Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Katanagatari


Alternative Titles

English: Katanagatari
Synonyms: Sword Story
Japanese: 刀語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 26, 2010 to Dec 11, 2010
Premiered: Winter 2010
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: White Fox
Source: Light novel
Duration: 50 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 85,369 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #206
Members: 196,690
Favorites: 5,958

Reviews

Archaeon
Jan 4, 2011
Since 2006, light novel adaptations have gradually become a regular feature in anime as producers in the industry scrabble around in their attempts to find the biggest cash cow since the advent of Suzumiya Haruhi. The surprising thing is that the fallout from this has actually been a lot better for fans than one might expect, and while titles like Guin Saga, Kemono no Souja Erin, Ghost Hunt, Baccano!, Kure-nai, Rental Magica, Spice & Wolf, and NHK ni Youkoso! may not be as commercially successful as KyoAni's behemoth, they do represent a gradual shift in the industry towards creativity and originality.

Which is where Katanagatari comes read more
I found this review Helpful
Smartreviews
Dec 11, 2014
"I have just come to a realization! This scroll by Broken Sword contains no secrets of his swordsmanship. What this reveals is his highest ideal. In the first state, man and sword become one..." - King of Qin, Hero

I originally stumbled upon this anime thinking it was a continuation of the Monogatari series. It's not. But it's a great show nonetheless. What wowed me about this show was its pacing. Katanagatari is easily one of the most well-paced animes I've ever seen, and the pacing reminds me a lot of BBC's Sherlock series. Each of the 45-minute episodes are like a mini-movie, leaving very little read more
I found this review Helpful
8thSin
Dec 10, 2010
'Katanagatari' ('Tale of Swords') is about Togame, a self-claimed "General Director of Military and Offering Affairs serving under Yanari Shogun Family of Owari Shogunate", and Yasuri Shichika, the last inheritor of swordless swordsmanship "Kyotouryuu", and their adventure to collect 12 legendary swords.

Original work written by the same author as 'Bakemonogatari', this is a dialogue-based series that I cannot recommend to Shounen and other viewers who seek mindless battle scenes, you can ignore my warnings... "but by that time, you'd be slashed into pieces."


The story of 'Katanagatari' is driven by the characters who stand in the way of the sword gathering. New characters and weapon of read more
I found this review Helpful
Raptor1221
Aug 4, 2014
What do you fight for? That is a question with no simple answer. People say that they wish to accomplish some sort of dream or aspiration. To achieve fame, fortune, love, or maybe even revenge. Some are simple and others ambitious beyond belief. The real question is, do you have the will to fulfill that dream? Is it truly what you wish for? Are willing to struggle to the end for it? Many people try to fulfill their aspirations. Many people simply die in regret and are forgotten. Others fulfill a dream so large they are remembered for all time. read more
I found this review Helpful
PoeticJustice
Jul 4, 2014
What is it that you fight for? Money? Power? Honor? Love? Revenge? Out of all the millions of reasons , in the end does it really matter? These are some of the things you will ponder while watching Katanagatari. Nisio Isin, the mind behind the monogatari-series, which some might call a twist on the harem genre, has used his deft hand at creating unique characters and worlds, in what would traditionally be a shounen premise. The end result, is a masterfully crafted tale that blends Japanese folklore, romance, and martial arts with a very contemporary touch that makes Katanagatari feel both modern and old at read more
I found this review Helpful
johnvswild
Aug 22, 2013
I simply cannot grasp why this anime receives so much praise.

SPOILER-FREE

White Fox adapted this from the light novel Katanagatari, and although they have the same author and a similar name, it has no connection to the Monogatari series in style, substance or story. The two main characters romp through a mythologized version of feudal Japan, neatly divided into formulaic episodes, collecting swords and killing fucking everyone they see.

