Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

So Ra No Wo To


Alternative Titles

English: Sound of the Sky
Synonyms: So-Ra-No-Wo-To, Soranowoto, Sora no Woto
Japanese: ソ・ラ・ノ・ヲ・ト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2010 to Mar 23, 2010
Premiered: Winter 2010
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Aniplex
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.581 (scored by 42,513 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #917
Members: 122,049
Favorites: 1,317

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 17, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
"Amazing Grace! (how sweet the sound),
That saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see..."

John Newton and William Cowper (Olney Hymns - 1779).

The problem with first impressions is that all too often they are wrong, and this is one of the main reasons why a number of great shows don't get the recognition they deserve. Unfortunately, every season more anime are added to that list.

Sora no Woto (Sounds of the Skies), is one example of this mindset at work.

The series is the first production of a new initiative known as Anime read more
Mar 26, 2010
AuroraFlame (All reviews)
"Someone was saying the world is ending. But I like this world."

When So Ra No Wo To was first announced on the winter season roster, I wasn't planning on watching it. Despite reading the plot synopsis, I did not think it was a 'moeblob in the army' kind of story. That only came later when many, many people decided to put labels on it. Still, I wasn't inclined to watch the series. That is, until I saw the beautiful concept artwork by Kishida Mel. It was amazing and it made me want to see the series in spite of the much talked about art shift read more
Mar 23, 2010
ringoo4 (All reviews)
Five different girls in military and their lives. Interesting? Unfortunately, it doesn’t. This anime is a true example of what happens, if you try to do too much at once on the weak and uninspiring basis.

Sora no woto, aka ‘Sound of the Sky’ is a mixed culture setting war zone folktale involving a young girl who only came to military to play nice trumpet. If you just read the synopsis, it seems like a very unique and refreshing idea for slice of life genre anime. Sadly, it is not, because the major problem that this anime falls down is from the concept from the read more
Feb 17, 2010
Cheating (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sora no Woto is a show that tries to do a lot at once. It isn't just a moeblobs show, and it's not just about fighting. It looks like a regular World War II setting at first, but as you continue to watch you learn it's actually a future setting, where life is scarce, systems of writing and music have been forgotten, and the resulting setting is a mashup of many, many cultures, probably at this point, indistinguishable from one another to the characters.

Story: 8
The story lacks a forward direction. However, for that reason, as you begin to understand why things are going on, read more
Mar 22, 2010
CkretAznMan (All reviews)
Well let's just clear some things up now. THIS IS NOT FREAKIN' K-ON IN THE FREAKIN MILITARY. All right, now that that's over with let's start with the review of The Sound of the Skies, aka So Ra No Wo To. (This will be a quick one since I wrote one before but it got deleted when my computer got the blue screen.)

Okay so the story and the characters, even if they're pretty cliche, are actually quite good in their own right. The pacing is pretty good, characters are well developed and believable enough to not be Mary Sues. The voices also fit each and read more
Mar 24, 2010
Thaiberium (All reviews)
As always, there is a rare gem every season that pops up and surprises me. It has been compared to as a K-On in the military but to me, I feel it would be more to suitable to describe it as Aria in the military though I digress.

Sora no Woto, is a deceptive little thing about what it really wants to be with the plot. Young Sorami Kanata, a bugler and a private of the Helvetian army, arrives as the new meat of the 1121st, an all female tank crew/squadron. Suffice to say, a slice of life romp ensues. Albeit, it read more
Nov 4, 2013
johnvswild (All reviews)
SPOILER-FREE™

There are very few anime with as bad a case of mistaken identity as Sound of the Sky, also known as Sora no Woto or, if you’re kind of a jerk, So Ra No Wo To. Honestly most people will take one look at the art and character designs and think one thing: K-ON

And this is really a shame because other than a couple of similarities in character design, Sound of the Sky shines on its own with no relation under the surface to our favorite (or least favorite) slice of life. This issue has led to Sound of the Sky’s problem, a nice way read more
Mar 15, 2012
milkman57 (All reviews)
Sora no Woto strongly adheres to a personal saying of mine: "You never know what you're going to get with short animes". I've watched some truly brilliant shows that were only 11-12 episodes long...and I've also watched some that weren't so good. Sora no Woto was one of those that I wasn't sure about, partially because it could almost be considered an OVA, a collaborative effort of several different studios that had never before been produced in manga, graphic novel, nor any other medium that I was familiar with. However, I found in the end that this show requires some patience before it's true colors read more
Nov 24, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
An inclusion of naturalistic elements to an otherwise stale gimmick of “cute girls in serious circumstances” in an anime has been met with a mixed reception among both casual and serious anime fans. This being circumstances that involve a setting, or lore to be specific, that would not have needed to have any “moe” components to make it even more or less meaningful. But we all know why this is the case: they want to appeal to what is popular, as it was popular considering this was made in 2010, and to cash in that would’ve otherwise been ignored without it. Unfortunately, that cash grab read more
Jan 1, 2015
cuteisanarchy (All reviews)
I was recommended this show by a friend who has traveled much further down the moe rabbit hole than I have, so I went in with two basic assumptions: this isn't a show about war, and it's not about life in a post-apocalyptic world. While I think these were safe assumptions, I ended up being very wrong.

This is a show about cute girls doing cute things. It's also a show about those same girls reliving war trauma and debating whether they should torture war captives in the remains of a world still being destroyed by humanity. That uneasy coexistence is part of the beauty of read more
May 6, 2012
ChibiAnime84 (All reviews)
Sora no Woto is a beautiful and triumphant tale of humanity, morality, war, and peace. One of the best animes to come out in recent years, and possibly of all time. It’s certainly one of the best I have ever seen.

