Break Blade 1: Kakusei no Toki


Broken Blade

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Broken Blade
Synonyms: Breaker Blade, Break Blade 1: The Time of Awakening
Japanese: ブレイク ブレイド 覚醒ノ刻

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 29, 2010
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Production I.G, Xebec
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary, ShounenShounen
Duration: 51 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.681 (scored by 3989839,898 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1628
Members: 75,764
Favorites: 171
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 16, 2010
RedSuisei (All reviews)
Well I was pretty surprised to know that Break Blade got a movie! Talk about being out of date. I've read the manga and quite liked it, though in the manga, mecha battle scenes aren't drawn very well, it gets kinda confusing. So I was pretty excited to watch the movie, to see what the mecha battles will be. And this movie really doesn't disappoint me in anyway.

Story: 7
Kinda typical story, a boy who can't use any magic in world where everyone can use magic, but somehow can activated a Golem that no other person managed to activate. Even if it's typical, I think it's read more
Jul 30, 2010
mel-hime (All reviews)
Just finished watching it and I liked it.

Story-7,it's not uncommon,still in the Gundam form- a guy that appears incapable of doing something or common suddenly manages to fight a robot different from the others in order to protect his friends.-Despite that,the story is structurated well,though i still believe 50 minutes isn't enough,especially for the first part,in order to introduce us well to the characters.But for now we do have a presentation to the main character,Rygart Arrow,and a small idea about the other characters.

Art-10,because it is Production I.G. and XEBEC we are talking about,and it looks well for me,as a mecha-fighting anime.The surroundings,canyon and desert read more
Aug 14, 2010
Uriel1988 (All reviews)
‘Break Blade’ is essentially a 50-minute teaser.

It starts with a rather chaotic scene featuring giant robots shooting at each other, only to shift focus to a young man fainting in the desert a couple of minutes later. It’s eventually made clear that conflict has broken out between 2 nations and that one of them has discovered a special weapon that could turn the tide in their favor if only they know how to use it. Enter our fainting young man in the desert who actually knows the ruler of said nation and, surprise, can use the weapon!

That’s the bare essentials of the main story. There read more
May 3, 2013
Ariray (All reviews)
Coming from common knowledge of mecha animes, Break Blade 1 doesn't go that far from reintroducing different viewers to what is really appreciated as a great genre of anime.

To start things off, I could say that BB1 is something very typical of an action/military that contains a hero. It's cliche, as some of the reviews had already said. However, I admired how it was implemented well. There's great character development which helps the movement of the story. Rygart, who I can describe as an unconventional hero since he lacks the ability that all of the people around him possess, shines out. His lack of power read more
Sep 28, 2012
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
INTRO: Broken Blade was a bit of a let down for me. I broke one of my own cardinal rules for watching anime; I had expectations. I saw the nice art, I saw that it was from I.G., and that it was an OAV, saw some good-looking characters and therefore launched right into the assumption that it HAD to be great! And maybe it is, but it certainly wasn't my cuppa! I was kinda bored throughout this series....and I'm not sure why Broken Blade isn't classed as a series because you can't watch any of them independently or out of sequence, that's enough for it read more
Feb 16, 2012
yoshiman (All reviews)
Break Blade? I still think someone translated it wrong.

When the movie starts, the first thing anyone would notice is the mecha battle. Basically their way of saying, “Ya, that’s right, this is a mecha show.” Honestly, I tend not to expect too much from mechas, simply because most are not that good. At best I expect to give this show an 8 overall, but I hope it will give me a reason to give it more.

The first thing I want to talk about is the art, because it’s the first thing you see. Right away you will notice that the budget for this series read more
Jun 1, 2013
BakaShinjiIkari (All reviews)
This review will cover the all 6 films, thus meaning that this review will be an overall review of all the films, got it? :)

The very first moment I watched this series, I knew right away that I'd be in for a great ride, and if you're into the mecha, shounen and military action genreas, then Broken (Brake) Blade is the anime for you and you won't be disappointed.

I give the overall story a 7. Why? Here comes why.
The story had a great start, however, I think that it seriously lacked some elements that would make the story better. The story is pretty chronological, so read more
Jan 20, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Note: My thoughts in this review cover the entirety of the Broken Blade movie series instead of one specific movie, just to give folks a heads up.

Broken Blade explores a young farmer named Rygalt Arrow who finds himself becoming entangled in a war between two kingdoms when he finds himself capable of piloting an ancient mecha named Delphine that others in the kingdom of Krisna are incapable of doing. Throughout the span of six movies, Broken Blade features Rygalt reuniting with the rulers of Krisna, Sigyn and Hodr, who were old friends of his from military school and adjusting to life as a soldier when read more
Sep 1, 2016
Lypse (All reviews)
First of all I want to clarify that I’m writing this review after watching Movie 1. I have no clue how the story will develop. Maybe I’ll throw my final conclusions at the page of the last one. Who knows.

Also, I apologize for every single spelling mistake I make in this post. I’m not really good at English.

So. I think an ideal word to describe this series is ‘simple’. But not in a negative way. If something is simple, yet catches your attention, it means there must be something good about it. I have a hard time paying attention to video’s that exceed 20 minutes, read more
Dec 22, 2016
Harizak (All reviews)
This is a review over the first 6 movies though I assume all the movies they will release.

To keep this short 100 people dead in a different country will have less of an impact on you than the death of one close person. Sadly no one told the writer of this. So many people die which is fine, but it is all like omg they are dying and the bad people are laughing manically. Sadly because at best I know one thing about them they are basically strangers and when they die as soldier I could not care less. We have all read more
Oct 1, 2011
bloodnet (All reviews)
This is going to be a Fast and Dirty review for the whole six OVA series.

Break Blade is a mecha OVA series that doesn't really offer anything new to the veteran anime viewers. We have a medieval-fantasy setting with mecha-golems. Everyone has the ability to use magic except for one young man who can't. Their peaceful nation is attacked by a powerful foreign power. At the knick of time they find a mysterious ancient mecha-golem, and guess what, only the boy without the magic powers can pilot it. We have an unlikely hero, reluctant to participate in battle, who is forced to do so in read more
Jan 5, 2012
fbh (All reviews)
This will be a review about the whole 6 OVAS.


Story 7/10
Once again we are faced with a somewhat generic Story. In a world where everyone is able to control quartz (and they call it magic) there is a boy who was born without this ability, yet he comes across a special kind of golem (the mechas of this world) which only he can controll and will soon be a key piece in a war between two nations.
Despite beeing quite generic I found the story to be entretaining and at the end of every OVA I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen in read more
Sep 11, 2017
BowlingJD (All reviews)
This review covers all six movies.

A long term key animator turned director by the name of Habara Nobuyoshi was the main guy heading up the mech adventure manga adaptation into a total of six movies up to chapter 50 of the manga. Break Blade or otherwise known as Broken Blade came from a joint effort by Production I.G. and Xebec. This is an anime about mech battles being a major focus for kingdoms and nations either to take over or protect their lands. There was a 12 episode anime tv series, but the adaptation was shortened and overall not very well received. The six movie read more
May 2, 2013
indianoferrano (All reviews)
This is a review solely for the Break Blade movie series, as the movie veers off in it's own direction to wrap up the story.

Overall, it's a great movie series to watch. It's movie length allows you to take in a good amount of information without consuming too much time or dragging out. Unfortunately, the manga series goes on for quite a while, so the movie doesn't cover the entire manga. Which makes for an unexplained ending and shortcuts throughout the movies.

Nonetheless, the animation is great, and the voice acting fits the characters well. But like all superhero mecha anime's, the 'soldiers' are always meaningless read more