Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Durarara!!


Alternative Titles

English: Durarara!!
Synonyms: Dhurarara!!, Dyurarara!!, Dulalala!!, Dullalala!!, DRRR!!
Japanese: デュラララ!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2010 to Jun 25, 2010
Premiered: Winter 2010
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.261 (scored by 416,237 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #39
Members: 845,636
Favorites: 26,497

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 14, 2010
Alayna (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is... for lack of a better term, the most freaking amazing thing I've ever seen. At first I was a bit worried, since I usually hate anime with the whole gang war theme and all, not to mention the first episode was a little bit slow, as well as the whole 'headless rider' seemed a bit silly. The characters (namely Izaya, Shizuo, Celty, Shinra... hell, all of the,) were what got me. Even the protagonist, who may seem like an average, boring male protagonist had some of his own secrets. But I'll explain in detail.

Story: Like I said, I had my doubts, but read more
Mar 5, 2011
daimira (All reviews)
I finally finished "Durarara!!" and while there were characters that I liked and moments that were entertaining, I don't think it's a series I would willingly put myself through again. I'm not even sure I liked it as a whole.

Putting aside the immediately obvious fact that the animation for this series is superb and all opening and ending songs are awesome, what's left for me to complain about is the pacing, the plot, and the nearly nonexistent character development. Oh, and the mind-numbingly boring way in which the dialogue is remarkably unsubtle, anvilicious, and pretentious.

I know this is based on a series of light novels read more
Dec 6, 2014
Aereldor (All reviews)
Durarara; a review.

I would like to note the massive popularity this show commands, and the rabid nature of its fanbase. Normally, this would be a good enough reason for one to abstain from critically reviewing this show, but oh, the thrill of jabbing at the hornets' nest...

Let us commence.

Round One: The Stage.

Alright, this one is going to be a mess, and I should get this over with in the first bit of the review. Durarara does not have a plot. It has barely any backstory, and relies more on the established 'Rule of Cool' rather than an interesting story or an intricate plot, or even read more
May 3, 2011
Andristian (All reviews)
The world of anime never ceases to come up with new and fascinating series, original and interesting storylines, or iconic and highly memorable characters. There’s a reason why this form of entertainment (and art) has attained such widespread reach over the years, and I truly believe that its decisive power lies in the near unrestrained creativity present in each and every anime series, original video animation, and whatnot. This freedom of expression and imagination has become somewhat of a signature for the Japanese animation industry, acting as sort of an assurance that anime features plenty of exclusive elements and things you won’t get to see read more
Jun 26, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
From the very get-go, even from the opening title sequence, you can easily notice one thing about Durarara, and that is that it was made by Ryohgo Narita, creator of Baccano. Everything about this show besides the setting is very reminiscent of Baccano, so inevitably, it will be compared to it. So, how does DRRR hold up compared to Narita's previous work?

Well, let's just get this out of the way now: No, it isn't as good as Baccano - but then, few anime are. If you're a Baccano fan, Durarara is definitely worth watching, and even if you aren't a Baccano fan, Durarara is still read more
Jul 11, 2015
Sapphire (All reviews)
Durarara!! is one of those shows with a double life theme, add that with some gang drama and a headless motorcyclist, and you got yourself a mashup! Which is exactly what this is. A mashup.

Story:

Just what I said above. This is a mashup of different cliche or used ideas. The headless motorcyclist, the gangs and mobs, the secret double life of a high schooler, and two best friends who end being on the opposite end. I was a bit disappointed in the fact there was much at the beginning but silly introductions to the characters and their profile. I don't care! They could've read more
Jan 22, 2010
KOTKA (All reviews)
Preliminary
In many ways, watching anime might be just like listening to music for me.
I have been taught to never have any prejudices and give an honest chance to everything that comes my way.
Obviously, when it's bad ten seconds into the song, you simply know it will stink the rest of the time and drop it. You rarely even regret it afterwards (let me stress the case is somewhat different with other forms of art, like literature, which is perceived somewhat slower and more methodical).
As for Durarara, and for my most beloved songs, novels, and other works, the key is an immediate impact and read more
Sep 25, 2014
Ilse (All reviews)
I recently watched the popular show, Durarararararara!! and I have to say, it was quite enjoyable, with a few flaws/annoying parts. Durarara is a very unique show that contains a whole lot of different genres mixed together; romance, comedy, supernatural, mystery, and even some action here and there. I've never seen a show hop around all over the place, in terms of plot. In this review, I may blab nonsense, but I'll try to explain why I like Durarara.

In order for me to describe the plot, it would take forever because there's just so much happening in Durarara to a whole load of different main read more
Feb 24, 2010
bopbot (All reviews)
Preliminary
As I write, we're only about 7 episodes into "Durarara!!", but I'm already super pumped about this show. The creators have given me a lot of reasons to be satisfied so early into the series, and that's a mean feat considering how long it takes even some of the best anime to get up to speed.

The sheer amount of awesome in this show boggles the brain. The characters are the baddest of asses and every single one, bar none, is interesting and complex. One of my favorite character introductions is in the first episode: a vending machine rockets through the air and we're told, "dudes, read more
Mar 12, 2012
DraconisMarch (All reviews)
Preliminary
I guess the most natural response would be to call this show a train wreck, but that would imply
1. There would have to be a train in one piece.
2. It would have to be on a set of railroad tracks.
3. It would have to be capable of moving in some direction.

