InuYasha: Kanketsu-hen


InuYasha: The Final Act

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: InuYasha: The Final Act
Synonyms: Inu Yasha: Kanketsu-hen
Japanese: 犬夜叉 完結編

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2009 to Mar 30, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:20 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, YTV, Shogakukan
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance, SupernaturalSupernatural
Themes: DemonsDemons, HistoricalHistorical
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 116879116,879 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #741
Members: 236,577
Favorites: 1,845

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 1, 2010
Nanalilly (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is going to be short. I'v actually never written a review on this site before.



Story/Characters:

That being said. This series is blowing my mind. I was always a bit of an Inuyasha critic. The recycled story lines and sub plots turned me off a lot. I watch this out of pure curiosity and found myself deeply emotionally involved in it. Several episodes nearly made me cry for characters that I had pervious lacked interest in.


The series was definitely a massive improvement from the original seasons, and it is refreshing to fans and non fans alike. It is highly character driven, though there is read more
Mar 30, 2010
Torii-chan (All reviews)
OH- Inuyasha! Has ALWAYS been one of my favorites and Kanketsu-hen was by far the best season of Inuyasha! Throughout the regular series, there were lots of fillers and silly episodes that lacked "meat" however each episode of the final season of Inuyasha was filled with a moving plot-line that at times had me crying. The action in this season was amazing and it was nice how characters that were minor or were not that likable during the regular broadcast were brought to new light.

The art as always was clean and enjoyable. But the development of the characters was spectacular! I am so glad read more
Apr 6, 2014
xxWetToastxx420 (All reviews)
Inyuasha: Second Season Review -

To a man who completely watched every single Inuyasha episode known to man, I want to point out that this here is one of the most miraculous things ever.

Story - The story takes wherever the last story picked of. I found this to be much better than the 167 episodes the original one took place. The psychological impact of the story stunned me to no end, making me marathon this over and over again. Truly amazing. 10/10

Characters - Out of all the characters in this series, Kagome evolved the most. Not to say that the others stayed the same, but read more
Nov 1, 2013
Miliannai (All reviews)
InuYasha: Kanketsu-hen, or InuYasha: The Final Act, is the final segment of the show that has taken the anime world by storm in 2000. The first, long, season of InuYasha was incredible when it comes to storyline and character. Everything was engaging!...except the ending of it. Having such a long air-time and not have a proper ending to it was a real downer. InuYasha: Kanketsu-hen puts everything into place, and tears in some viewers' eyes ;)

Story (10) Definitely one of the more in-depth storylines in anime. The show takes you back in time, well it literally does each time Kagome goes through her family's well, read more
Jul 13, 2014
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Inuyasha: The Final Act is meant to continue where its early 2000s prequel had left off in the continuing plot of Inuyasha and his allies trying to stop Naraku and his plans with the Shikon no Tama. I might as well address the major issue with this series first that comes in the form of its pacing. A good chunk of the anime is quite notable for rushing through many of the major events of the series from the manga, which include cutting out, rearranging or altering key scenes. This has the negative effect of reducing any time that could be focused on how said read more
Nov 2, 2009
sesshylvr4ever (All reviews)
Preliminary
Im overjoyed that the new season of inuyasha has finally come out. So far its going pretty good based on what i remember of the manga. I cant wait to see all the developments in this Act which are much more interesting than the previous Inuyasha developments. As always, i love their choice of theme songs, theyre the best and their illustrations are moving. The art is the same as always, prety good and well thought out, beautiful landscapes and details. The story is getting better developments, especially with my favorite character Sesshoumaru :).
Feb 16, 2010
itaeon (All reviews)
Preliminary
I simply had to write something after watching the twentieth episode.

This review is based on the assumption that the first series Inuyasha has been watched. Like most other people, I was kind of unsure to write a review on Inuyasha Kanketsu-ken because it's pretty much the continuation of the first season, but there are quite a few differences from the old season to this recent one.

Story: Most people are deterred from watching the previous seasons because it honestly is basically episodes and episodes of filler. I, personally get turned down by filler, but this series is pretty much the concluding wrap up of read more
Feb 22, 2010
sovietkazak (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just watched the episode, and it seems like they just fast-forwarded through everything. It was one continuous play; they gave the viewer no time to absorb it. Events that spanned over many chapters were condensed into a minute or less, with the essential background information relating it to the plot dropped. The episode wouldn't even make much sense to people who haven't read the manga; I read the manga and even I had a hard time understanding what was going on.

The animators provided no recap. They just dived right into the middle of it. I know it's understood that the viewer can watch the read more
Aug 21, 2010
lazyinternsan (All reviews)
Okay....
I watched this season of InuYasha after getting bored by the previous pointless season six and got COMPLETELY surprised as this was NOTHING like I had expected!!!!!!!!

STORY: 9
It was REALLY good as their was minimal filler and thankfully there was much focus on the main plot. And if there was a bit of filler..... it was some entertaining one. The only thing was, everything was a bit rushed but still it was good.

ART: 9
The good quality art of the original was still there. Though there was a slight difference, the art looked quite fresh and crisp.

