Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kuuchuu Buranko


Alternative Titles

English: Welcome to Irabu's Office
Synonyms: Kuchu Buranko, Trapeze, Flying Trapeze
Japanese: 空中ブランコ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 15, 2009 to Dec 24, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 14,211 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1392
Members: 48,473
Favorites: 827

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 29, 2009
Detective (All reviews)
Here is an anime that will turn 90% of its viewers away. Why? Because it dares to be distinctly different. For the remaining 10% who watched after the first episode, you probably know already how great this anime is. Now let's hope to switch these figures, so everyone can enjoy.

Story: 9/10
The story is of Dr. Irabu, a psychiatrist who also happens to be the vice chairman in his fathers hospital. He's an incredibly skilled doctor who welcomes many patients, and his treatment is always vitamin injections. The story revolves around the people with disorders such as OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder), NPD (Narcissistic Personality Disorder), and read more
Dec 29, 2009
nicepants (All reviews)
Trapeze is a show that comes along once in a blue moon. There is no moe to be found here. There is no fanservice (apart from Mayumi's injections). There are no lolis. The art style is odd, and there is no bloodshed.

So, why should you watch it, you ask? Trapeze is a story that dares to be drastically different, with amazing writing and strong characters, while supporting a unique and engaging art style. The voice acting is top notch, and the stories are great.

Taking place mid-to-late December, the show is mostly episodic, covering the same time frame. Characters appear in episodes other than their read more
Feb 23, 2015
eririri (All reviews)
Do you truly know the people around you? Do you notice the chirping canaries that fly by your side?

Psychiatry deals with grave issues; perhaps triggered by a past trauma, perhaps by an insufferable present; patients find themselves struggling to cope with their daily lives. This gravity is what makes the eccentric Irabu Ichiro, certified psychiatrist, so bewildering a character. Accompanied by his seductive nurse Mayumi, he runs a psychiatric ward offering consultation and treatment for people suffering from various mental disorders. The deceptively simple premise of Kuuchuu Buranko lays the groundwork for an extraordinary exploration of human mind and society.

The first thing in Kuuchuu Buranko read more
Apr 15, 2014
Matas (All reviews)
"No one is perfect!"

Everybody has problems, everybody has fears, everybody needs help sometimes, but despite being as flawed as we are society seamlessly moves forward and knowingly or not we are each an important gear in advancing our culture and world.

Kuuchuu Buranko is an artistic, psychedelic expression of problems or doubts we have and getting through them or bettering ourselves. Some of us have common fears and anxieties from not being able to deal with our families and trying to run away, to maybe some stranger problems like uncontrollable erections, as well as everything in-between. Those are the types of experiences we handle in read more
Sep 21, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Kuuchuu Buranko is based on a series of short stories by Okuda Hideo. The stories have been adapted into multiple live action films, a television drama and this anime series from Toei animation. That's right, the same studio behind Dragonball, Sailor Moon, Precure, Digimon and many other anime. So, how did they do with this series? Let's delve in.

Story:

Irabu is a psychologist who works with all kinds of patients. The series basically covers eleven of his cases. What their neuroses are and how he treats them. All in a way that's supposed to be comedic.

But that's also the big flaw of the series. It's largely read more
Feb 2, 2015
JediMindTricks (All reviews)
The study of psychology has always been a fascinating subject to me, particularly when it is the focal point of some kind of medium such as literature or anime. One word that comes to mind when I think of Kuuchuu Buranko is bizarre. This series assaults its viewers with peculiar, even somewhat grotesque visuals that will both perplex and amaze you. Prepare to go down the rabbit hole, because this anime is a colorful and confusing journey into the inter-workings of the human psyche.

The story follows the young psychologist Ichiro Irabu, who counsels people with disorders such as depression and obsessive compulsion. Many times he read more
Feb 18, 2014
Kapodaco (All reviews)
Some people say that the best way to solve a problem concerning internal conflict is to talk to someone about it. Whether this proves true or not is to be decided by those with said conflicts, but even so, who should one of these people talk to in order to ease their conscience? Friends, family, strangers, celebrities? These are all likely possibilities, but what is debatably the most regarded choice in the matter is the local psychiatrist. People believe that because psychiatrists have a degree in psychology or study in the field of human development and interactions that they'd make a suitable choice to fix read more
Jul 5, 2017
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
Often you’ll hear how being unique isn’t enough to make a good anime. That’s not entirely true, since being unique is overall a good trait. Why would you want to sit in front of a screen, watching the same thing over and over? What these people do get right is that mere uniqueness isn’t enough. Although in the end, all great works of art are unique and highly original, not all original works are great works. That’s because true greatness which comes from true uniqueness isn’t just a unique art style or a cool storytelling method, but a thematic depth.

All the problems with this anime read more
Jan 1, 2016
KeyboardKafe (All reviews)
The Mind is as defined by Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus;
/noun/
the element of a person that enables them to be aware of the world and their experiences, to think, and to feel; the faculty of consciousness and thought.
Synonyms; brain, intellect, intelligence

Oh man, is our mind a weird place or what? Our brains are able to process thoughts and daydreams, the conversations we’re having, what we’re hearing, and what we’re looking at, all at the same time. Not to mention, all the dark, twisted things no one wants to admit crossed our minds… (or is that just me?)

All in all, it’s a complex process. So naturally, read more
Jun 7, 2015
chevybow (All reviews)
I'm writing this review purely to offer a different perspective from the ones I've seen. This isn't the type of anime that everyone likes. I happen to be one that was rather disappointed by it. Feel free to disagree, but here is a review from someone who thought this was a pretty mediocre show to counter all the 10/10 reviews.


