Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hanamaru Youchien


Alternative Titles

English: Hanamaru Kindergarten
Japanese: はなまる幼稚園

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2010 to Mar 29, 2010
Premiered: Winter 2010
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Gainax
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 21,615 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1507
Members: 46,975
Favorites: 147

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 19, 2010
Bluesnow (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me start off by saying this is a cute and innocent anime. Despite having a similar premise, this series is nothing like the Pedobear anime Kodomo Jikan. I don't generally do early season reviews, but since the only other review gave it a 1/10 I think a less bias grade is necessary.

Plot: The story revolves around a male kindergarten teacher's first class ever. He is shocked to see the job is a little harder than he thought it would be... especially since one of the little girls wants to marry him. So far (as of episode 2) the episodes have centered around the read more
May 1, 2013
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
"You're hitting on me!"

I facepalmed. Onto my desk. With full force. That is the last thing you'd expect to hear in a show about kindergarteners. But Hanamaru Kindergarten is full of comments and moments where you stop and think to yourself, "What are the children of humanity learning these days...?". At least, that's what I was thinking the entire time.

Anyways, Hanamaru Kindergarten is a sickeningly sweet anime that I just happened to find on Crunchyroll one day, and decided to watch it, thinking that it was about time I stopped watching action related shows for a while. So I watched the first episode. In read more
Mar 29, 2010
Kaimweir (All reviews)
Gainax’s most recent production seems to have been greeted with either one of three responses. The first is that of simple pleasure found in watching an anime that has well-structured episodes and that make good use of humor. This is the view I have adopted, as each sub-episode contained within an episode is well planned and carries subtle undertones of moral conventions contrasted with and against accepted social attitudes.

The anime itself is a set of twelve episodes, each containing two sub-episodes, that are loosely tied together through a plot-line based on the unrequited feelings of romance a kinder garden student, Anzu, has towards read more
Mar 28, 2010
Splitter (All reviews)
Somehow, I feel as though Hanamaru Kindergarten is a giant lesson in hypocrisy. So many people have preached that it's all about being cute and fluffy. Loli not pedo, that kind of stuff, but is it really? The focus of the grand majority of the series is about Anzu in love with Tsuchida and Tsuchida in love with Yamamoto. While I reasoned Anzu's attraction to Tsuchida was nothing but an innocent crush, her tenacity and attitude as the series progressed genuinely began to frighten me to the point where brushing this off as an innocent childhood experience was no longer an option. Anzu really loves read more
Oct 24, 2017
DanevsAnime (All reviews)
This anime follows two groups of characters: the adult kindergartner teachers centering on Tsuchida, and the kindergartners themselves centering on Anzu. Right away a bridge is established between the two groups, with Anzu being a flirt and madly in love with Tsuchida. It is very cute and endearing to start off with, but quickly becomes old and boring. The show even goes so far as to lay out exactly what the love triangle and love arc of the show is at one point. The sound gets a worse score here than it probably should, mainly because all of the kids make a squeaking noise with read more
Mar 1, 2010
marick251 (All reviews)
Preliminary
now heres an anime that challenges the controversy of age difference dating or what i call ADD. now i am against the dating of an adult and child unless the age difference is under 3 years but this anime takes it to a whole new level, introducing an age difference of at least 15 years. while i do disagree with the concept i try past it to find a decent anime with one of the best first episode i have seen.

story-7
the story is not very complex since it is just a two 10 minute episode in one describing the three little girl's everyday lives with read more
Oct 4, 2010
gengduck (All reviews)
Story:
So you look at the plot summary and think its just another show about a teacher and his students, however this show is much more than that. Although some issues of this show tread on some people's line of morality, it shows what a crush really is in its purest form in both of a child and an adult. Each side plot is filled with good jokes and a small moral lesson, while maintaining a light hearted feel in the show. Those who don't like too much happiness should stay clear of this show.

Art:
The animation for this show completely suits the light hearted feel this read more
Mar 30, 2010
GameXtra (All reviews)
Hanamaru Youchien revolve around Tsuchida, a clumsy person who has always been good with children. After leaving home and starting living on his own, he decides to work in a kindergarten.

Although Hanamaru Youchien isn't a masterpiece, it's certainly outstanding.
As the series goes on you find out more about the children their parents and all kind of fun story that will surly make you laugh and smile :} together with its fantastic art style, unique endings, fabulous background sound, and of course its funny and super kawaii(cute) characters, it may not be the best series out there, but you wont regret watching it! :}
Mar 1, 2016
Apdo1 (All reviews)
This anime is probably a goto anime for those who wanted to watch an adorable, funny and moe ass fuck kind of anime. This is one of them. And despite the many "how the fuck", and "wtf" moment. It's quite intriguing and cute as well. And probably the best thing about this anime would be the voice actress/actors acting for the kindergarten kid in the anime. It was on point lmao. Even so, the anime is a pretty passive one with no and slow character/story development throughout the anime. So if you're not a big fan of an anime that has a very slow read more
Dec 9, 2016
Plucky-San (All reviews)
Remember Kindergarten Cop? Well Kindergarten teacher part aside, this isn't really like that at all...
Tsuchida is a typical bumbling guy, he's awkward but somehow has a real knack with kids. He decides to become a kindergarten teacher and meets the daughter of his high school friend. Funny thing is, little Anzu-Chan takes QUITE the liking to our main guy Tsuchida. Surprise surprise, she's also one of his kindergarten students!!