SOUND: 10
The OP and Endings were at par with read more
Jun 17, 2011
Izhual (All reviews)
Inuyasha is the biggest dissapointment for me, I'v seen u gave him big ratings and I wonder why...really.*spoiler alert* If u havent seen the anime yet dont read.
When I started watching I was expecting a classic fairytale with good vs evil, romance and good always wins, stuff that now is avoided today, everyone trying to be original. So the reasons my ratings are so low:

Story: The main reason everyone is chasing after Noraku is revenge and personal interests not for some good cause, revenge for Kikyo, revenge for Miroku's father and wind tunnel curse, revenge for family(Sango, Shippo), read more
Apr 2, 2010
MidnightSky (All reviews)
Finally! That is what everybody should be thinking when they are watching InuYasha: Kanketsu-hen! It sets off where there are no fillers anymore, it's direct, and it tends to even every special part for each character in an episode. The last InuYasha episode in the last season made go like: "Wait...thats it???" I glad they had finished it just like the manga or that cliffhanger may be a way InuYasha had some of its fans. But, must it have been regained thanks to this season!

Story: 10 out of 10
Thank goodness to no filler episodes! They acutally go to more of the important parts of the read more
May 27, 2011
kyoko328 (All reviews)
Let me just start off by saying i love Inuyasha.

From start to finish it has been funny, exciting, romantic, heart racing, sweet, and very entertain to watch. I am so glad that for the last season of Inuyasha they did almost exactly like the manga. Inuyasha was the first anime i ever took seriously. There is just so much to love about this show, that you wish it will never end. But all good things must come to an end eventually.

Tears were brought to my eyes as i watched the last episode and was very happy with the way they ended. There were read more
Jan 7, 2011
sunyee (All reviews)
I decided to write this review because I feel that reviews here haven't done much justice to this show. Which is strange, as the ranking and relative popularity of this show would suggest that a decent review be written about it.
To start off, I LOVE inuyasha. I loved the first show. I loved the characters and their interactions. I thought the music was great, and that the story was really special and addictive. The first 10 episodes or so were especially good. Then, after about 40 episodes, I realised Naraku wouldn’t die. And the show began to drag on and on. At the end, I read more
Dec 28, 2011
hattoriis (All reviews)
What a amazing and heart-warming ending to an outstanding anime! Everything about this 26-episode conclusion to the original Inuyasha series was brilliant. The story, the characters, the everything. And especially the romance. The romance topped all the romance in the rest of the series, and almost every episode will leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside. Tears of joy were rolling down my face at the end. If you watched the original series, you won't be complete untill you watch this sequel as well.
Feb 25, 2011
abennett17 (All reviews)
I usually don't write reviews, but I'm making a special exception for The Final Act.

One word description: INCREDIBLE! To me it felt like it was on an entirely different level than the first season. No fillers, much more emotion(I cried on a few episodes!), the art was greatly improved, a lot more character development with Sesshomaru(My favorite character), I could go on and on.

I just can't say enough how thoroughly impressed I was with this season! If you like Inuyasha, even just a little bit, you will not be disappointed with The Final Act. I will probably rewatch it again in a couple months.
Jan 2, 2011
TheUltimateKalie (All reviews)
Inuyasha Kanketsu-hen is a continuation of the original series that was canceled.
The plot of this series was not all that great but the animation was awesome. The only reason why I watched the show was mainly for the characters.
Reason why I was attached to the characters was because, this was the very first anime I watched but unfortunately led me to watch the whole damn series.
If your a fan of Inuyasha then I don't think will be disappointed by the ending of the series.

The things I have to say were bad about the show was that the plot was not well written. read more
May 23, 2021
kormatic (All reviews)
The Final Act season was the series finale of Inuyasha and a lot of things changed.

They changed Kagome's English voice actor and this one seemed like she swallowed her words more than the previous one. I'm still not used to it after all this time and my shock will continue to show each time I decide to watch final act.

Kagome's voice actor wasn't the only change in final act though. It seemed like a lot of the character plots Rumiko had was trying to close and it didn't feel quite natural. It felt more forced as we got closer to the ending. It is important read more
Aug 19, 2010
tarms_shani (All reviews)
I have one word to say and that is: FINALLY!!!!! It has been close to 5 years and it was well worth the wait. I've been a dedicated Inuyasha fan since I was little and have watched all 169 episodes over and over not really satisfied with the ending. Until the adaption to the final ending of the manga series came out and man was it awesome. This series cleared up all the loose ends from the unsatisfying ending of the prequel.
____________________Spoiler____________________________________

And also finally Inuyasha and Kagome are together (SCREAMS!!!!!) I'm glad to be able to see the ending of a good series.
Jul 1, 2010
Astuart510 (All reviews)
Inuyasha has been an exciting series of fighting, love, and conquering new powers. Rumiko Takahashi made an excellent series of Inuyasha and his fight against Naraku. Her drawings went along perfectly, the story was absolute, the characters' voices matched the prior character, the characters' outcome fitted perfectly to their image, and it was a series that I will continue to enjoy for the rest of my life. The anime didn't have everything the manga had, but the scenes did go in order as planned.
This review is dedicated to Rumiko Takahashi; thank you for making Inuyasha and bring the series into our lives. :)
Apr 11, 2013
sx_i (All reviews)
Since Inuyasha was the first anime I watched as a child I may be bias but I think this really is an amazing anime. You become incredibly attached to the characters, and while there may have been some repetition of mindless fighting in the original series, I am glad to say this series has no filler episodes :)

The animation is very good, available in 1080p if you want, and the sound is very good too. It is not a very complex plot with too many twists but it is certainly enough to keep you attached and entertained.

Just a heads up for those who watched the read more