Story: 4/10

The one major compliment I will give this anime is that it is rather unique and does try to do something different. Chances are you won't see many anime's quite like this one. This is made most obvious in the story and in the read more
Sep 25, 2015
smileyboyrocks (All reviews)
The true genius of Kuuchuu Buranko is difficult to pick up on, veiled as it is by colourful characters, humorous dialogue and direction that rivals the likes of Satoshi Kon's work for sheer weirdness. Indeed, without the implicit subtext it would be little more than an intriguing novelty, a slightly unconventional documentary almost. With the layered messages that this show dispenses and leaves you to ponder, it becomes one of the most near-perfect masterpieces of the visual medium, and a hauntingly bitter one at that.

That's right: under the colours and the comedy, Kuuchuu Buranko is a series characterised by an impassioned attack on its own read more
Oct 7, 2016
Pippyh (All reviews)
This is a very weird show, one of the weirdest I've seen. But somewhere in this madness, there is an enjoyable show, filled with memorable characters. The art style may be a turn off to many viewers, but if one can see past that, they will find a gem.

The story is not very progressive, featuring different characters every episode, with some intertwining in certain episodes (and did you notice that half the characters had OCD of some sort). In each episode, an actual psychologist appears and explains the real life problems, making for an educational show for someone interested in psychology, such as myself.

I read more
Aug 4, 2011
movoning (All reviews)
If you've been to a psychiatrist, you should see this.
If you doubt psychiatry to the core and question why your mental state should be cracked open by strangers who think they have the right to hide you from you, then this series will probably change your mind.

Irabu, like all psychiatrists, diagnoses his patients based on their behaviors, and like all psychiatrists, he only vaguely tells them what their problems are. Instead, he gets them involved in situations where their fear, insecurity, or hidden feelings would surface and hit them hard. This method does not always guarantee success, and in fact, not all his read more
Apr 8, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

"And now for something completely different" - John Cleese


Have you ever watched a medical drama series? They are VERY popular all over the world because people are fascinated by unusual disorders and tense medical emergencies. These shows essentially combine the genres of mystery, psychological, and high tension drama all while taking place in the real world with a "relatively" realistic scenario. Now I have a second question for you: "Have you ever watched an episode of House and said, Man this would be WAY better if I was on LSD?" If you said yes to that previous question, Kuuchuu Buranko is the show for read more
Jul 10, 2016
Seficus (All reviews)
This show is amazing, in my opinion. It focuses on psychologist and psychiatrist today. For example, a typical psychologist (in society today) would just prescribe a patient medicine or pills for the simplest disorders; however, this show places emphasis on what a psychiatrist should do. Actually help people get to the root of their own problem and solve it. If you enjoy shows that have to deal quite a bit with philosophy and psychology--this is a must-watch for you!

Not only does the show ponder with the complications of a modern psychiatrist, but it also has outstanding art and music. I loved how each cinematic read more
Jun 21, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Kuchu Buranko certainly does enough to stick out of the norm for an anime title with both its storytelling and animation. The plotting to the series is mostly episodic, mixing comedy and drama in exploring how different types of psychological problems like Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, Narcissistic Personality Disorder and Yips negatively effect the lives of Irabu's patients. The characters in each story are fleshed-out enough where you get to know what their personal lives are like, how their disorder could have came about and how said disorder negatively effects them. Like Welcome to the NHK, you could be tempted to laugh at the problems effecting read more
Nov 23, 2015
yolerMit (All reviews)
Wow.
This was definitely different in almost every aspect.
Kuuchuu Buranko makes you go 'what the hell??' from the very first moment. I really was a happy person after watching the first episode. Let me explain.

Story : 10
I haven't bumped into an anime about psychology again. I'm not referring to the psychological genre, but psychology itself. Every episode examines a different case of psychological problems, their cause and the remedy recommended by the therapist. Well, the therapist is not the typical one nor are his treatments - this is what adds comedic and psychedelic elements as well.

The way the cases are presented gets your interest from the read more
Mar 4, 2013
Baconzombie (All reviews)
Now here’s a show that caught me off-guard, but in a good way.

Story:
9/10
At face value, Kuuchuu Buranko, or Trapeze, seems like a collection of psychological case studies. Symptoms of eleven patients are examined throughout a short span that lasts for about 9 days. Patients are each given a full episode of spotlight as we join along in their rather short, but entertaining “journeys” of trying to figure out the reasons behind their conditions. True to form, Trapeze applies the biopsychosocial approach (I’ll be referencing the three parts within this review) when examining each patient. Treatments are not limited to medicine, and as in read more
Mar 11, 2017
Flamell (All reviews)
First and foremost, don't watch this anime if you aren't interested in human psychology, or if you are too young (14, 15 years old). I'm glad, I've watched at present time and had already started thinking about the problems we face psychologically as modern day humans. Also, this is for those who think this is a medium for the expression of ideas, not just some cheap thrills.
This show is all about a subtle build up until you start getting why you are even watching this, if you are into waiting until everything makes sense - like me - you'll like this anime. 11 eps read more
Mar 10, 2017
Eblouir (All reviews)
I came across Kuuchuu Buranko when I was looking for a psychological anime. I have no expectations as it's my first time ever knowing about it and I don't know anyone else personally who also knows it. Anyway, here's what I think about this under-the-radar anime:

Eblouir's No-Spoiler Summary:

Kuuchuu Buranko is about a psychiatrist named Ichiro Irabu, who together with his seemingly aloof and sexy nurse assistant Mayumi, take on different patients having various disorders. Despite the seriousness of the theme, the anime is not very grim as the carefree Dr. Irabu tries out unconventional yet weirdly funny ways in helping his patients out. read more