Durarara!! is more like starting off with all of the train cars scattered across the yard, then having an earthquake and expecting them to somehow find each other AND put themselves in the correct order. (Nevermind getting on a track AND traveling somewhere.)

To put it in layman's terms: DRRR is read more
Feb 16, 2014
Mind-freak (All reviews)
"Just because I like humans doesn't mean I like you personally" -Izaya

Durarara is able to to keep you entertained for each entire episode. The art isn't so good as the colors are dull and the character's faces are often expressionless. On the other hand, both openings and endings were awesome.

Simply put, Durarara!! is a show that attempts anything and everything. It seeks ensemble-based drama with enough humorous peripheral characters to lighten its load (and some romances thrown in for good measure), and in its spare moments delves into the supernatural and attempts a meta-fictional perspective on 21st century Japanese culture. The series throws development after read more
Jan 22, 2010
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before you click the "not helpful" tab, let me say something. I wrote this review at the start of the series, and made a bunch of predictions on how it will turn out, but I'm confident that I won't have to change any of the content in this review, even after the show ends. I'm as sure about the general structure and potential of this show as I possibly can be. (It's all here in this pamphlet *passes around*)

I've now seen 10 episodes, and I could see how this was destined to go (not where, the two are different). It becomes very apparent that this read more
Jul 11, 2010
realadultman (All reviews)
What do you get when you take Baccano!, replace all interesting characters with angsty teens and characters defined by their repititious actions (one guy throws vending machines when angry, but hates violence - this is considered the equivalent of a "personality"), restrict it from killing anyone; even random extras, and have all feelings expressed through narration - given, otherwise you wouldn't have been able to tell?

You get Durarara!!. This show is awful. It's the child-friendly Baccano!, with complete disregard to the factor that Baccano! *was never meant for children*. If Baccano! had a disturbed and forbidden lovechild with Bleach, and that lovechild had a tumor, read more
Oct 31, 2014
Skeletonxf (All reviews)
Watched the dub so that's what I'm reviewing.

The anime often shows you seemingly useless information, and at times following the flashbacks are very hard. The first few episodes were very slow, and not that engaging, and while it finished very well, the journey to that was less engaging.

The story and character interactions are very well strung together, perhaps too well at points, the flashbacks are sometimes a little hard to follow and the un centred nature of the anime made following the plot sometimes challenging. This anime isn't something that you can really attach 'antagonist' labels to something, while it's an understatement to say it's read more
Dec 23, 2015
Kirik0h (All reviews)
To describe “Durarara!!” as atypical or multi-faceted would be a severe understatement by any measure. Narita’s creation is a rarity in that it is a show whose characters and the universe in which they inhabit are totally homogeneous – the characters are the universe and vice versa. Durarara is a piece of metafiction that primarily explores youth culture in Japan although much of its revelations and developments are relatable or can be extrapolated into the Western world. What is particularly impressive is that all this social commentary comes slickly packaged in a character drama whose comedy, romance, supernatural conceptions and eclectic cast can be appreciated read more
Jun 28, 2011
artist-retired (All reviews)
Ikebukuro is one crazy ass town set in one crazy ass country that produced one crazy ass series of novels that now has a crazy ass anime adaptation, now replace "crazy ass" with "entertaining".

STORY: Durarara (Or DRRR, which by the way sounds like an insult to someone when they make a stupid or obvious statement) can be described as two things: crazy and entertaining, and entertaining and crazy. Durarara is as crazy as it is entertaining, I mean what other anime has gang wars, superhuman people, super natural elements, and enough characters pushed up into like several clown cars, packed up like sardines, that start read more
Dec 5, 2012
Tkavatar (All reviews)
For anybody trying to decide on whether or not they should watch Durarara, do yourself a favor and watch it. This anime is easily one of the best I've ever seen. The story starts off a little slow with a shy and timid boy named Mikado moving to new city in Japan who has high hope to start a new life. from there the story takes off. The anime stays pretty consistent with presenting new information and ideas, and easily keeps your attention. As far as story goes it is one of the most well thought out, complex, developed, and mature plots I've ever had read more
Mar 25, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
Preliminary
Trying to figure out how to write a review about this in a way that made sense, the best I could come up with is that this feels like an attempt to imitate Baccano while conforming it to much more normal anime standards and tropes.

The reason that Baccano is phenomenal is that it ignores many of these standards and focuses on its chaos and glib fun. Durarara, on the other hand, chose a plodding pace and complete lack of chaos, which would be perfectly fine on its own, but it tries to imitate Baccano's charm and sense of wildness, so a lot of Durarara read more
Jan 2, 2011
Prophetess (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, so after surrounding all the hype that encased this show, and because Crispin Freeman made a big deal about it at NYAF 2010, I decided to give it a shot. Half of me feels like it was a waste of time, and the rest of me isn't so sure. I am almost finished with it at this point, but I feel that writing the review now might be best (the end that is in sight isn't looking good.)

Now, if you're one of the people looking to watch this show because you enjoyed Baccano! (I mean, who didn't?), then this is NOT for you. It read more
Mar 9, 2015
YhagoPinto (All reviews)
The anime has a series of tags and I would add 'psychological' to better describe some scenes. The story immediately caughts your attention by the way it's told, not by the content itself. Narita, the original creator and the rest of the team, in this regard used some cool classic tricks seen on many "best seller" books. Not only that, but overall the 'sound guys' managed to capture every scene with the right OST, making this an anime very easy to marathon.

Monologues? Check.

Its quality can vary, sometimes it feels brilliant, by giving insight to what the characters are thinking or to give a better read more