Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kuroshitsuji II


Alternative Titles

English: Black Butler II
Synonyms: Kuroshitsuji 2, Black Butler 2
Japanese: 黒執事II

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2010 to Sep 17, 2010
Premiered: Summer 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.501 (scored by 161,786 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #194
Members: 278,877
Favorites: 3,501

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2010
-Naami- (All reviews)
Sequels can be a dangerous territory to tread on. Especially ones for shows that already do not follow the manga but instead, creates its own story. On one hand it has the job of following and wrapping up the previous season’s (to an extent, “original”) storyline and on the other hand, pleasing the fans. To many, Black Butler II has done neither and to others it has done more than that: in other words, there is a clear division between fans.

Let’s get the technicalities out of the way. The art and animation is as beautiful and Victorian-Gothic as the first season, though the animation read more
Aug 20, 2010
IceAndCream (All reviews)
Here we have Kuroshitsuji (Black Butler), season 2. What is it, and what is it not? (Please, loyal fans, be kind to me, for voicing my opinion.) And please, all you Black Butler fans under age 18, ask your parents before watching this series. I'll say up front that the content is at an overtly ADULT-ONLY level.

Moving on....

What this series is not: It's not at all related to the manga. It's a continuation from the end of season 1, which had begun to diverge from the manga around halfway through. Even though the first season apparently painted itself into read more
Feb 17, 2012
TypeOfCicada (All reviews)
Kuroshitsuji II (Black Butler II) is not a true sequel to the original, or at least I refuse to hail it as such, but it is still an interesting addition to the series and appears to experiment with several archetypes, something I as a writer and literature major can appreciate.

I've heard it called an abortion, a sort of a tragic death to the tragic series about death and mortality, and taken in the aspect of a literal sequel - a direct followup to the Black Butler that received high acclaim - this would indeed be the case. However, what Black Butler II does is not read more
Sep 16, 2010
XxXTsubomiXxX (All reviews)
Being an avid fan of Kuroshitsuji, and seeing the entire first season, OVA as well as being an avid manga fan, I must say that I'm disappointed in this series for several reasons. This is merely an opinion, but I found myself hating the storyline behind season 2 entirely.

Below are the good, bad and ugly of this series:

The good

The series has amazing artowrk and beautiful sound.The animation was crisp and clear and the music was amazing, especially with songs coming from Yuya Matsushima and Nightmare.

The bad, and the ugly.

As several reviewers stated before, it does not follow the manga, but I don't consider that bad read more
Jul 19, 2010
rioyoki (All reviews)
Preliminary
Once upon a time in England there was a fair Queen who ruled the land; only the queen was not fair at all, in fact she had died and the country itself was hiding it. But from what or whom?

The story continues with a new contract formed between a young boy of fourteen: Alois Trancy and Claude Faustus who carries a similar presence as well as punch line "I want to greedily devour you to the end, my master" as Sebastian and through a small critique made by Sebastian in the first episode it seems that Claude tries to follow in Sebastian's foot steps but read more
Jan 29, 2011
crankyy (All reviews)
Kuroshitsuji II embarks with the debut of Alois Trancy, the sadistic, erratic, and creepy-as-hell lord of the Trancy estate. Alois’ backstory is disturbing, though in an incredibly enjoyable way. His character is endearing; a classic anime psycho that you can’t help but be immediately drawn to. His character design is one of the best I’ve seen in a while. He was such a complex character that had so much development potential. He really could have held the series up on his own.

Until he dissipates into a sniveling excuse of a train wreck along with the rest of the cast. Let’s hope all those fanfics read more
Jul 4, 2010
ChibiHime (All reviews)
Kuroshitsuji II, a new butler and a new master. It is completely original and does not follow the manga. Kuroshitsuji II was born as fanservice and it died as fanservice too. But you know what? A-1 is pro enough to make this fanserivce work with the plot. I call it!! *drum roll* Logical fanservice!! :P

Ok so I'm not talking about boobs and panty fanservice. There's plenty of boobs I assure you but I'm talking about a different kind of fanservice. Notice how Ciel and Seb are in the character section now? They're in there for a reason. So think about it, Seb and Ciel + read more
Sep 18, 2010
kitten320 (All reviews)
First things first, I never read the manga so I completly don't care about its story since I didn't like season 1, it was boring.

I never planned to watch second season but I saw some interesting things and finally decided to give it a shot... And I loved it!

Yes, I love season 2 and dislike season 1. Firstly I never found Ciel/Sebastian to be interesting. Sebastian is way too perfect that I don't even care about him.

But here comes season 2 where we are introduced to several new characters. Alois is very mean and had some pathefic moments but over all I would better watch read more
Sep 5, 2010
Nanalilly (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story::

Kuroshitsuji II starts off where season one left off.....sort of. The series begins with a a new butler/child combo, Alois and Claude. From the summery of the series, one would assume that this isn't so much a second season as it is a successor. However, we quickly learn that the story begins to jump around from the first episode as this pair is introduced alongside the more familiar Ciel and Sebastian. Not much can be said beyond this point to avoid spoilers, but the basic premise of Kuroshitsuji II revolves around the developed rivalry between Alois and Ciel, as well as the rivalry between read more
Jun 11, 2011
Faeron (All reviews)
To those lucky people out there who come across this review without watching Kuroshitsuji I:
Before you watch the first season, I strongly, STRONGLY recommend you watch the second season first, and then follow up with the first one and look at them as two different little stories, rather than being continuous. Look at them as two possible endings which might've occurred and you will have a choice of choosing the ending which best suits you and by doing so you won't have a chance of being disappointed and no ending is then "forced" upon you.

