because it was the first ever anime I watched daily as a child (granted, I was not aware of the word 'anime' at the time). I personally believe it to be the better Sailor Moon if I'm honest.
It is just an incredibly cute magical girl anime with so many otps and original ideas that it is easy to watch as well as fun to watch.
I have also come to find that the characters have read more
Dec 17, 2017
queenberry58 (All reviews)
People should not throw Tokyo Mew Mew away at face value. Truly the show is much more complex than it seems at first, and it is honestly one of my most favorite animes. You'd never expect such themes of betrayal, true love, and determination to be in a seemingly small kids show. Please give it a watch and be more accepting!

The reason why I like the show so much is because of how surprisingly dark and addicting the series gets. With 5 girls running around in frilly costumes to save the day, the dark themes and heart breaking scenes are a shocker but are read more
Sep 16, 2017
MoonBabyDoll (All reviews)
Started: 8/28/17
Finished: 9/8/17


Hey everyone! If you’re coming from my last Magical Girl review, Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pure, thanks for rockin’ with me, you’re the G.O.A.T. So sorry for this review taking longer than expected, we’re preparing for the holidays at my job and I started the new semester at school, so I’ve had my hands full with that. Let’s jump into it, shall we?

I was first introduced to Tokyo Mew Mew as “Mew Mew Power” in early 2005 during the promotion for it before it’s February 19 2005 English dub debut on 4KidsTV. I was excited to have another girly show on that read more
Aug 29, 2016
opunhato (All reviews)
tokyo mew mew is actually a rather enjoyable series, as it carries many redeeming points, and has a lot of sweet simplicity to it. however, there are also a lot of issues, given that despite the enormous potential it presents, most is not expanded upon or properly recognised throughout the course of the series. the main factor for this seems to be the protagonist is given so much of the spotlight, many other characters are often cast to the side. unfortunately, despite how much i did enjoy the anime, that is the case in many areas. that being said, there are really quite a few read more
Apr 29, 2017
KiraroYuuki (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is like any other anime of the same genre but it has it's own characters and ways this develop and grow in the anime. The art is not the best but of course, years have passed so compared the other anime from the same time, it's actually pretty good. In sound the repetitive transformations and bells are just a little annoying over time... Characters are pretty unique and have great personalities, but the love between Ichigo and Aoyama gets in the way of truly enjoying this. enjoyed it somewhat but at some points it just gets repetitive and a hard to read more
Jan 16, 2013
ViceroyZark (All reviews)
Let me just say something. It’s hard to find anime legally. It’s even harder to find English dubbed anime legally. And, wouldn’t you know it, I’m one of those people that likes to make it a point to obtain my anime in both of those fashions. Sure, call me a weenie, call me an uncultured couth, but at least I have a guiltless conscience. Of course, there is one English dubbing company which I truly hate and despise. It is truly a force for evil in this universe, and while with other dubbing companies I make sure to buy their stuff (even though I’m saving read more
Oct 9, 2009
Izumi_Shinju_27 (All reviews)
my little cousins first came to me that they found an anime on the television, since it is pretty unusual that in the netherlands are any anime,

they told me it is called mew mew power, (the dub version)
when it started first thing they would do is sing as loud as they can with the OP theme...

something you just go aw ...

when they convinced me to watch it, i watched a dew eps, after a few episodes the storyline is getting the same, i guess, is became addictive for me to see who Ichigo would choose...

the ending was sure what id din't expect, usually in these read more
Jan 6, 2012
MaiValentine (All reviews)
Some people dislike this anime because they say it's a rip off of Sailor Moon. I will admit that it kind of is (with the addition of animals), but it's really not too bad of a show if you give it a chance.

Story - Ditzy teenage girl Ichigo Momomiya (I will most certainly not call her by her dub name, good lord) is the main character of this anime. She and a few other girls collaborate and make a team to stop aliens from taking over the earth. While protecting the earth, she tries to get a boy named Aoyama to fall in love with read more