Katanagatari is by no means a terrible anime, but if you look at the way it is treated, you might think it’s an absolute masterpiece, or panders to the shounen crowd excessively. Neither is true. The world and read more
I found this review Helpful
Link_of_Hyrule
Nov 21, 2014
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

What’s more important: the destination, or the journey it takes to get there? If you put every ounce of your blood, sweat and tears towards achieving your goal, and still fail, was it all for nothing? Inversely, if you accomplish all of your goals without breaking a sweat, are you really accomplishing anything? Due to the fact that the outcome of nearly every shounen anime every made is never in any real question what so ever, this is not a theme we have ever seen explored in anime. At least, not until Katanagatari was released. This anime is perhaps the only show ever read more
I found this review Helpful
Refawul
Aug 8, 2014
Considering the amount of love this show has received, it feels risky giving a comparatively low score to Katanagatari, although I don't personally consider a 7 by any means low. Please don't label this review as "not helpful" just because you disagree with the scores or think they are too low. This is a difficult show to review because a) most of my complaints are directed to the plot and character development, both of which are difficult to describe without spoilers, and b) some of the complaints can also be considered reasons why this show is amazing or unique. Unique is indeed one of the read more
I found this review Helpful
CynicalXperiment
Oct 29, 2014
Katanagatari is one of those anime that thinks it has enough content and entertainment to warrant fifty minutes per episode. But while other anime were pretty accurate in their judgements (Hellsing Ultimate, Fate/Zero, GTO), Katanagatari overestimates itself. If you’re already offended because I accused this show of claiming to be much smarter than it actually is, better clear out now because you won’t be liking the next few paragraphs.

Katanagatari follows a man named Sichika Yasuri, a well trained martial artist who possesses a unique style of sword fighting in which he himself is the blade. A mysterious woman named Togame appears before him asking for read more
I found this review Helpful
Lawuser
May 10, 2013
Katanagatari is interesting because it's one of the better anime in recent time (that I have seen), one of the best anime from 2010 (that I have seen) and arguably the best work of NisiOisiN (that I have seen, even though this only includes two titles).

Now, Katanagatari is great, it's absolutely wonderful, but depending on your ability to immerse yourself in a story so much that you forget time this may or may not be for you. If you are like me with the attention span of a goldfish, initially the 50-minute long episodes might scare you off. If you are able to put up read more
I found this review Helpful
Dragon
Dec 10, 2015
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

I was really excited for this show and hyped for its ending because I had heard really good things about it and its ending. On the r/anime subreddit I go to, people consistently put it up for "best endings" or most "solid arc" or "great character development", but while I liked this show initially, it started to lose its luster a bit with its episodic repetitiveness, long runtime (45 minutes approximately, which I think hurt it more than helped as I felt they rambled too much and could've had a faster pace). Some of the dialogue confused me a bit for the read more
I found this review Helpful
Xiaraith
Dec 13, 2013
Katanagatari: a tale of twelve twisted swords,
which keenly point their sharpened blades towards
just anyone who's thirsting for their mighty power
and therefore causing uproars and a troubled hour.
Harrying this ward -
++Zettou Kanna++
the first sword

To wield a sword, you need courage and a certain reason
to use such a deathly tool for committing life treason.
Explore your innermost nature and understand the way!
"What do you fight for?"... it's not just a simple play.
Another slain lord -
++Zantou Namakura++
the second sword

Now to find these swords and also their own true self,
our two heroes set sail in search for these twelve
relics of Shikizaki Kiki's most famous smithery,
which became an unfathomably perilous reality.
Limits read more
I found this review Helpful
leingodf8
May 30, 2010
Katanagatari, the show that loves the number 12. 12 swords, 12 ninjas, 12 episode... and I'm half expecting it to turn out that the Shichika has 12 secret techniques at his disposal. Yes, Katanagatari is an interesting show about a young man and woman on a quest to gather the 12 ultimate swords. The premise sounds fairly cliche, but still interesting enough to watch solely based on that, but how does it really fare? Lets find out...