(I will not compare it to the manga and how read more
May 22, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Last week I looked at Kuroshitsuji. This week I'm looking at the sequel. What's odd about Kuroshitsuji having a sequel is that the first series is complete. It tells the story of Sebastian and Ciel beginning, middle and end. Going into this, I have no idea how they could make a sequel, unless it's some kind of spiritual successor. Well, let's take a look at the series and find out how they handle it.

You can't see it, but I'm face-palming right now. Given the quality of the first series, I gave them credit. I didn't think they would go for a true sequel, but read more
Mar 24, 2014
JadeOlivia (All reviews)
I don't know if it's because I already poured my cereal in my bowl this morning and I didn't have any fucking milk, or if it's because this anime truley sucked. What I do know is this anime pissed me off. It introduces a set of new characters, Alios and Clyde, these two domininating the second season.

Story: 4
The story was mediocre at best. It honestly wasn't in the least bit interesting, and was a waste of time to even watch. The storyline of the first one was great, amazing I'm fact. But this one was appealing, and made me think they should've ended it with read more
Jul 21, 2010
Kaira-Chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
(This review is subjected to have one or two spoilers for the first ep)

So, I didn't finish watching the first season of Kuroshitsuji, because I didn't want to see the ending, when I know that it was so different from the manga (Yes, I read the manga) but I have to say, giving Kuroshitsuji season ll a shot wasn't a bad idea. As of now, there are only three episodes out and the suspense and the want for answers are already building.

STORY:
The anime starts out with a new butler and a new master. The starting of the anime wasn't bad, actually it was quite read more
Apr 30, 2011
RukiaRocks (All reviews)
You know, people said the second season would suck. The only thing I ever knew about the second season(this was back when I was still watching season one) was the infamous "tongue boy." Alois, I thought, would be a little like the Ikuto(Shugo Chara sexy kitty boy) figure. But it turned out that he was a very...Interesting person. Disturbed in terms of society's "moral correctness," Alois made for the perfect character to use as support for Kuroshitsuji's finale.

I'm not one to like it when an anime series alters it's plot just so they can end it ahead of time, but this was a really read more
Sep 23, 2010
DestructiveNix (All reviews)
Alright guys, I'm going to say this straight out of the box. I had my doubts, five minutes in to the first episode. I didn't think Alois was going to live up to the standards Ceil set, nor did I like Claude. He was simply too fussy. I changed my mind in the last few minutes of that same episode. Once I realized Ceil was in fact, still around, and it wasn't going to be about Alois, I was thoroughly delighted.

From the standpoint of an animator, I have to say that the animation isn't as great as it maybe could have been, but considering read more
Nov 18, 2010
Nia9001 (All reviews)
As a fan of the first season, I was looking forward to the announcement that the second season got a green lit. I disliked the idea of having a new master and butler but as the updates and airing date were moving close, I felt that the new master is indeed interesting and unique. Aside the new butler of course.

The moment I got to watch the first episode of the second season, there were mixed feelings. Confusion, amusement and unsatisfaction. The latter episodes became dull but there were certain ones that just makes me “Okay fine, I’ll finish this. Maybe it would be more interesting read more
Mar 4, 2016
ToonSword (All reviews)
I'm going to be honest. I went into this season totally ready to hate it, but did find myself enjoying certain aspects of it. Does that make it actually good though? Not... really.

The biggest problem with this season is also the most obvious one: it doesn't have any reason to exist. It follows after the first season of Black Butler, which itself had a very definitive ending, and the excuses they come up with to continue the story are weak and frankly ridiculous at times. They desperately try to bring back old characters that had their character arcs end long ago, and all of that read more
Apr 5, 2015
Sapphire (All reviews)
Creators have to be extra careful when they create sequels and even series to popular movies/shows. I can name only a few sequels that have been almost or even better than the original, but this...not even close. I don't count this as a 'sequel'.

Plot:

With the story, the first five episodes are clearly fillers, except maybe the first when introducing Alois. But we don't really get a proper story line until the middle of the season. It's a bit disappointing when you reach it and say, "so what was the purpose of the last few episodes?" clearly the writers weren't thinking when they wrote read more
Nov 22, 2010
xxcchaosxx (All reviews)
Kuroshitsuji II
(two stars like this ** means that there is a spoiler coming up, and you should skip to the next set of stars)

And here we come to a sequel. Sequels can be a good thing, if expressed correctly and if it is relevant to the parent story, much like an OVA. And let’s be honest – if a show is THAT good, and it ends in a sort of open ended way, shouldn’t it just stay like that? I mean, I’m pretty sure no one wants to know what happened to Azmaria at the end of Chrono Crusade. And though I used to hope read more
Apr 23, 2015
StitchesAndRags (All reviews)
Black Butler 2 is a sequel that was not needed in the first place. That being said, I did enjoy it, but there are definitely problems.


Story-3
The ending of season one was one of the best endings and needed no continuation. But I would be lying if I said I was not excited for another season. We get more mystery, more demons and just more Black Butler. The plot had an interesting premise even if it seemed like something you could find on fanficiton.net. But the story was done very poorly, hence the score I gave it. It has too many plot holes and even read more