This show is a strange mix of slice of life comedy, and in a REALLY weird way, a romance love triangle as well. Tsuchida falls head over heels with another teacher at the school, but little read more
Dec 21, 2017
BrianMJK (All reviews)
Kawaii-ness : 10 / 10 - My goodness, sugoku kawaii.
comedy : 9 / 10
Romance : 6.5 / 10 - Little disappointing.
Overall enjoyment : 8 / 10

In all honesty I started watching this because it just caught my eyes, but it turned out to be a lot of interesting than I thought. One thing hell of for sure that it's freakin' cute af. If you like cute stuff then this anime is definitely for you. Lastly comedy was amazing also, funny and hooking. Mixing a lot of dead inside- oh dear moments. Character for one I must say it was good, but could be read more
Jun 4, 2010
Yuffira (All reviews)
I have very mixed feelings about this anime. Some moments were heartwarming, others just didn't add anything to the story.
Hanamaru Youchien shows us the everyday life of a couple of toddlers and their teachers, how they overcome hardships and how they share their fun moments. Love is also a very important theme in the series. At some points the characters really drag you into their lives making your heart pound faster whenever something important happens. On the other hand there are many episodes were this feelgood-feeling just isn't present, making them random and unnecessary.

Story: 5
Hanamaru Youchien doesn't have much of a story. It's read more
Nov 28, 2010
Plagus777 (All reviews)
Story - 7

- Series of mini stores
- adequately paced
- almost never boring
- very character driven
- interesting look into the life of an anime Kindergarten teacher
- Not really completely about the Kindergartners which I liked very much, there are some part with the adults as well

Art - 8

- outstanding art for this type of anime
- characters would not be the same without the art
- epic kawaiiness
- Every ED theme is different, what really makes it interesting is the art style they used to anime it. I've watched all the EDs for all 12 episodes.

Sound - 7

- The OP was pretty nice, unfortunately nothing special
- The ED read more
Sep 30, 2016
Notshane (All reviews)
Certainly an anime I was trying to come back to again and again, I finally decided to watch it when I forgot that it was in my to-do list. Also, this review does contain spoilers, as I was unable to elaborate on it properly without including them. But, it is an anime about little kids, so there is not much story involved anyway.

Obviously, everybody is going to mention Kodomo no Jikan because it is more popular, but I did not think this anime was creepy. If anything, the only creepy part about it was how much intelligence Anzu had for age. It was understandable for read more
May 10, 2016
Manuke (All reviews)
I don't usually review the stuff I watch, as it's older things people have already seen. But I felt the need to review this one.

I have seen a gif from this Anime so many times online and had to search for it until I found it. I originally thought it was just going to be a basic cutesy slice of life and didn't expect to really get as interested in it as I did. I liked it for the cutesy way the artists drew the kids and how the characters all conveyed emotion. It felt like something natural instead of forced.

There are so many read more
Mar 28, 2010
apatch3 (All reviews)
Watching one episode of this will make you realize you're about to embark on a journey that involves delving into the sanctimonious epitome of the the word "kawaii" the very essence that runs japans economy (jk).
One thing I'd like to say to everyone who expects this to be another "taboo" filled series like kodomo no Jikan.. trust me it ISNT .. THIS SHOW IS NOTHING LIKE KODOMO NO JIKAN (yes I have to write it in capitals in case people just skim through this review). Kodomo no jikan was downright perverse, the sort of relationships between adults and read more
Feb 9, 2016
festus (All reviews)
I didn't know anything about this show going into it. Hell, I didn't even know it existed till Memefield's review. From my first impression, I thought that it would just be a cute little romp about preschool teachers teaching kindergarteners. I didn't even expect that much of a story. So, what do I think of the show now that I've seen it?

Honestly saying, just like a kindergartener. In every sense of the word.

One of the side genres of this anime is romance; and unfortunately, it's not the kind I would recommend to people. Tsuchida is a goddamn herbivore, and the girl he's in love with, read more
Jan 3, 2018
claralexandra711 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can't make very long sentences... so I just write shortly.

Story 7/10
It's about Anzu, Koume, and Hiiragi go to kindergarten school. They meet a male teacher with brown hair and glasses as well as the young woman with light orange hair who wears pink tracksuit.

Art 8/10
The characters have similar eye shapes like those from Azumanga Daioh.

Sound 9/10
All anime's like this have great opening and ending! Way to go!

Character 4/10
Anzu is the main character of Hanamaru Kindergarten. She has short blond hair with ahoge and brown eyes. Koume is shy and has short dark brown hair. I'm very confused with Hiiragi... how she can talk or read more
Mar 23, 2017
Azren1995 (All reviews)
Hanamaru Youchien, a kindergarten related series and hahaha seriouly this is just off, way off what I expected it to be and here's what I think about this series

Story :
Here, when you actually think about kindergarten, of course kids but here I am awed with super adorable kids who actually really innocent and pure all the time. Like how a daughter looks and acts like her mother and now Tsucchi reaps what he sow in good and adorable way. I never expected that this series got me glued until I finish this like just two nights straight without stopping. From the kids in the kindergarten, read more
Sep 1, 2010
asukakazama90 (All reviews)
Preliminary
hanamaru kindergarten....

i watched anime about school...but i never thought a story about kindergarten would be something else.........
SOMETHING FUN TO WATCH
its kinda interesting because of the comedy and the romance too..even though i watched only 4 episodes lately....i rush to watch the next episode...

i like it because...every episode is a new adventure...i like the characters too...very much...the characters are simple and and they way they were drawn..they each have different styles..i like the way when they they read more