Sora no Woto, or Sound of the Sky in English, is a 2010 war anime. War is this title’s main theme, but a viewer will find many other genres in this amazing title, including themes of yuri, GAR, moe, humor, psychological drama and horror, mecha, religion, mild fanservice and much more. Sora no Woto brings so much to the table, and what it brings read more
Apr 25, 2015
Wittmann (All reviews)
Preliminary
Cute Japanese and European teenage girls, wearing Wehrmacht uniforms, exploring a Japanese school in a Spanish town full of French people who make Venetian glassware on Switzerland's French border, in a country that has a soldier princess playing Amazing Grace on a trumpet, following a Shinto-Christian religion with a miko-nun, treating tropical diseases only children get, accepting yen as currency while not being able to read kanji, celebrating Spanish traditions mixed with Chinese New Years legends, shooting at African owls (that try to keep them away from schoolgirl ghosts) with German rifles, being led by a traumatized commander who is afraid of lightning, tricking Italian read more
May 16, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
So Ra No Wo To is an original anime brought to us by A-1 Pictures. Yes, the studio behind Kuroshitsuji, Uchuu Kyoudai, Sword Art Online & Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin is back. Or, more accurately, I'm looking at one of their works again. Thus far, my experience with them as a studio has varied a lot. With Uchuu Kyoudai being at the high end and Sword Art Online on the low, because it's shit. This particular series is from 2010 and was relatively early in terms of their productions. It was written by Yoshino Hiroyuki, speaking of people I have mixed experiences with. Yeah, this read more
Aug 11, 2019
YuiHirasawa- (All reviews)
SPOILERS BELOW. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

So. Ra. No. Wo. To. The sound of the sky that pierces the heavens. Yet another anime set in a post-apocalyptic world, but this time with some moe appeal to brighten up your day.

Sound of the Sky is an interesting anime. Rather than being adapted months or years later from a successful manga or light novel, it actually aired along with its manga serialization. Consequently, it features the blessing and curse of being an original, one that forges its own path without the pressure of living up to its source material’s reception.

With no better words to describe it, I read more
Jul 13, 2019
ABPAEAE (All reviews)
A fantastic story with a bit of a misleading description that could've greatly benefited from a slower pace spread between two or three seasons (I'll dig into the pacing later). Sound of the Sky is a military slice of life at its core, and had very little to do with music aside from one character who only focuses on the musical aspect of this show in a handful of scenes spread thin and widely across twelve episodes. Many people relate Sound of the Sky to K-On! and I just do not see the relation whatsoever. These are both two fantastic and incredibly enjoyable shows, but read more
Aug 13, 2013
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Cobbled streets, glass-faced shops, wooden chimneys, and wood-aged frames. Coupled with a tower vista and an annual festival, it's the ideal destination for a charming trip down Europe's Old World. Like time froze to pressure this place's quaint character. It's quite the reverse, though. This is as far as the technology has advanced... scratch that, regressed. This land is one of the few places on Earth that is still arable. Still habitable. Nothing but wasteland lays beyond, and it spreads, festers, an eternal reminder of past wars, even in present peace. The weapons nowadays aren't sticks and stones, mind you, but compared to today's standards, read more
Mar 9, 2010
lyger (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sora no Woto could be described as slice of life meets post-apocalyptic. This sounds like a bit of an unlikely combination, which I suppose it is. How about putting it like this: it's a show about how a bunch of relatively normal people live their everyday lives while having to deal with a world that's been ravaged by war, and how they cope with past losses and manage to find something to smile about in the present.

The first two episodes were a little shaky for me, but once they got the stuff like Kureha's Obligatory Tsundere Moment out of the way, each episode just got read more
Jan 29, 2012
Ibelucas (All reviews)
When I was young and ignorant, I often cried a lot. Give me this, give me that, I didn't care - I wanted it now. My parent's go-to strategy? Hum......."Amazing grace, how sweet, the sound, that saved, the wretch, like me...." Instantly, I would sleep. There's something magical, or, for a lack of a better word, penetrating about that song. It strikes right through your heart, uplifting your spirit and calming your soul. Sora no Woto evolves and becomes something truly wonderful with a powerful, underlying theme.

The story is wonderful; it starts off slice-of-lifey and really slow and painful, especially for the people who want read more
Feb 12, 2018
Somata (All reviews)
If I were dying, there is a short list of books I would read, songs I would listen to on repeat, shows I would watch to comfort me in my last mortal hours. This is one of them. It deserves better than anything I can say to recommend it.

So Ra No Wo To is far from flawless. It falls short on many counts, as all things do under the sun. But it is perfect in its imperfections. There is nothing I would change, not because there are no defects, but because I fear I may ruin the special intersection of accidents that makes this wondrous.

Some read more
Jan 20, 2011
Mugen900 (All reviews)
After watching this anime, I really can't help as to wonder as to what is the main theme of this thing; is it the female cahracters struggling to find a way to ease their boredom co'z they're assigned in some outpost which is too far away from any action or is it the bugle call "AMAZING GRACE?" So, how do I rate this anime? Here's how:

Story: Fair 6.
Ok, so the genre of this anime are the following: Military, Shonen, Sci-fi, Musical, Action (appred only in the last 2 episodes) and Comedy (just a little bit). However amongst the genre only the musical part read more