Now, let me start off by saying, if anime was judged on artistic style alone, Katanagatari would probably be one of the greatest of all time, as the artwork read more
I found this review Helpful
ggultra2764
May 20, 2015
Katanagatari was a series that got a good deal of hype back in 2010 that I never found myself getting into at the time. Notable in that each episode aired one time a month on Japanese pay-per-view channels throughout the year and each one aired at 50 minutes a piece, the series focused on skilled martial artist Shichika and a military adviser named Togame seeking out the whereabouts of 12 legendary swords called the Deviant Blades created by a recluse swordsman named Kiki Shikizaki, as each episode of the series focuses on our pair trying to seek out one of the 12 weapons. Shichika and read more
I found this review Helpful
canabliss
Sep 21, 2010
Katanagatari is by the write of Bakemonogatari, knowing this, I watched it thinking it might be good. It isn't, the ONLY thing good about this anime IMO is the animations. It's boring, has very little fight scenes, and when it does have a fight scene they are usually very boring. The main character is Goku but even more bland, and the main female is an annoying bitch. The story had a good idea, go around Japan collecting legendary swords, but they made it so that each episode the main character meets some emo, then they talk for 40 minutes, spend about 5 minutes foreshadowing, then read more
I found this review Helpful
Yuniversal
May 17, 2016
Yo boys, you should totally watch this series!

However, by that point you'll have been torn to pieces.

Dear those who want to watch Katanagatari...

You may have witnessed a lot of disappointment from those who watched this show. The main reason (and sometimes the only reason) behind these instances of disappointment is the extreme lack of action. People start watching this show expecting high octane martial arts fight scenes filled with badassness, but really, that's not the focus of this show at all. Instead, what people get is talking. At least 90% of this show is just pure dialogue.

I was one who knew about this dialogue read more
I found this review Helpful
gullej
Nov 27, 2015
“People who work for money are no good. People who work for honor are also no good. That leaves only one reason. People who work for love can be trusted. Yasuri Shichika… fall for me!” - Togame

Katanagatari is written by the well-known author Nisio Isin, original creator of the –monogatari series. This means that, if you were expecting a show with a ton of fighting, you might be disappointed. There is, however, at the very least one (pretty epic) fight throughout every episode. The runtime of each episode is 50 minutes, and I believe that this is beneficial to the series, since it allows for read more
I found this review Helpful
Bilgamesh
Aug 12, 2016
I hate Katanagatari, I hate it so much that I cannot describe how I hate it. I guess that it is time to stop reading synopses, because it never helps you and makes you decide the fate of the anime that you are about to watch beforehand. Katanagatari is one of these horrible examples: it shows you its synopsis, makes you think that it is generic and dull, and then it proves you that it is one of the most epic adventures that you will ever see in your life. When you see it, you will be surprised how masterfully Katanagatari reworks all clichés read more
I found this review Helpful
Fullmetal-Ghoul
Jan 19, 2016


Katanagatari is a 2010 anime produced by Studio WHITE FOX. It’s an adaptation of the light novels by NisiOisiN. It was directed by Keitarou Motonaga. Director of School Days and Legend of the Galactic Heroes. Katana is the story of ex military “strategist” Togame and legendary fighter Yasuri Shichika as they travel the land in search of 12 all powerful swords.

Katana’s protagonists are a good place to start. Shichika is a powerhouse swordfighter who uses his body as a sword. This thematically ties into his character, as he grew up pretty much alone on an island his whole life, and has no way of interacting read more
I found this review Helpful
qub4honor
Aug 31, 2015
This show left me breathless. Right after the final cut I needed to rewatch last episode all over again and enjoy the joy and pain once more. This is not some another action anime, this is piece of art.

Closest thing one should compare this show to is Samurai Champloo, not only because of the samurai theme but the main "plot" of traveling and finding what was lost is pretty similar, but where Samurai Champloo ends in story and character progression, Katanagatari only starts.

So much development in only 12 episodes (50min) is incredible. Characters are deep and are presented through very long but sensible dialogues. Many read more
I found this review Helpful